Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Make_PE3 Program to Create Portable Windows 7 PE

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
379 replies to this topic

#301
PE3MakerNewbie

PE3MakerNewbie
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 30-March 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


It works! The http.sys driver started successfully.
The print spooler service activate successfully.
....

Now, I want to activate the usbscan.sys driver and sti service

That is good news. :thumbup :thumbup

I found the filelist when reducing to mini 7 while trying to keep Printer working.

Also in mini 7 the sti service is working.I think files extra for Paint were needed:
\Windows\System32\stclient.dll
\Windows\System32\sti.dll
\Windows\System32\storage.dll
\Windows\System32\wiaservc.dll

GOOD LUCK



Hi, master

\Windows\System32\stclient.dll
\Windows\System32\sti.dll
\Windows\System32\ sti.dll.mui
\Windows\System32\storage.dll
\Windows\System32\wiaservc.dll
\Windows\System32\wiaservc.dll.mui

I also add these files
I don't know these files are necessary or not
sti_ci.dll.mui
sti_ci.dll
wiaacmgr.exe
wiaacmgr.exe.mui

stisvc services start successfully


;======================StiSVC Service================================

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\PE3-SYSTEM\ControlSet001\services\StiSvc]
"Start"=dword:00000003
"DisplayName"="@%SystemRoot%\\system32\\wiaservc.dll,-9"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,\
74,00,25,00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,73,\
00,76,00,63,00,68,00,6f,00,73,00,74,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,20,00,2d,00,\
6b,00,20,00,69,00,6d,00,67,00,73,00,76,00,63,00,00,00
"Type"=dword:00000010
"Description"="@%SystemRoot%\\system32\\wiaservc.dll,-10"
"DependOnService"=hex(7):52,00,70,00,63,00,53,00,73,00,00,00,53,00,68,00,65,00,\
6c,00,6c,00,48,00,57,00,44,00,65,00,74,00,65,00,63,00,74,00,69,00,6f,00,6e,\
00,00,00,00,00
"ObjectName"="NT Authority\\LocalService"
"ServiceSidType"=dword:00000001
"RequiredPrivileges"=hex(7):53,00,65,00,43,00,68,00,61,00,6e,00,67,00,65,00,4e,\
00,6f,00,74,00,69,00,66,00,79,00,50,00,72,00,69,00,76,00,69,00,6c,00,65,00,\
67,00,65,00,00,00,53,00,65,00,43,00,72,00,65,00,61,00,74,00,65,00,47,00,6c,\
00,6f,00,62,00,61,00,6c,00,50,00,72,00,69,00,76,00,69,00,6c,00,65,00,67,00,\
65,00,00,00,53,00,65,00,49,00,6d,00,70,00,65,00,72,00,73,00,6f,00,6e,00,61,\
00,74,00,65,00,50,00,72,00,69,00,76,00,69,00,6c,00,65,00,67,00,65,00,00,00,\
00,00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\PE3-SYSTEM\ControlSet001\services\StiSvc\Parameters]
"ServiceDll"=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,\
00,74,00,25,00,5c,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,\
77,00,69,00,61,00,73,00,65,00,72,00,76,00,63,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,00,\
00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\PE3-SYSTEM\ControlSet001\services\StiSvc\Security]
"Security"=hex:01,00,14,80,a0,00,00,00,ac,00,00,00,14,00,00,00,30,00,00,00,02,\
00,1c,00,01,00,00,00,02,80,14,00,ff,01,0f,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,\
00,00,02,00,70,00,05,00,00,00,00,00,14,00,fd,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,\
05,12,00,00,00,00,00,18,00,ff,01,0f,00,01,02,00,00,00,00,00,05,20,00,00,00,\
20,02,00,00,00,00,14,00,8d,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,04,00,00,00,00,\
00,14,00,8d,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,06,00,00,00,00,00,14,00,00,01,\
00,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,0b,00,00,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,12,00,00,\
00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,12,00,00,00

; USB Section
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\PE3-SYSTEM\ControlSet001\services\usbscan]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000003
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"Tag"=dword:00000017
"ImagePath"=hex(2):73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,44,00,\
52,00,49,00,56,00,45,00,52,00,53,00,5c,00,75,00,73,00,62,00,73,00,63,00,61,\
00,6e,00,2e,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,00,00
"DisplayName"="USB "
"Group"="Base"

But usbscan.sys can be load into the pe
But it cannot start successfully
Master, what dll files I am missing or what's wrong
Can you give me tips
Thanks

Edited by PE3MakerNewbie, 17 April 2011 - 06:41 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#302
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07

But usbscan.sys can be load into the pe
But it cannot start successfully

Test if usbscan is working in mini 7 or in Portable 7 made with VHD_W7_Compact.exe

If it works in one of these versions, you can make filelist comparison and add extra files
and take working registry entries for usbscan.

Also you can watch with ProcMon what files are being used and add these.

Otherwise no more info availble for now .....

#303
PE3MakerNewbie

PE3MakerNewbie
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 30-March 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


But usbscan.sys can be load into the pe
But it cannot start successfully

Test if usbscan is working in mini 7 or in Portable 7 made with VHD_W7_Compact.exe

If it works in one of these versions, you can make filelist comparison and add extra files
and take working registry entries for usbscan.

Also you can watch with ProcMon what files are being used and add these.

Otherwise no more info availble for now .....


Hi, Master
When I install the canon printer driver
I can't find the usb port
What's wrong. Can you give me some ideas

Posted Image

#304
PE3MakerNewbie

PE3MakerNewbie
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 30-March 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, master wimb

I have tried to install my canon mp496 printer for a few days

Until now i can only install the canon mp490 scanner
when i try to install the MP490P3.inf
it said the can't find the path
when i use the add new printer to install the mp490
it said the printer driver was not installed
i have tried many ways to solve
but i still don;t know why
I hope you can give me tips

here's my registry file (install toharddisk and change to x:)

Code was too large, was crashing browsers
http://pastehtml.com...w/bmq0s5dre.txt

if i use this registry
the printer appear normally in printer device centre window
But when i try to print a test page
it said the print iis full

Edited by Tripredacus, 01 February 2012 - 02:39 PM.
uploaded reg code to pastehtml


#305
Pajqk

Pajqk
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 29-October 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello
Respect for the great knowledge about the construction of the system ...
Maybe someone will tell what exactly I have to add that "diskmgmt.msc" works on winpe3.1 ?
I use *.cmd batch to navigate in PE
BR

-->
...already found
sorry was looking carelessly :/

Edited by Pajqk, 14 October 2011 - 11:33 AM.


#306
SpeedoJoe2

SpeedoJoe2
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 31-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Towards the end of my attempt at making a Make_PE3 USB key I get the following GRUB errors.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Is this expected or should the final boot configuration be automated? The key I am using boots fine with BartPE and WinPE 3.

#307
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07
These are NOT Errors but WARNINGS.
It has to do with the way you have made your USB-stick bootable.
May be just everything is OK e.g. if your stick has Grub4dos MBR bootcode
Anyway, the program only warned you that Windows MBR bootcode was not found.

Did you try to boot from USB with your 7pe_x86_M.iso ?

#308
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07
=
*** Update of Make_PE3 package to Create Portable Windows 7 PE ***

  • Update - Grub4dos is now version grub4dos-0.4.5c-2012-01-17
    Thanks to chenall - http://code.google.c.../downloads/list
  • Update - BOOT_IMG.exe - avoid unnecessary WARNINGS
  • Changed - Make_PE3.exe - ppAppsGenPE.exe for making Portable Apps Desktop Icons is Not running Auto anymore
    to prevent empty cardreader alert in case of Samsung S2 portable USB harddisk.
    Instead launch ppAppsGenPE.exe now on demand with Desktop Icon.
  • Changed - Program Version - latest version is now 4.2

Download - Make-PE3

It is required to extract Make_PE3.exe to the root of your drive

More Info - See post #1

#309
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
@wimb

Hi, I'm new to MAKE_PE3 and so far this seems to be the best solution for me to create a decent Win7 recovery iso.
I noticed that the Make_PE3.exe GUI has a small DPI issue if you do not use Windows standard 96DPI (I use 120DPI).
There is some text truncation. If you are coding this with Autoit, this might be of interest to you:
fontgui-resizing
or this in general:
DPIAware

Since I am just starting to use this tool, I have not found all the key areas that can be customized or how to do it.
My first test was just to build the iso without WAIK which was fine except that I have a German Keyboard and the
windows cmd prompt uses the U.S. keyboard layout. This would be one thing I would like to change, but not sure how.
Is there a way to change the keyboard layout to German?

#310
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07

I noticed that the Make_PE3.exe GUI has a small DPI issue if you do not use Windows standard 96DPI (I use 120DPI).
There is some text truncation. If you are coding this with Autoit, this might be of interest to you:
fontgui-resizing
or this in general:
DPIAware

Thanks for this Info on how to take DPI setting into account.
I am using indeed AutoIt3 and will try to add such function to the program.

German keyboard can be selected with Administrative Tools > System > Keyboard
KeyboardLayoutChanger will allow to set keyboard.

:cheers:

#311
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
Yes, when I boot the iso, I can change it. What I meant was to already have this as a default in the iso. Basically, I would like to make an iso with a few customized settings etc. that would end up being the default. I need to investigate the docs and all the subdirs under \MAKE_PE3. I would assume the keyboard can be set with a reg file somewhere.

BTW, can make_pe_42.exe be extracted to a root drive that does not have a system installed on it and why do you specify that it needs to be on the root?

Thanks for your help .....

Edited by click-click, 06 July 2012 - 08:00 AM.


#312
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
I understand that 7pe_x86.iso (without WAIK) and pe3_x86.iso (with WAIK) are made from different .wim files, but does anyone know what advantage one iso has over the other?

#313
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07

I understand that 7pe_x86.iso (without WAIK) and pe3_x86.iso (with WAIK) are made from different .wim files, but does anyone know what advantage one iso has over the other?

http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php?showtopic=23931
- 7pe contains Recovery software in folder sources which is missing in pe3
- pe3 option NO Reduce of size has /Enable-profiling which allows to make Optimization profile (see WinPE.chm help in WAIK)

Using WAIK has advantage that oscdimg.exe can be used instead of mkisofs.exe
oscdimg.exe makes smaller and unfragmented ISO

Edited by wimb, 07 July 2012 - 12:22 AM.


#314
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07

I would assume the keyboard can be set with a reg file somewhere.

BTW, can make_pe_42.exe be extracted to a root drive that does not have a system installed on it and why do you specify that it needs to be on the root?

In Make_PE3\PE3_mod\PE3_reg\x86 you find file PE3-USER.reg and folder plugins
In plugins you see examples of Russian and Chinese keyboard Settings

Make_PE3_42.exe can be extracted to any local drive, but root is necessary because of extreme path length in .NET support

:)

Edited by wimb, 07 July 2012 - 12:49 AM.


#315
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
I'm still having some problems with my ISO. I did not see any sample keyboard layouts except for the one to
toggle between EN and RU. I added the following .reg, but when I look at change keyboard in Region and Language,
Keyboard US is there instead of Keyboard German and cmd prompt is still mapped to the en layout.
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

; Keyboard Layout Default German

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\PE3-USER\Keyboard Layout]
@=hex(0):
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\PE3-USER\Keyboard Layout\Preload]
"1"="00000407"

I got my WLAN to work, but the implementation of IE8 seems to be broken for me. When I launch IE8, I get a message
saying "a problem displaying google.com caused IE to refresh the webpage using compatibility view", but nothing
is displayed. If I use portablefirefox, I can view web pages without problems.

When I try to use an Ethernet Connection, there's no connection and the icon shows Failed Authentication. The driver
seems to be installed correctly and this usually works without problems on other boot cds that I have tried.

Thanks for any pointers. Also, if there is a better place to post my questions, please let me know.

Edited by click-click, 08 July 2012 - 10:04 AM.


#316
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07
What do you use as Source ?
DVD or fresh Installed 32-bits Win7
SP0 or SP1 and if Installed did you add any updates ?

The source can be the cause of some unforeseen but hidden problems.
http://www.911cd.net...ndpost&p=170837

In general I prefer not to use 7 PE but to use Portable or Mini Windows 7
so that the relationship between registry and file versions is as good as in the Installed Windows 7 Source VHD.
It prevents a lot of problems that easily can occur with 7 PE
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=23553
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=24424

Also the keyboard problem is not present in Portable Windows 7.
I have no detailed solution available for your present problem with setting German keyboard in 7 PE,
but I think you can manage to find a working solution :)

:)

Edited by wimb, 08 July 2012 - 12:42 PM.


#317
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
I used my live windows 7 SP1 system. which includes June Patch-Tuesday security fixes. I thought I was making a portable Win7. As far as the keyboard goes, I checked the reg entry after booting the iso and the preload key was still 409 and not 407 like in the plugin. It seems that the keyboard plugin reg entries are reset when you later run dism /set inputlocale:en-us. in Make_Pe3.exe

I can change the cmd file to modify the inputlocale dism entry to de-de, but I can't do that with the exe file.

I'm a bit confused now as to what you mean by portable or mini Win7. So does 7pe_x86.iso=portable Win7?

Sorry for the noob questions.....

Attached Files


Edited by click-click, 08 July 2012 - 01:04 PM.


#318
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07
But you can set System Locale = German
Does that help to solve your problem ?

Portable and Mini 7 are quite different.
They are build by VHD_W7_Compact.exe and use the full registry of 32-bits Win 7 Installed to VHD and used as Source.
Only those files mostly used in desired functionality are copied from the Source and can be considered as the core of Windows 7.

In this way you get a small sized OS in VHD and which behaves as normal Windows 7
The reduction in number of files is also inspired by what was found to be working in 7 PE

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=23553
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=24424

:cheers:

#319
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09

But you can set System Locale = German
Does that help to solve your problem ?


I wanted to only change the inputlocale to de-de and leave the rest as en-us.

If I understand correctly, make_pe3 does not create a portable or mini win7 and will produce a pe iso that may be error prone. Is that correct?

The reason I wanted to use Make_PE3 was because of the small iso size. If I use the VHD method, won't that make the iso much bigger?

My goal is a small W7 recovery cd to replace my aging BartPE boot CD.

Edited by click-click, 08 July 2012 - 03:16 PM.


#320
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07

I wanted to only change the inputlocale to de-de and leave the rest as en-us.

May be it is easier to use System Locale = German and then tweak the rest to en-US

A good working 7PE is of course also handy,
but in any case it might be interesting for you to make the Portable and Mini 7 VHD
These days I mostly use Portable USB-harddisk and booting from USB for rescue and Install purpose.

#321
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
I have a bootable usb drive with XP installed on it for my own recovery purposes. I need a decent 7PE iso that I can use when my friends call me for help. :) I will give Make_PE3 another try using a fresh installed W7 SP1 with no updates and see if that solves the problems I am seeing. Two more questions:

Does MAKE_PE3.cmd do everything that MAKE_PE3.exe does?
I assume the created iso file should be the same either way right?

If so, I will just change the dism /set inputlocale statement in the cmd file and that will take care of the default keyboard layout for me. I guess this could be a option in the GUI if you ever decide to update it. :P Maybe have make_pe3 allow for additional dism commands at the end from a txt file before committing and unmounting.

Ciao....

Edited by click-click, 09 July 2012 - 04:45 AM.


#322
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07

Does MAKE_PE3.cmd do everything that MAKE_PE3.exe does?
I assume the created iso file should be the same either way right?

Yes, the result is equal :)

Succes

:)

Edited by wimb, 09 July 2012 - 05:53 AM.


#323
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
Okay, MAKE_PE3 with a vanilla Win7 SP1 install as input seems to be the solution to my previous problems.
IE8 is working now and I no longer get an error message opening Control Panel. One minor thing is that
the Ethernet Network Icon still shows Authentication Failure (with ?) even though the Ethernet network connection
is working and I am able to use the Internet. If you have an idea what that might be let me know.

#324
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 21-March 07
Using Win7 SP1 without adding Updates also worked for me.
Good to hear that this solution is OK for you.

No idea about Ethernet Icon .....
Did you let driver_fix.cmd do the job as scheduled or did you use PENetwork ?

#325
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
Yes, I let driver_fix.cmd run and did not cancel it. I'll cancel and see what PENetwork does.

Ciao ...

Edit: Same result :angry:

Edited by click-click, 10 July 2012 - 03:43 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users