Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

"Program Files" directory problem

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
CyberPhunk

CyberPhunk
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-May 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmm, having some issues here. Trying to setup WinXP Pro to install "program files" and "documents and settings" directories on drives separate from the OS files. "Docs and settings" works just fine, but every time I build the disk, "Program Files" is installed on the c: drive. :(

Any ideas?

Last build all I did was slipstream SP3 and change the directories.

*edit*

Wasn't sure which session ini file to include, so added both

Attached Files


Edited by CyberPhunk, 31 May 2010 - 07:19 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hmm, having some issues here. Trying to setup WinXP Pro to install "program files" and "documents and settings" directories on drives separate from the OS files. "Docs and settings" works just fine, but every time I build the disk, "Program Files" is installed on the c: drive. :(

Any ideas?

Last build all I did was slipstream SP3 and change the directories.

*edit*

Wasn't sure which session ini file to include, so added both

CyberPhunk, please look in your I386 folder of your nLited folder and find a file called winnt.sif. Open it with notepad and look for ProgramFilesDir keyword and see if your value is set. You can post this data if you like, but be sure it does not contain any private information. Do you really have an E disk? Is it formated in NTFS? Have you run nLite more than once against the same source folder? You should always start with a fresh copy of your original CD files/folders and run nLite only one time. Enjoy, John.

#3
CyberPhunk

CyberPhunk
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-May 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Hmm, having some issues here. Trying to setup WinXP Pro to install "program files" and "documents and settings" directories on drives separate from the OS files. "Docs and settings" works just fine, but every time I build the disk, "Program Files" is installed on the c: drive. :(

Any ideas?

Last build all I did was slipstream SP3 and change the directories.

*edit*

Wasn't sure which session ini file to include, so added both

CyberPhunk, please look in your I386 folder of your nLited folder and find a file called winnt.sif. Open it with notepad and look for ProgramFilesDir keyword and see if your value is set. You can post this data if you like, but be sure it does not contain any private information. Do you really have an E disk? Is it formated in NTFS? Have you run nLite more than once against the same source folder? You should always start with a fresh copy of your original CD files/folders and run nLite only one time. Enjoy, John.



The hard drive is separated into four partitions, primary for the OS and three logical for swap file, programs and settings, and storage. All 4 are formatted as NTFS. I've been using a new copy of the install files each time. Found the file, and it seems it is saving my settings, but not applying them. :(

Tried a new attempt with just the WinXP pro disk and the directory changes. Still didn't work. The lastsession.ini from that attempt is attached.

Maybe those with more experience could figure it out.

Attached Files


Edited by CyberPhunk, 31 May 2010 - 07:28 PM.


#4
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
CyberPhunk, I am not getting much traction here. I am curious why you are using GUI Attended for Unattended Mode? Please try it with the Unattended Mode set to Fully Automatic. Also, take a look at the Help (? in circle) next to the Unattended Mode pull down. Enjoy, John.

#5
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,291 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'd try creating the folders on E: and F: and see if XP uses them. I once used that option but I can't remember having such problem.

#6
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,829 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
May I make a small suggestion?

You save\gain nothing by haveing the swapfile on a seperate partition in the same drive. (Maybe even loose performance)

You idealy want it on a differetn drive.

#7
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
There's nothing wrong with your winnt.sif (CommonProgramFilesDir and ProgramFilesDir in [Unattend]), and there aren't any typos that I can find. However, I'm wondering what would happen if you first booted to a WinPE environment, formatted, partitioned, and assigned drive letters to the disk, and THEN ran winnt32 /debug4 /dudisable /makelocalsource /unattend:<path to unattend.txt> (unattend.txt is the same format of winnt.sif, you could copy your existing .sif file and then rename to unattend.txt). It should work (there would presumably be an E: drive before setup starts), but if not there would be a winnt32.log in %windir% that would say why it didn't.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#8
CyberPhunk

CyberPhunk
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-May 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I'd try creating the folders on E: and F: and see if XP uses them. I once used that option but I can't remember having such problem.


Will give this an attempt, can't hurt. ;)

CyberPhunk, I am not getting much traction here. I am curious why you are using GUI Attended for Unattended Mode? Please try it with the Unattended Mode set to Fully Automatic. Also, take a look at the Help (? in circle) next to the Unattended Mode pull down. Enjoy, John.


I'll try fully unattended next attempt. I was going with GUI because I wasn't sure if the drivers for my sata drives were getting integrated correctly or not. If it works, then I'll go through the process of trimming it down a bit and finish this process finally. ;)

#9
CyberPhunk

CyberPhunk
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-May 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag


I'd try creating the folders on E: and F: and see if XP uses them. I once used that option but I can't remember having such problem.


Will give this an attempt, can't hurt. ;)

CyberPhunk, I am not getting much traction here. I am curious why you are using GUI Attended for Unattended Mode? Please try it with the Unattended Mode set to Fully Automatic. Also, take a look at the Help (? in circle) next to the Unattended Mode pull down. Enjoy, John.


I'll try fully unattended next attempt. I was going with GUI because I wasn't sure if the drivers for my sata drives were getting integrated correctly or not. If it works, then I'll go through the process of trimming it down a bit and finish this process finally. ;)



Yay, one of those options worked. "Program Files" and "Documents and Settings" are both now on the E: drive. :)

The only issue I had was that even though I had set it up to run totally autonomously I still had to input some of the settings manually during install and not all of the settings were implemented. I'm not complaining though, because the major issue has been fixed. :)

#10
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yay, one of those options worked. "Program Files" and "Documents and Settings" are both now on the E: drive. :)

The only issue I had was that even though I had set it up to run totally autonomously I still had to input some of the settings manually during install and not all of the settings were implemented. I'm not complaining though, because the major issue has been fixed. :)

CyberPhunk, glad to hear the paths are working for you. I do a Fully Automatic install, specifying all my settings and I receive no request for data during install and all my settings are applied. Please ask specific questions and attach your latest Last Session if you want further help. Enjoy, John.

#11
CyberPhunk

CyberPhunk
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-May 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag



Yay, one of those options worked. "Program Files" and "Documents and Settings" are both now on the E: drive. :)

The only issue I had was that even though I had set it up to run totally autonomously I still had to input some of the settings manually during install and not all of the settings were implemented. I'm not complaining though, because the major issue has been fixed. :)

CyberPhunk, glad to hear the paths are working for you. I do a Fully Automatic install, specifying all my settings and I receive no request for data during install and all my settings are applied. Please ask specific questions and attach your latest Last Session if you want further help. Enjoy, John.


'K, will do. ;)

This is the last session file for the install that finally got the paths to work. I'm pretty sure I set it up to run fully automatically, but I had to set the time zone, User info, and a couple others I can't recall atm.

Any idea as to why it didn't run automatically?

Attached Files


Edited by CyberPhunk, 06 June 2010 - 01:00 PM.


#12
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

'K, will do. ;)

This is the last session file for the install that finally got the paths to work. I'm pretty sure I set it up to run fully automatically, but I had to set the time zone, User info, and a couple others I can't recall atm.

Any idea as to why it didn't run automatically?

CyberPhunk, I can't see anything obvious, but I cannot see several things, such as your creating a user account. You can post your Last Session_U.ini, but please purge it of your key and all other private information. Earlier, I asked if you had run nLite more than once. Running nLite more than once against the same source can definitely lead to your symptoms. Please see my earlier post. Enjoy, John.

#13
CyberPhunk

CyberPhunk
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-May 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag


'K, will do. ;)

This is the last session file for the install that finally got the paths to work. I'm pretty sure I set it up to run fully automatically, but I had to set the time zone, User info, and a couple others I can't recall atm.

Any idea as to why it didn't run automatically?

CyberPhunk, I can't see anything obvious, but I cannot see several things, such as your creating a user account. You can post your Last Session_U.ini, but please purge it of your key and all other private information. Earlier, I asked if you had run nLite more than once. Running nLite more than once against the same source can definitely lead to your symptoms. Please see my earlier post. Enjoy, John.


Every time I started out to run nLite I copied the source files off the WinXP install disk. I'll edit my last session_U and post it.

*edit*

There ya go.

Attached Files


Edited by CyberPhunk, 07 June 2010 - 07:32 PM.


#14
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,291 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It could be the user name being the same as the owner name. See end of this post.

#15
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Every time I started out to run nLite I copied the source files off the WinXP install disk. I'll edit my last session_U and post it.

*edit*

There ya go.

CyberPhunk, I see no time zone in your _u.ini file, so I assume you did not set it. It should be set on the Regional tab of the Unattended Task. I also see that you have removed the Administrator account. Don't know if this is a problem or not, but I always leave it there. There are also some False parameters in the _u.ini file that are different from mine. I don't know what these refer to, but look at all your User definitions and make sure they are properly filled out. I also Auto-Login my new account with administrator privileges. Enjoy, John.

#16
bjhs

bjhs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello!

I have the same problem.

I just wanted to change the Program Files folder to just Programs. The reason is simple, I don't want to deal with the +8letters path and the whitespace, because I'll be probable I'll have to script something or some exotic program will have trouble with that.

So, using NLite, in the unattended options, I've done several tries.
I've tried:
\Programs
C:\Programs
%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Programs

This is always correctly displayed in the winnt.sif.
The type of unattended mode was on fully automated.

Yet, whenever I install it, the default directory always revert do C:\Program Files.


Things to notice:
- I've also changed the Documents and Settings directory, but that worked out ok.
- I've not created a user, what I have done was rename the Administrator to admin and put a password (the actual users will appear later via a AD, I would like to use the admin to install the programs first thou), this worked with limited success. The Administrator was renamed to admin, but the password became blank. (I can live with this, but just wanted to let you know).


And I think this is it for now. Any help would really be appreciated.
Thanks!

#17
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello!

I have the same problem.

I just wanted to change the Program Files folder to just Programs. The reason is simple, I don't want to deal with the +8letters path and the whitespace, because I'll be probable I'll have to script something or some exotic program will have trouble with that.

So, using NLite, in the unattended options, I've done several tries.
I've tried:
\Programs
C:\Programs
%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Programs

This is always correctly displayed in the winnt.sif.
The type of unattended mode was on fully automated.

Yet, whenever I install it, the default directory always revert do C:\Program Files.


Things to notice:
- I've also changed the Documents and Settings directory, but that worked out ok.
- I've not created a user, what I have done was rename the Administrator to admin and put a password (the actual users will appear later via a AD, I would like to use the admin to install the programs first thou), this worked with limited success. The Administrator was renamed to admin, but the password became blank. (I can live with this, but just wanted to let you know).


And I think this is it for now. Any help would really be appreciated.
Thanks!

bjhs, welcome. Please attach your Last Session.ini as requested in BOLD RED letters above. Have you run nLite more than once against the same source?
. Always start with a fresh copy of your CD files/folders and run nLite only once. Enjoy, John.

#18
bjhs

bjhs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Hello!

(...)

And I think this is it for now. Any help would really be appreciated.
Thanks!

bjhs, welcome. Please attach your Last Session.ini as requested in BOLD RED letters above. Have you run nLite more than once against the same source?
. Always start with a fresh copy of your CD files/folders and run nLite only once. Enjoy, John.



I'm sorry.
Here it goes my last try.

*Edit*
I've tried the nLite ISO with VMWare, in both SCSI disks and IDE.
Same results.

In regard for the Windows Source, for each iteration i've started with a fresh copy.

Attached Files


Edited by bjhs, 14 August 2010 - 12:35 PM.


#19
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm sorry.
Here it goes my last try.

*Edit*
I've tried the nLite ISO with VMWare, in both SCSI disks and IDE.
Same results.

In regard for the Windows Source, for each iteration i've started with a fresh copy.

bjhs, I see a number of problems, so I will ask you to run some experiments on your VM. First, please see my attached Help (very useful, see ? in circle next to many options) for the ProgFilesPath option in Unattended section. Environmental variables are not permitted. You are running nLite under Vista (or W7) and this can be a problem especially if you are integrating a Service Pack. I don't see your doing this and if you started with a fresh copy of you source, as you say, it already contained SP3 - true? A big problem is that you have included updates to IE8 but did not include IE8. To make the nLite run faster, please remove all updates and all the (very excessive!) drivers (not needed on VM, anyway), change your ProgFilesPath parameter to meet the requirements and try the ISO on your VM. Please let us know the result and we'll go from there. Enjoy, John.

#20
bjhs

bjhs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag




I'm sorry.
Here it goes my last try.

*Edit*
I've tried the nLite ISO with VMWare, in both SCSI disks and IDE.
Same results.

In regard for the Windows Source, for each iteration i've started with a fresh copy.

bjhs, I see a number of problems, so I will ask you to run some experiments on your VM. First, please see my attached Help (very useful, see ? in circle next to many options) for the ProgFilesPath option in Unattended section. Environmental variables are not permitted. You are running nLite under Vista (or W7) and this can be a problem especially if you are integrating a Service Pack. I don't see your doing this and if you started with a fresh copy of you source, as you say, it already contained SP3 - true? A big problem is that you have included updates to IE8 but did not include IE8. To make the nLite run faster, please remove all updates and all the (very excessive!) drivers (not needed on VM, anyway), change your ProgFilesPath parameter to meet the requirements and try the ISO on your VM. Please let us know the result and we'll go from there. Enjoy, John.


Thanks for the input!
Indeed i've saw the thing about enviromental variables. But i've read somewhere that using that solved the user problems. I've also tried as i've said before, without it.

As for the hotfixes, indeed you are right. But that doesn't do the program files error, what it does is a complete failure in the windows install. If i recall correctly, the error was something close to, "A write operation was attemped in a unmounted volume." or something close to it, then the computer rebooted and the cicle just started again ad eternum .
Nevertheless, what i've done was to ignore hotfixes, skip that part of nLite and after that the windows install started to run smoothly. Don't know if that is there because of the first time i've tried this.

As of the windows source, it's a win xp sp3, you are correct, however i'm done the iso in a win7. Is that a problem?

As for the drivers, a little context is needed. I'm a sysadmin at a college. (That isn't considered a commercial use of the nLite Eula right?)
We have a kinda big computer park and i need to do a universal (sort of) image for all the labs. That explains a little the necessity of the mass storage driver packs, and the LAN ones.



For the thing you asked me to try, I've already tried it. I've tried to do a iso with only drivers, tweaks and unattended install with the program files change to \Programs, and that resulted on the same thing.

I'm sorry for all the hassle, but can I do something else to help diagnose this?
(Do you think its necessary the INI of the those tries?)

Thanks!

Edited by bjhs, 14 August 2010 - 03:25 PM.


#21
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
bjhs, I am not an attorney, but I should hope that a moderator will rule on the EULA question. As I read it (found in nLite folder in Program Files), only personal use is allowed. We have seen several posters working for non-profits with this problem and I do not remember the answer. Why don't you PM cluberti and ask his opinion. I should point out that nuhi (nLite author/owner) has not participated here in over a year. Users of nLite are always in some danger (perhaps little) of nLite simply disappearing some day. The support you get in the forum is all you can hope for and may not satisfy management. Please let us know what cluberti has to say. There are other ways (not automated) to accomplish what you are trying just using MS tools. At the bottom of this page is a link to the Unattended Guide and there is an Unattended forum here also. Enjoy, John.

#22
bjhs

bjhs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Done!
When he replies I'll post the answer.

As for the problem I'm having? Any more idea?

Regards

#23
bjhs

bjhs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
New try.

Just changed the Program Files path, and the Documents and Settings.
Still no luck.

Ideas?

Attached Files



#24
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Using this as an image engineering solution via your role as a sysadmin for a college technically would be a violation of the nLite or vLite EULA - the college *may* pass the non-commercial clause depending on whether or not it's for profit, and/or whether or not it's a private enterprise or a public institution, but that is all fairly elementary as this most certainly fails the "personal-use" clause if this is being done on any scale larger than an installation for one singular PC to be used primarily, or only, by that sysadmin; I know this is not the case by reading this thread and noting the following:

We have a kinda big computer park and i need to do a universal (sort of) image for all the labs.


It is also worth stating that modification of Windows using nLite or vLite will void any supportability contract you have with Microsoft for that installation of Windows, and if the school is large enough it probably does have a volume license and/or academic licensing scheme for MS software that includes support - doing this would put you in violation of that agreement (and possibly the Windows EULA itself), so it's not just the nLite licensing you and your management should be aware of.

This discussion was taken offline, but the nLite and vLite EULAs are *VERY* specific about this particular point, and I'm just not sure why some folks are having such a hard time with it. It's only legally licensed for use for personal non-commercial purposes and any company or business purposes are explicitly called out as a violation of the license (this is stated explicitly in the EULA itself, I am not taking this out of context or paraphrasing it); you have to pass *both* tests to meet licensing criteria. Just because you are using it for an organization that is non-commercial or not-for-profit does not absolve you of being in compliance with the other 50% of the requirement that the tool only be used for personal use. If you're unsure, ask if this is going to be used to assist you in doing a job for your employer, or if you are going to be using it to create an image that will go somewhere other than *only* your own personal PC. If you answer "yes" to either of those questions, you cannot use nLite or vLite, period, and be in compliance with the EULA. Also, an additional question - if the copies of Windows you're modifying are licensed under any sort of volume licensing deal with Microsoft (whether that be academic, charity, or business), or if you have a support contract with Microsoft for those copies of Windows, you will be violating the agreements for those if you use nLite or vLite to modify the Windows source, so avoid it at that point as well.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#25
bjhs

bjhs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the clarifications.

Nonetheless, as a future reference, nLite program has a problem with the modification of the Program Files path.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users