Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

WEI Random Read score


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

My Score is 4.7:

Posted Image

But the confusing part is the HDD score. I have a Samsung F3 1T, but get a score 7.4 :blink:

How can this be?
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,845 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

But the confusing part is the HDD score. I have a Samsung F3 1T, but get a score 7.4 :blink:

How can this be?

I had that too, the AMD ACHI drivers are fooling windows 7 ;). I see now after some updates that it's back to 5.9.

#3
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

which AHCI driver do you use? Can you post a link?
Posted Image

#4
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,845 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It's just the latest AMD driver version 1.2.0.125, I got it from the Gigabyte site but it should be the same from AMD directly.

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I'm using the same driver.

Here is the output from the XML:

  <AvgThroughput kind="Sequential Read" units="MB/s" ioSize="65536" score="7.0">135.57187</AvgThroughput> 
  <AvgThroughput kind="Random Read" units="MB/s" ioSize="16384" score="7.9">2426.07007</AvgThroughput> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="AverageIORate" units="ms/IO" score="5.3" factor="0.0">5.38000</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="GroupedIOs" units="units" score="6.4" factor="0.0">13.52123</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="LongIOs" units="units" score="5.8" factor="0.0">22.39657</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="Overall" units="units" score="5.9" factor="0.0">302.82925</Responsiveness> 

Look at the random Read value :blink:
Posted Image

#6
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Not sure what's happening there - what is the specific drive / model # / serial # and what is the specific motherboard chipset, driver version, and connection type (assuming SATA)?
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#7
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Samsung SpinPoint F3 1000GB, SATA II (3Gb/s) (HD103SJ) used as AHCI. My mainboard has an AMD SB710 southbridge.

I've installed the latest AMD AiO driver.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#8
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmmm - honestly not sure unless Samsung has updated the drive FW to specifically score high in Winsat - can you paste the screen output and provide a log file from running winstat disk -v -log <path and filename of logfile>.log? I doubt it's the AMD controller in this case, but...
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#9
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I can't upload the log.

So I've placed it on my SkyDrive:

// see next post.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 02 July 2010 - 04:16 PM.

Posted Image

#10
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
What about the screen output? The log doesn't capture all of it...
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#11
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

d'oh. Didn't know that the log doesn't include the data.

I've redirected the output to the txt file:

http://cid-128fc5186...ublic/msfn/logs

But the values are now much lower.
Posted Image

#12
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,845 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

> Disk Random 16.0 Read 3.15 MB/s 4.7


That's about right, so, what did you do to get this output now? I think it was some crazy buffering in RAM.

#13
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I run the WinSAT tool again and now get this strange value again:

> WinSAT is Official : Yes
> Laufzeit 00:00:00.00
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-seq -read -n 0'
> Laufzeit 00:00:11.00
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-ran -read -n 0'
> Laufzeit 00:00:20.16
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-scen 2009 -drive C:'
> Laufzeit 00:01:16.26
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-seq -write -drive C:'
> Laufzeit 00:00:06.98
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-flush -drive C: -seq'
> Laufzeit 00:00:04.51
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-flush -drive C: -ran'
> Laufzeit 00:00:08.97
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-hybrid -ran -read -n 0 -ransize 4096'
> Laufzeit 00:00:00.20
> Wird ausgef￾hrt: Speicherbewertung '-hybrid -ran -read -n 0 -ransize 16384'
> Laufzeit 00:00:00.02
> Disk Sequential 64.0 Read 133.42 MB/s 7.0
> Disk Random 16.0 Read 2409.10 MB/s 7.9
> Responsiveness: Average IO Rate 3.38 ms/IO 6.1
> Responsiveness: Grouped IOs 10.84 units 7.0
> Responsiveness: Long IOs 13.89 units 7.1
> Responsiveness: Overall 150.53 units 6.6
> Responsiveness: PenaltyFactor 0.0
> Disk Sequential 64.0 Write 211.06 MB/s 7.3
> Durchschnittliche Lesezeit mit sequenziellen Schreibvorg„ngen4.293 ms 6.2
> Latenz: 95. Perzentil 16.012 ms 4.9
> Latenz: Maximum 308.790 ms 6.8
> Durchschnittliche Lesezeit bei zufallsgesteuerten Schreibvorg„ngen5.637 ms 5.8
Posted Image

#14
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Either it really is getting that much data moved during the test, or perhaps the firmware's been tuned to perform better on WinSat tests? How old is that drive?
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#15
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

How do I see which firmware I use and how old the drive is? Do you know good tools for this?


// Edit
I used HD Tune to get the Data:

Firmware 1AJ100E4 (if this the one with the AMD850 southbridge issues? But I use a 750). I purchased the drive by the end of last year.

//Edit 2
made an update to 1AJ100E5

I'll make new tests. Maybe the new firmware fixes this curious things

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 13 July 2010 - 02:52 PM.

Posted Image

#16
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,672 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Is it at all possible that, at some point during the test, it is reading from the Cache or from memory instead of the physical disk? That would explain a speed increase at least.

I moved all these posts out of the WEI topic.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#17
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have no idea left. I updated the BIOS, changed the cable, flashed the Samsung Firmware, installed the latest AHCI driver (1.2.1.197 from Catalyst 10.7).

- <DiskMetrics>
  <AvgThroughput kind="Sequential Read" units="MB/s" ioSize="65536" score="7.0">135.57187</AvgThroughput> 
  <AvgThroughput kind="Random Read" units="MB/s" ioSize="16384" score="7.9">2426.07007</AvgThroughput> <---------------------------
  <Responsiveness Kind="AverageIORate" units="ms/IO" score="5.3" factor="0.0">5.38000</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="GroupedIOs" units="units" score="6.4" factor="0.0">13.52123</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="LongIOs" units="units" score="5.8" factor="0.0">22.39657</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="Overall" units="units" score="5.9" factor="0.0">302.82925</Responsiveness> 
  <Responsiveness Kind="Cap" Reason="FAILED">TRUE</Responsiveness> 
  </DiskMetrics>

When I run the WinSAT command from comandline and redirect the output, the values are lower.

I think this is a bug in WinSAT. I'll ignore it now.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 30 July 2010 - 08:38 AM.

Posted Image

#18
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,921 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the issue is now gone. When I now run WinSAT the highest value is 5.9 again. Maybe an update fixed it.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN