Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Hardware ID

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08
I'm trying to find my hardware ID for my monitor but can't find in anywhere.
Does anybody know how/where to find the MONITOR's hardware ID??


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,865 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image

This is how you would see it in Vista and Windows 7, as I remember it's also the same in XP.

#3
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08
Yes I know about that part, but im looking for the big long number string for the hardware id.
For example the hardware id for my pc....9005eefa-dad1-53b4-baab-56ecfbf9d55c

#4
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thats not a hardware id it looks like a device class guid, all monitors would have the same number

{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}

Edited by ricktendo64, 23 July 2010 - 03:01 PM.


#5
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

9005eefa-dad1-53b4-baab-56ecfbf9d55c

That isn't a Device ID nor a Vendor ID like ricktendo64 said. It has the same length and grouping as a GUID indeed but that's most likely the SMBIOS UUID.

As for monitors, they don't have a Vendor ID or Device ID like for PCI or USB devices. They use another format called EDID. That contains all the info you can get about a monitor. Then from the EDID, Windows derives a PnP ID which is like puntoMX showed (3 chars for mfg, 4 chars for device).
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#6
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08

Thats not a hardware id it looks like a device class guid, all monitors would have the same number

{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}


How do you know that is the ID for all monitors and where did you find the number at?

#7
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

How do you know that is the ID for all monitors

It isn't "the ID for all monitors" (and the number you have in post #3 likely wasn't even a GUID either). That's just a GUID related to monitors (a device class used by setup)

I've already explained how "the ID" works in my previous post.

Then again, we have no idea what you're trying to accomplish, so this is likely all pointless.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#8
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08
anyways that long number has nothing to do with monitors, that is something for KEYBOARDS

#9
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
What do you need it for?

#10
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

anyways that long number has nothing to do with monitors, that is something for KEYBOARDS

You mean the GUID ricktendo64 wrote? Nope, that *is* a GUID for the monitor class (which again, is not an "ID" at all, just a broad device class). The GUID for he Keyboard class is {4d36e96b-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}

Why don't you describe what you're trying to do? Then perhaps we can actually help in a meaningful way.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#11
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08

What do you need it for?


To try and change the icon in the DEVICES AND PRINTERS page manually.

I already did it for my computer icon.

You mean the GUID ricktendo64 wrote? Nope, that *is* a GUID for the monitor class (which again, is not an "ID" at all, just a broad device class). The GUID for he Keyboard class is {4d36e96b-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}


Yeah sorry about that keyboard/monitor number mixup, you are right about that.

OKAY

to change the icons in the DEVICES AND PRINTERS page, manually

i already done the computer icon, pic is attached

any ideas

Attached File  device_capture.JPG   58.4KB   19 downloads

#12
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I see people editing ddores.dll to do that, how are you doing it, are you doing it in the registry?

#13
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The generic icons (as in, not for device stage) like for the monitor are likely stored inside some resource DLL (ddores.dll perhaps)

Knowing it was related to that, your post would likely belong better in the "customizing windows" section.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#14
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08
I am NOT doing any DLL hacks/edits OR any registry edits


I make a couple of xml files and devicemetadata-ms files

If you want to know exactly how let me know.

The generic icons (as in, not for device stage) like for the monitor are likely stored inside some resource DLL (ddores.dll perhaps)


Yeah maybe, but the way I am doing it I need hardware ids of some sort

#15
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ah, so you're using device stage to override the default icons (that indeed is FAR better than hacking DLLs, but you seemingly have to sign the packages)

I can't say for sure in what format it expects a monitor's HardwareID to be in there (that info is likely in the WDK), but most likely it's the PnP ID (e.g. DISPLAY\BNQ76DB for my FP241W). Ideally, you'd find such a package pre-made for another monitor and see what they've used, or read the docs (in the Microsoft Device Experience Development Kit)

Good luck.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#16
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08
Im reading up on "Microsoft Device Experience Development Kit".

I will let yous know what I find out and if it works.

So far so good.
Take a look at the progress . . .

Attached File  more_device_capture.JPG   60.16KB   27 downloads

#17
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Gr8 work ripigs, let us in on how you/we can do it

#18
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08

....(that indeed is FAR better than hacking DLLs, but you seemingly have to sign the packages).....


Yes it is better and faster than hacking and then having to deal with updates and all that.

But on the signing the packages part, I did not have to do any type of signage.

Gr8 work ripigs, let us in on how you/we can do it


GOOD TO GO

#19
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Will you make a tutorial?

#20
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08
These are the steps to take, some text is color coded for your ease to follow what to change and where to change it at, here we go . . .




1} Get the hardware id and the GUID of the product you want to change: ex - monitor
- Find the hardware id in the device manager: ex - MONITOR\SPT1801
- The GUID will be found in the deviec manager also by the name of Device class guid: ex - 4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318


2} Create a working directory
- ex - C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\
- ex - C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\
- ex - C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\DeviceInformation\
- ex - C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\WindowsInformation\


3} Download "CABARC"
- Save it to C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\
- Attached File  CABARC.EXE   112KB   27 downloads


4} Get a new icon for the product you want to change: ex - monitor
- I just find an image of the real product and use IcoFX to make an icon out of the image
- Save it as monitor.ico
- Save it to C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\DeviceInformation\


5} Open up Notepad and paste this info in
- Take a look at DeviceCategory section, change this by using the provided Category List, download it Attached File  CategoryList.txt   4.33KB   36 downloads
- Replace the info for the modelname and manufacture
- Save it as "DeviceInfo.xml"
- Save it to C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\DeviceInformation\


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
<DeviceInfo xmlns="http://schemas.micro...Info/2007/11/">

<DeviceCategoryList>
<DeviceCategory>Display.Monitor.LCD</DeviceCategory>
</DeviceCategoryList>

<ModelName>X195W-Naga</ModelName>

<Manufacturer>Sceptre</Manufacturer>

<DeviceIconFile>monitor.ico</DeviceIconFile>

</DeviceInfo>


6} Open up Notepad and paste this info in
- No need to change anything here
- Save it as "WindowsInfo.xml"
- Save it to C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\WindowsInformation\


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
<WindowsInfo xmlns="http://schemas.micro...Info/2007/11/">

<ShowDeviceInDisconnectedState>false</ShowDeviceInDisconnectedState>
<LaunchDeviceStageOnDeviceConnect>true</LaunchDeviceStageOnDeviceConnect>
<LaunchDeviceStageFromExplorer>true</LaunchDeviceStageFromExplorer>

</WindowsInfo>



7} Open up Notepad and paste this info in
- Take a look at Locale section you might need to change that to yours
- Take a look at the hardwareID section
- Take a look at the experienceID section
- Save it as "PackageInfo.xml"
- Save it to C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\PACKAGES\


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>

<PackageInfo xmlns="http://schemas.micro...Info/2007/11/">

<MetadataKey>

<HardwareIDList>
<HardwareID>DOID:MONITOR\SPT1801</HardwareID>
</HardwareIDList>

<Locale default="true">en-US</Locale>

<LastModifiedDate>2010-07-23T00:00:00Z</LastModifiedDate>

</MetadataKey>

<PackageStructure>
<Metadata MetadataID="http://schemas.micro....xml</Metadata>
<Metadata MetadataID="http://schemas.micro...tion</Metadata>
<Metadata MetadataID="http://schemas.micro...tion</Metadata>
</PackageStructure>

<Relationships>
<ExperienceID>4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318</ExperienceID>
</Relationships>

</PackageInfo>


8} Open up Notepad and paste this info in
- Taking note of the GUID and the icon placment
- Save it as "MakeDeviceMetadata.cmd"
- Save it to C:\DEVICE\MONITOR\


cabarc.exe -r -p -P Packages\ N 4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318.devicemetadata-ms Packages\PackageInfo.xml Packages\DeviceInformation\DeviceInfo.xml Packages\DeviceInformation\monitor.ico Packages\WindowsInformation\WindowsInfo.xml



9} Open/Run the MakeDeviceMetadata.cmd
- It will do some stuff and close by it self
- Creating a file called 4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318.devicemetadata-ms


10} Now COPY that newly created file from step 9 to;
- C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\DeviceMetadataStore\en-US\

11} Close out ALL windows at this time


12} Go to your DEVICES AND PRINTERS window from your control panel and see if the changes are made

A quick note

The process is a little different for the COMPUTER itself

Another NOTE

If you find more than one hardware id, you must place them all in the section for STEP 7, doing like so

<HardwareIDList>
<HardwareID>DOID:MONITOR\SPT1801</HardwareID>
<HardwareID>DOID:MONITOR\Sfdrg801</HardwareID>
<HardwareID>DOID:MONITOR\SfgargfT1801</HardwareID>
<HardwareID>DOID:MONITOR\S548grfag401</HardwareID>
</HardwareIDList>

And yet another note

If in your hardware id is the & sign you need to edit that to &amp;

#21
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

But on the signing the packages part, I did not have to do any type of signage.

Then you probably turned off signing verification (i.e. Bcdedit -set testsigning ON) which is not as secure and does leave an ugly "Test Mode" watermark on the desktop too. Or perhaps you're running the 32 bit version of Win 7?

Otherwise, that's pretty much the same as seen on the web like here, or in MS' own docs.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#22
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
TY so much this helped allot

BTW where can I find the full list of DeviceCategory's?

Example

Display.Monitor.LCD
PrintFax.Printer
Imaging.Scanner
etc

Edit: nevermind, coffefriend link has them

Edited by ricktendo64, 24 July 2010 - 12:53 AM.


#23
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,113 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Knowing it was related to that, your post would likely belong better in the "customizing windows" section.


Agreed. Moved.

#24
ripigs

ripigs

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 05-January 08

Then you probably turned off signing verification (i.e. Bcdedit -set testsigning ON) which is not as secure and does leave an ugly "Test Mode" watermark on the desktop too. Or perhaps you're running the 32 bit version of Win 7?


Im running 32bit windows 7, not sure if signing verification is off or on, but there is no watermark or test mode for me????

BTW where can I find the full list of DeviceCategory's?

You can also download in from the info above

#25
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Im running 32bit windows 7

That explains why it works then. But for a lot of us, running the 32 bit version is not an option or very much the last resort.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users