Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Integrating drivers into WDS boot.wim


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Gantlett

Gantlett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Joined 22-March 05
Hello everyone,

I'm running Windows Deployment Services on a Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 system. Currently, we have two boot.wim images on the server which are working fine. These boot.wim files were taken "as is" from Windows 7 ISO's. We have a 32-bit one and a 64-bit one.

The problem is that we bought a shiny new Dell workstation (OptiPlex 980), and when I PXE-boot this baby into WDS, WinPE starts to boot, starts loading the GUI with the blue Windows 7 background and then says that network drivers cannot be found.

This brings us to my problem: I tried integrating the correct NIC driver into the boot.wim image, but I'm experiencing some issues.
Here are the two methods I've tried integrating the drivers and their respective results:

Method 1:
1. I installed WAIK for Windows 7 on a Windows 7 workstation.
2. Copied the original Windows 7 ISO boot.wim file to a local folder.
3. Ran the "Deployment Tools Command Prompt" (DISM) as Administrator
4. Fired off the following commands in the following order:
a. DISM /Cleanup-Wim

b. Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\winpe_dell\boot.wim /index:1 /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount

c. Dism /image:C:\WinPE_dell\mount /add-driver /driver:"C:\Users\erez\Desktop\Optiplex 980 Drivers" /recurse /forceunsigned

b. Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Commit
The result: Immediately after selecting the boot image in the PXE menu, a black screen appears complaining about a recent hardware change and saying Windows cannot start.


Method 2:
1. Using the same WAIK for Windows 7 on the same Windows 7 workstation.
2. Fired off the following commands in the following order:
a. DISM /Cleanup-Wim

b. copype.cmd amd64 c:\WinPE_dell

c. copy "c:\program files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\imagex.exe" c:\WinPE_dell\iso

d. Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\winpe_dell\winpe.wim /index:1 /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount

e. dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-setup.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-setup_en-us.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\en-us\winpe-scripting.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\en-us\winpe-scripting_en-us.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-setup-client.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\en-us\winpe-setup-client_en-us.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-setup-server.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\en-us\winpe-setup-server_en-us.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-wds-tools.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\en-us\winpe-wds-tools_en-us.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-wmi.cab"
   dism /image:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Add-Package /PackagePath:"C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\en-us\winpe-wmi_en-us.cab"

f. dism /image:C:\WinPE_dell\mount /add-driver /driver:"C:\Users\erez\Desktop\Optiplex 980 Drivers" /recurse /forceunsigned

g. Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Commit
The result: WinPE starts to boot, starts loading the GUI with the blue Windows 7 background and then says that the setup language cannot be determined.

Can anyone please point me to what I'm doing wrong here?
Thanks in advance!

Edited by Gantlett, 02 August 2010 - 11:59 PM.

--Blessings to all--


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
According to Dell, the Optiplex 980 is using the Intel Q57 chipset, meaning it most likely has an Intel 82578DM network chip. Do you have drivers specifically for that in your drivers folder? You really only want to integrate absolutely necessary drivers into a WinPE WIM.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#3
leen2

leen2

    Member

  • Member
  • 44 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I notice that you are using the 64-bit WAIK for a 64-bit image. I believe the 64-bit OS kernel requires signed drivers and will ignore any unsigned drivers. I would suggest obtaining the signed drivers from Dell for this and remove the /forceunsigned switch. I could be wrong, but it might help.

#4
Gantlett

Gantlett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Joined 22-March 05
Thanks for the replies guys.

The driver I got is definitely from Dell - it's from the 980's driver downloads page.

I'll try your suggestions and see if I get lucky!

Edited by Gantlett, 03 August 2010 - 07:27 PM.

--Blessings to all--

#5
Gantlett

Gantlett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Joined 22-March 05
OK - I found an amazing solution!

Did some more research and it turns out that my whole approach is wrong.

The way to deploy Windows in our day and age is by using an additional tool together with WDS, and that is Microsoft Deployment Toolkit 2010. The idea is to use MDT2010 to create custom installations with drivers, applications and an install script, and use WDS purely as a PXE boot server to fire-off the custom install.

I have to say, MDT2010 is the most amazing tool I have ever seen released by Microsoft! :thumbup It's dead easy to use and does everything through an easy to use GUI! It just takes care of everything and I'm simply impressed by the incredible job they've done with the whole Windows deployment process (as far as Windows 7 is concerned).

Just read through these simple guides to gain an understanding of how the two fit together and how to achieve super-easy deployments:
http://edge.technet....K-Step-By-Step/
http://www.the-d-spo...-with-mdt-2010/
http://www.the-d-spo...dt-2010-part-2/

I used MDT2010 to create a custom install process which includes the injection of the NIC and SATA drivers required for my new Dell 980's and it worked like a charm!

Cheers!

Edited by Gantlett, 03 August 2010 - 10:45 PM.

--Blessings to all--

#6
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Good to hear! We've been suggesting MDT to people for a few years now (since it was MDT 2008), but 2010 Update 1 is really pretty polished.

Good to hear you got it working.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#7
Gantlett

Gantlett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Joined 22-March 05
On an interesting note, looking at the NIC driver in the “Out-of-Box Drivers” section of the MDT2010 deployment share, it would appear that this driver is unsigned: the “This driver is WHQL signed” checkbox is un-ticked. This is not the case with the MassStorage drivers though - those are signed.

So in that case, this means that if I wanted to integrate the NIC driver to the Windows 7 DVD boot.wim using any of the methods described at the first post in this thread, I would have to use the "/forceunsigned" switch, meaning the whole idea of using DISM is doomed for failure anyway... Just a thought.

Edited by Gantlett, 03 August 2010 - 11:00 PM.

--Blessings to all--

#8
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You might want to consider getting the latest NIC drivers for that chip from Intel rather than Dell, as those are signed.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#9
robdog1955

robdog1955
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 11-September 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sort of on this topic, I have my WDS server running and waiting for a new PC to ask for the install image. The closest I've gotten is the Windows 7 background with a message that says the drivers are missing. I have read in so many places that I need to use a boot.wim from a Vista or Server 2008 DVD, but the drivers I need do not come with this .wim. I have been using MDT2010 for several months now. I boot with my thumb drive and all works great. I just need WDS for multcasting. When I try to use the boot.wim that I use in my MDT2010 set up, I cannot create a discovery wim. It goes through the process and finishes with no errors. But I get nothing. No image is created. Should I pursue the Vista boot.wim and try to inject drivers or pursue the MDT2010 boot.wim that has the correct drivers in it. I have 96 PCs to image and I do not wish to burden our network with too many images at once.

#10
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I'm not certain how MDT works, but you definately do not want to use the Vista wim to deploy Windows 7 installs. The install method is different between the two. You could try it, but don't hang your hat on it if it works.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#11
jfmartel

jfmartel

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Joined 01-December 04
Been trying since yesterday to integrate this driver into my boot.wim image without any success. It still tells me that it couldn't reach the share and failed to get the device "PCI\VEN_8086&SUBSYS_305917AA&REV_06" working.

I tried the NDIS61, NDIS62 from Intel Proset 15.5.

What am I missing?

#12
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,907 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Been trying since yesterday to integrate this driver into my boot.wim image without any success. It still tells me that it couldn't reach the share and failed to get the device "PCI\VEN_8086&SUBSYS_305917AA&REV_06" working.

I tried the NDIS61, NDIS62 from Intel Proset 15.5.

What am I missing?


Nevermind. You already have a thread about this. Do not hijack thanks.
http://www.msfn.org/...dt2010-64-bits/
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#13
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This last bit is being wokred on here already.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#14
n1cepeg

n1cepeg
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 31-January 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Method 1:
1. I installed WAIK for Windows 7 on a Windows 7 workstation.
2. Copied the original Windows 7 ISO boot.wim file to a local folder.
3. Ran the "Deployment Tools Command Prompt" (DISM) as Administrator
4. Fired off the following commands in the following order:

a. DISM /Cleanup-Wim

b. Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\winpe_dell\boot.wim /index:1 /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount

c. Dism /image:C:\WinPE_dell\mount /add-driver /driver:"C:\Users\erez\Desktop\Optiplex 980 Drivers" /recurse /forceunsigned

b. Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Commit
The result: Immediately after selecting the boot image in the PXE menu, a black screen appears complaining about a recent hardware change and saying Windows cannot start.




Try to repeat method 1 but use index 2 instead index 1.

It should work like a charm!

bye bye

#15
waqqas31

waqqas31

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 09-January 08



Method 1:
1. I installed WAIK for Windows 7 on a Windows 7 workstation.
2. Copied the original Windows 7 ISO boot.wim file to a local folder.
3. Ran the "Deployment Tools Command Prompt" (DISM) as Administrator
4. Fired off the following commands in the following order:

a. DISM /Cleanup-Wim

b. Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\winpe_dell\boot.wim /index:1 /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount

c. Dism /image:C:\WinPE_dell\mount /add-driver /driver:"C:\Users\erez\Desktop\Optiplex 980 Drivers" /recurse /forceunsigned

b. Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\winpe_dell\mount /Commit
The result: Immediately after selecting the boot image in the PXE menu, a black screen appears complaining about a recent hardware change and saying Windows cannot start.




Try to repeat method 1 but use index 2 instead index 1.

It should work like a charm!

bye bye


@n1cepeg:

Thanks for the tip. Worked first time!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users