Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Debut unattended W7 setup woes


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

these are my first steps towards a (mostly) unattended installation of a Windows 7 Professional x64 system. It's for a new notebook for my mother.

Last time I did something similar is several years ago, and much has changed since.
I already customized a working Autounattend.xml with the latest Windows System Image Manager that mostly works as expected, but has two flaws left:

There are two screens showing up I cannot suppress, the first at the very beginning and a second at the end of the installation process (see attached screenshots).

Except for the partitioning screen (I'd like to configure this myself) I want to skip every dialog window that occurs.
(Yes, the file ei.cnf is missing, but isn't there some setting to compensate this?)

Autounattend.xml
Spoiler

Next point is a major difficulty:
Back in XP times, I used to have one file Prepare.cmd, which was executed at T-12 (called by cmdlines.txt) and imported a registry file to the default user profile.
In this way I was able to touch the default user profile before the setup process terminates and thus, less settings had to be adjusted for new user accounts.

I tried to achieve this with a SetupComplete.cmd placed in $OEM$\$$\Setup\Scripts looking like this:

@echo off &setlocal EnableExtensions
reg load HKU\TmpHive %SystemDrive%\Users\Default\NTUSER.DAT
regedit /s HKCU.reg
reg unload HKU\TmpHive

regedit /s HKLM.reg
:: Further test if registry changes do work at all: they do!
Reg add HKLM\SOFTWARE\BrowserChoice /f /v Enable /t REG_DWORD /d 0
:: other stuff going here

I've got no clue why the reg load action won't have any effect anymore.
(Edit: I replaced the regedit /s... lines with reg import ..., however the problem stays the same.)

How could I import the registry files HKCU.reg and HKLM.reg (both are in $OEM$\$$\Setup\Scripts)?
Is there another possibility to earlier execute a script while the setup process? Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Mikka

Attached Files


Edited by Mikka, 12 September 2010 - 02:20 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello!
We can read inside "Unattended Windows Setup Reference for Windows 7.chm"

SkipMachineOOBE
SkipMachineOOBE specifies whether to skip Windows® Welcome.

Important:
This setting is deprecated.

SkipMachineOOBE should be used only in a test environment, and you should never ship a computer with the SkipMachineOOBE setting configured to true.

If you use this setting, Windows Welcome will be skipped, and any settings that a user selects during Windows Welcome will not be configured. For example, user-account creation, language, and time-zone settings will not be configured. Some Windows features may not function, as they depend on Windows Welcome values such as ProtectYourPC, which does not include a default value.

SkipUserOOBE
SkipUserOOBE specifies whether to skip the Welcome Center pop-up window in Windows Vista®.

Note:
This setting is deprecated. In Windows® 7, it has been replaced by the Getting Started application, which is available in the Start menu.



You can delete these files inside your "Autounattend.xml"!

<SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
<SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>


And you can set your Windows 7 Professional version inside "Autounattend.xml"
You can check with WSIM (Windows System Image Manager).
Example for Windows 7 x86 (choose amd64 for your use!).

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
             <ImageInstall>
                <OSImage>
                    <InstallFrom>
                        <MetaData wcm:action="add">
                            <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
                            <Value>Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL</Value>
                        </MetaData>
                    </InstallFrom>
                </OSImage>
            </ImageInstall>
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 12 September 2010 - 03:58 PM.


#3
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Good morning myselfidem,

thank you for your reply! It's true that both the SkipMachineOOBE and the SkipUserOOBE attribute is deprecated, WSIM also says it.
But omitting those lines will result in two additional windows forcing me to create a user - in exchange for the last network setting dialogue which this time won't appear.
However, I'll end up with the built-in Administrator and an unwanted new user account: In other words, it's no unattended installation either ...

You were perfectly right about the missing <ImageInstall> section, which skipped the first window.
But obviously, without these deprecated entries, the setup won't proceed automatically.

Regards,
Mikka

Attached Files


Edited by Mikka, 12 September 2010 - 05:38 PM.


#4
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Mikka, could you please give as attachment your "Autounattend.xml"?
You can also find some help here: Ask your Seven xml? here...
Thanks

Edited by myselfidem, 12 September 2010 - 11:49 PM.


#5
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I guess it depends on the line
<SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
whether the setup nags for a new user account or not. I'd like to avoid this behaviour.

Only the built-in Administrator user is wanted; I'll customize it and two regular user accounts manually later on.

Regards,
Mikka

Attached Files



#6
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello!
You need to add a password for Administrator Account!

<AutoLogon>
    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
    <LogonCount>9999999</LogonCount>
    <Username>Administrator</Username>
    <Password>
        <Value>xxxxxxx</Value>
        <PlainText>true</PlainText>
    </Password>
</AutoLogon>

Check the order of the "settings pass" inside your "Autounattend.xml" with WSIM and validate it and save it!:

<settings pass="specialize"> before <settings pass="oobeSystem"> (at last)!
Missing:
<RegisteredOwner>Full name</RegisteredOwner>

Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 13 September 2010 - 03:48 AM.


#7
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Bonjour !

According to your suggestions, I added a Password Value for the Administrator and a RegisteredOwner, adjusted the order (oobeSystem settings at the end of the file) and verified the result with WSIM (0 errors, 0 warnings).
What's the purpose of increasing the LogonCount to such a high number?

Unfortunately, things have worsened: Now, I can't even login as Administrator using the password value (12345) defined.
(That's why I set empty <Value> tags before.)

Besides, the setup keeps querying for an additional user account, thus nothing gained. Any further ideas?

Greetings to G’nèève,
Mikka

P.S.
(1) Oh yes, just for the record my updated xml file.
(2) Any idea for the SetupComplete.cmd issue?

Attached Files


Edited by Mikka, 13 September 2010 - 05:37 AM.


#8
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for Grettings! :rolleyes:
You can try this, to skip the user Account creation:
<OOBE>
    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
    <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
    <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
    <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
    <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
</OOBE>
OK, don't add a password (but works for me!)!
<AutoLogon>
      <Enabled>true</Enabled>
      <LogonCount>3</LogonCount> 
      <Password>
           <PlainText>true</PlainText>
           <Value></Value>
      </Password>
     <Username>Administrator</Username>
</AutoLogon>
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 13 September 2010 - 06:29 AM.


#9
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Mikka!
I use these settings inside mine "Autounattend.xml" :
It's needed to use the same password!
<AutoLogon>
     <Enabled>true</Enabled>
     <LogonCount>9999999</LogonCount>
     <Username>myselfidem</Username>
     <Password>
         <Value>xxxxxx</Value>
         <PlainText>true</PlainText>
     </Password>
</AutoLogon>

<UserAccounts>
     <LocalAccounts>
           <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                 <Password>
                     <PlainText>true</PlainText>
                     <Value>xxxxxx</Value>
                 </Password>
                 <Group>Administrators</Group>
                 <DisplayName></DisplayName>
                 <Name>myselfidem</Name>
          </LocalAccount>
     </LocalAccounts>
</UserAccounts>
Fully unattended!
And I've only my Account as Administrator (myselfidem).

About "SetupComplete.cmd", you can add your reg files inside the folder "SCRIPTS" and write inside "SetupComplete.cmd":
Example, to adapt to your needs!

@echo off

ECHO TITLE Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL 64-bits - RunOnceEx Method for silent install

REG ADD HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx
SET KEY=HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx

REG ADD %KEY%\005 /VE /D "Registry Tweaks" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\005 /V 1 /D "REGEDIT /S %systemroot%\Setup\Scripts\Tweaks.reg" /f

REG ADD %KEY%\010 /VE /D "Cleanup Final Install" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\010 /V 1 /D "%systemroot%\Setup\Scripts\clean.vbs" /f

EXIT
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 13 September 2010 - 08:18 AM.


#10
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Salut myselfidem,

I really appreciate your help, thanks a lot for it!

I use these settings inside mine "Autounattend.xml" :
It's needed to use the same password!

<AutoLogon>
     <Enabled>true</Enabled>
     <LogonCount>9999999</LogonCount>
     <Username>myselfidem</Username>
     <Password>
         <Value>xxxxxx</Value>
         <PlainText>true</PlainText>
     </Password>
</AutoLogon>
<UserAccounts>
     <LocalAccounts>
           <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                 <Password>
                     <PlainText>true</PlainText>
                     <Value>xxxxxx</Value>
                 </Password>
                 <Group>Administrators</Group>
                 <DisplayName></DisplayName>
                 <Name>myselfidem</Name>
          </LocalAccount>
     </LocalAccounts>
</UserAccounts>
Fully unattended!
And I've only my Account as Administrator (myselfidem).


Ah, I see, have to give it a try later, thanks!

Concerning the SetupComplete issue:
You're right about refering to the good old RunOnceEx entries but there's a downside to that:
The file HKCU.reg has been created to being imported into the default user profile.
The trick is to perform this customization before loading any user account (even not the built-in Administrator), so new user accounts will basically "inherit" the modified settings. This cuts user account customization down to a minimum.

While it's of no importance when the file HKLM.reg will be imported it is for HKCU.reg:
Even if one could apply the registry settings sometime later somebody has to deal with it.
I can't expect an end user - like my mother - to do this ...

Now my concern is that SetupComplete.cmd is executed too late in order to apply the necessary reghive fixes.
But I believe that this is still feasible, even for the W7 setup. Michael Murgolo also wrote about it (method C).

Regards,
Mikka

Edit:
Found a solution workaround for second window of my initial post: here and there.
Don't know yet if it will work for me.

Edited by Mikka, 13 September 2010 - 10:30 AM.


#11
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Mikka, You can find some help here:
Ask your Seven xml...

How to customize default user profiles in Windows 7

And more info inside: "Unattended Windows Setup Reference for Windows 7.chm"
Section: Components: Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup

CopyProfile

The CopyProfile setting enables you to customize a user profile and use it as the default user profile. Windows uses the default user profile as a template to assign a profile to each new user.

To customize the default user profile:
On the technician computer, create a new answer file (Example: Unattend.xml)

Set CopyProfile to true in the Unattend.xml file.

Copy the file to the reference computer.

On the reference computer, log on as a user whose profile you can customize (for example, the built-in administrator account).

Customize the desired user-profile settings.

Run sysprep /generalize /unattend:unattend.xml.

During the generalize configuration pass, the customized user profile settings are copied to the default user profile. All subsequent user accounts that are created will have the customizations that you have set. For details about the Sysprep command, see the Sysprep Technical Reference in the Windows® Automated Installation Kit (Windows AIK) User's Guide (Waik.chm) or Windows® OEM Preinstallation Kit (Windows OPK) User's Guide (Opk.chm).

Important:
The built-in administrator account profile is deleted and recreated when you perform a clean Windows installation, or run the Sysprep tool. The CopyProfile setting is processed before the built-in administrator account is deleted, so any customizations that you make should appear in new user account profiles, including the new built-in administrator account profile.


I hope that will help you!

Edited by myselfidem, 13 September 2010 - 10:26 AM.


#12
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello!
About Network location for your choice:

Set inside:
<settings pass="oobeSystem">
<OOBE>
   <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
   <NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>
   <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
   <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
</OOBE>

Values for NetworkLocation:
<NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>

<NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>2</ProtectYourPC>

<NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>

Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 14 September 2010 - 02:24 AM.


#13
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Salut myselfidem!

Thank you very much for the effort, I did quite some testing in the meantime but to little avail ...

First things got worse (e.g. I was forced to remove the offlineServicing section with the attribute EnableLUA), now it appears that I've managed to restore the initial version (except for the first unwanted window).

In short, the doubled administrator user information didn't help (will lead to the new user creation window, too), regardless of whether I set a password (12345) or not.
The network logon screen (which I wanted to avoid initially) however is due to an unattended setup bug by courtesy of Microsoft (of course!) and one blog entry published by some guy merely affects Audit mode, so I assume I'll have to live with it ‒ for better or for worse. :}

As this whole story is starting to make me sick (if I was in the Romandie, I'd dare to say mais ša fait chier royalement, bordel de merde !... just to get you an idea :D) I decided to leave it at that:
i.e. clicking away that network connection window manually ...

However, there's one issue left:

In the last attached xml version I had inserted a section poorly documented by Microsoft, which serves to remove Windows components/prevents them from being installed.
I now came up with something like:
<servicing>
    <package action="remove">
        <assemblyIdentity name="Microsoft-Windows-Foundation-Package" version="6.1.7600.16385" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="" />
        <selection name="InboxGames" state="false" />
        <selection name="MediaCenter" state="false" />
        <selection name="OpticalMediaDisc" state="false" />
        <selection name="TabletPCOC" state="false" />
        <selection name="Xps-Foundation-Xps-Viewer" state="false" />
    </package>
</servicing>
I'd like to remove components like Tablet PC, XPS stuff, Media Center, DVD Maker or all the games (but not only the shortcuts).
Do you happen to know if the syntax above is correct (true/false) as I've got some doubts ...

Merci d'avance,
Mikka

#14
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Mikka!
Do you have made the changes inside your "Autounattend.xml", like I show you for NetworkLocation?
Because you've made an error: "Work" and value "3"!!
For your choice is "Other" and value "3"!

To remove components you can use DISM. First "mount" your Windows 7 Image (install.wim)!

Yes, it' seems that the "Autounattend.xml" (I don't see any information about this inside Unattend.chm) with theses value aren't correct for "Autounattend.xml"...Try to delete these lines "servicing"!
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 14 September 2010 - 11:08 PM.


#15
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Because you've made an error: "work" and value "3"!!


You mean, Work and 3 won't go together? Funny, but why? These are two different settings.
And for a start I actually like Windows Update to be disabled, why does that depend on <NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>?

Also WSIM didn't nag (except for the deprecated attributes) while checking the answer file ...
That's odd.

Edit: Last Autounattend.xml attached.
(Group Administrators adapted for german localization: Administratoren. Hope that's not wrong.)

Attached Files


Edited by Mikka, 14 September 2010 - 07:18 AM.


#16
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, Work and 3 won't go together! Doesn't match!

The NetworkLocation for "Work" the value is "2"!
And NetworkLocation for "Other" (like you want) is "3"!
Of course if the value isn't correct, you get an error (or the window, for select the NetworkLocation)!

Yes, I've seen that WSIM don't display an error for that!!

Edited by myselfidem, 14 September 2010 - 07:22 AM.


#17
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Mikka!

You can make these changes inside your "Autounattend.xml":
I think, at this time you don't need "RunAsynchronousCommand". Try without this:

<RunAsynchronous>
<RunAsynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Description>Netzwerkadresse festlegen verhindern</Description>
<Order>1</Order>
<Path>wscript %windir%\Setup\Scripts\nw_location_workaround.vbs</Path>
</RunAsynchronousCommand>
</RunAsynchronous>


Before correct these values, to see if it's OK:

To adapt to your needs= "Work"="2" or "Other"="3".
<OOBE>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
<NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
</OOBE>

<UserAccounts>
<LocalAccounts>
<LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
<Password>
<PlainText>true</PlainText>
<Value>12345</Value>
</Password>
<Group>Administratoren</Group>
<Name>Your Name</Name>
</LocalAccount>
</LocalAccounts>
</UserAccounts>


<UserData>
<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
<FullName>Your Full name</FullName>


Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 14 September 2010 - 08:51 AM.


#18
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,520 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Yes, Work and 3 won't go together! Doesn't match!

The NetworkLocation for "Work" the value is "2"!
And NetworkLocation for "Other" (like you want) is "3"!
Of course if the value isn't correct, you get an error (or the window, for select the NetworkLocation)!

Yes, I've seen that WSIM don't display an error for that!!


That is because NetworkLocation and ProtectYourPC are not the same thing!
NetworkLocation: choose firewall setting (if you boot to audit mode, always select Other)
ProtectYourPC: choose your Automatic Updates setting

http://technet.micro...278(WS.10).aspx

The levels do not specifically match up to the Automatic Updates you see from Windows, but does match up to the OOBE screen which only shows you 3 options.

1 = install updates
2 = download updates
3 = disable updates

#19
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks Tripedacus! :rolleyes:

Sorry Mikka for my error about the values inside <ProtectYourPC></ProtectYourPC>!

Edited by myselfidem, 16 September 2010 - 05:01 AM.


#20
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you, myselfidem and Tripredacus.

In my opinion this is a catch and should be treated by WSIM.
And if errors might arise by omitting information like, for instance, RegisteredOwner, this must be checked by WSIM, too.

#21
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Mikka!
You can have more help inside "Unattended Windows Setup Reference for Windows 7.chm"

FullName
FullName specifies the name of the end user.

Values
User_name
Specifies the name of the end user. User_name is a string with a maximum length of 63 characters.

This string type does not support empty elements. Do not create an empty value for this setting.

Rgards

Edited by myselfidem, 14 September 2010 - 12:36 PM.


#22
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello!

How to Enable/Disable Features and how to Remove/Add Packages:
Windows 7
Mr Jinje DISM Tool
Regards

#23
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Mikka!

If you want use DISM yourself, you can have some help here:
DiverPacks.net
Enable or Disable a feature from a Wim Image using DISM

Reference.chm for Windows 7

Windows 7 Packages
If a package is enabled, all of its parent hierarchy must also be enabled. To view the entire hierarchy, see the individual package topics.
Use the command to enable or to disable the Windows feature in a Command Prompt window. The command is case-sensitive.


As an example for Windows 7 Ultimate x86: Using DISM

If you have only one Image, use: /index:1

Use Command with Admin rights!
Browse to "Servicing\DISM" to your needs: "x86\Servicing\Dism.exe" or "amd64\Sevicing\Dism.exe"

Example with x86!
-----------------
First create an temp folder: Example here: "C:\test"
Mount your Image with DISM:

C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /mount-wim /wimfile:"C:\Win7\sources\install.wim" /index:5 /mountdir:"C:\test"

Get Packages Info about your Image:
C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /Image:C:\test /Get-Packages >C:\Packages.txt

Get Features Info about your Image:
C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /Image:C:\test /Get-Features /Format:List >C:\Features.txt

Example for Disable-Feature:
C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /Image:C:\test /Disable-Feature /?

Disable "InboxGames" Feature:
C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /Image:C:\test /Disable-Feature /FeatureName:InboxGames

Example: Remove Package:
C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /Image:C:\test /Remove-Package /?

Unmount and Commit your Image:
C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Servicing>Dism.exe /unmount-wim /mountdir:"C:\test" /commit
Regards

*Edit: I will make an French guide using DISM for Windows 7! ;)

Edited by myselfidem, 16 September 2010 - 08:03 AM.


#24
Mikka

Mikka

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

*Edit: I will make an French guide using DISM for Windows 7! ;)


I don't mind reading francophone tutorials as long as they're good. ;)

In the meantime I injected some registry settings into the install.wim, which results in a much better default user account. I have to get used to the DISM Tool, but will first try out your given examples.

Thanks a bunch for your help!

Greetings,
Mikka

#25
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Mikka! :rolleyes:
Here is the French guide about DISM

Thanks to tell me if it's needed some changes, or add more informations!
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 15 September 2010 - 12:30 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN