Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

WinNTSetup v3.3 / v3.4 Beta 1


  • Please log in to reply
825 replies to this topic

#226
Mr001

Mr001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


how to use that software...

1. select your windows distribution
2. choose a installation partition
3. push the setup button

hmm, maybe not my biggest talent to explain things...

Could you make a list of questions that arise while using the tool? So i can address every thing that is not so clear.

Posted Image


I am trying to install xp please guide me through im confused..

"1st option is about location of windows installation files" (i guess the xp iso file or xp setup drive)
2nd option: "select location of boot drive (what does that mean i can't understand, sorry)
3rd Select location of the installationdrive (can't get it what does it mean)

Please explain in very simple words im very noob :-(
see attachments plz

Attached Files




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#227
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I am trying to install xp please guide me through im confused..

"1st option is about location of windows installation files" (i guess the xp iso file or xp setup drive)
2nd option: "select location of boot drive (what does that mean i can't understand, sorry)
3rd Select location of the installationdrive (can't get it what does it mean)


1. Yes the drive letter of your xp setup drive. A real CD/DVD or a mounted iso image

2. A Primary partition (dark blue) on "Disk 0" with "(System)" in Status register

3. Can be any partition, even the one you selected under 2.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:17 AM.


#228
Mr001

Mr001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


I am trying to install xp please guide me through im confused..

"1st option is about location of windows installation files" (i guess the xp iso file or xp setup drive)
2nd option: "select location of boot drive (what does that mean i can't understand, sorry)
3rd Select location of the installationdrive (can't get it what does it mean)


1. Yes the drive letter of your xp setup drive. A real CD/DVD or a mounted iso image

2. A Primary partition (dark blue) on "Disk 0" with "(System)" in Status register

Posted Image

3. Can be any partition, even the one you selected under 2.

Posted Image


Thank you for your reply Brother,
ok does it mean that i can't install XP into existing installed drive?

#229
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ok does it mean that i can't install XP into existing installed drive?

Yes, if a drive already has a windows installation inside, it's better to format it.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:17 AM.


#230
Mr001

Mr001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


ok does it mean that i can't install XP into existing installed drive?

Yes, if a drive already has a windows installation inside, it's better to format it.

Posted Image


I got blue screen error during installation i :wacko: n Dell pc

#231
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I got blue screen error during installation i :wacko: n Dell pc


Hmm, a bit more information would help ;)

Which windows version you trying to install?
What number was displayed on the BSoD?
At which state of the installation the BSoD occured?

I can only assume the dell pc is running in AHCI mode and your windows CD doesn't have the required SATA driver.

You could try to disable AHCI inside the BIOS or you will need to integrate the driver.

WinNTSetup can integrate SATA driver for all windows version, if you select a folder containing the right driver in unpacked form.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:17 AM.


#232
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Update: Version 2.3 Beta 4

- Windows 8 Professional edition recognized for nativeVHDBoot
- file patching 5x faster
- UxTheme generic patcher for Windows 8
- System Reserved partition now hidden in new installation
- *caution "hidden feature" language.ini extended

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.


#233
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Update: Version 2.3 Beta 4

- System Reversed partition now hidden in new installation

Thanks for the new version! Gave me an oppotunity to thank you once again for this great tool!!! I tested the previous version with the new W8RTM (x86, enterprise), works great!
(But what is a "System Reversed Partition?" :whistle: , did you put it in upside-down? :D )

Thank you!! :thumbup

Edited by Atari800XL, 06 August 2012 - 06:32 AM.


#234
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

(But what is a "System Reversed Partition?" :whistle: , did you put it in upside-down? :D )

ha ha, yeah this happens quite often lately :lol:

Good to hear that the RTM works fine. Windows 8 should be fully supported now.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.


#235
Mr001

Mr001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


I got blue screen error during installation i :wacko: n Dell pc


Hmm, a bit more information would help ;)

Which windows version you trying to install?
What number was displayed on the BSoD?
At which state of the installation the BSoD occured?

I can only assume the dell pc is running in AHCI mode and your windows CD doesn't have the required SATA driver.

You could try to disable AHCI inside the BIOS or you will need to integrate the driver.

WinNTSetup can integrate SATA driver for all windows version, if you select a folder containing the right driver in unpacked form.

Posted Image


I am trying to install xp sp3.
The number that displayed on BSod was 0x0000006b
The BSod error occured after booting the XP and just before the windows installation starts (before pressing F8)
also plz tell me how to select a folder for drivers for WINntsetup...
Thanks for ur reply

#236
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the infos. It really seams to be a sata driver issue.

To integrate a driver just check the "Add Driver" checkbox and select the folder in the showing up dialog.


But if you don't have / know the exact driver needed you can use Driverpacks Base to integrate the drivers.

1. Download DPs_BASE_1006.exe and DP_MassStorage_wnt5_x86-32_1206.7z http://driverpacks.net/downloads
2. Run DPs_BASE_1006.exe and select C:\DPsBase for extracting
3. Copy DP_MassStorage_wnt5_x86-32_1206.7z to C:\DPsBase\DriverPacks

4. Run Winntsetup and select "Run DriverPacks BASE (x86 only)" checkbox
5. Push the setup button and wait for winntsetup to copy the files
6. You will be asked to select DPs_BASE.exe, browse to C:\DPsBase and select that file.

7. DriverPacks BASE will launch, select Settings --> DriverPacks in the treeview
8. Select the Driverpacks Massstorage checkbox and hit Slipstream button
9. The driver integration will take a few minutes, wait and hit okay in the success message that show up in the end

Edited by JFX, 08 August 2012 - 03:03 AM.


#237
Doodoo

Doodoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

To integrate a driver just check the "Add Driver" checkbox and select the folder in the showing up dialog.
But if you don't have / know the exact driver needed you can use Driverpacks Base to integrate the drivers.

Is it possible to do both ? E.g. to integrate the WinVBlock driver with the "Add Driver" checkbox, and also to integrate Driverpacks ?

I know it might be a big ask, but would it be possible for WinNTSetup to automatically integrate WinVBlock / FiraDisk without any user intervention (other than tick a checkbox !), so that install to IMG / VHD is easily achieved for all OSes, including those that don't natively support booting from a virtual disk (XP, etc...)?

On the same line, would it be possible to support VHD creation (Ctrl + Shift + V) when running on XP ? It may be not be as straightforward as on W7, but in the worst case it's always possible to create an IMG first (e.g. with Hddimage) and then to convert to VHD (e.g. with VHD Tool). I'm sure there is a billion ways to achieve the same result.

Basically what I'm asking is whether it would be possible to offer the very same possibilities for XP as for W7, thanks to a few tweaks and workarounds ?

#238
Mr001

Mr001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for the infos. It really seams to be a sata driver issue.

To integrate a driver just check the "Add Driver" checkbox and select the folder in the showing up dialog.


But if you don't have / know the exact driver needed you can use Driverpacks Base to integrate the drivers.

1. Download DPs_BASE_1006.exe and DP_MassStorage_wnt5_x86-32_1206.7z http://driverpacks.net/downloads
2. Run DPs_BASE_1006.exe and select C:\DPsBase for extracting
3. Copy DP_MassStorage_wnt5_x86-32_1206.7z to C:\DPsBase\DriverPacks

4. Run Winntsetup and select "Run DriverPacks BASE (x86 only)" checkbox
5. Push the setup button and wait for winntsetup to copy the files
6. You will be asked to select DPs_BASE.exe, browse to C:\DPsBase and select that file.

7. DriverPacks BASE will launch, select Settings --> DriverPacks in the treeview
8. Select the Driverpacks Massstorage checkbox and hit Slipstream button
9. The driver integration will take a few minutes, wait and hit okay in the success message that show up in the end

I did as u directed but didn't work for me :wacko: same error

#239
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is it possible to do both ? E.g. to integrate the WinVBlock driver with the "Add Driver" checkbox, and also to integrate Driverpacks ?

Should be possible, if WinVBlock has a correct inf file accepted by the msstmake tool.

Adding VHD options for Windows older than 7, would be way to much work. Properly can't even be done fully automated.
Sorry I don't have any plans to add support for alternative VHD drivers as WinVBlock, Firadisk or Vboot.


@Mr001

Hmm, that's strange :unsure:
Have you tried to disable AHCI in the bios?
If this also not works, i'm out of ideas

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.


#240
Doodoo

Doodoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Should be possible, if WinVBlock has a correct inf file accepted by the msstmake tool.

There is certainly one INF file around, that is used by most people in a Virtual floppy, to install this driver during TXT-mode setup (F6). Are we talking about the same thing ?

Adding VHD options for Windows older than 7, would be way to much work. Properly can't even be done fully automated.

Fair enough, I appreciate it might be a big job for little benefit :-)
However for now, I'm having problems with "the manual way". Please could you advise what might be going on ?

So here is what I do. Within XP, I create a virtual HDD image, say XP.IMG (could be VHD as it's nearly the same thing). Mount it as a virtual drive with ImDisk.
Then I configure WinNTSetup to use the virtual drive as a target disk, and to inject the WinVBlock driver ("Add Driver" checkbox). So far so good.

Next, first reboot. Said XP.IMG is now mounted as virtual HDD by Grub4Dos. Chainload NTLDR on the physical HDD to start setup.
TXT-mode setup goes well....till the phase "Windows is Starting". At this point it greets me with something like "the setup temporary files cannot be found and cannot continue".

Any clue what the problem might be ?

#241
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So here is what I do. Within XP, I create a virtual HDD image, say XP.IMG (could be VHD as it's nearly the same thing). Mount it as a virtual drive with ImDisk.
Then I configure WinNTSetup to use the virtual drive as a target disk, and to inject the WinVBlock driver ("Add Driver" checkbox). So far so good.

Next, first reboot. Said XP.IMG is now mounted as virtual HDD by Grub4Dos. Chainload NTLDR on the physical HDD to start setup.
TXT-mode setup goes well....till the phase "Windows is Starting". At this point it greets me with something like "the setup temporary files cannot be found and cannot continue".

Any clue what the problem might be ?


Seems the driver integration don't work for a virtual driver like winvblock, it will be skipped and Txtsetup will get a problem.

But if you boot this img with Grub4Dos, why not use a virtual F6 floppy with winvblock files?

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.


#242
Doodoo

Doodoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

But if you boot this img with Grub4Dos, why not use a virtual F6 floppy with winvblock files?

Yes of course that's always possible and it's been reported to work. I didn't try it because I thought the driver integration would do the job....

Seems the driver integration don't work for a virtual driver like winvblock, it will be skipped and Txtsetup will get a problem.

Yes I've also come to that conclusion. I'm not an expert, and perhaps I'm not looking where I should, but when I look in $WIN_NT$.~BT on the boot drive, there is no sign of winvblk32.sys although I would expect to find it there....
Is there a fundamental problem to make the driver integration work with WinVBlock ? or is this some sort of bug / incompatibility ? At least can WinVBlock be integrated manually (if yes, how) ?
Would the driver integration work with e.g. SATA drivers for physical hardware ?

Edited by Doodoo, 14 August 2012 - 07:49 AM.


#243
Doodoo

Doodoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

At least can WinVBlock be integrated manually (if yes, how) ?

In fact it can even be automated: http://reboot.pro/81...400#entry148258
Is that something that could be integrated into WinNTSetup ? Seems like something useful and not only cosmetic.

#244
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there a fundamental problem to make the driver integration work with WinVBlock ? or is this some sort of bug / incompatibility ? At least can WinVBlock be integrated manually (if yes, how) ?
Would the driver integration work with e.g. SATA drivers for physical hardware ?

MSSTMake can integrate Massstorage drivers, for physically existing devices and so far is the best app to do this.
It just don't recognize drivers like WinVBlock.


IntegrateDrv surely is interesting, but has a few week points:

- it's only thought to integrate 1 single driver, no recrusiv adding of drivers
- no silent automation, it ask my to choose 1 of 23 "drivers" for my Intel Storage
- accepts only one target, but $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS can be on different partitions

#245
Doodoo

Doodoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts

MSSTMake can integrate Massstorage drivers, for physically existing devices and so far is the best app to do this.
It just don't recognize drivers like WinVBlock.

Any idea what it would it take to work around the problem (if possible at all) ? Would a tweaked INF file solve the issue ? Or is it just wishful thinking ?

IntegrateDrv surely is interesting, but has a few week points:

Yes indeed it's not perfect... but the source code is available ! As usual it's a question of time more than a question of skill... but I suppose it could easily be integrated in WinNTSetup and improved at the same time :-)

- accepts only one target, but $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS can be on different partitions

Yes I've experienced it myself... It just doesn't like that....
Perhaps the simplest solution is to keep MSSTMake as the default tool, and only use IntegrateDrv for problematic drivers such as WinVBlock ? (anyone tried FiraDisk ?)

#246
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Any idea what it would it take to work around the problem (if possible at all) ? Would a tweaked INF file solve the issue ? Or is it just wishful thinking ?

Can't say, as I not sure how MSSTMake works exactly, WinNTSetup only merges the information into the windows source.

Perhaps the simplest solution is to keep MSSTMake as the default tool, and only use IntegrateDrv for problematic drivers such as WinVBlock ? (anyone tried FiraDisk ?)

How to decide what is a problematic driver? Just guessing that a driver rejected by MSSTMake can be integrated with force (as IntegrateDrv does) is OK, could cause other problems.

Yes indeed it's not perfect... but the source code is available ! As usual it's a question of time more than a question of skill... but I suppose it could easily be integrated in WinNTSetup and improved at the same time :-)

Well, if someone is volunteer to create an improved and small app, I would like to integrated it, but personally have no free time at all.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.


#247
Scampy82

Scampy82

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
From Google translator...
Sorry maybe offtop.
It is impossible to establish Windows 7 SP1 Ultimate. "Error:2 failed to applying the Systemimage!" In what a mistake? Used different images install.wim. Program version 2.2
Thanks

#248
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Sampy82,

Error: 2 usually means that an error occurred while read or write from disk.

Maybe there is a problem with your harddisk or an antivirus software blocking the apply process

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:18 AM.


#249
Scampy82

Scampy82

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi JFX,
You are probably right that matter in a disk, but I checked on liveCD Windows. The antivirus isn't established. Everything is developed on version 2.3 beta 4, but setup not started :(
I will try to test on other disk
:yes:


With other disk Error:2 :(

Edited by Scampy82, 16 August 2012 - 04:57 AM.


#250
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, so I'm doing a lot of Windows 8 testing, and WinNTSetup is proving once again to be a WONDERFUL tool!!!

Just two things I'd like to bring up:

(1) I guess WinNTSetup is now officially "Windows 8 ready"? So in the upper right corner (on the tab) you can add a "8" so it reads "Vista/7/2008/8"?

(2) I am testing with different ISO's, one is an Enterprise version (MSDN) with only one image in the Install.wim. The other is a Core/Pro version, so I had to add "wimindex:2" to the command line. But I can't get this to work. Now, from past experience, this must be something I'm doing wrong, but still I wanted to ask you if you're aware of problems with the -wimindex commandline switch?

Thanks! I love WinNTSetup!!!!!
:thumbup

EDIT: Did a little more testing with a Win8 All-In-One DVD (usually not my favorite, but this one was interesting for me, because it also has NET35 integrated, which I like. So until I figure out how to do that myself, I'll keep this one). It has these "images" in the wim:

Index : 1 Name : Windows 8
Description : Select to install Windows 8 (32-bits).
Index : 2 Name : Windows 8 Pro
Description : Select to install Windows 8 Pro (32-bits).
Index : 3 Name : Windows 8 Enterprise
Description : Select to install Windows 8 Enterprise (32-bits).
Index : 4 Name : Windows 8
Description : Select to install Windows 8 (64-bits).
Index : 5 Name : Windows 8 Pro
Description : Select to install Windows 8 Pro (64-bits).
Index : 6 Name : Windows 8 Enterprise
Description : Select to install Windows 8 Enterprise (64-bits).

Two things happen when I run WinNTSetup and use the /wimindex: commandline option:
(1) The description of the selected version under "Select location of install.wim file" is not automatically adjusted (it only corects itself after I manually pick the same or a different image in the dropdown box)

(2) /wimindex:1 doesn't work, it selects the 3rd image!? (Enterprise 32bit)
All the others (wimindex:2 through 6) work (except for the description)

Edited by Atari800XL, 19 August 2012 - 02:30 PM.





112 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (3), MJ12bot (104), josywong


How to remove advertisement from MSFN