Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

WinNTSetup v3.6.5


  • Please log in to reply
979 replies to this topic

#526
ninjaboyz

ninjaboyz
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm such a noob here..

Before, I successfully made bootable pendrive with Windows 7 and Xp altogether using WinSetupFromUSB.

Now I'm going to bake Windows 8 and Xp. Got confused with UI. All I got is Windows 8 ISO and Xp ISO.

Is there any noob guide?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#527
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

1) may be activated to add Windoss 7/8

Activation in the folder 'OEM'.

I'm not sure what exactly you mean, normally for OEM activation ones uses a custom wim and the right OEM key in unattend.xml.

2) Is it possible to add the installation package from the folder - 'upgrade'

If you mean Windows updates than the answer is no, there are still some updates that can't be integrated without problems.

#528
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Got confused with UI. All I got is Windows 8 ISO and Xp ISO.

Is there any noob guide?

The GUI is actually very noob-friendly.
If have ISO files just mount them in a virtual drive before selecting them.

#529
Scampy82

Scampy82

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi JFX!

*From translator*
Why if I use the *.ini file for installation of WinXP the program opens in Vista/7/8/2008/2012 tab?
Thanks

Sorry, I already understood :)

Edited by Scampy82, 24 June 2013 - 03:12 PM.


#530
Scampy82

Scampy82

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi JFX!

*From translator*
1. If I use the *.ini file at installation WinXP that the provision of *.sif files isn't remembered. Why doesn't remember the folder in which it is?
2. If I use the *.ini file at installation Win7 always the last index gets out. Whether it is possible to make that a certain Index by default got out?

#531
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Sampy82!

Please try the new version 2.3.6.1, it should fix these two bugs :)

#532
Scampy82

Scampy82

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi Sampy82!
Please try the new version 2.3.6.1, it should fix these two bugs :)

Thanks everything works!

#533
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I just downloaded the Windows 8.1 preview from:
http://windows.micro...s-8/preview-iso
I booted Win8PESE, mounted the new iso, then started WinNTSetup (with all my usual tweaks and commandline options), using my normal autounattend.xml (only changed the product key).
I'm glad to say everything went off without a hitch! My compliments to JFX (once again).
I don't really care about any of the new Windows 8.1 features, only thing I wanted was the new (sigh..., 18 months overdue) "Boot To Desktop" option. And indeed, the bugger now can boot straight to the desktop (so, even faster than the 0.2 seconds of Metro I still saw with my previous Windows 8 using Classic Shell).

I haven't tested anything else yet, just wanted to report success with WinNTSetup. Next is finding out how I can add the "Boot To Desktop" to autounattend.xml, would that be possible/ easy, you think? Or else maybe a (command-line!?) option in WinNTSetup?

Maybe we could even name it Windows 7.1 then, instead of 8.1...
:thumbup

#534
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Good to hear that it works with windows 8.1 :D

Have not finished the download yet, but it shouldn't be difficult to find the registry entry for Desktop boot.
I think I'll add "Boot To Desktop" to the tweaks and maybe also add a command line switch.

#535
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, a quick regshot comparison didn't turn up an easy, quick, single registry toggle (yet) to Boot To Desktop, but I'm sure something will come up soon. Other solutions could be a setting in autounattend.xml, or a WinNTSetup tweak.
Then it's :hello: byebye :hello: Metro for me...
:thumbup

#536
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Use the new version 2.3.6.2 with -BootToDesktop, that i've just uploaded.

#537
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
:o JFX, you've got to be kidding, nobody, :w00t: NOBODY is that fast :wacko:
How did you do it !? (I really would like to know!)
Now, you KNOW you're spoiling us, right? :yes:

:thumbup I LOVE :wub: WinNTSetup

#538
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, just the usual way to do it.

- Make 1 Registry shot with RegShot2
- Activate the option in taskbar dialog
- Make 2 Registry shot and compare both

Well and in the diff file

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\StartPage]
"OpenAtLogon"=dword:00000000


looked very suspicious :lol:

#539
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks. I did do a quick Regshot compare, but looked at the result with the standard texteditor (didn't have my favorite editor installed on the preview yet). Must have overlooked it, sorry.
(I mentioned your new addition at MDL, hope you don't mind...)

Edited by Atari800XL, 28 June 2013 - 05:37 AM.


#540
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Source: en_win_xp_pro_x64_with_sp2_vl_X13-41611.iso
run through this process:
http://www.msfn.org/...ate-xp-x64-dvd/
I boot my WAREZ USB-stick, format the drive with two partitions(I set \Program Files to D:\Programs and \Documents and Settings to D:\Settings in nLite) and run WinNTSetup as I usually do with XP x32.
After the initial text-mode section I get a "process1_initialization_failed" BSOD.
I've tested this process via Virtualbox and the same thing happens. If I mount the ISO in VirtualBox it installs just fine. Any way I can avoid having to steal a DVD-burner from someone else in the house to install this?


Edited by jaclaz, 12 July 2013 - 05:57 AM.


#541
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Any way I can avoid having to steal a DVD-burner from someone else in the house to install this?

Maybe you can use WINNT32.EXE in the AMD64 folder of your ISO instead.

#542
martin325

martin325
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
BootToDesktop(the new version 2.3.6.2 with) , it does not work , please check .

#543
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Martin325, on which version of Windows are you testing this? It only works with the Windows 8.1 Preview!
Please give some more details.

#544
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Any way I can avoid having to steal a DVD-burner from someone else in the house to install this?

Maybe you can use WINNT32.EXE in the AMD64 folder of your ISO instead.

How exactly would I do that?

#545
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, either with the GUI Wizard or with commandline:

example: winnt32 /syspart:C: /tempdrive:C: /makelocalsource

#546
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Well, either with the GUI Wizard or with commandline:

example: winnt32 /syspart:C: /tempdrive:C: /makelocalsource

well, apparently none of the .exe's in the ISO are valid win32 applications when I try to launch them from inside SOME WAREZ XP.
Z2Z2xF5.png
If I try to start winnt32.exe from DOS I'm told winnt32.exe can't be run in DOS mode
Again, the ISO boots and installs just fine. I'm getting the impression that the WAREZ doesn't like "64bit" XP. Any other ways of running an XP X64 install off a USB-drive?

Edited by jaclaz, 12 July 2013 - 05:56 AM.


#547
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Any other ways of running an XP X64 install off a USB-drive?

Hmm, you could add an x64 WinPE and dual boot it with your WAREZ pe.
Or you try one of the other solutions here in the Install Windows from USB subforum.


Edited by jaclaz, 13 July 2013 - 03:20 AM.
Replaced the actual name of the WAREZ with "WAREZ"


#548
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,254 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@tordenflesk

Be VERY aware of Rule #1a:

http://www.msfn.org/...tion=boardrules

 

jaclaz



#549
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm sorry jaclaz, but now JFX is supposed to have said "Your WAREZ pe"? (Which he never said).

Could you not edit it so that it's clear to everybody that an edit has taken place? It would be quite unfortunate that JFX would get into trouble for mentioning words like "Warez.." etc...

 

JFX, maybe you yourself should edit your post, the way it reads now is very "JFX-unworthy" to me...


Edited by Atari800XL, 12 July 2013 - 01:54 PM.


#550
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
When running WinNTSetup, I noticed it creates some temp files, one of which is bootmnt.exe and HitmanPro is flagging this as a Trojan. Virustotal shows 5 of 47 on this file. I assume this is a false positive.
C:\Documents and Settings\xxxxx\Local Settings\Temp\WinNTSetup000\Tools\x86\bootmnt.exe      
Size . . . . . . . : 14,336 bytes     
Age  . . . . . . . : 0.0 days (2013-07-13 07:54:35)      
Entropy  . . . . . : 5.5      
SHA-256  . . . . . : E63FECABFAB2E48953E28347D5BBCEFB637F05C0D956D52211A516CE41CCFD90    
Ikarus . . . . . . : Trojan-Spy.Agent!IK      
Fuzzy  . . . . . . : 108.0

Edited by click-click, 13 July 2013 - 12:32 AM.





9 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 8 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Baidu (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN