Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

WinNTSetup v3.6.5


  • Please log in to reply
980 replies to this topic

#601
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

JFX, thanks for the new version. I just got home from work, but just had to check this new version out. Everything seems to work OK, tested XP setup on my testlaptop. One thing I wonder: what was the new method of installing XP all about? I now feel kind of "guilty" that you had to revert back to the "old" method? I hope you didn't have to do a lot of work for nothing?

It's not that I tested on some weird config or something, I mean 512mb may be not be a lot for Win8 (even though it still installs fine, as you might recall), but for XP 512mb is OK, isn't it? Just wondering what your new method was...

 

But as a conclusion from me, testing the new v3WIP version, everything seems to work great for installing XP/W7/W8/W8.1 from USB using Win8PESE. Again, congratulations on this new version, I hope it will take WinNTSetup into many more productive years!!!

THANKS!!!!

 

EDIT: Seems I spoke too soon. After the full XP setup, after the last reboot, Windows doesn't boot and errors out. So I tried again and noticed that -SaveDriveLetters didn't set the checkbox for "Use migrate.inf for driveletter preaasignment". So I manually ticked that box and thought that was it. After another full setup still no luck, no boot. I'm not sure what's going on, looks like the SATA drivers are not installed?

(BTW: as I mentioned before, this exact same setup works with 2.6.x)


Edited by Atari800XL, 03 September 2013 - 11:14 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#602
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

One thing I wonder: what was the new method of installing XP all about? I now feel kind of "guilty" that you had to revert back to the "old" method? I hope you didn't have to do a lot of work for nothing?

It's not that I tested on some weird config or something, I mean 512mb may be not be a lot for Win8 (even though it still installs fine, as you might recall), but for XP 512mb is OK, isn't it? Just wondering what your new method was...

Well, i tried to make NT5 setup more correct, so it would have worked with some of these insane nlite mods.

But in the end it just resulted in more questions and problems, so I revert it mostly back.

No sure actually why i thought about decompression boot files  :angel

 

EDIT: Seems I spoke too soon. After the full XP setup, after the last reboot, Windows doesn't boot and errors out. So I tried again and noticed that -SaveDriveLetters didn't set the checkbox for "Use migrate.inf for driveletter preaasignment". So I manually ticked that box and thought that was it. After another full setup still no luck, no boot. I'm not sure what's going on, looks like the SATA drivers are not installed?

(BTW: as I mentioned before, this exact same setup works with 2.6.x)

Will fix the command line!

At least this means that boot files and driver integration was successful  :yes:

 

But in TXT phase the driver isn't installed for some reason.

 

Do you see any difference in DRV folder or in $WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif between v2 and the v3WIP?



#603
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hmmm, sorry, things are getting a little confusing now. You say "driver integration was successful" and "in TXT phase the driver isn't installed".

Maybe I don't understand you correctly, but going back (another testrun), I again saved all contents of C:\ just before reboot (after WinNTSetup finishes) so I can compare later. There is no $1 folder at all in $WIN_NT$.~LS\OEM$ (which normally holds the Driverpack folder "D" and all its subfolders). Maybe this is what you meant (or just the opposite).

So now I'll have to go back *once again* and see if the failure to integrate the drivers is my error, or if WinNTSetup "forgot" to add them.

 

EDIT: OK, went in one more time, looks like 3WIP "simply" (?) didn't copy the $OEM$ dir from my XP source, as it normally does... Any ideas?

(Sorry, had to figure this one out in my mind. Of course the TXTmode storage drivers were there, but the Windows mode [SATA] drivers were not).


Edited by Atari800XL, 03 September 2013 - 01:22 PM.


#604
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

EDIT: OK, went in one more time, looks like 3WIP "simply" (?) didn't copy the $OEM$ dir from my XP source, as it normally does... Any ideas?

Could reproduce it in XP VM, it didn't move the folder \$WIN_NT$.~LS\OEM to \OEM.

Also the winnt.sif update doesn't happens cause I mess up the file attributes.

 

 

WinNTSetup v3 (WIP 04/09/2013)

 

- fixed drvbase option not working in some cases
- fixed cmdline SaveDriveLetters, uxtheme


Edited by JFX, 04 September 2013 - 01:50 AM.


#605
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I tested the new version, only upto just before the final reset (to install XP) but there's still no $1$ folder in $win_nt$.~ls\$oem$

 

... I guess there's no point in letting the setup continue? I guess the oem folder still isn't copied?

 

EDIT: For completeness, here's the structure from the same setup with 2.3.6:

$WIN_NT$.~LS

-$OEM$

--$1

---D (Mass storage drivers)


Edited by Atari800XL, 04 September 2013 - 08:33 AM.


#606
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

This folder is created if you choose integration Method 1 in DPBase.

Both versions actually setting Method 2, in DP_Base.

 

I get pretty much the same output here ...



#607
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry, I don't understand your second sentence.

Yes, I chose Method 1 in DPBase, and this way has always worked with WinNTSetup. What do you mean with:

"Both versions actually setting..."? Both versions of what?

Sorry... I was under the impression that using version 3 it might work the same as version 2.3.6?

Once again: With the *same* source, version 2.3.6 *is* creating the \$1 subfolder, but v3 is not (and so the Mass storage drivers are missing in Windows).

 

OK, another edit: I use DPMassstorage *before* I use WinNTSetup, to create the ISO. I *don't* use the WinNTOption "Run Driver Packs". I think this is the source of the confusion!? My XP iso (which I also use as source to burn a CD), has the $oem$\$1 folder "burnt-in", so it was automatically copied along, in older WinNTSetup versions).


Edited by Atari800XL, 04 September 2013 - 09:16 AM.


#608
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Both version of Winntsetup setting the method 2 in DPbase ini file.

And it's DPBase that creates the \$WIN_NT$.~LS\$OEM$\$1\D folder.

 

No version should copy this folder in the root, it will be copied later by the real setup.



#609
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't use the DPBase option *in* WinNTSetup, the $1 folder is there already in the *source*. I'm really sorry to keep getting on about this, please tell me to shut up anytime.

As you might recall, I copied all files from C: just before the first reboot using 2.3.6, I still have this folder so I can compare how the new version differs.

Maybe we can take this one step at a time: The folder "old" (= setup files created by 2.3.6) *does* have the \oem$\$1\d subfolder (seems logical to me, as it's copied along with the full $oem$ folder, which also holds other stuff, like cmdlines.txt), while the folder "new" (= setup files created by 3WIP) does not. To me that looks like something is missing?

 

I think we should "forget" about DPbase, and focus on why the $oem$ folder isn't copied?


Edited by Atari800XL, 04 September 2013 - 09:37 AM.


#610
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

:lol: So we talking the whole time about different thing.

 

1. I thought it was about the msstmake way of driver integration

Then I thought it was about driver pack integration via driverpackbase.

 

Now it seems it's all about the $OEM$ folder on your CD/ISO that's not being copied in v3.

Well the good thing is that it could fixed some bugs i had not found else.

 

Anyway next version will copy this folder, too.



#611
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Oh man, I'm so glad you're still smiling... As I said, I was not feeling too good about this at all, luckily it's resolved, and just before dinnertime for me :-)

I was just running another test copying the $oem$ folder manually (from the "old" folder) before reboot. I guess this test will be successful :-)

So now you're saying copying the $oem$ folder wasn't even included in v3 yet!? Aargghh, now I want my money back! Oh wait... :whistle:

 

THANKS!!!!!



#612
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

:angel Seams I just forgot to add the drive letter to \$OEM$

 

Rev 1 uploaded.



#613
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

IT still doesn't work. Looks like there's still something wrong with the mass storage drivers.

The install folders look OK this time ("almost" the same as the 2.3.6 ones), and the setup looks like everything's going OK. But the final reboot into XP fails (the quick flashing bluescreen looks familiar, like there are no SATA drivers at all).

To me it looks like the drivers *are there* this time, but some setting(s) are still wrong/missing.

Please let me know what I can do to debug this.


Edited by Atari800XL, 05 September 2013 - 04:47 AM.


#614
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Depending on the used Driverpacks method the actual install should be executed through: \$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif

 

[GUIRunOnce]
command9="%SystemDrive%\DPsFnshr.exe"

 

Well there have to be any difference in the \$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif files



#615
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Maybe we're getting somewhere again. Babysteps...

(1) Here's my (working and tested x1000) commandline for WinNTSetyp (2.3.6)

WinNTSetup2_x86.exe -nt5 -source:k: -syspart:c: -unattend:winnt.sif -savedriveletters -drivers:L: -reboot

(2) From that winnt.sif (which is a *separate* file, not in the iso):

OemPnpDriversPath="Drivers\1;Drivers\2;Drivers\3;Drivers\4;Drivers\5;Drivers\6;D\M\3;D\M\A;D\M\AD; (etc.)!

as you can see, the first 6 folders are my own pc-specific drivers, the rest is de Driverpacks Mass Storage drivers (method 1).

 

The resultant \$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif indeed has this full line! (As confirmed from my folder with the saved setup files). At the very end, WinNTSetup adds ";DRV;DRV\1;DRV\2", etc. (From the mounted L: drive).

 

Now on to the new version 3WIP:

(3) Commandline is the same (with "nt5" without the dash, of course)

(4) The separate winnt.sif is also the same

(5) The resultant \$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif only has:

OemPnpDriversPath="Drivers\1;Drivers\2;Drivers\3;Drivers\4;Drivers\5;Drivers\6"

 

Aah, so I guess we found another thing: WinNTSetup 3WIP doesn't add the *existing* part of this line at the beginning.

 

I must admit I only found this as I was typing this... I'll await your response, but it looks like this can be resolved?!


Edited by Atari800XL, 05 September 2013 - 07:11 AM.


#616
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Okay, that great these missing entries in OemPnpDriversPath could explain the BSOD after last reboot.

We will know if you fix the line in winnt.sif after running v3, with the correct data one form v2.

 

BTW: In v2 doe you have selected an winnt.sif file?


Edited by JFX, 05 September 2013 - 08:27 AM.


#617
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Your question: "In v2 do you have an winnt.sif file?": Yes, see point (1) and (2), these are from the working v2 version (2.3.6).

 

To me (with just basic scripting abilities, no real programming) it seems like a case of path=oldpath+newpath, where maybe something has gone wrong :-)

 

You *did* know you already coded this correctly in v2, right? :whistle: If not, then who are you, and what have you done to "our" JFX :o


Edited by Atari800XL, 05 September 2013 - 08:58 AM.


#618
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Well that I'm not the one how wrote it, should be clear by now.

Nonetheless I'm the one behind the development for over a year now. 

 

Technically v2 does only work in your case by mistake, it's not designed to accept 2 different driver integrations on one source,



#619
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,419 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Well that I'm not the one how wrote it, should be clear by now.

Nonetheless I'm the one behind the development for over a year now. 

 

Technically v2 does only work in your case by mistake, it's not designed to accept 2 different driver integrations on one source,

Well, it may be one of those rare "by pure chance" mistakes that open a new way, you know, something like:

http://www.rsc.org/c...pages/1928.html

Penicillin was discovered by chance, after Fleming accidentally left a dish of staphylococcus bacteria uncovered for a few days.

 

 

;)

 

jaclaz



#620
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks guys. No, I did not know you were *not* the original developer. Sorry about that...

Very strange about the driver line. It seemed so natural to me to just "add" the new path, instead of replace.

So your advice would be to "take care" of that line myself, prior to reboot? If so, I'm still glad we figured this one out...

 

Or maybe still a chance that WinNTSetup can use "add" instead of "replace" like in v2? I would really like that!


Edited by Atari800XL, 05 September 2013 - 10:45 AM.


#621
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Or maybe still a chance that WinNTSetup can use "add" instead of "replace" line in v2?

Sure it will be done in next version, but there is much more I have to change here.

Next version have to wait a bit longer (holidays are over ....)


Edited by JFX, 05 September 2013 - 10:48 AM.


#622
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks. Good enough for me, take your time.

I was just thinking: In V2, it could hardly be an "accident" that the path was appended instead of replaced. Isn't this the normal way of treating driverspaths?



#623
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yep, but it has to check all winnt.sif files,

 

- one created by driverpacks before winntsetup

-.one create by the MSSTMake integration

- one create by the driverpacks integration

- the one in the root of the XP source

- and the one supplied by user



#624
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I think the "one supplied by user" should naturally *replace* the winnt.sif in the xp source. The same goes for the first one in your list. The others look like they could/should be appended.

I'll patiently await your best decision...

 

Edit: Something like this might tie me over until a new WIP version (take your time!)

(sorry, Autohotkey is about as fancy as I get)

Untested Tested and working

; I use an XP source (iso) with already integrated DPbase mass storage
; drivers, the paths to these drivers are located in winnt.sif, in
; the variale OemPnpDriversPath
; This winnt.sif file is located in the WinNTSetup folder, for easy
; maintenance: when a change is made, there's no need to rebuild the iso.

; When I use WinNTSetup (version 2.x), more drivers are added using
; its "Add Drivers" option, this time from an ISO file (determined by PC
; type, eg. video, sound, etc.). ; WinNTSetup 2.x **APPENDS** the paths
; to these drivers in the OemPnpDriversPath.

; The new 3.x version of WinNTSetup **REPLACES** the OemPnpDriversPath
; when it adds drivers. In my case this means the MassStoragedrivers path
; is gone, and XP won't boot from a SATA drive.

; To solve this, I need to replicate the 2.x behaviour, and **APPEND**
; the MassStorage to the OemPnpDriversPath.
; Luckily, this can be done after WinNTSetup finishes, and prior to the
; final reboot (that starts the XP setup) by using the "-RunAfter" parameter.

; This script should be compiled with Autohotkey to ModifyDriverPath.exe.
; Then the following switch can be added to the WinNTSetup 3.x commandline:
; -runafter:"ModifyDriverPath.exe"

; ===================================

; This script starts execution after WinNTSetup has written all XP install
; files to c:\
; We now have to append the path in our original winnt.sif (from the
; WinNTSetup program folder) to the modified (replaced) path which now
; resides on the c: drive

originalfile=%a_scriptdir%\winnt.sif
modifiedfile=c:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif

IniRead, ExistingPath, %originalfile%, Unattended, OemPnpDriversPath
IniRead, ModifiedPath, %modifiedfile%, Unattended, OemPnpDriversPath

; Now we join the original path with the new path (using ";") and
; write it (in textquotes) to the winnt.sif file on c:

IniWrite, "%ExistingPath%;%ModifiedPath%", c:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif, Unattended, OemPnpDriversPath

Edited by Atari800XL, 06 September 2013 - 10:42 AM.


#625
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 458 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, that should help until next WIP comes.

After checking a bit more about driver packs, I tend more to scan the \$WIN_NT$.~LS\$OEM$\$1\D folder so no need to rely on winnt.sif.

But this biggest part should be logging what's happen  :angel






5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN