Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

WinNTSetup v3.7.0


  • Please log in to reply
1018 replies to this topic

#351
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Jfx i have tested this on two different motherboards one is GigaByte GA-965P DS3 other one is p5sd2-vm asus both have the same problem.

hmm, that strange cause bootcode is written correctly BIOS should be the problem. But same issue with two different boards :huh:


i formatted partitions using minitool partition wizard professional.

what is diskpart

my hdd contains data its 500 gb what to do which partitions i need to create new the boot one or xp one

and i remember i have this time tested in single partition of 80 gb hdd same issue

Well, it's only an idea that diskpart or diskmanagment under xp can create a more compatible partition.


how to diskpart is it another program like bart pe or like gena


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#352
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
regarding DiskPart (found it with Google :D ) Look here

#353
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
jfx creating partition with diskpart method works now setups working.

one problem its missing a file name msvbvm50.dll during txt mode

i have used the same iso with usb method using rufus and rmprepusb

both methods works without missing any file and no errors during xp setup.

is there program alternative for diskpart like mouse base non command line
program which will be compatible with winnt setup

i tried to find a front end through google ill search more results so far couldn't any front ends.

#354
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

jfx creating partition with diskpart method works now setups working.

Great, so it was something wrong with this partition.

one problem its missing a file name msvbvm50.dll during txt mode

i have used the same iso with usb method using rufus and rmprepusb

both methods works without missing any file and no errors during xp setup.

Hmm, yes WinntSetup don't support nlited sources fully, sorry.

is there program alternative for diskpart like mouse base non command line
program which will be compatible with winnt setup

i tried to find a front end through google ill search more results so far couldn't any front ends.

You can use the disk management from Windows XP. If diskpart works then this has to work, too.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:24 AM.


#355
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,574 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
JFX,
the BOOTSECT.DAT posted by AQM (and as well the bootsector in WinNTSetup.log) are both "wrong". :w00t:
Sectors before are 0 (should have been 63), i.e. at 0x1C there should be 0x3F and not 0x00.

jaclaz

#356
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 197 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
nLited sources can be tricky for "3rd party" utilities, still I have found WinNTSetup not very "harsh" here, most of my XP installs work (even nLited).
I also love Rufus, but it also cannot fully support every "crazy" nlite thing you throw at it. My experience is: If you only use some basic nLite features, both programs work very well.

#357
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

JFX,
the BOOTSECT.DAT posted by AQM (and as well the bootsector in WinNTSetup.log) are both "wrong". :w00t:
Sectors before are 0 (should have been 63), i.e. at 0x1C there should be 0x3F and not 0x00.

jaclaz


jaclaz can you tell me how to check, test or verify where is the problem it there a way to fix by myself if not is there a problem with winnt setup program

#358
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

nLited sources can be tricky for "3rd party" utilities, still I have found WinNTSetup not very "harsh" here, most of my XP installs work (even nLited).
I also love Rufus, but it also cannot fully support every "crazy" nlite thing you throw at it. My experience is: If you only use some basic nLite features, both programs work very well.


is there an alternate for installing xp like winnt setup from internal hdd to internal hdd successfully like these nlited or rvmi slipstreamed iso's

i have used rufus and winnt setup and i found out that my xp install gets corrupted and i could found how during setup i found no errors of install only in winnt setup it asks for paths it couldn't locate manually we have to locate the extracted iso for missing files it could find on winnt setup based folders at installation partition.

my question is that is the cd install is the only to install custom or nlited or rvmi based iso's is it the only to successfully install xp its very slow with cd install do you guys have a best way successful way to install xp through usb or internal hdd install method.

if there isnt then we have to burn and waste dvd-r every time we have to install a complete upto date and custom addons xp iso's

i know rmprepusb rufus and winnt setup they are fast and easy to understand without having deep technical know how do guys have best solutions than these

help would be extremely aprreciated

#359
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i have used rmprepusb i have 1.5 gb ram

and i made a iso bigger than ram size i have

is there a way to install xp vista 7 8 through internal HDD i mean iso can be loaded to
hdd's virtual memory like page file or something like virtual ram.

because vista 7 8 xp iso i would like make a bigger one in the future with lots of app addons

because the nature of apps i add the size gets bigger.

i have used rufus, winnt setup but the problem is

like win 98 se setup extracted to a location on hdd one can easily run setup via loading dos and locating partition and run setup and no usb and no cd require and installation period was the fastest.

is there a way to install xp vista 7 8 like that i mean through two ways

through iso file and extracted setup files

i mean a program when we boot pc and before os runs that program os installer or manager or you name it runs and asks for location of iso or setup files location of your liking i mean starting from windows version whether from usb or through installing it to hdd from installed windows or through pe enviroment installing to hdd and then running setup of favourite os'es without the need of removable drives like usb usb hdd cd dvd.

i know it sound crazy but have these crazy ideas in my mind and i am not programmer i wish i was so i could develop a tool which run without even install it and like portable version of os installer like winnt setup but without the need to run through pe or within in os already installed.

i mean a program which we copy to usb or hdd or cd or usb hdd you name works and installs the almost any os for setup files or iso or any know methods.

sorry its not your responsibility but i am just asking

i have just three of these rmprepusb rufus and winnt setup.

are there any other i dont know please provide assitance.

Regards

AQM

#360
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

JFX,
the BOOTSECT.DAT posted by AQM (and as well the bootsector in WinNTSetup.log) are both "wrong". :w00t:
Sectors before are 0 (should have been 63), i.e. at 0x1C there should be 0x3F and not 0x00.

Thanks jaclaz.
Wonder how i missed that.

@AQM

If you tell me what exactly you slipped / nlited into your XP CD, I properly can fix it.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:24 AM.


#361
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,574 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks jaclaz.
Wonder how i missed that.


I would assume that missing as much as three bytes difference/anomaly in 512 is allowed and can happen to even the most accurate peep ;):
http://reboot.pro/2246/#entry14607

jaclaz

#362
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@AQM

If you tell me what exactly you slipped / nlited into your XP CD, I properly can fix it.

Posted Image



I didn't think this program supported a modded XP source or did I miss something? What did you think about adding the browse for $OEM$ folder button? :yes: :no: ? :lol:

#363
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I didn't think this program supported a modded XP source or did I miss something? What did you think about adding the browse for $OEM$ folder button? :yes: :no: ? :lol:

Well I doesn't support modded sources, but as this is constantly requested I'm thinking about a list of files the cause trouble.
If everything works as expected there could be a file list WinNTSetup takes care about.

custom $OEM$ folder already integrated in v2.3.2.0, just forgot to mention it in last changelog.

Posted Image

Edited by JFX, 09 March 2013 - 10:24 AM.


#364
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Well I doesn't support modded sources, but as this is constantly requested I'm thinking about a list of files the cause trouble.
If everything works as expected there could be a file list WinNTSetup takes care about.

custom $OEM$ folder already integrated in v2.3.2.0, just forgot to mention it in last changelog.

Posted Image


To be honest, I would say more than half of XP installers mod the source in someway or another and it would be great if your tool would work with a mod XP source but hey if it never does, your tool already does enough. XP will be gone in a year so NT6x stuff is the more important now. Thanks for your work and testing the new build now! :thumbup

#365
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
that xp pro corp source is converted mce 2005

winnt setup cant locate this file during setup we have to locate manually.

L:\Copy of MCE\CMPNENTS\MEDIACTR\I386\MEDIACTR.cab

few ex. files it couldn't find ill tell later when i install again and note them


two addons which install after we create initial account and setup basic xp settings are not installing

ROE_SageThumbs20015_addon.cab

ROE_uTorrent_addon_3.2.1B28025.cab

we can not manually locate them because on browse button is available


jfx if we want to use the repair option or revovery console mode how can we used that could add a setup option for that.

i mean when selecting partitions for setuo to set up initial phase.

you add the repair or recovery console mode prompt in the set up phase built in.


Can anyone make a univeral OS Installer Utility portable one

i created a thread there please i know its big and have arguments

but i have explained how to make one after the arguments

please its a need for any one who wants independent solution like without in an os environment

i know its difficult

please read and take your time to think about

a bootable virtual cd dvd emulator contains self os features

like running a virtual drive running in windows and the cd dvd file works flawlessly inside without errors

making a self bootable portable program is not an old concept i guess as to my knowledge

once its developed entire world would give respect to the maker.

the thread i created please read its big

http://www.ryanvm.ne...pic.php?t=10047

i wish to be a part in this project but i have no programming skills.


and the arugment part were i speak grow up developers is not for jfx, steve, and pete barted there are doing the different stuff i meant the paid one softwares developers.

developers who sells the stuff and still dont able make a program rufus, winnt setup, or rmprepusb

these three are keeping the installation process and problems in safe zone.

Edited by jaclaz, 12 November 2012 - 11:58 AM.


#366
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,574 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
AQM
The general idea is that you NEVER post twice one after another, if you have something to say you forgot and your previous post is the last one in the thread, please edit it adding new content.

I cannot make head or tail of what you are talking about.

With their limits, the software solutions are all "on the table", grub4dos, winsetupfromusb, rmprepusb, rufus, etc.

Everytime I hear someone - expecially if self-proclaiming himself as a non-programmer - talking of "universal" OS installer I get shivers down my back.

Such a thing does not (and CANNOT) exist.

There may be solutions, like the mentioned ones that can usually be extended/adapted to another OS install (sometimes, not "always" or not always without modifying - possibly heavily - the install source).

If you want an "universal" solution, you need a hardware one, at least THREE of them do exist, mentioned in this thread:
http://reboot.pro/8944/


With the addition of this thingy here (which seemingly is not - or not yet AFAIK- multiboot):
https://sites.google...drom_en/isoeasy

jaclaz

#367
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
how to make solution is it a bad or stupid idea

a self bootable program like yours without preparation usb from usb or hdd


what i mean is there a way to the os iso or any cd dvd format and run directly from locating the path from hdd or usb using hdd space for installation process.


how hacking and code breaking take over these limits

eg console emulators makers

converting console hardware to software is emulating


how about creating a pe os installer or a program which boots and its loads self to hdd or ram which ever is best and then provide options to install take control over or supports these issues & limitations of virtual drive, ram, and protected mode os other stuff you talked about

#368
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The choose your $OEM% folder deal works great, JFX! Thanks for added that! :thumbup

#369
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

AQM
The general idea is that you NEVER post twice one after another, if you have something to say you forgot and your previous post is the last one in the thread, please edit it adding new content.

I cannot make head or tail of what you are talking about.

With their limits, the software solutions are all "on the table", grub4dos, winsetupfromusb, rmprepusb, rufus, etc.

Everytime I hear someone - expecially if self-proclaiming himself as a non-programmer - talking of "universal" OS installer I get shivers down my back.

Such a thing does not (and CANNOT) exist.

There may be solutions, like the mentioned ones that can usually be extended/adapted to another OS install (sometimes, not "always" or not always without modifying - possibly heavily - the install source).

If you want an "universal" solution, you need a hardware one, at least THREE of them do exist, mentioned in this thread:
http://reboot.pro/8944/


With the addition of this thingy here (which seemingly is not - or not yet AFAIK- multiboot):
https://sites.google...drom_en/isoeasy

jaclaz


the iodd drive is good but how making a software like that one for any usb or hdd internal or external

i have usb ddvd writer but i am fed up with writing again and again making new iso cd' dvd's and usb is time consuming for anyone

that i why i thought i should ask people to make a software like iodd portable virtual drive because when its broke you have buy again and keeping lot removable things is brain twisting your best device is your internal hdd is guess which comes with any pc you get.

cdemu

man that the one i think will needed to make for windows or how about cdemu standalone program having its self os built in well just a thought

Edited by jaclaz, 12 November 2012 - 02:09 PM.


#370
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,574 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I will try again, SECOND WARNING:

AQM
The general idea is that you NEVER post twice one after another, if you have something to say you forgot and your previous post is the last one in the thread, please edit it adding new content.


About:

the iodd drive is good but how making a software like that one for any usb or hdd internal or external


As you have been already told, here and on the thread on the other board you linked to, making such thing in software is either NOT possible or extremely difficult, and in any case it has not being done till now, and even when it will be made it cannot be "universal".

It is not that by whining or by repeating over and over your questions/wishes you will in any way facilitate the creation of such a tool.

We got the message, you want someone else (not you since you don't know programming) to write something that is (for those that actually know about programming) deemed impossible.

Your wish is recorded, you don't need to insist on it, or if you wish to do so this thread (which is about JFX's WinNTSetup) is NOT the place to post about it or your other babblings.

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 12 November 2012 - 02:21 PM.


#371
AQM

AQM

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


JFX,
the BOOTSECT.DAT posted by AQM (and as well the bootsector in WinNTSetup.log) are both "wrong". :w00t:
Sectors before are 0 (should have been 63), i.e. at 0x1C there should be 0x3F and not 0x00.

jaclaz


jaclaz can you tell me how to check, test or verify where is the problem it there a way to fix by myself if not is there a problem with winnt setup program


jaclaz

can you tell me how to check these file i uploaded i would love to understand that

is there a tool for this

jaclaz


i tried to press the edit button i mistakenly posted the post is there a way to delete what is wrongly posted

ok understood about the last post end words

could you make a winnt setup version like this just asking as u told it can be made universal

sorry for late understanding this forum edit functions i though we could delete what u mistakenly posted

We got the message, you want someone else (not you since you don't know programming) to write something that is (for those that actually know about programming) deemed impossible.


ok could u give some tips from where i should start on learning programming i have books on c in three days, java 2, vb 6

i could start doing that rather than receiving responses like that.

if u can't help how to check these two files then its fine

can i ask the same thing for you jfx how to check these files

i remember the days when i worked in kalsoft those fastians graduate developers had the same attitude problem with me that why i left the job

lets start asking how to start making stuff like that and i serious logical commands and programming is not my field but a response like will drive anyone crazy to which i not there field to do.

so where should start in this field lets what i can do my ideas my ways can only done by learning that the only way everybody's happy

dont take this personal

every thing you want is not always easy.

in our religion no one has the right to speak like insulting anyone's skill level our prophet was the who didnt knew how to read write.

and everbody know what muhammad (saw) did with the help of only allah subhanuwatahllah god almighty.

i wish he was here today to help less literate followers of his so we dont ask and receive responses like that in forums.

having knowledge is nothing but the have knowledge and spreading and teaching to those who are weak is the best person among all in the of allah.

again dont take it personnel i have this knowledge of quran and sunnah and i dont feel proud when knowledge somebody need help in joining or sharing.


its very commoner right given by allah to every common muslim its anyone complusory duty to do not a favor or something.

some code in this post has mixed the edited posts i made so far

could any one fix this

Edited by jaclaz, 13 November 2012 - 04:23 AM.


#372
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I am getting an error trying to install Vista with WinNT 2.3.2. This is a fresh source and Premium. :unsure:

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

And This

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by laddanator, 13 November 2012 - 08:19 AM.


#373
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,574 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
AQM, if you want tips about starting to learn programming, you could start a NEW thread here:
http://www.msfn.org/...s-cmdbatch-etc/

About the issue you had with WinNTSetup v2.3 cannot say by what it was caused, most probably by a "wrong" way with which you have partitioned/formatted the hard disk.

The MBR you posted had the starting address of the volume at offset 0x3F (63).
The PBR/VBR/bootsector you posted had the starting address of the volume at offset 0x00 (0).

Of course such a disk won't boot, as these values should be the same.

This has actually nothing to do with programming, but rather with knowing how hard disks, partitions and volumes "work".

Go here:
http://thestarman.pc.../mbr/index.html
and read EVERYTHING on it.

If you have doubts, question, feel free to ask them, in a NEW thread, the most suitable forum for these kind of questions is:
http://www.msfn.org/...e-media-issues/

jaclaz

#374
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@laddanator

This looks like a corrupted *.dll file. Don't think it's related to WinNTSetup.

#375
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@laddanator

This looks like a corrupted *.dll file. Don't think it's related to WinNTSetup.


Vista will load fine if I install it without WinNTsetup. I will look into the DLL file thing and see what I find. B)


Ok, the source I was using at first, I forgot I injected IE9 into the source and I used a true clean source and WinNTsetup loaded the Vista fine but why would the source with IE9 cause and issue? I used DISM to make the injection as the same with Windows 7 and WinNTsetup loads it fine. I can use the same Vista source with the IE9 and load it fine from DVD or USB. What do you think WinNTsetup is having an issue with?

Edited by laddanator, 13 November 2012 - 06:55 PM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users