Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

WinNTSetup v3.7.0


  • Please log in to reply
1013 replies to this topic

#1001
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Harkaz just released XP SP4 RC.

I was very impressed, it works perfectly with WinNTSetup know (just did a quick test).

 

I integrated SP4 into my SP3 source, used DPBase to add storage drivers (SATA etc), created the iso, booted Win8PESE-64, used WinNTSetup 3.7 to install. Everything works fine.

English only for now, but still very impressive, I think. I will still use the (localized) OnePiece packs for now, but SP4 is a very impressive achievement, I think.

 

Of course, the most impressive thing is that WinNTSetup can install both XPSP4 and Windows 10 just as easily, all three "products" released within one week!




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1002
devdevadev

devdevadev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-June 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
My Laptop is 'Dell Inspiron 1545' which is a MBR/BIOS type........ I have recently installed WIN10TP as 'WIMBoot + VHDX' configuration in my system which is created with the help of 'WinNTSetup v3.7'. Everything is working just fine. But there is no option for 'Sleep'. Why ? Does 'Sleep' feature is not supported in WIMBoot ? Why I am unable to use 'Sleep/hibernate' features if I use 'WIMBoot + VHDX' configuration ? Is there any role of 'WinNTSetup' for not accessing 'Sleep/hibernate' feature ? I want to keep My Installation Drive as small as possible so I want to disable 'pagefile.sys'. Is there any serious drawback of disabling 'Pagefile.sys' ? Regards....

#1003
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I don't now about sleep but hibernate is not supported in nativeVHD boot environment.

WinNTSetup will disable hibernate only, if you tell it to do.

 

If you disable pagefile.sys and have not enough RAM, than you will get an error message by windows if you reach your RAM limit.

 

BTW: Why do you use VHDX, you know they require more size, do you?


Edited by JFX, 11 October 2014 - 02:37 AM.


#1004
devdevadev

devdevadev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-June 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi 'JFX'.....

 

Thanks for useful info...........

I prefer Dual Boot of latest Windows OS (Win10TP) but I don't want to use two Partitions for two OSes. I want to keep all Installation files and folders of Both OS in a single partition. It's why I using 'WIMBoot + VHDX'. I am using 'VHDX' because it allow me to keep two OSes in a single partition. And If one OS is corrupted then I re-install it within form second OS and vice-versa. And there is no need to format two Partitions again and again. And It very comfortable for me to just delete a 'VHDX' file in order to remove a OS completely without formatting a whole partition. And Before deleting 'VHDX' file I can cut-paste my Imp. Data within fro 'VHDX' to the root of same Partition which contains 'VHDX'. And By this way I don't have backup my Imp. Data to any other Storage Device. And After re-installation of Windows within 'VHDX'. I reverse the cut-paste process.

 

As I am using tetra boot of 'Mac OS X' , 'Win 10 TP' , 'Win X TP' and 'Ubuntu 14.10'. So I want to keep minimum number of partition in my Hard Disk.

 

You mean 'VHDX' require/consume more size in order to hold WINDOWS? If 'Yes' , then what about 'VHD' or any other 'Virtual Disk Drive' ? Does 'VHD' also require more size ?

 

 I can not compromise with 'Hibernate' feature so what should I do so that I can keep two Windows OS in one partition along with WIMBoot ? Is there any solution ?

 

I have only 3GB RAM. So Will it be safer to disable 'pagefile.sys' in my Case ? or not ?

 

Please suggest me a trick/method by which I can keep two WIMBooted OS within same partition with 'Hibernate' features....

 

Thanks & Regards....
 



#1005
devdevadev

devdevadev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-June 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

What may be the reason behind disabling 'Hibernate' if booting from native VHD by Windows ?

 

I think 'WinNTSetup v3.7' should show 'Enable Hibernate' checkbox under 'Tweaks' instead of 'Disable Hibernate' checkbox. So that we can 'Enable Hibernate' if booting is performed from VHD by Windows. Otherwise there is no meaning of 'Disable Hibernate' checkbox if booting is going to be performed from native VHD by Windows.

 

If possible then please replace 'Disable Hibernate' checkbox with 'Enable Hibernate' checkbox under 'Tweaks' if booting from native VHD by Windows.

 

Is it possible to implement following configuration ?

http://reboot.pro/to...tp/#entry187946

 

Thanks & Regards.....


Edited by devdevadev, 11 October 2014 - 07:06 PM.


#1006
Agent47

Agent47
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-December 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi JFX and Atari800XL

 

 

Finally got a chance to test XP with driver pack mass-storage integrated. Worked perfectly as expected  :thumbup  .

 

@Atari800XL

 

Would you mind sharing from where i can download the unofficial SP4 and how to integrate it to XP SP3 MSDN edition ?.



#1007
devdevadev

devdevadev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-June 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Would you mind sharing from where i can download the unofficial SP4  ?.

 

https://drive.google...sp=sharing#list

 

Regards...



#1008
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Devdevadev I just mean you should use VHD instead of VHDX.

For the hibernate, it's a limitation of VHD booting, there is nothing I could do about.



#1009
devdevadev

devdevadev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-June 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

http://www.experts-e...t-from-VHD.html

 

Following Point is described in above Site under Tips, Gotchas, and FYIs-

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In case of VHD booting Hibernation is disabled, so you cannot hibernate your laptop.  However, if you expect to be in one given install regularly, you may be able to hibernate by placing that installation directly on the hard drive and putting subsequent alternate installations in VHDs.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I could not properly understand exact meaning of above para. Can you please explain above para in more simple way....

 

Could above point may be useful in my case ?

 

Regards..


Edited by devdevadev, 12 October 2014 - 04:58 AM.


#1010
JFX

JFX

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

An even more simple way to explain?  :unsure:

Well, I give it a try:

 

IT IS NOT POSSIBLE!!!

You simply can NOT hibernate a system that was booted from a VHD.



#1011
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@Atari800XL

Would you mind sharing from where i can download the unofficial SP4 and how to integrate it to XP SP3 MSDN edition ?.

I think this is a better link, here you can read all about SP4, it also has the official download link. Please, never trust any other link!

http://www.ryanvm.ne...der=asc&start=0

 

In that forum, you can also ask about integration. If you're stuck, just ask!

Here's a quick howto:

(1) extract your XPSP3 to a folder, eg. d:\xpsp3

(2) Download sp4 (eg. to d:\WindowsXP-USP4-NOPOS-x86-ENU.exe)

(3) Execute this from command prompt:

WindowsXP-USP4-NOPOS-x86-ENU.exe /integrate:d:\xpsp3

(4) Rename d:\xpsp3 to xpsp4

(5) Rebuild the iso

 

Please note: I still like the OnePiece solutions better!! (For one thing, those are available in more languages), but still the Harkaz SP4 is an amazing piece of work!!


Edited by Atari800XL, 12 October 2014 - 12:10 PM.


#1012
devdevadev

devdevadev

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-June 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

OK...'JFX'

 

Sorry for disturbing you too much..........

 

post-65263-0-56456900-1408876221.png

 

As you said earlier that 'Hibernate' does not work if booting from 'Microsoft Native VHD'. But what if we boot Windows within from 'Raw Hard Disk Image' or 'Raw Partition Image' either via 'EasyBCD NeoSmart Bootloader' or 'Grub4dos' ?

 

Can you please tell me how to create 'Raw Hard Disk Image' and 'Raw Partition Image'. I don't know about how to create these Raw Images. Actually till now I was using either your 'WinNTSetup v3.7' or 'Bootice v1.33' in order to create VHD Images but none of them allow to create Raw Images........

 

So please suggest me a good tool/method in order to create 'Raw Hard Disk Image' and 'Raw Partition Image'.

 

Sorry once again for my stupid questions......

 

Thanks in Advance....


Edited by devdevadev, 13 October 2014 - 04:11 AM.


#1013
Hydranix

Hydranix
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 16-September 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
 

OK...'JFX'
 
Sorry for disturbing you too much..........
 
 
As you said earlier that 'Hibernate' does not work if booting from 'Microsoft Native VHD'. But what if we boot Windows within; from 'Raw Hard Disk Image' or 'Raw Partition Image' either via 'EasyBCD NeoSmart Bootloader' or 'Grub4dos' ?
 
Can you please tell me how to create 'Raw Hard Disk Image' and 'Raw Partition Image'. I don't know about how to create these Raw Images. Actually till now I was using either your 'WinNTSetup v3.7' or 'Bootice v1.33' in order to create VHD Images but none of them allow to create Raw Images........
 
So please suggest me a good tool/method in order to create 'Raw Hard Disk Image' and 'Raw Partition Image'.
 
Sorry once again for my stupid questions......
 
Thanks in Advance....

 

Maybe I can help you out.

Hibernating from anything except the physical hard drive isn't exactly impossible, however with Windows there is no way for to happen. This is due to how hibernating and Windows works.

Hiberating a computer is the equivalent of taking everything on the system's RAM and saving it to a file on the hard drive. When you resume from hibernate, this file must be completely loaded into RAM at a very early stage in the boot process.

So early in fact, that the computer doesn't have any understanding of VHD files or how to access them. It can only read a whole file from disk into memory. (it reams the hibernate file). It isn't possible with raw disk images either becuase Windows has no way of knowing where the hibernate file resides when you boot from what is initially the same general concept as VHD boot.

Normal sleep, or Suspend-to-RAM should work just fine on any kind of boot however.


As for creating a raw disk image, a VHD (not sure about VHDX) can be stripped of its VHD header and become a raw disk image. Though it will probably not boot, if you set up Windows to VHD boot on the OS from within the image, and then tried to boot it as a raw disk image after stripping the header.


The other way to create a raw disk image is to create a byte-for-byte image of a hard disk, by directly reading the partition to a file. This can be easily accomplished from OS X by using the 'dd' command as the root user, and copying the partition you want to make into a raw image to a file residing on a partition which grub4dos can access (not HFS+)

For your needs, coupled with your level of technical expertise, I'd say you'd want to stay away from raw disk images. Try perhaps, a virtual machine. If you must boot natively, then I'd stick with the current VHD boot situation you've set up.

#1014
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,564 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hiberating a computer is the equivalent of taking everything on the system's RAM and saving it to a file on the hard drive. When you resume from hibernate, this file must be completely loaded into RAM at a very early stage in the boot process.

So early in fact, that the computer doesn't have any understanding of VHD files or how to access them. It can only read a whole file from disk into memory. (it reams the hibernate file). It isn't possible with raw disk images either becuase Windows has no way of knowing where the hibernate file resides when you boot from what is initially the same general concept as VHD boot.

Not really-really, a RAW (or non-native VHD) booting actually has the disk drive image mapped BEFORE the bootloader gets control and is "hooked" by the suitable driver (say Firadisk or WinVblock) just like a "real" hard disk is "hooked" by the controller driver.
As a matter of fact a "fixed" VHD is ALREADY a RAW image (with a sector appended to it).

Which BTW does not mean that hibernate work (or does not work) with RAW image booting.
 

As for creating a raw disk image, a VHD (not sure about VHDX) can be stripped of its VHD header and become a raw disk image.

Which actually (the header for monolithic, fixed, non-sparse, non-growing non-differential VHD's) is NOT a header but rather a footer, i.e. a single sector "appended" to the RAW image, JFYI:
http://reboot.pro/to...images/?p=83781
http://reboot.pro/to...8480-clonedisk/


jaclaz






8 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 7 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Baidu (1)