Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

WinNTSetup v3.7.5


  • Please log in to reply
1114 replies to this topic

#1101
RUSerious

RUSerious

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Joined 16-September 08

Anyone any ideas on how to change the WTG drive letter -- only visible when booted (active) and within a VHD within a imgPTN??
Want to try to change from W to *.

Well, I tried to do this with Regedit, but mucked something up -- eternal preparing windows dots...

So, for my start-over,

Should it be ok to set “Mount Installation drive as” to '*' for a Windows To Go drive?

Or would this also give the eternal dots circle?

Thanks


Edited by RUSerious, 14 January 2015 - 02:24 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1102
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Why you first wanted W: and now not?

You can used this option as you want, it has no relation to WTG.

 

EDIT: shuffling partition letters using WTG is normal,

your WTG windows doesn't know how the offline windows has define drive letters for partitions.


Edited by JFX, 15 January 2015 - 11:53 AM.


#1103
RUSerious

RUSerious

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Joined 16-September 08

Why you first wanted W: and now not?

You can used this option as you want, it has no relation to WTG.

The reason for setting it at W: was to prevent partition  letter shuffling.

But at W: did NOT prevent partition  letter shuffling.

So thought I would try * for WTG and see if that would allow WTG to NOT shuffle partition letters.

edit: Would WTG still boot as C: even if I set “Mount Installation drive as” to '*' ??


Edited by RUSerious, 15 January 2015 - 09:59 AM.


#1104
RUSerious

RUSerious

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Joined 16-September 08

On this page for Windows To Go: Feature Overview
http://technet.micro...y/hh831833.aspx
Under differences it states:
“Internal disks are offline. To ensure data isn’t accidentally disclosed, internal hard disks on the host computer are offline by default when booted into a Windows To Go workspace. Similarly if a Windows To Go drive is inserted into a running system, the Windows To Go drive will not be listed in Windows Explorer.”
Which made me think maybe it should be set as “ * “ for “Mount Installation drive as” for WTG to work as stated.

Thanks
 



#1105
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, in the original WTG, the drives are offline.

But I decided to not do that, cause properly the half of the users would ask how to fix that.



#1106
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry, don't want to bother you, but just wanted to throw this in:

- Latest WinNTSetup doesn't start in XP, is that "by design"? Doesn't bother me much, but saw it by accident.

- Winntsetup.com is down for a few days?



#1107
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It works here on WinXP, maybe you added a newer wimgapi.dll to the tools folder?

 

Website is currently a bit slow but works.


Edited by JFX, 23 January 2015 - 02:37 AM.


#1108
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks JFX, looks like a clean download works fine on XP, thanks for clarifying!

 

Winntsetup.com still doesn't work here, though... Not a big problem, but I like to check it for the changelog from time to time...



#1109
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Changelog is also in the zip file as comment, if you use WinRAR for zip files.


Edited by JFX, 23 January 2015 - 04:49 AM.


#1110
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks JFX, I was aware of the changelog in the zip (nice touch), just thought you might want to know about the website being a bit "shaky"...

 

EDIT: Just installed the new W10 build 9926 (much more languages this time!), using WinNTSetup and my 8.1 unattend.xml. Still working nicely, fully unattended of course. Thanks again, JFX!


Edited by Atari800XL, 23 January 2015 - 01:47 PM.


#1111
schoko_sylt

schoko_sylt
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 14-February 15
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi JFX,

 

I have some problems installing winntsetup-v3.7.5 on a fresh Windows Server 2012R2 system. Every time I am choosing some options in the window followed after checking the button "tweaks" the setup procedure breaks down and I get an error message: "Universal Windows Installer funktioniert nicht mehr etc", Problemsignatur:
  Problemereignisname:    APPCRASH
  Anwendungsname:    WinNTSetup_x64.exe
  Anwendungsversion:    3.7.5.0
  Anwendungszeitstempel:    54a919f7
  Fehlermodulname:    WinNTSetup_x64.exe
  Fehlermodulversion:    3.7.5.0
  Fehlermodulzeitstempel:    54a919f7
  Ausnahmecode:    c0000005
  Ausnahmeoffset:    0000000000088fcd
  Betriebsystemversion:    6.3.9600.2.0.0.272.7
  Gebietsschema-ID:    1031
  Zusatzinformation 1:    fa92
  Zusatzinformation 2:    fa92ff279825754930874a64072a4b62
  Zusatzinformation 3:    159f
  Zusatzinformation 4:    159f02d3e552cb5e12cd94d8abb97ade

I have tried all the previous versions of winntsetup but I still get the same message. If I don't check the button "tweaks" everything is alright and I am able to produce my VHD. Could you please give me any advice how to solve the problem?

 

Kind regards

 

Holger



#1112
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Website is currently a bit slow but works.

 

So, kinda quiet here, don't want to hassle anybody, but www.winntsetup.com has not worked 9 out of 10 times over the last few weeks from here. Just reporting, not sure how it works for others.



#1113
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Holger,
 
There is hardly any reason why it could crash after using tweaks options.
What software do you have installed on your system?
 
I remember TeamViewer as one app, that inject hook in other programs which tend
to crash on window creation/destruction.
 
 
@Atari800XL
Just wonder, how is it if you try with proxy?


#1114
schoko_sylt

schoko_sylt
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 14-February 15
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi JFX,

 

I had TeamViewer installed. - Meanwhile I did setup a complete new windows server 2012 system without any updates and other tools and I succeeded in installing your nice tool. Thank you very much.

 

Kind regards

 

Holger



#1115
tiagotecno

tiagotecno

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 16-November 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

translation of version 3.7.5

Portuguese Brazilian

 

http://1drv.ms/1MOMYOb


Edited by tiagotecno, 24 February 2015 - 10:22 AM.

  • JFX likes this




4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users