Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

WinNTSetup v3.7.5


  • Please log in to reply
1109 replies to this topic

#1101
RUSerious

RUSerious

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Joined 16-September 08

Anyone any ideas on how to change the WTG drive letter -- only visible when booted (active) and within a VHD within a imgPTN??
Want to try to change from W to *.

Well, I tried to do this with Regedit, but mucked something up -- eternal preparing windows dots...

So, for my start-over,

Should it be ok to set “Mount Installation drive as” to '*' for a Windows To Go drive?

Or would this also give the eternal dots circle?

Thanks


Edited by RUSerious, 14 January 2015 - 02:24 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1102
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Why you first wanted W: and now not?

You can used this option as you want, it has no relation to WTG.

 

EDIT: shuffling partition letters using WTG is normal,

your WTG windows doesn't know how the offline windows has define drive letters for partitions.


Edited by JFX, 15 January 2015 - 11:53 AM.


#1103
RUSerious

RUSerious

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Joined 16-September 08

Why you first wanted W: and now not?

You can used this option as you want, it has no relation to WTG.

The reason for setting it at W: was to prevent partition  letter shuffling.

But at W: did NOT prevent partition  letter shuffling.

So thought I would try * for WTG and see if that would allow WTG to NOT shuffle partition letters.

edit: Would WTG still boot as C: even if I set “Mount Installation drive as” to '*' ??


Edited by RUSerious, 15 January 2015 - 09:59 AM.


#1104
RUSerious

RUSerious

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Joined 16-September 08

On this page for Windows To Go: Feature Overview
http://technet.micro...y/hh831833.aspx
Under differences it states:
“Internal disks are offline. To ensure data isn’t accidentally disclosed, internal hard disks on the host computer are offline by default when booted into a Windows To Go workspace. Similarly if a Windows To Go drive is inserted into a running system, the Windows To Go drive will not be listed in Windows Explorer.”
Which made me think maybe it should be set as “ * “ for “Mount Installation drive as” for WTG to work as stated.

Thanks
 



#1105
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, in the original WTG, the drives are offline.

But I decided to not do that, cause properly the half of the users would ask how to fix that.



#1106
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Sorry, don't want to bother you, but just wanted to throw this in:

- Latest WinNTSetup doesn't start in XP, is that "by design"? Doesn't bother me much, but saw it by accident.

- Winntsetup.com is down for a few days?



#1107
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It works here on WinXP, maybe you added a newer wimgapi.dll to the tools folder?

 

Website is currently a bit slow but works.


Edited by JFX, 23 January 2015 - 02:37 AM.


#1108
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks JFX, looks like a clean download works fine on XP, thanks for clarifying!

 

Winntsetup.com still doesn't work here, though... Not a big problem, but I like to check it for the changelog from time to time...



#1109
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Changelog is also in the zip file as comment, if you use WinRAR for zip files.


Edited by JFX, 23 January 2015 - 04:49 AM.


#1110
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks JFX, I was aware of the changelog in the zip (nice touch), just thought you might want to know about the website being a bit "shaky"...

 

EDIT: Just installed the new W10 build 9926 (much more languages this time!), using WinNTSetup and my 8.1 unattend.xml. Still working nicely, fully unattended of course. Thanks again, JFX!


Edited by Atari800XL, 23 January 2015 - 01:47 PM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users