Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

WinNTSetup v3.8.1.1


  • Please log in to reply
1247 replies to this topic

#1226
dziubek

dziubek

    Friend of HFSLIP

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Joined 26-November 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

NOw is ok, thnks


Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1227
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Have you tested the -nosearch yet? That would be nice to test...

Looks like we'll have yet another new preview soon (maybe in a few days, 10036 or 38 or something?), after that I guess there will not be any major changes, as the release date of 29 July is not that far off. I must admit I thought Windows 10 would have a lot of other new (unwanted) stuff, but from the looks of the previews, it's not really that bad (also: not that necessary, but that's another story).

Most of the unwanted stuff can be turned off, and combined with the nice WinNTSetup tweaks, the resulting system can be nice and fast, compact, and "non-obtrusive" (=not as "Metro-in-your-face" as the first Windows 8 release was).

Of course, giving up things like the original control panel is not all that great, but the feeling I get from all this is "It could be a lot worse". Maybe they can use that as a slogan for Windows 10 :-)



#1228
ljycslg

ljycslg

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 02-June 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

add wimgapi version and firmware info on titlebar

like this

Attached File  wi.JPG   23.68KB   3 downloads



#1229
alacran

alacran

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 15-March 07

@JFX

 

v3.80RC3 spanish translation: http://1drv.ms/1frgYn6



#1230
alacran

alacran

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 15-March 07

@JFX about v3.80RC3

 

1.-  Tried to install a Win10 Insider preview last update from a Win7x64 to a VHD (located in internal HDD) compact mode from install.wim in HDD and it didn't work.

 

2.- Tried to install a Win10 Insider preview last update from a Win7x64 to a VHD (in USB HDD) compact mode from install.wim in USB HDD and it didn't work.

 

3.- Then I made a full install to VHD (located in internal HDD)  from a Win7x64 install.wim in HDD and everything was OK.

 

4.- Latter booting from the Win10 IP x64 VHD (located in internal HDD) made a new VHD (in HDD) compact mode from install.wim in internal HDD and it worked flawlessly.

 

5.- Booting from Win10 IP x64 VHD (located in internal HDD) made a new VHD (in USB HDD) compact mode from install.wim in internal HDD and didn't work.

 

6.- Then booting from Win10 IP x64 VHD (located in internal HDD) made a new VHD (in USB HDD) compact mode from install.wim in USB HDD and it worked flawlessly.

 

7.- Latter I deleted install.wim (in USB & internal HDD's) and 4 & 6 booted just fine, so it is my guess the compact mode do not require an install.wim as it is a full install just compresed, so no pointer files to the .wim

 

Acording to these it seams to me you can remove the requirement of install.wim in same HDD when compact mode installs, this can help to install in compact mode to USB 3.0 sticks in better time and less space required (as no need of install.wim in it). MY MISTAKE, I was doing it wrong way see post #1232

 

Also compact install do not work when you make an install from from Win7.

 

Best Regards

 

Note: I didn't put any links to external pages, they were created when I saved the post.

 

I opened the compact install in VHD using 7Zip v9.38Beta, it is a full install but all files and folders are compressed as you can see in the attachment, (NTFS is not compressed just files and folders in it).

 

Compact install in VHD is 5.70 GB (31.32% smaller) and standard install in VHD is 8.3 GB, (both not containing page file and hiberfile).

Attached Files


Edited by alacran, 24 June 2015 - 02:53 PM.


#1231
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi alacran, to install compact mode from Windows 7 you need the WofADK driver from latest ADK to be installed.

 

Not sure what you mean with requirements, there aren't any set for compact mode.


Edited by JFX, 23 June 2015 - 06:39 AM.


#1232
alacran

alacran

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 15-March 07

Hi alacran, to install compact mode from Windows 7 you need the WofADK driver from latest ADK to be installed.

 

Not sure what you mean with requirements, there aren't any set for compact mode.

 

I have WofADK driver in C:\Program Files\Windows Kits\10\Assessment and Deployment Kit\Deployment Tools\x86\DISM\wofadk.sys

Isn't it installed in that location?, Do I need to put it in system32?, Do I have to do something else?

 

I had the idea that in order to make a compact mode install we need to mark the check box near to wimboot and I have done it during all my deployments, I guess that's why .wim had to be in same disk, so from your post I understand it is not necesary to mark that check box, Is it right?

 

Best Regards


Edited by alacran, 23 June 2015 - 07:27 PM.


#1233
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Location of the driver does not matter, but you can check if it's correctly installed by "net start wofadk" from admin command prompt.
 
But also important make sure you also have updated the adk wimgapi.dll in the tools folders.
 
Compact mode is currently only avalible via command line (NT6 -compact)
The switch overrides all other options like wimboot.


#1234
alacran

alacran

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 15-March 07

@ JFX

 

Yes adk wimgapi.dll is in the tools folders (x86 and x64) it is v10.0.10075.0, downloaded first time I ran WinNTSetup 3.80 RC3 just to download required files as usual.

 

The way I'm running it is this: I create a shortcut to WinNTSetup_x64.exe and open it with right button\properties and in the first line just add: " NT6 -compact" without quotes, then it starts in GUI, from the Win10x64 VHD it is working flawlessly, but not from Win7x86 or Win7x64 on HDD, it opens ok but can't apply the .wim, of course when in x86 I use WinNTSetup_x86.exe NT6 -compact

 

"net start wofadk" command gives me "command not reconized". I think wofadk is not properly installed on my win7's,  but i don't know how to do it yet. any ideas?

 

Best Regards


Edited by alacran, 25 June 2015 - 12:36 AM.


#1235
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, looks like the driver is not installed. Normally the adksetup will write the following registry options.

Or, if you use GWT, "WimMountInstall.exe /install" can be used.

 

 

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

 
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\WofAdk]
"DebugFlags"=dword:00000000
"DependOnService"=hex(7):46,00,6c,00,74,00,4d,00,67,00,72,00,00,00,00,00
"Discription"="WofAdk Mini-Filter Driver"
"DisplayName"="WofAdk"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"Group"="FSFilter Compression"
"ImagePath"=hex(2):5c,00,3f,00,3f,00,5c,00,43,00,3a,00,5c,00,50,00,72,00,6f,00,\
  67,00,72,00,61,00,6d,00,20,00,46,00,69,00,6c,00,65,00,73,00,20,00,28,00,78,\
  00,38,00,36,00,29,00,5c,00,57,00,69,00,6e,00,64,00,6f,00,77,00,73,00,20,00,\
  4b,00,69,00,74,00,73,00,5c,00,31,00,30,00,5c,00,41,00,73,00,73,00,65,00,73,\
  00,73,00,6d,00,65,00,6e,00,74,00,20,00,61,00,6e,00,64,00,20,00,44,00,65,00,\
  70,00,6c,00,6f,00,79,00,6d,00,65,00,6e,00,74,00,20,00,4b,00,69,00,74,00,5c,\
  00,44,00,65,00,70,00,6c,00,6f,00,79,00,6d,00,65,00,6e,00,74,00,20,00,54,00,\
  6f,00,6f,00,6c,00,73,00,5c,00,61,00,6d,00,64,00,36,00,34,00,5c,00,44,00,49,\
  00,53,00,4d,00,5c,00,77,00,6f,00,66,00,61,00,64,00,6b,00,2e,00,73,00,79,00,\
  73,00,00,00
"AutoAttach"=dword:00000000
"Start"=dword:00000003
"SupportedFeatures"=dword:00000003
"Tag"=dword:00000002
"Type"=dword:00000002
 
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\WofAdk\Instances]
"DefaultInstance"="WofAdk Instance"
 
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\WofAdk\Instances\WofAdk Instance]
"Altitude"="40730"
"Flags"=dword:00000000
 

 

After a restart the service will be available.
 
BTW, the AutoAttach and Start options are set different from the normal wof driver from Windows 8/10.
Most users will properly want to change them.

  • alacran likes this

#1236
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09

I got this installing win10 Preview

Attached File  winntsetup.jpg   12.92KB   0 downloads

 

I ran the install from XP. This is build 10159. Input was a decrypted esd. When booting, the OS it goes to a recovery screen saying the system needs to be repaired because there is something wrong with the BCD. I looked at the BCD and it doesn't have any entries in it. I had to manually create a BCD so the OS would boot.


Edited by click-click, 03 July 2015 - 04:23 AM.


#1237
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09

I see someone had this problem before and it was related to XP. BCDBoot XP compatibility was put back in

as stated here. Has XP support for this been removed again?

 

I'm using V3.7.9. I know XP is EOL, but I'm using the POSReady 2009 version which doesn't go EOL until 2016 :D


Edited by click-click, 03 July 2015 - 04:20 AM.


#1238
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09

Still getting same error using XP with v3.8. Installing Win10 using Win7 doesn't give you that error.



#1239
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

BCDboot.exe isn't fully compatible with Windows XP, so I use some workarounds to get it working.

Properly one is causing that problem now with win10.



#1240
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Version 3.8.1 is ready and should fix WinXP related problems.



#1241
click-click

click-click

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09

I hope it wasn't too much work. I would have accepted 'no longer supported' too.  Thanks ... :thumbup

 

BTW, does WinNTSetup support upgrading on top of an  installed system? For example, upgrading

a Win10 build  to a newer Win10 build without doing a clean install. All of my WinNTSetup procedures

till now have been fmt -> install fresh, so I 'm not sure if upgrading is supported.



#1242
Ozi

Ozi
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 16-July 15
  • OS:Windows 10 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thank you very much , the program is great! Good luck and all the best ! ..



#1243
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@click-click
Wasn't much work, just took a bit time to test it with all sources the fix was meant for.
I try to keep XP supported as long as possible.
Please continue reporting any problem you notice.
 
Nope, upgrading an installation isn't possible with WinNTSetup.
 
 
@Ozi
You're welcome!

Edited by JFX, 16 July 2015 - 02:10 PM.


#1244
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

So quiet here ;)

 

What about this tweak for Windows 10:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System]
"DisableLogonBackgroundImage"=dword:00000001

Only seems to work when you have the latest updates (incl. kb3074678 and kb3074686).



#1245
belivakov

belivakov

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-March 07

Hi, JFX,

Unfortunately 3.8.1.1 wont start under Win 10.0.0.166

3.8 works like a charm, but 3.8.1.1 starts and stop. Both x86 and x64.

Just for info. I'll continue to use 3.8 till next edition.

Greetings



#1246
JFX

JFX

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Joined 17-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@Atari800XL
Not so sure, about adding tweaks for Win10.
There would be so many ones, but there is not much space in th GUI left.
 
@belivakov
Hmm, works nice here, running on Windows 10 RTM, maybe a Preview bug?


#1247
belivakov

belivakov

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 03-March 07

Sorry, I'm under Windows 10 10.0.0.240 X64

I just test all my WinNTSetup - 3.7.9; 3.8.0; 3.8.1.1

3.7.9 - both X86 and X64 starts

3.8.0 - x86 starts

3.8.1.1 - neither X86 neither X64

Anyway, let's hope MS will update OS and your software begin to work.



#1248
Atari800XL

Atari800XL

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Joined 10-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

@Atari800XL
Not so sure, about adding tweaks for Win10.
There would be so many ones, but there is not much space in th GUI left.

 

 

I was just throwing out that little tip, because it was so quiet here..

But now that I think about it: I always thought there was a command line option already for something like

-tweaks "q:\winntsetup\tweaks-w10.reg"

to add user-specific tweaks, but I can't find it at all. So maybe it was all in my dreams? ;)

Seriously, would this be a possible addition?

Of course, "PostInstall" or something is better suited for a lot of this stuff, but removing the login background would be great to get out of the way straight from setup starting.






6 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users