Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Install XP from a ISO file


  • Please log in to reply
133 replies to this topic

#126
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Anyway this method can be used with DPMS driver stuff from chenell? What I mean is that the cdob's IMA is mapped to "floppy" but so is the driver if found from DPMS. Would this not cancel one or the other out? I notice that the driver is loaded to (fd1) but on my Asus, the stuff from cdob's IMA will only works from (fd1) so you can't have two txtsetup.oem in the same "floppy" right?

Edited by laddanator, 07 February 2012 - 09:27 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#127
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05
#119

i use RUN batch by a chinese friend Sratif

Thanks for the head up.
Any way to use remap hard disks only?
Use a own firadisk.img, map a ISO, command run to remap drives and continue.

E.g.
map %myISO% (222)
...
command %dir%/run remapHD
root (222)
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN

BTW: I'm looking forward to visit Fairy Meadow http://en.wikipedia....ow_Nanga_Parbat
But I doubt this year, hopefully next year.


By the way, cdob, did you say you had a V6?

It's under construction. I've fun with different approaches and different BIOS.


Anyway this method can be used with DPMS driver stuff from chenell?

That's simple: integrate firadisk to ISO image.

What I mean is that the cdob's IMA is mapped to "floppy" but so is the driver if found from DPMS.

That's another approach.
XP setup reads driver from both floppy drives. Try IMA at fd0 and dpms at fd1.
But BIOS does matter too. May work at one BIOS and fail at the next.
Two different floppy approach seems to work technically, but not reliable in real world.

#128
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

That's simple: integrate firadisk to ISO image.


Ahead of you on this.

XP setup reads driver from both floppy drives. Try IMA at fd0 and dpms at fd1.


My Asus will work with anything that is mapped to (fd0) except the IMA project. Maps to (fd0) fine but get "can't copy firadisk " and so on error on XP install from the IMA file unless I map to (fd1). Once I map to (fd1)...everything copies fine


BTW: I'm looking forward to visit Fairy Meadow http://en.wikipedia....ow_Nanga_Parbat
But I doubt this year, hopefully next year.


What? :)

dpms at fd1.


DPMS loads to (fd1) anyway

#129
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,723 posts
  • Joined 06-December 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

DPMS loads to (fd1) anyway


It seems a parameter can change the behavior:
http://bbs.wuyou.com....php?tid=197550
http://translate.goo....php?tid=197550

2011-09-26
Further improvement. Support to specify DPMS.ISO file (the file name must be DPMS.ISO)
2 new parameters
pe for pe, just copy the SYS file
0 | 1 | 2 0 use only (fd0 using the), 1 (fd1), 2, and all use.


Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#130
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Further improvement. Support to specify DPMS.ISO file (the file name must be DPMS.ISO)


I have been using the ISO format with this in my menu.lst

map %USBDrive%/XP/DPMS.ISO (0xff)
map --rehook
(0xff)/dpms.bat

Not sure if this is the proper way but it works so far.

I noticed in the dpms.bat, the ISO is mapped this way

map /DPMS.ISO (0xdf) || map --mem /DPMS.ISO (0xdf)

Not sure what the 0xdf is

Edited by laddanator, 15 February 2012 - 03:55 PM.


#131
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,723 posts
  • Joined 06-December 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
There is no need to use DPMS.ISO, DPMS.BAT should be enough.

The point was that DPMS.BAT accepts parameters, e.g.

/DPMS.bat 1
map DPMS floppy to fd1

/DPMS.bat 0
map DPMS floppy to fd0

/DPMS.bat 2
map DPMS floppy to both fd0 and fd1

I've tested the above, with "/DPMS.bat 2" two floppies are created, fd0 blank or with unreadable contents, and fd1 with the drivers. The unreadable contents of fd0 are either a trick yet to be revealed, or a bug, or the parameter is expected to go along WINPE one.
There is also a switch WINPE or winpe, put first if present, which causes only driver files to be copied to the floppy.

Not sure what the 0xdf is

Similar to 0xff, BIOS CD number- 0xff=255 decimal, 0xdf = 223. 0xdf must have been picked as likely to be available one, as 0xff or hd32 are typically used.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#132
laddanator

laddanator

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Joined 06-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

There is no need to use DPMS.ISO, DPMS.BAT should be enough.


I was using the extracted version but nod32 sometimes will delete everything in the DPMS folder except chkpci and fat (weird I know)

So I started using the ISO unextracted to prevent this.

#133
me21

me21
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 29-August 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello everyone,

I use XP_INST v06. I tried the following methods of booting Windows XP ISO to install it to hard drive (I use MSDN original image). However, they all failed. The 1st one ended in BSOD 0x7B even before drive selection screen, and others prompted to insert diskette into drive A: after I pressed F6. If I load ISO to RAM it seems to pass this obstacle, but it takes too long. I'd like to leave ISO on disk rather than load it to RAM. Is it possible to alter these methods somehow to achieve the result? My hardware is Sony VAIO VPCF13S8R.

title Install Windows XP From ISO With 1 USB Boot\nWorks With Low Ram also
find --set-root /multiboot/ISOS/ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso
map /multiboot/ISOS/ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso (222)
map --mem /multiboot/ISOS/XP_INST.IMA (fd0)
map --mem /multiboot/ISOS/XP_INST.IMA (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
checkrange 0x80 read 0x8280 && map (hd1) (hd0)
checkrange 0x80 read 0x8280 && map (hd0) (hd1)
map --hook
write --offset=0 (fd0)/setup/ISOimage.ini \\multiboot\\ISOS\\ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso\n;\n;\n;
write --offset=0 (fd1)/setup/ISOimage.ini \\multiboot\\ISOS\\ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso\n;\n;\n;
write (99) [FiraDisk]\nStartOptions=cdrom,vmem=find:/multiboot/ISOS/ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso;floppy,vmem=find:/multiboot/ISOS/XP_INST.IMA;\n\0
rootnoverify (222)
chainloader (222)/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN

title Setup Windows XP from ISO \n1: simple case, friendly BIOS \ntry this first
set dir=/multiboot/ISOS
set myISO=%dir%/ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso
echo %myISO%
set fdIMA=%dir%/XP_INST.IMA
cat --length=0 %myISO% > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf %myISO%
map %myISO% (222)
map --mem %fdIMA% (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)
map --hook > nul
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
#use original firadisk.inf
#cat --number=1 --locatei="firaedit.inf" --replace="firadisk.inf" (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM > nul
#chenall's ntboot
cat --locate=###### --number=1 (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM > nul || call :error %fdIMA% file error..
set offset=%?%
set fira.opt=cdrom,vmem=find:%myISO%;
write --offset=%offset% (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM value=Parameters,StartOptions,REG_SZ,"%fira.opt%"\r\n;
cat --skip=%offset% --locate=/ --replace=\\ (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM
command (fd1)/grub4dos/shifthd.bat
root (222)
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN || chainloader ()

title Setup Windows XP from ISO \n2: strange USB BIOS or hardware
set dir=/multiboot/ISOS
set myISO=%dir%/ru_winxp_pro_with_sp3_vl.iso
echo %myISO%
set fdIMA=%dir%/XP_INST.IMA
cat --length=0 %myISO% > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf %myISO%
map %myISO% (222)
map --mem %fdIMA% (fd1)
map --mem (md)0x6000+800 (fd0)
map --hook > nul
dd if=(fd1) of=(fd0) count=1
#uncomment to enable fixUSB
command (fd1)/grub4dos/fixUSB.bat %myISO%
#use original firadisk.inf
#cat --number=1 --locatei="firaedit.inf" --replace="firadisk.inf" (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM > nul
#chenall's ntboot
cat --locate=###### --number=1 (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM > nul || call :error %fdIMA% file error..
set offset=%?%
set fira.opt=cdrom,vmem=find:%myISO%;
write --offset=%offset% (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM value=Parameters,StartOptions,REG_SZ,"%fira.opt%"\r\n;
cat --skip=%offset% --locate=/ --replace=\\ (fd1)/TXTSETUP.OEM
command (fd1)/grub4dos/shifthd.bat
root (222)
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN || chainloader ()


#134
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I am not sure to get it. :unsure:

This thread is about "Install XP from a RAM loaded ISO image".

There is another one:
http://www.msfn.org/...rom-a-iso-file/

Install XP from a ISO file.
Use a original ISO file. Or use a custom version, e.g. integrate mass storage drivers.

No RAM disk used.
Usefull at low RAM machines and slow USB BIOS speed.


jaclaz

P.s.: last post and the present one were originally posted on this other thread:
http://www.msfn.org/...aded-iso-image/

Edited by jaclaz, 08 October 2012 - 06:38 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users