Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

[SOLVED] problem with Vlite 1.2 and Win7 SP1 (MSDN)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
188 replies to this topic

#1
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I use Vlite 1.2 and Windows 7 SP1 (MSDN) and after I get errors (.dll corrupted, modified, etc ...) why?

when I was using it with SP1 integrated windows 7, no problem

thank you ;)

EDIT: see post #105 for manipulation to be done to make Vlite compatible with Windows 7 sp1 MSDN

Edited by bapt, 02 March 2011 - 07:53 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
monkie53

monkie53

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
since badt has started this thread and I am having serious issues with the same exact situation I will have to say that using Vlite and SP1 RTM iso files are a no go.

I have been at it for 2 days now and all I get is corrupted files in windows\system32\oobe a few files in this folder, and then samlib.dll in system32 folder is the next victim, then its well screen shoot says it all..

I get these after the first reboot right after the setting up registry ... and I get these errors 1 right after each other on clickin ok button....

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


THEN I replace the oobe folder with the clean iso oobe folder then it gets past the errors above, well then I am presented with this here after is passes were the other errors were happening at....

Posted Image


Then this one comes up after fixin the others ...
Posted Image

never ending corrupted files for me, I was not gonna take a chance on following the install thru and replacing the corrupted files and thinking the build would be good..

win 7 RTM without Sp1 Vlited builds are great, just this SP1 RTM msdn iso file not sure about the x86 but this is the x64 I am posting about

any ideas??

#3
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developers
  • 8,693 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I would say then that vLite has now become obsolete...

#4
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I would say then that vLite has now become obsolete...


that's what I think too... Vlite was really good :(

#5
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developers
  • 8,693 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
nLite and vLite were more than good. They were simply awesome.

Sadly Vista sucked and nuhi bowed out before 7 really got rolling. :(

We can only hope that out of the few apps that are being developed one or two can take from nuhi and really take off.

#6
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
someone could resume work of Nuhi, and make a 7lite?

which could be used later to Windows 8

#7
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developers
  • 8,693 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Nope nuhi never left his source codes with anyone...

#8
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

someone could resume work of Nuhi, and make a 7lite?

which could be used later to Windows 8

You have at least two viable options. Maxxpsoft's weird chaotic tool and then Bensam56's RT7lite. Both will get the job done. There is no point in vLite at all.

#9
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

You have at least two viable options. Maxxpsoft's weird chaotic tool and then Bensam56's RT7lite. Both will get the job done. There is no point in vLite at all.


I already rt7lite, but it's not as though some thing Vlite

Security Center is not completely removed
if you disable UAC, there is the padlock on certain folder, and all options are not deleted (Share with, etc...)

#10
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developers
  • 8,693 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I am sorry to say this but rt7lite is like using a hammer when a scapel is needed.

#11
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I am sorry to say this but rt7lite is like using a hammer when a scapel is needed.

How do you mean?
I admit it looks a little bit "bloaty" and seems somewhat slow, but that's about it. It's only an impression, too.

#12
monkie53

monkie53

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Here is the way I got it to werk, NOW THIS IS NOT FOR EVERYONE SO TRY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

I replaced in Vlite's root folder wimgapi.dll with win 7's wimgapi.dll from WAIK tools ( WAIK tools folder -> x86 folder\wimgapi.dll )( have to download the iso from MS ) and install WAIK to get these files .

You will need to uninstall the Vista wimfltr that is loaded on your PC ( if you have ran vlite after installing it ) as the files from WAIK 7 are not the same , not sure how to do it manually as I have the InstWimFltr.exe by JFK from a winbuilder project that I use, that will uninstall the wimfltr of Vista's ( yep fixed that winbuilder project too with WAIK 7 Files )

Also a reboot when uninstalling these files wont hurt, after removal of the wimfltr of Vista's just to clear any memory that might be latched onto these files.

From WAIK, I also copied in the x86 and (amd64) wimmount.sys replacing wimfltr.sys by renaming wimmount.sys to wimfltr.sys respectfully in both x86 and x64 folders so yes delete wimfltr.sys in both folders first then copy in the win 7 files :).

I didnt change the wimfltr.inf at all, I left it as vlite installed it, I just replaced the wimfltr.sys in Vlite's folder with wimmount.sys from WAIK and renaming it to wimfltr.. easy peasy

what you end up with is Vlite using win 7 dll files, it werkd for me, but I got a error or 2 at first, then they went away, I made 4 builds back to back with the SP1 x64 and everything was fine and the iso installs fine too.

NOTE: even uninstalling Vlite from Add | Remove Programs DOES NOT UNINSTALL the Vista wimfltr!

NOTE 2: After running Vlite on a win 7 moddin win 7 have you ever encountered that DISM fails( Pre SP1 iso files that is )??

NOTE 3: I got a few small errors after doing the above from Vlite, but after a few errors passed all was good hence the TRY IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.
Anyways maybe that is enough for some more knowledgeable person to figure out a better werk around than what I have done.

Vlite does the job I want quicker than RTLite, RTLite is way to slow and seems like it wants to just freeze up the whole time I run it,.. a scalpel over a hammer any day lol , this is my werk around for that :)

Edited by monkie53, 22 February 2011 - 12:22 AM.


#13
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developers
  • 8,693 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


I am sorry to say this but rt7lite is like using a hammer when a scapel is needed.

How do you mean?
I admit it looks a little bit "bloaty" and seems somewhat slow, but that's about it. It's only an impression, too.



rt7lite is very crude and clunky...

While it removes many things it left quite a bit of junk laying around.

Plus like you said it is VERY slow...

#14
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
Yes, I am facing the same problem with the "samlib.dll in system32 folder" error when I tried to vlite Windows 7 SP1 (MSDN).

For another case, I tried to mount Windows 7 SP1 (not vLited) via GimageX (from WAIK for Windows Vista) and ran a batch file to remove some redundant fonts. When I tried to install this slightly slimmed down Windows 7, I too encountered the same samlib.dll error. Man, it is frustrating.

Well, I should used WAIK for Windows 7, but the reason for using WAIK for Windows Vista is that I want to use vLite to slim down Windows. At first, I thought that the samlib.dll error is due to my rather aggressive preset. Thanks to your guys, I have known that the culprit is SP1.

I usually perform the following steps (from left to right) to slim down Windows 7 (SP0) with no error, as recommended by aviv00. Tha batch file is from dead0. Thanks to them.

RT 7 Lite > Batch file to remove fonts > vLite

RT 7 Lite still could not completely remove some components which can be removed by vLite, so I need to use them both. Now that I started to use Windows 7 SP1, such method is no longer possible. Sigh!

RT 7 Lite is slow mainly because it needs to mount the Windows image in Temp folder. However, vLite does not do that and is much faster. Still, I am very much hopeful that RT 7 Lite can be further improved, so that it can remove the components previous removed by vLite.

Edited by alvinkhorfire, 22 February 2011 - 06:15 AM.


#15
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator



I am sorry to say this but rt7lite is like using a hammer when a scapel is needed.

How do you mean?
I admit it looks a little bit "bloaty" and seems somewhat slow, but that's about it. It's only an impression, too.



rt7lite is very crude and clunky...

While it removes many things it left quite a bit of junk laying around.

Plus like you said it is VERY slow...

Remember it's still in RC state...
I am looking forward to 7Customizer after Blue started developing it again.

#16
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is the way I got it to werk, NOW THIS IS NOT FOR EVERYONE SO TRY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

I replaced in Vlite's root folder wimgapi.dll with win 7's wimgapi.dll from WAIK tools ( WAIK tools folder -> x86 folder\wimgapi.dll )( have to download the iso from MS ) and install WAIK to get these files .

You will need to uninstall the Vista wimfltr that is loaded on your PC ( if you have ran vlite after installing it ) as the files from WAIK 7 are not the same , not sure how to do it manually as I have the InstWimFltr.exe by JFK from a winbuilder project that I use, that will uninstall the wimfltr of Vista's ( yep fixed that winbuilder project too with WAIK 7 Files )

Also a reboot when uninstalling these files wont hurt, after removal of the wimfltr of Vista's just to clear any memory that might be latched onto these files.

From WAIK, I also copied in the x86 and (amd64) wimmount.sys replacing wimfltr.sys by renaming wimmount.sys to wimfltr.sys respectfully in both x86 and x64 folders so yes delete wimfltr.sys in both folders first then copy in the win 7 files :).

I didnt change the wimfltr.inf at all, I left it as vlite installed it, I just replaced the wimfltr.sys in Vlite's folder with wimmount.sys from WAIK and renaming it to wimfltr.. easy peasy

what you end up with is Vlite using win 7 dll files, it werkd for me, but I got a error or 2 at first, then they went away, I made 4 builds back to back with the SP1 x64 and everything was fine and the iso installs fine too.

NOTE: even uninstalling Vlite from Add | Remove Programs DOES NOT UNINSTALL the Vista wimfltr!

NOTE 2: After running Vlite on a win 7 moddin win 7 have you ever encountered that DISM fails( Pre SP1 iso files that is )??

NOTE 3: I got a few small errors after doing the above from Vlite, but after a few errors passed all was good hence the TRY IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.
Anyways maybe that is enough for some more knowledgeable person to figure out a better werk around than what I have done.

Vlite does the job I want quicker than RTLite, RTLite is way to slow and seems like it wants to just freeze up the whole time I run it,.. a scalpel over a hammer any day lol , this is my werk around for that :)


thank you for this feedback ;)

can you put the files/dll (x86/x64) substitution in the attachments (archive)?
I don't understand English very well, if you could make a "tutorial"to indicate which files to replace

thank you very much ;)

Edited by bapt, 22 February 2011 - 08:37 AM.


#17
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I downloaded and installed the WAIK for Windows 7 (WAIK3)

on C:\Program Files (x86)\vLite\wimfltr, I copied the x86 and x64 wimmount.sys in their respective files, deleted the wimfltr.sys and renamed wimmount.sys in wimfltr.sys
on C:\Program Files (x86)\vLite, I copied the x86 wimgapi.dll of WAIK

I uninstalled/reinstalled wimfltr with InstWimFltr (of Win7PE_SE)

during the process, Vlite closes by itself, while cleaning (after the removal of components)

what did I miss something?

thanks ;)

EDIT: I also tried putting the WimFltr.sys of WAIK (6.1 7600.16385) in C:\Windows\System32\drivers but without success, same error (vLite closes)

I need help!!

Edited by bapt, 22 February 2011 - 07:32 PM.


#18
monkie53

monkie53

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

I downloaded and installed the WAIK for Windows 7 (WAIK3)

on C:\Program Files (x86)\vLite\wimfltr, I copied the x86 and x64 wimmount.sys in their respective files, deleted the wimfltr.sys and renamed wimmount.sys in wimfltr.sys
on C:\Program Files (x86)\vLite, I copied the x86 wimgapi.dll of WAIK

I uninstalled/reinstalled wimfltr with InstWimFltr (of Win7PE_SE)

during the process, Vlite closes by itself, while cleaning (after the removal of components)

what did I miss something?

thanks ;)

EDIT: I also tried putting the WimFltr.sys of WAIK (6.1 7600.16385) in C:\Windows\System32\drivers but without success, same error (vLite closes)

I need help!!


I got the same thing too with it just closing out by itself on that same spot, I had to unmount the folder in C:\Users\<Your_User_Name>\AppData\Local\Temp\vsTemp19 because of Vlite not finishing its job ( crashing ) and leaving mounted files behind..

May help to do a dism /cleanup-wim after unmounting if that is the case and then a reboot to clear any memory that is holding info, I had like 4 errors total then Vlite just did its thing as usual, and has since, its getting past the few errors is were its the trouble some part.

Edited by monkie53, 23 February 2011 - 01:01 AM.


#19
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok, you have to start every time, where there is something to be done to make it work

can be used as before or has some options to "avoid"

thanks ;)

Edited by bapt, 23 February 2011 - 04:43 AM.


#20
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
then, there is always Vlite that closes by itself, with a command dism,i unmounting install.wim and I run Vlite, then I can finish the process,

but some components that I deleted are still present (after installing 7, for example, I disabled UAC, but I Always padlock on some files, I deleted file and printer sharing (Server) but it is always present)

is what it'll have a solution to make it compatible Vlite with 7 sp1?

#21
monkie53

monkie53

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Well after using Vlite with the win 7 dll's I think I have found a much simplier way to get the files to werk with the original Vlite..

Here is the short story..

After running Vlite on these new SP1 MSDN iso files we get corrupted files, with using the win 7 dll's its possible to run Vlite and it will work, then again more issues than good with this, ( trial and error here )..

SO I looked at a RTLited iso I had after Vlite had failed I thought well wont hurt to run it through Vlite,.. yea JUST to see what happens...

Well to my amazement, it didnt get corrupted!!

Ok, so I was like this is good, I then started looking into what why who, all those things.

The only thing I could find that had any kind of offset was date/time of the folders/files inside the install.wim .....

Here I thought, ok what if I took my untouched iso files and mounted the version I needed ( Ultimate ) and changed the date/time on the windows and winsxs folders.. So I did.

It was a kinda long process to wait for the takeown to run on 5.52GB of winsxs folders/files but it was worth it, I then changed the date/time back to, yep ya guessed it, July 13 2009 for the WIndows and winsxs folder.

unmounted commiting changes, ran it thru Vlite and test install went flawlessly using the default Vlite files for Vista..

So what does this mean, I have no darn clue, but changing the date/time on the windows and winsxs folder was all I needed, I tested this on the other version in my x64 to see if it was just a fluke and I spent all last night testing and it werks for all versions for x64

x86 not so sure about, but surly there is some sort of werk around if x86 is effected too.

Simply put - mount the version you need and takeown of the entire winsxs folder and after that has ran and you know own that folder just use a app to change the date/time of the windows and winsxs folder to the July 13 2009 for Last Accessed, Date Created, and Date Modified the time can be whatever ya prefer.

Also you may want to make a copy of the folder of the source files after the unmount/commit so this way you have a fresh files to work with after testing it in Vlite ( new fresh clean files unmodded )

So if you have used my silly and crazy method above just un do it by making sure you uninstall the modded wimfltr.inf with the InstWimFltr.exe from JFK removing the Vlite you are currently using ( to get rid of all those files etc.. ) making sure to reboot after the uninstall of these modded files. then install the 1.2 version of Vlite.

then do the simple - mount - takeown - change date/time on windows folder and winsxs ( time here about 15 minutes ~ ) - unmount/commit - run the results thru Vlite ( original ) - test in virtual box etc..

Hope this werks better than the crazy modded Vlite files like it has for me ( no issues at all with Vlite Now YaY )

If anyone tries it, lets hear about it

Edited by monkie53, 24 February 2011 - 01:53 AM.


#22
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
I wish I tell that your - everyone - solution solved my problem, but my "lite" installation of W7 SP1 vlited fails - after first restart of installation - with a blank screen, with white text, telling me that : "Windows fails to start" with error code 0xc0000428, "Windows cannot verify digital signature of file : C:\Windows\System32\winload.exe", and inviting me to reboot with Windows 7 repair disc. In fact, i tried many times to install.
BUT, if SP1 is slipstreamed in original kit - with original 07/13/09 files (i found that kind of kit in a Legolash release) - w7 vlited installation works without any problem !!! In fact i applied that solution in my computer and works even today. Seems like 11/20/2010 kit have a compatibility problem (in vlite I see 3 patches in that kit, and vlite label that kit "Windows 7 with Service Pack 1", ... in 07/13/2009 I can see just SP1 patch and no reffrerence to SP1 in the very first screen after launching application.

#23
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
how to change the date and time of the Windows and Winsxs folder?
when using vLite, we did not have time to make this change?

if you mount the image before using Vlite date is July 13, 2009 and 8:20 p.m.

how can we do?

thanks ;)

EDIT: I compared the dates/times (creation of file and date modified)
after using Vlite modded and true Vlite and that the same (et also Rt7lite)

I don't know what to do :huh:

Edited by bapt, 24 February 2011 - 05:46 AM.


#24
woowo

woowo
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i think vlite is still really good.

#25
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
Bapt, your image is based to original 07/13/2009 kit (I vlited this kit with no problems - see my post ...) so you dont need to modify the date. Date modification maybe useful for the "11/20/2010 SP1 kit". Btw, I used Total Commander for that task (submenu Change Attributes in Files menu).




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN