Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

[SOLVED] problem with Vlite 1.2 and Win7 SP1 (MSDN)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
188 replies to this topic

#76
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09
Update: I got it work using dead0 procedure. I only removed the languages so far. For some reason I was getting errors that a component couldn't be installed and I was being very conservative on my vlite removal.

Dead0, have you tried installing the RegTweak for package removal and remove any packages yet? Also, your procedure of switching back and for the wimfltr and wimmount doesn't make sense. Doesn't the win7 version that we got the wimmount from used with imagex not the wimfltr. I have both in the driver folder. You are just switching the vlite version when you swap them right?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Update: I got it work using dead0 procedure. I only removed the languages so far. For some reason I was getting errors that a component couldn't be installed and I was being very conservative on my vlite removal.

Dead0, have you tried installing the RegTweak for package removal and remove any packages yet? Also, your procedure of switching back and for the wimfltr and wimmount doesn't make sense. Doesn't the win7 version that we got the wimmount from used with imagex not the wimfltr. I have both in the driver folder. You are just switching the vlite version when you swap them right?


7 x86 of dead0 take 5GB of disk space, it does not remove many component
unless it has installed software or other

Edited by bapt, 27 February 2011 - 07:37 PM.

sorry for my english :)

#78
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
could not remove the components without using Vlite?
with imagex or dism, directly

the problem will be the same?
sorry for my english :)

#79
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09


Update: I got it work using dead0 procedure. I only removed the languages so far. For some reason I was getting errors that a component couldn't be installed and I was being very conservative on my vlite removal.

Dead0, have you tried installing the RegTweak for package removal and remove any packages yet? Also, your procedure of switching back and for the wimfltr and wimmount doesn't make sense. Doesn't the win7 version that we got the wimmount from used with imagex not the wimfltr. I have both in the driver folder. You are just switching the vlite version when you swap them right?


7 x86 of dead0 take 5GB of disk space, it does not remove many component
unless it has installed software or other



could not remove the components without using Vlite?
with imagex or dism, directly

the problem will be the same?


I dont understand what you are saying. I got a 6.3GB install with x64 Ultimate and removing languages with vlite. I was asking what his session was because you have to select something as far as I know to get vlite to do something. When I tried a selecting a few things to remove I got an error when installing saying not all components could be installed.

#80
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08

WAIK 2 is for 7 I thought. 1.1 is for vista. 1.1 was released in 2008, 2 was released in 2009 and 3 this month. WAIK 2 should have the wimmount.sys, that is what I have.


bapt
Sorry to say that you are wrong and xpJohnson is right instead. Quoted from Wikipedia:

1. WAIK 1.0—Released with Vista

2. WAIK 1.1—v6.0.6001.18000—Released with Vista SP1 and Windows Server 2008
Filename: 6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3aikl_en.iso
Version: v936330AIK – Released: 4/9/2008–1375.9 MB

3. WAIK 2.0 - v6.1.7000.0—Released with Windows 7
Filename: KB3AIK_en.ISO

4. WAIK 2.0 RC: 6.1.7100.0—Released with Windows Vista
Filename: KB3AIK_en.ISO

5. Win7 WAIK / WAIK 3.0: 6.1.7600.16385 Includes DISM.exe, same version number
Filename: KB3AIK_en.ISO
Version: v3.0—Released: 8/6/2009—1706.6 MB

Windows AIK version 3.0 is the exact same as 2.0. The hash values of the ISO images are exactly the same.

Edited by alvinkhorfire, 28 February 2011 - 12:36 AM.


#81
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I dont understand what you are saying. I got a 6.3GB install with x64 Ultimate and removing languages with vlite. I was asking what his session was because you have to select something as far as I know to get vlite to do something. When I tried a selecting a few things to remove I got an error when installing saying not all components could be installed.


I was talking about the OS de dead0 ;)



WAIK 2 is for 7 I thought. 1.1 is for vista. 1.1 was released in 2008, 2 was released in 2009 and 3 this month. WAIK 2 should have the wimmount.sys, that is what I have.


bapt
Sorry to say that you are wrong and xpJohnson is right instead. Quoted from Wikipedia:

1. WAIK 1.0—Released with Vista

2. WAIK 1.1—v6.0.6001.18000—Released with Vista SP1 and Windows Server 2008
Filename: 6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3aikl_en.iso
Version: v936330AIK – Released: 4/9/2008–1375.9 MB

3. WAIK 2.0 - v6.1.7000.0—Released with Windows 7
Filename: KB3AIK_en.ISO

4. WAIK 2.0 RC: 6.1.7100.0—Released with Windows Vista
Filename: KB3AIK_en.ISO

5. Win7 WAIK / WAIK 3.0: 6.1.7600.16385 Includes DISM.exe, same version number
Filename: KB3AIK_en.ISO
Version: v3.0—Released: 8/6/2009—1706.6 MB

Windows AIK version 3.0 is the exact same as 2.0. The hash values of the ISO images are exactly the same.


ok I had seen this for the WAIK 2

WAIK 2 => 6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3aikl_en.iso (4/9/2008)

http://www.microsoft...a5-5b50c657de08

Edited by bapt, 28 February 2011 - 12:57 AM.

sorry for my english :)

#82
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
Is there another topic named "Safe WinSxS Removal With Vlite and RT Lite". Posters complains about same problem with Windows 7 SP1 RTM. But, look at these :



"""http://www.autoitscr...-tools/gimagex/

download it from there

choose the apply tab choose the install.wim that already lited with rt lite
and choose empty dir for destination

after it done choose capture tab

use maximum compressing and ultimate edition and fill up it with name """



and the replay :

"""Thanks, applying right now, will come back to update if it works!

*UPDATE: this works. Install finished with no errors. Tried first method: apply and capture from gimagex
Thanks again aviv00! """


Yes, is about Windows 7 SP1 image !!! . Read that topic ... From what I understand , FIRST is RTLite and THEN is mount/commit with GImageX v2.0.17 (dead0 wrote - FIRST mount/commit with imagex and THEN VLite, reverse order, if consider VLite instead RTLite ) . I will try with VLite . Maybe is working that way !

In fact is about apply/capture image ...


Forget about this ! Doesn't work ! Sorry !

Edited by romantiq, 28 February 2011 - 07:39 AM.


#83
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there another topic named "Safe WinSxS Removal With Vlite and RT Lite". Posters complains about same problem with Windows 7 SP1 RTM. But, look at these :



"""http://www.autoitscr...-tools/gimagex/

download it from there

choose the apply tab choose the install.wim that already lited with rt lite
and choose empty dir for destination

after it done choose capture tab

use maximum compressing and ultimate edition and fill up it with name """


you're tested? it's good?
sorry for my english :)

#84
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
I tried but after vlite operation , gimagex don't recognize the image. This metod works with RTLite, not with VLite :wacko:

#85
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
with rt7lite, there is no problem ...
sorry for my english :)

#86
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09
Just try dead0 procedure. It works and I am doing my 4th install right now. The last 3 worked. You just don't need to switch back and forth the filters.

I can see where rtlite then vlite might work because rtlite only works with waik2 so it might be the same as using imagex to commit then switch over to vlite. not going to try though when this works as it is. My last test was x64 ultimate and a 6.14GB install.

#87
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure
sorry for my english :)

#88
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
Well done, bapt ! It works indeed ... We are greatiful to dead0 - in special, and then to all those who gave as the ideas.. I am shure that, one day, , an another Dino Nuhagic will follow the excellent work of vlite creator !

#89
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i may have found another way to delete files from the wim. it involves using vista imagex and seven imagex. if you use seven imagex, u cant remove files from the winsxs due to file ownership restrictions whereas if you use vista imagex, you can

#90
Veki(CRO)

Veki(CRO)

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 21-July 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure

Can you please explain in more precision way this part just using first Gimagex ?
What i have to do in Gimagex?
And are you talking about MSDN W7+SP1 integrated or W7+SP1 intergrated with RT7 Lite?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english :)

#91
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09


it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure

Can you please explain in more precision way this part just using first Gimagex ?
What i have to do in Gimagex?
And are you talking about MSDN W7+SP1 integrated or W7+SP1 intergrated with RT7 Lite?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english :)


Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. then vlite. thats it. make sure you use waik2 with gimagex.

#92
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09

i may have found another way to delete files from the wim. it involves using vista imagex and seven imagex. if you use seven imagex, u cant remove files from the winsxs due to file ownership restrictions whereas if you use vista imagex, you can


I think this is the same problem I was having. For the last week I was using vista imagex and was removing packages get it wont install then. With seven imagex I am can't remove packages or even mount the registry.

Are you doing this before or after vlite?

#93
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


i may have found another way to delete files from the wim. it involves using vista imagex and seven imagex. if you use seven imagex, u cant remove files from the winsxs due to file ownership restrictions whereas if you use vista imagex, you can


I think this is the same problem I was having. For the last week I was using vista imagex and was removing packages get it wont install then. With seven imagex I am can't remove packages or even mount the registry.

Are you doing this before or after vlite?

the reg wim tweak and package removal can be done using seven imagex but it takes a long time to complete. ths must all be done before vlite. im testin now to see if this can be done with vista imagex instead

ps i would recommed to install waik 1.1 and 2.0, copy over imagex then uninstall both from your system such as

C:\ImageX\seven\amd64 <------ this folder is from windows aik\tools folder (waik 2.0)
C:\ImageX\vista\amd64 <------- this folder is from windows aik\tools folder (waik 1.1)

place a copy of gimagex into each amd64 folder where imagex resides and then test this way

Edited by dead0, 28 February 2011 - 01:02 PM.


#94
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
The package removal works perfect with vista imagex (and more quickly, is true). And imagex removal works fine with vlite for Windows 7 images.

#95
Veki(CRO)

Veki(CRO)

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 21-July 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag



it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure

Can you please explain in more precision way this part just using first Gimagex ?
What i have to do in Gimagex?
And are you talking about MSDN W7+SP1 integrated or W7+SP1 intergrated with RT7 Lite?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english :)


Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. then vlite. thats it. make sure you use waik2 with gimagex.

Sorry but i still dont understand.
What to mount?Its asking for wim file but i have W7 iso file and there is 4-5 columns,what i must mount and where?

#96
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09



i may have found another way to delete files from the wim. it involves using vista imagex and seven imagex. if you use seven imagex, u cant remove files from the winsxs due to file ownership restrictions whereas if you use vista imagex, you can


I think this is the same problem I was having. For the last week I was using vista imagex and was removing packages get it wont install then. With seven imagex I am can't remove packages or even mount the registry.

Are you doing this before or after vlite?

the reg wim tweak and package removal can be done using seven imagex but it takes a long time to complete. ths must all be done before vlite. im testin now to see if this can be done with vista imagex instead

ps i would recommed to install waik 1.1 and 2.0, copy over imagex then uninstall both from your system such as

C:\ImageX\seven\amd64 <------ this folder is from windows aik\tools folder (waik 2.0)
C:\ImageX\vista\amd64 <------- this folder is from windows aik\tools folder (waik 1.1)

place a copy of gimagex into each amd64 folder where imagex resides and then test this way


I just tried and the wim tweak went through with vista imagex. I tried my own wim tweak but it is not working because of permissions. I think the first commit with seven imagex puts different permissions on files.

Your suggestion of the 2 imagex is what I have been doing. I will try to vlite now.

#97
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09




it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure

Can you please explain in more precision way this part just using first Gimagex ?
What i have to do in Gimagex?
And are you talking about MSDN W7+SP1 integrated or W7+SP1 intergrated with RT7 Lite?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english :)


Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. then vlite. thats it. make sure you use waik2 with gimagex.

Sorry but i still dont understand.
What to mount?Its asking for wim file but i have W7 iso file and there is 4-5 columns,what i must mount and where?


Extract ISO to a folder then mount the [extracted folder]\sources\install.wim

#98
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
The content of ISO must be extracted (WinRAR, UltraISO,...) into a folder. Then you can see a folder named "sources" where exists a file named install.wim. With Gimagex , mount that file in an empty folder, then unmount with commit changes (check this option in gimagex). Then you can use vlite. I hope that is clear.

#99
Veki(CRO)

Veki(CRO)

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 21-July 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag





it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure

Can you please explain in more precision way this part just using first Gimagex ?
What i have to do in Gimagex?
And are you talking about MSDN W7+SP1 integrated or W7+SP1 intergrated with RT7 Lite?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english :)


Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. then vlite. thats it. make sure you use waik2 with gimagex.

Sorry but i still dont understand.
What to mount?Its asking for wim file but i have W7 iso file and there is 4-5 columns,what i must mount and where?


Extract ISO to a folder then mount the [extracted folder]\sources\install.wim

Tnx :)
In what column i have to mount,Capture,Apply,Mount?
And you wrote this Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. What i have to commit?And mountrw is a writing mistake or that rw means something?
Thanks in advance :)

#100
xpJohnson

xpJohnson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 01-January 09






it works very well, just using first Gimagex and after Vlite :thumbup

I tested a second time to be sure

Can you please explain in more precision way this part just using first Gimagex ?
What i have to do in Gimagex?
And are you talking about MSDN W7+SP1 integrated or W7+SP1 intergrated with RT7 Lite?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english :)


Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. then vlite. thats it. make sure you use waik2 with gimagex.

Sorry but i still dont understand.
What to mount?Its asking for wim file but i have W7 iso file and there is 4-5 columns,what i must mount and where?


Extract ISO to a folder then mount the [extracted folder]\sources\install.wim

Tnx :)
In what column i have to mount,Capture,Apply,Mount?
And you wrote this Use Gimagex to mountrw then commit and unmount. What i have to commit?And mountrw is a writing mistake or that rw means something?
Thanks in advance :)


make some folders like c:\7iso for your extracted iso and c:\7mount for your gimagex to mount to. if you open gimagex and go to the mount tab you will see the options for read write and commit. select them both and point the gimagx to the folders you just made

Edited by xpJohnson, 28 February 2011 - 01:39 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users