Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

[SOLVED] problem with Vlite 1.2 and Win7 SP1 (MSDN)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
188 replies to this topic

#126
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


i just did another test & no errors after vlite

u could try this way:

1) ensure waik 2.0 is installed
2) in cmd prompt, go to Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64 and execute wimmountinstall /install
3) copy wimmount.sys from above folder to Program Files (x86)\vLite\wimfltr\x64
4) rename wimfltr.sys (this is the vista version) to something else such as wimfltr2.sys as you will need it later
5) rename the copied wimmount.sys to wimfltr.sys
6) right click wimfltr.inf Program Files (x86)\vLite\wimfltr\x64 folder to install
7) using gimagex or imagex, mount install.wim and then dismount wim with commit changes. this should take a while around 20 minutes depending on pc. u should only need to do this once to a wim unless u start from afresh
8) go back to the vlite wimfltr folder and rename wimfltr2.sys to wimfltr.sys (also rename wimfltr.sys back to wimmount.sys)
9) right click wimfltr.inf and install again. this will copy the vista version back to system32\drivers
10) use vlite

u may need to switch between the 2 filters when using imagex and vlite


For Step 7, GImageX is used with Seven ImageX. For Step 10, vLite is used with Vista wimfltr. Okay, I get that.

Questions:
For Step 8, do I have to install WAIK 1.1 (Vista) or just have to rename wimfltr2.sys? Other than that, if I want to install WAIK 1.1 (Vista), do I have to uninstall WAIK 2 (Windows 7) first? In other words, can I keep both WAIKs installed without one affecting another?

u can not have both waiks installed. i recommend to install both not together though, to copy the imagex folder to another folder and then uninstall as the full waik installations are not required as in post #93 http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__957759

Edited by dead0, 02 March 2011 - 11:57 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#127
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
I tested three times already with following few steps :

1. use GIMAGEX with install.wim , tabs APPLY, then CAPTURE of desired image; i placed wimgapi.dll for Win7 (downloaded from win a win7 PE project) in Gimagex folder and that was enough ;
2. use VLITE in "original state" - vista vimfltr and wimgapi.dll copied in the wellknown folders.

No need switching between wimfltr an winmount ! No need WAIK (I never hadn't hve that kit in my computer just wimgapi.dll for GIMAGEX).
Vlite and GIMAGEX don't use common files, because they running in separated environments. Believe me, wimfltr.sys of Vista was ONLY vimfltr used in entire operation, and ONLY for vlite. Who needs winmount.sys ?!
That's all, 2 simple steps, and I installed without any error 3 various images from Windows 7 SP1 AIO kit.
And to be shure, I worked with fresh instaled OS every time..

#128
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I tested three times already with following few steps :

1. use GIMAGEX with install.wim , tabs APPLY, then CAPTURE of desired image; i placed wimgapi.dll for Win7 (downloaded from win a win7 PE project) in Gimagex folder and that was enough ;
2. use VLITE in "original state" - vista vimfltr and wimgapi.dll copied in the wellknown folders.

No need switching between wimfltr an winmount ! No need WAIK (I never hadn't hve that kit in my computer just wimgapi.dll for GIMAGEX).
Vlite and GIMAGEX don't use common files, because they running in separated environments. Believe me, wimfltr.sys of Vista was ONLY vimfltr used in entire operation, and ONLY for vlite. Who needs winmount.sys ?!
That's all, 2 simple steps, and I installed without any error 3 various images from Windows 7 SP1 AIO kit.
And to be shure, I worked with fresh instaled OS every time..

switching between filters is no longer required. u just need to make sure when using seven imagex, waik 2.0 wim filter is in use

Edited by dead0, 02 March 2011 - 01:28 PM.


#129
romantiq

romantiq

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 17-June 07
Speaking about imagex, dead0, I agree with you. But GIMAGEX don't need wimfltr (maybe because somehow is integrated his own in exe or in dll files). That is the reason I prefer GIMAGEX : shortest way to success :rolleyes: . But,, anyway, by your effort, the case is solved.

EDIT .

In fact, wimmount is used for mount/unmount operations, like Microsoft help says :

Copy the following files into the same folder as gimagex.exe:

wimgapi.dll
wimmount.inf
wimmount.sys
WimMountInstall.exe
wimserv.exe
imagex.exe (optional, but handy if you also want to use the orginal command-line version of imagex)
You should now be able to run gimagex.exe from this installation folder to capture and apply WIM files. If you also wish to be able to mount WIM files then you need to also install the wimmount.sys driver by running WimMountInstall.exe.

Edited by romantiq, 02 March 2011 - 02:58 PM.


#130
Picinova

Picinova
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-March 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
super :)

Edited by Picinova, 23 April 2011 - 03:00 AM.


#131
nickster

nickster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 05-May 09
Argh, I can't get this to work for me. Have been using RT7 Lite but I found that it edits the registry permissions to give 'Users' full control over hkcr and most of hklm which is extremely dodgy.

I want vLite working again :( It used to work perfectly (for my needs) with Windows 7 without SP1 but it just crashes now after clicking apply.

I've tried dead0's suggestion but it didn't work for me.

Can anyone offer some suggestions please?

Edited by nickster, 17 May 2011 - 12:53 PM.


#132
nickster

nickster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 05-May 09
I've managed to run vLite on a Windows 7 SP1 image without error but I had to omit 'Component' modification in order for it to complete. I managed to integrate drivers add tweaks, but I would really like to remove languages.

I can do it with RT7 Lite but doing so changes registry permissions to potentially dangerous settings so I would rather use vLite if possible.

Does anyone know of a workaround for this please?

#133
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08


Ok, i have tested this and it works with vLite.

But since i want to use both vLite and RT 7 Lite, then what should i use first?

Should i first use RT 7 Lite, then GImageX with you're steps and then vLite?

Let me know how i have to go forward.


Me, I use first Gimagex then Vlite and I finally rt7lite
if we use first rt7lite is an error message launching Vlite about the boot (boot-optimized by rt7lite and not "compatible" with vLite)


bapt
I do not really understand what you meant with the bolded part.

As recommended, I used Gimagex to create a modified wim of Windows 7 SP1 (MSDN). Subsequently, I used RT 7 Lite to integrate Windows updates and remove components. However, after this step, if I use vLite to slim down this image, vLite will stop responding. Is this what you meant by error message launching vLite?

You suggested to use vLite after using GImagex, but vLite cannot be used to integrate Windows updates to the image. Moreover, we should not remove components prior to integrating updates to the image. By your method "I use first Gimagex then Vlite and I finally rt7lite", could you explain when the time to integrate updates is?

It would be very helpful if you can share your RT 7 Lite and vLite preset, so that I would know components that should be removed by respective software.

Thank you very much. :)

Edited by alvinkhorfire, 10 June 2011 - 12:46 AM.


#134
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I read all this topic and I´m confused. There are more instructions but they aren´t consistent.
Could anyone write step by step manual? I have vlite, WAIK2, iso Win7 SP1 from MSDN and other files from this guide
http://www.msfn.org/...64-bit-updated/
and question is, how to make Win7 SP1 lite from that?

#135
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag



Ok, i have tested this and it works with vLite.

But since i want to use both vLite and RT 7 Lite, then what should i use first?

Should i first use RT 7 Lite, then GImageX with you're steps and then vLite?

Let me know how i have to go forward.


Me, I use first Gimagex then Vlite and I finally rt7lite
if we use first rt7lite is an error message launching Vlite about the boot (boot-optimized by rt7lite and not "compatible" with vLite)


bapt
I do not really understand what you meant with the bolded part.

As recommended, I used Gimagex to create a modified wim of Windows 7 SP1 (MSDN). Subsequently, I used RT 7 Lite to integrate Windows updates and remove components. However, after this step, if I use vLite to slim down this image, vLite will stop responding. Is this what you meant by error message launching vLite?

You suggested to use vLite after using GImagex, but vLite cannot be used to integrate Windows updates to the image. Moreover, we should not remove components prior to integrating updates to the image. By your method "I use first Gimagex then Vlite and I finally rt7lite", could you explain when the time to integrate updates is?

It would be very helpful if you can share your RT 7 Lite and vLite preset, so that I would know components that should be removed by respective software.

Thank you very much. :)


answered to your MP ;)

My RT 7 Lite and vLite preset

Attached Files


sorry for my english :)

#136
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you, but this method allows for the use of the program RT7Lite and I interereted in using only Gimagex and vLite of course.

#137
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thank you, but this method allows for the use of the program RT7Lite and I interereted in using only Gimagex and vLite of course.


you can just use Gimagex and Vlite
sorry for my english :)

#138
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Super, we get back to my first post.
I did not understand, how to make Win7 SP1 compatible with the vLite using Gimagex. I read that it is necessary to change the date of some files and folders and I read the instructions how to modify the instal.wim with Gimagex and the question is how to combine these instructions together.

#139
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Super, we get back to my first post.
I did not understand, how to make Win7 SP1 compatible with the vLite using Gimagex. I read that it is necessary to change the date of some files and folders and I read the instructions how to modify the instal.wim with Gimagex and the question is how to combine these instructions together.


instructions for Gimagex are given in post # 105 ;)

not necessary to change the date of some files and folders
sorry for my english :)

#140
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08
bapt
Thank you very much for replying to my question and supplying your preset. :thumbup

1. So, how do you integrate Windows update? Is it via DISM?

2. As for integrating drivers, do you use RT 7 Lite to integrate drivers?

3. I understand your highly recommended solution stating that first use Gimagex, integrate the updates, then vLite and finally RT 7 Lite. For all of this steps, we do not need to install WAIK for Windows Vista and WAIK for Windows 7, right? I only have to insert vista vimfltr and wimgapi.dll in vLite folder.

Thanks again for your help.

Edited by alvinkhorfire, 13 June 2011 - 11:22 PM.


#141
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks all, based on your advice I made ​​a working installation of W7lite SP1.
Everything looks good except windows update - updates some reports that have not been successfully installed - for example internet explorer 9.
Any idea what to do?

#142
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

bapt
Thank you very much for replying to my question and supplying your preset. :thumbup

1. So, how do you integrate Windows update? Is it via DISM?

2. As for integrating drivers, do you use RT 7 Lite to integrate drivers?

3. I understand your highly recommended solution stating that first use Gimagex, integrate the updates, then vLite and finally RT 7 Lite. For all of this steps, we do not need to install WAIK for Windows Vista and WAIK for Windows 7, right? I only have to insert vista vimfltr and wimgapi.dll in vLite folder.

Thanks again for your help.


1) yes I use dism

2) Indeed, it is with RT 7lite I integrate the drivers

3) it's right ;)
sorry for my english :)

#143
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08
@bapt
Thank you so much for your explanation. You are very helpful. :thumbup

For me, after using RT 7 Lite as suggested in your steps, I would suggest executing the batch removal file via Gimage to remove redundant fonts. This batch file originates from dead0's guide. That way, we can achieve further slim down of the image.

So, you remove winsxs via RT 7 Lite. Can you install Windows updates to your Windows?

Everything looks good except windows update - updates some reports that have not been successfully installed - for example internet explorer 9.

Do you integrate the msu version of Internet Explorer 9 into your image before using vLite? Do you remove winsxs?

Edited by alvinkhorfire, 16 June 2011 - 12:10 AM.


#144
bapt

bapt

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Joined 09-August 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@bapt

So, you remove winsxs via RT 7 Lite. Can you install Windows updates to your Windows?


yes and no problem ;)

if I remove winsxs via RT 7lite, but not with Vlite
sorry for my english :)

#145
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Everything looks good except windows update - updates some reports that have not been successfully installed - for example internet explorer 9.

Do you integrate the msu version of Internet Explorer 9 into your image before using vLite? Do you remove winsxs?



No I don´t. No I don´t, only removed some components in vLite.

#146
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08
@ vincentvega007
I would suggest that you integrate the msu version of IE9 into your image. The direct link for IE9 are as follow:

Win7
x86: http://go.microsoft..../?LinkId=210145
x64: http://go.microsoft..../?LinkId=210143

I mean, you really do not have to wait after Windows installation, to use Windows Update to install IE9.

As for some updates failed to be installed, I believe that the updates tried to update some components you have removed via vLite, and thus failed. I do encounter such case for my slimmed-down Windows 7 SP1. There is nothing much you can do, rather than rebuild a new image by integrating all newer updates before using vLite.

Edited by alvinkhorfire, 16 June 2011 - 02:50 AM.


#147
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

@ vincentvega007
I would suggest that you integrate the msu version of IE9 into your image. The direct link for IE9 are as follow:

Win7
x86: http://go.microsoft..../?LinkId=210145
x64: http://go.microsoft..../?LinkId=210143

I mean, you really do not have to wait after Windows installation, to use Windows Update to install IE9.

As for some updates failed to be installed, I believe that the updates tried to update some components you have removed via vLite, and thus failed. I do encounter such case for my slimmed-down Windows 7 SP1. There is nothing much you can do, rather than rebuild a new image by integrating all newer updates before using vLite.


I know the method of integrating packages since the time XPLite. Even this method is not one hundred percent, especially with regard to the future. I can not imagine that it will build a new iso and reinstall the system with all programs every time MS release an update that will not download and install it using Windows apdate.

#148
alvinkhorfire

alvinkhorfire

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08
@vincentvega007
Sorry for confusion. I was not questioning your ability of slimming down Windows. Anyone using a customized Windows 7 SP1 with IE 9 integrated, should not be installing IE9, because it has been integrated. That is why I found it weird that you have to install IE 9, as if you did not integrate IE 9 at all.

#149
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag



Everything looks good except windows update - updates some reports that have not been successfully installed - for example internet explorer 9.

Do you integrate the msu version of Internet Explorer 9 into your image before using vLite? Do you remove winsxs?



No I don´t. No I don´t, only removed some components in vLite.


Attach your Last Session.ini, please!
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#150
vincentvega007

vincentvega007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Attach your Last Session.ini, please!


There is my LastSession.ini
; vLite preset file
;
;#Environment:
; vLite v1.2
; Framework 2.0.50727.4961
; Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7600.0 32-bit
;
;#Target:
; Windows 7 HOMEPREMIUM 32-bit Service Pack 1
; Version 6.1 Czech (Czech Republic)
;
[Compatibility]
ACDSee / XnView
KMPlayer

[CustomHide]

[Components]
;# Accessories #
Accessibility
Games-Inbox Games
Games-Premium Inbox Games
Mobility Center
Speech Support
Welcome Center
Windows Sidebar and Gadgets
Wordpad
;# Drivers #
Diva Server
Modems
QLogic Fibre Channel Adapter
Scanners
Storage controllers-Adaptec
Storage controllers-Elxstor
Storage controllers-IBM ServeRAID
Storage controllers-ICP vortex
Storage controllers-nVidia
Storage controllers-SiS
Storage controllers-Via
TV Tuners-ADS Technologies
TV Tuners-ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
TV Tuners-AVerMedia Technologies, Inc.
TV Tuners-Compro Technology Inc.
TV Tuners-Creatix
TV Tuners-Hauppauge
TV Tuners-KNC ONE GmbH
TV Tuners-KWorld
TV Tuners-Lumanate, Inc.
TV Tuners-Philips Semiconductors
TV Tuners-Pinnacle Systems
TV Tuners-TerraTec Electronic GmbH
TV Tuners-VidzMedia Pte Ltd.
;# Hardware Support #
Dynamic Volume Manager
Fax Support
Floppy Disk Support
Infrared Support
Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI)
Modem Support
TV Tuner support
Windows HotStart
Windows Portable Devices
XBOX 360 Controller
;# Languages #
Arabic
Brazillian
Bulgarian
Croatian
Danish
Dutch
Estonian
Finnish
Hebrew
Hungarian
Japanese
Korean
Latvian
Lithuanian
Norwegian
Polish
Portuguese
Serbian
Simplified Chinese
Slovenian
Swedish
Table Driven Text Input Processor
Traditional Chinese
Turkish
Ukrainian
;# Multimedia #
Media Center
Music and Video samples
Sample Pictures
Screensavers
Sound Recorder
;# Network #
Distributed File System (DFS)
Internet Information Services (IIS)
Remote Desktop and Assistance
Simple TCPIP services
Telnet Client
Telnet Server
TFTP Client
Windows Collaboration
Windows Mail
;# Services #
Distributed Link Tracking Client
Error Reporting
Remote Registry
Routing and Remote Access
WebDAV (WebClient)
;# System #
16-bit Support
Beep
BitLocker Drive Encryption
Disk Quota
Help
IMAPIv2 Burning Support
Microsoft Client For NFS
Microsoft Message Queue (MSMQ)
Natural Language
Parental Controls
Reliability and Performance Monitor
Run a legacy CPL elevated
Security Center
Subsystem for UNIX-based Applications (SUA)
Sync Center
System Restore
Tablet PC
Windows Defender
Windows Easy Transfer
Zip Folder

[Options]
DEP (Data Execution Prevention) = Disabled (AlwaysOff)
User Account Control (UAC) = Enabled
AntiSpyware Realtime Protection = Default
Memory requirement = 256MB
AutoPlay = Disabled
Paging Executive = Disabled
Power scheme = Balanced
Power button = Hibernate
Sleep button = Sleep
Control Panel - Classic View = Default
Show hidden files and folders = No
Show protected operating system files = No
Show extensions for known file types = Yes
IE Phishing Filter = Enabled
IE Phishing Verification Ballon Tips = Default

[Services]
AELOOKUPSVC = Manual
CLR_OPTIMIZATION_V2.0.50727_32 = Manual
FDPHOST = Disabled
FDRESPUB = Disabled
HIDSERV = Automatic
IPHLPSVC = Disabled
LMHOSTS = Disabled
NAPAGENT = Disabled
POLICYAGENT = Disabled
UI0DETECT = Disabled
UPNPHOST = Disabled
WINRM = Disabled
WLANSVC = Automatic
WMPNETWORKSVC = Disabled

[Protection]
windows\system32\tbs.dll
windows\system32\wer.dll
windows\system32\Magnification.dll
windows\system32\msdt.exe
windows\system32\msoert2.dll
windows\system32\msdrm.dll
windows\system32\browcli.dll
windows\system32\optionalfeatures.exe
windows\system32\SystemPropertiesRemote.exe
windows\system32\werconcpl.dll
windows\system32\wercplsupport.dll
windows\system32\werdiagcontroller.dll
windows\system32\winipsec.dll
windows\system32\wmdrmsdk.dll
windows\system32\SnippingTool.exe

[Drivers]
E:\Instal\Intel\iaAHCI.inf

[Unattended]

[Hotfixes]

[LanguagePacks]


@alvinkhorfire
IE 9 is not a problem now. I have a problem with Win7lite itselt: when I use Dead0´s method from this topic http://www.msfn.org/...-batch-removal/
windows installation fails. When I use bapt´s method from here http://www.msfn.org/...n/page__st__100
and I can use only vLite batch file aka DISM doesn´t works.

Edited by vincentvega007, 18 June 2011 - 10:15 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users