Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 9x/Me Security Thread

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#101
lolnousernameforyou

lolnousernameforyou

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 06-August 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

 

is a Win98 system safer, or less safe, or equally safe from those kinds of threats as a modern PC? 

 

--JorgeA

 

I would say equal since a big part of security goes down to the user like just today I pulled "120 VIRUSES" off my mothers computer which is running windows 7. This isn't the first time that happened to her the most she ever got was two years ago which was OVER 300 VIRUSES.


Edited by lolnousernameforyou, 21 August 2013 - 08:01 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
CharlotteTheHarlot

CharlotteTheHarlot

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,054 posts
  • Joined 24-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I would say equal since a big part of security goes down to the user like just today I pulled "120 VIRUSES" off my mothers computer which is running windows 7. This isn't the first time that happened to her the most she ever got was two years ago which was OVER 300 VIRUSES.


I have cleaned up a lot of Vista/7 systems myself. It is as bad or worse than the early XP years.

Despite these Vista/7 systems with full CPU consuming antivirus suites, and using standard non-admin accounts, and with automatic Windows Update, there is no end in sight.

How did her computer physically connect? Was there a router with working hardware firewall?

... Let him who hath understanding reckon the Number Of The Beast ...


#103
lolnousernameforyou

lolnousernameforyou

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 06-August 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

How did her computer physically connect? Was there a router with working hardware firewall?

 

It is connected wirelessly to a router by an usb antenna. She uses Norton but I used Malwarebytes to remove the viruses. (The firewall is a router firewall and windows 7 firewall)


Edited by lolnousernameforyou, 23 August 2013 - 10:35 AM.


#104
CharlotteTheHarlot

CharlotteTheHarlot

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,054 posts
  • Joined 24-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

How did her computer physically connect? Was there a router with working hardware firewall?

 

It is connected wirelessly to a router by an usb antenna. She uses Norton but I used Malware bytes to remove the viruses. (The firewall is a router firewall and windows 7 firewall)

 

 

Check the firmware settings that the router firewall is actually enabled and for manually opened ports. Or you can re-flash it or reset it and start over. Either way you need to drag a fine-toothed comb through the router settings. It helps to search the exact model in Google for administration tips. And make sure you disabled universal PnP on the router and also the service in Windows ( this is one way for router ports to be opened from software despite the router ). Oh yeah, make sure she is not using an Admin account.

 

The Windows firewalls are crap but better than nothing I guess. From an Admin account on her PC, check for exclusions ( these are easily added by software ).

 

P.S. Remember that if you remove Norton or McAfee ( in order to install something else ) to use their specific cleaners after the normal uninstall.


... Let him who hath understanding reckon the Number Of The Beast ...


#105
lolnousernameforyou

lolnousernameforyou

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 06-August 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Check the firmware settings that the router firewall is actually enabled and for manually opened ports. Or you can re-flash it or reset it and start over. Either way you need to drag a fine-toothed comb through the router settings. It helps to search the exact model in Google for administration tips. And make sure you disabled universal PnP on the router and also the service in Windows ( this is one way for router ports to be opened from software despite the router ). Oh yeah, make sure she is not using an Admin account.

 

The Windows firewalls are crap but better than nothing I guess. From an Admin account on her PC, check for exclusions ( these are easily added by software ).

 

P.S. Remember that if you remove Norton or McAfee ( in order to install something else ) to use their specific cleaners after the normal uninstall.

 

Alright I will check the router setting when I get back from vacation.



#106
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,225 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Steve Gibson's Shields Up! is a good tool to use to check out any PC's open ports and general visibility on the Internet. Hover over "Services" at the top, and then select "Shields Up!".

 

--JorgeA



#107
CharlotteTheHarlot

CharlotteTheHarlot

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,054 posts
  • Joined 24-September 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Definitely some lost posts here. Does anyone have a copy of the thread before the most recent rollback?


... Let him who hath understanding reckon the Number Of The Beast ...


#108
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,584 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Steve Gibson's Shields Up! is a good tool to use to check out any PC's open ports and general visibility on the Internet. Hover over "Services" at the top, and then select "Shields Up!".

 

--JorgeA

Hmmm. :unsure:

http://www.wildersse...ad.php?t=216892

http://web.archive.o...eldsup-analyzed

http://web.archive.o...nt/4/19332.html

 

Be aware that nanoprobes :w00t: :ph34r: are similar to worms, once you open the can they can go anywhere.... :whistle:

 

jaclaz



#109
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

That site told my IP is super secure, but there's one completely exposed computer sitting on that IP, all ports open, no firewalls...


Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#110
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,225 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

That site told my IP is super secure, but there's one completely exposed computer sitting on that IP, all ports open, no firewalls...

 

Is that computer connected directly to the Internet (to the wall), or is it on a router?

 

You might also want to try http://www.canyouseeme.org/, although it can get pretty tedious to test hundreds of ports, one at a time. For all the ports that I did check, it gave me the same results as GRC's Shields Up -- it "could not see" it.

 

If anybody knows of some other service that will accurately test the status of all ports (or ranges of ports) with one action, this is a good time to contribute.

 

--JorgeA


Edited by JorgeA, 26 August 2013 - 05:05 PM.


#111
lolnousernameforyou

lolnousernameforyou

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 06-August 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Check the firmware settings that the router firewall is actually enabled and for manually opened ports. Or you can re-flash it or reset it and start over. Either way you need to drag a fine-toothed comb through the router settings. It helps to search the exact model in Google for administration tips. And make sure you disabled universal PnP on the router and also the service in Windows ( this is one way for router ports to be opened from software despite the router ). Oh yeah, make sure she is not using an Admin account.
 
The Windows firewalls are crap but better than nothing I guess. From an Admin account on her PC, check for exclusions ( these are easily added by software ).
 
P.S. Remember that if you remove Norton or McAfee ( in order to install something else ) to use their specific cleaners after the normal uninstall.

Alright I will check the router setting when I get back from vacation.

I used the sites you gave me to check the ports and the conclusion was that her computer ("router") is very secure :w00t: . It just turns out she is good at getting viruses :blushing: , which just proves my point that the security goes to the user because my windows 98se computer which uses the same router hasn't had a single virus :). (Others came to the same conclusion and I wasn’t the first to so dont yell at me please)

Edited by lolnousernameforyou, 26 August 2013 - 08:29 PM.


#112
lolnousernameforyou

lolnousernameforyou

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 06-August 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

As some of you will know, the normal uninstall for SAV still leaves behind lots of files and registry settings, which is why the removal tool was created.

Joe.

sorry for replying to an old post but you can always try a free program called advanced uninstaller pro. Its current version is 11.20 it supports windows Xp-8 unfortunately but I'm sure its possible for it to work in 9x if you tweak it I mean look at people did with 9x today. anyway though I used it before and found it great at removing software I thought I would just post a link here for people to try it and see if it fixes the program issues with Norton. http://www.advancedu...installer11.exe
*note I cant guarantee the safety of the link

Edited by lolnousernameforyou, 26 August 2013 - 09:21 PM.


#113
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

 

That site told my IP is super secure, but there's one completely exposed computer sitting on that IP, all ports open, no firewalls...

 

Is that computer connected directly to the Internet (to the wall), or is it on a router?

 

You might also want to try http://www.canyouseeme.org/, although it can get pretty tedious to test hundreds of ports, one at a time. For all the ports that I did check, it gave me the same results as GRC's Shields Up -- it "could not see" it.

 

If anybody knows of some other service that will accurately test the status of all ports (or ranges of ports) with one action, this is a good time to contribute.

 

--JorgeA

 

That place sees all the services I have on that particular computer (FTP, HTTP, VNC, and some other bits). The machine is in the "DMZ" so it is 100% exposed.


Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#114
JorgeA

JorgeA

    FORMAT B: /V /S

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 3,225 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

 

That site told my IP is super secure, but there's one completely exposed computer sitting on that IP, all ports open, no firewalls...

 

Is that computer connected directly to the Internet (to the wall), or is it on a router?

 

You might also want to try http://www.canyouseeme.org/, although it can get pretty tedious to test hundreds of ports, one at a time. For all the ports that I did check, it gave me the same results as GRC's Shields Up -- it "could not see" it.

 

If anybody knows of some other service that will accurately test the status of all ports (or ranges of ports) with one action, this is a good time to contribute.

 

--JorgeA

 

That place sees all the services I have on that particular computer (FTP, HTTP, VNC, and some other bits). The machine is in the "DMZ" so it is 100% exposed.

 

 

When you said "that place," was that the canyouseeme.org site?

 

--JorgeA






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users