Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

KernelEx Apps Compatibility List (New)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
362 replies to this topic

#201
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello there, solved my problem with java script. It was turned on under Quick preferences. Well I have learned one thing here to check
everything before publishing something here. Next time I will be more careful.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#202
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 813 posts
  • Joined 04-January 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I also told you some time ago that if videos were working on YouTube it was almost certainly html5 at work, not Flash.
Anyway, I haven't tried this, but one way around the QuickTime plugin problem might be to set Opera to open the videos in the QuickTime Player, rather than using the plugin.
Try putting this into handlers.ini in pace of your present [video/quicktime] section-

[video/quicktime]
Type=Viewer
Action=3
Application=C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QuickTimePlayer.exe
Application Description=
Web handler
Plugin Path=C:\Program Files\QuickTime\Plugins\npqtplugin.dll
Plugin Name=QuickTime Plug-in 7.7.2
Plugin Description=The QuickTime Plugin allows you to view a wide variety of multimedia content in Web pages. For more information, visit the <A HREF=http://www.apple.com/quicktime/>QuickTime</A> Web site.
Save To Folder=
Extension=qt,mov,mqv
Flags=128

That's what is written into my file if I set it up to open QT files in the player on XP.
Change the paths if you need to for your system of course.
You never know, it might work!
:)

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#203
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Dave-H thanks I will try.

#204
slhk

slhk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 03-August 08
Graphviz 2.28 works with Win2K mode :)

#205
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Good news guys: Opera decided to remove (at least temporarily) plugin wrapper from 32-bit version:

In Opera 12 we introduced out of process plugins to try to reduce the number of times plugins take Opera down. We now see that some Windows users are from time to time experiencing Opera freezing on pages with plug-in content. The issue has been investigated and we found the best short term solution to get Opera at a quality level we are comfortable with is to temporarily remove out of process plugins until we have a proper fix.


You can download latest build from here.

Btw, I'm writing this using Opera 12.02 (build 1555).

Edited by rainyd, 17 August 2012 - 08:26 AM.


#206
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 813 posts
  • Joined 04-January 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hurrah, I will be able to use Opera plugins on Windows 98 again!
I really hope that even when they re-introduce it, as they inevitably will, there will be an option to switch it off or on.
:thumbup

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#207
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Opera 12.02 (build 1555) running great with plugins here as well (flash, sumatrapdf and cortona vrml tested), thanks for the heads up guys. :)

#208
jds

jds

    -DOS+

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Joined 03-June 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Good news guys: Opera decided to remove (at least temporarily) plugin wrapper from 32-bit version:

You can download latest build from here.

Btw, I'm writing this using Opera 12.02 (build 1555).


Thanks rainyd, it seems to work geat!

Joe.

PS. New build 1565 also working well : http://snapshot.oper...65_windows.html

Edited by jds, 23 August 2012 - 07:33 AM.


#209
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
 Opera 12.02 build 1578 is now released. Changelog: The Windows 32-bit version has been reverted to in-process plugins while stability issues stemming from the out-of-process plugin system are investigated and resolved

Edited by schwups, 30 August 2012 - 08:23 AM.


#210
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 813 posts
  • Joined 04-January 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Working great here, with all plugins and no crashes!
:thumbup
I really hope they put in an option to disable the plugin wrapper when they reintroduce it, but I'm not holding my breath.
:)

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#211
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Revo uninstaller portable version 1.94 2012 works with kernelex 4.5.2 and windows 98

#212
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello I want to correct an error I made. Revo uninstaller works on windows 98 with kernelex, but it is better not to use it, because
one cannot make a restore point on windows 98. That is why I recommend never to use it with windows 98 it is not compatible.
I recommend to use zsoft uninstaller 2.5 which you can download here: http://www.softpedia...installer.shtml
It can be used with windows 98, windows xp and up.

#213
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried to run the portable version of opera next version 12.10 beta on windows 98 with kernelex 4.5.2. it crashed my system. I needed to restore my registry.

#214
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Just released VLC media player 2.0.4 working smoothly with Win98 SE and KeX 4.5.2 (short test).

#215
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Just installed the portable version of vlc media player 2.0.4 on windows 98 se kernelex 4.5.2 but there are no words in the menu at the top

Only lines and blanks. I experienced this a;ready with other versions of vlc.

#216
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Just installed the portable version of vlc media player 2.0.4 on windows 98 se kernelex 4.5.2 but there are no words in the menu at the top                                                                                                              

                                                          Only lines and blanks.  I experienced this a;ready with other versions of vlc.


What is your default menu font? Try to change it (Tahoma Western). Do you have RP installed?

#217
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
I installed the non-portable version yesterday and tested it a bit and everything seems OK here.

#218
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Latest MplayerWW (r35250) released yesterday also running fine:

http://sourceforge.n...Revision 35250/

#219
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I will try to change the menu font off vlc

#220
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I have the same problem with qtweb browser and vlc there are no words in the menu at the top.
Is this a problem with the qt framework ?

#221
schwups

schwups

    schwups

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Joined 11-November 09
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

I will try to change the menu font off vlc


Did you try to change your font(s). => right click Desktop => Display Properties => Appearance => choose item and font. I use Tahoma (Western) Size 8. 

Edited by schwups, 22 November 2012 - 02:21 AM.


#222
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Schwups I have not done that but I did get an error in the registry I had made a copy off the registry and placed it back and this
solved this problem. I will try soon again. You mean that vlc uses the letter type Tahoma (Western) Size 8.
I know the new vlc uses the qt framework just like the qt web browser.

#223
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Correction I did change the letter type but got an error in the registry. I placed a good copy of the registry back. I will try again soon.

#224
jds

jds

    -DOS+

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Joined 03-June 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I read in the KernelEx wiki, and have previously read here in this forum (but can't get the search function to locate it now), that :

Last version for the 16 bit colour mode is Flash 10.1.102.64. All versions 10.2. and higher work only in 32 bit colour mode.

However, I am presently using version 10.2.161.23 and my display is configured for 1024x768 in 16 bit mode and it seems to work just fine. It shows the version number at the Adobe page and works for the test here : http://www.chemgaped...ents/flash.html

So I don't understand why that advice about "only 32 bit colour mode" starting from Flash version 10.2 ...

Joe.

PS. I have just updated to version 11.1.102.63 (using the MSI installer) and this is working too.

Edited by jds, 23 November 2012 - 05:46 PM.


#225
Giant2011

Giant2011

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Joined 05-June 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Joe I have the same experience version 11 works very well in 16 bit mode 1024 x 768.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN