Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Resizing 6,200 png's?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,820 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I need to resize 6,200 png images (Yes SIX THOUSAND) from 128x128 to 32x32

Any suggestions?

I have tried a couple apps but they all crash or loose transparency. :(


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,564 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I need to resize 6,200 png images (Yes SIX THOUSAND) from 128x128 to 32x32

Any suggestions?

I have tried a couple apps but they all crash or loose transparency. :(


Post a single sample image.

In any case unless you teel us what you ALREADY used and that didn't work this is gonna become a guessing game, you know, like:

try this:
xxxxxxxx

Naah, I already tested it.


I would personally use imagemagick, first thing:
http://www.imagemagi...cript/index.php

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 28 August 2011 - 04:59 AM.


#3
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

IrfanView has a batchconverter/resizer included.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 28 August 2011 - 05:02 AM.

Posted Image

#4
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,564 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You see:

IrfanView has a batchconverter/resizer included.


Naah, I already tested it.


;)

:lol:

jaclaz

#5
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Photoshop can definitely do this (resize, preserve transparency, etc) in batch mode, and it's pretty easy to use too. You create an action (there's a record button for that) that resizes & saves the pic. Then you go File > Automate > Batch and select your action. Very much like this.

If you don't have Photoshop then I'd try imagemagick first.

Photoshop makes it easy to automate more complex things with reusable actions and what not, but imagemagick should easily handle this simple stuff.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#6
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
Imagemagick is definitely a good choice if you want to script image manipulation.

#7
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,820 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Tried:

Photofiltre
Some odd batchfile converter (Tiny little no install scripter thing Failed miserably)
fotoresizer.- Works ok but crashesz out after like 100

Can't quite get the hang of Imagemagick.

SAMPLE:

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 28 August 2011 - 05:24 PM.


#8
iamtheky

iamtheky

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Joined 11-November 08
here is the autoit code to do so, runs pretty quick. It will dump all the resized images into the directory you run the script from. 98% of the credit goes to the authors of the functions I just drove.

Edit: added spoiler tags to avoid the WOT

Spoiler

Edited by iamtheky, 28 August 2011 - 06:56 PM.

iamtheKy

#9
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,820 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
While your script worked SUPER nicely, transparency was not maintained. :(

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 28 August 2011 - 07:01 PM.


#10
iamtheky

iamtheky

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Joined 11-November 08
that sounds like a fun problem, ill post back if i find a workable solution. Other than that, it is the intended effect?
iamtheKy

#11
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,820 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hell yeah.

#12
dannyict

dannyict
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 13-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
did you try AnyPic Image Resizer Pro ?

#13
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
With Imagemagick:
Pathtoimagemagickbinaries\mogrify.exe -resize 32x32 -path C:\thumbs C:\images\*.png
Other options of imagemagick that you don't need (you'll loose transparency) to make thumbnails.

Edited by allen2, 28 August 2011 - 11:39 PM.


#14
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,820 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

With Imagemagick:

Pathtoimagemagickbinaries\mogrify.exe -resize 32x32 -path C:\thumbs C:\images\*.png
Other options of imagemagick that you don't need (you'll loose transparency) to make thumbnails.



SUPER!

That got it!

Thank you muchly!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users