Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Updates don't install with DISM on SP1 iso


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
krose

krose

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 05-September 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I downloaded Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 32 bit iso from Digital River. I used the Microsoft tool to create a bootable USB stick. Then I integrated IE9 and post-SP1 hotfixes using DISM and received no errors. However, after installing the OS none of the updates are installed. Before SP1 iso files were available I used the reverse integration method to make my 64 bit SP1 image and updates work fine with DISM that way. What is it about the SP1 iso that breaks DISM?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

for me it works. Have you commited the changes on unmount?

Also look in the DISM.log in C:\Windows\Logs\DISM for more details.
Posted Image

#3
krose

krose

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 05-September 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I think I found the problem. I was using DISM on my desktop, it is version 6.1.7600.16385. DISM in the SP1 iso is 6.1.7601.17514. Apparently installing SP1 on my desktop and capturing with Imagex didn't update DISM. Will try it with updated version and report back.

#4
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

My DISM.exe is also 7600.16385 and I installed Windows from a ISO with included Sp1.
Posted Image

#5
krose

krose

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 05-September 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well I truly am a dummy. I was using a dism.cmd that I have always used, not realizing that 32-bit has a starter version too, therefore the index number was wrong in the command. I was adding updates to the wimfile, just not the correct image.

#6
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok. This may happen.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN