Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

XPlode 1.01 Dev Thread

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
XPlode 1.01 Development thread

Current downloadable development version:
-

Current development screenshot:
Posted Image

Development additions:
User-selectable subitem count
Second foreground colour for progress (for:)
Animated "unknown" progress (see screenshot - 'bounces' side to side | coders: percentage of -2)

Planned additions:
Ability to change / remove the animated logo on left of current item
Add transparency for that image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
Two quick and easy questions:
1. Where can i get the 1.01?


EDITED Time for bed... GZZZ i am going crazy..

Thanks B

#3
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
You can't - not yet.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#4
bombtrack

bombtrack

    boooom

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 02-January 04
wow, you are sooo good :) thx for for still working on xplode and making und even better than it allready is :rolleyes: cant wait for the first rc :D
Posted Image

#5
Razerwing

Razerwing
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 27-January 04
Sorry to bother you Wraith, but I cant find out the imput line for installshield apps.

Here is a Runonceex example of what I want to install in XPlode.

REG ADD %KEY%\031 /VE /D "Power DVD 5.0 Gold" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\031 /V 1 /D "%systemdrive%\install\apps\powerdvd\Setup.exe -s -f1""%systemdrive%\install\apps\powerdvd\setup.iss" /f

And the same for registering copied files. Example

REG ADD %KEY%\050 /VE /D "Registering Ffdshow" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\050 /V 1 /D "REGEDIT /S %systemdrive%\install\ffdshow\ffdshow.reg" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\050 /V 2 /D "regsvr32.exe %systemdrive%\Program Files\ffdshow\ffdshow.ax /s" /f

If you or anyone can point me in the right direction, I would really appreciate it.


-Razerwing

#6
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
it would be in the argument tag in the execute.

It would probally be wise to start a new topic on it.

so like
REGEDIT /S %systemdrive%\install\ffdshow\ffdshow.reg

everything from /S onward would be put in the argment=' '

Its in the documentation if you look for the execute tag

ANY switches go in the argument tag
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#7
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
As Alanoll said, as well as putting double quotes around the filenames in the arguments.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#8
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
Guess what people? I have ALL day off. *evil grin*

So, it's time for a movie or two, going out for lunch, and if you're lucky, XPlode in the evening :)

So post things you want done! (I code faster when I'm happy :rolleyes:)
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#9
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
i like the idea of the unknown progress bar. Looks kewl.

Can't wait to see what's next :)

perhaps these :flowers: will make you happy
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#10
Shotgun

Shotgun

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03
Some quick questions:
  • Is GUIinstall going to be fully fixed?
  • Can GUIinstall be used for a Windows 2000 install?
  • Can the subitem count position be specified? (Ex: left, right)


#11
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04

Some quick questions:

  • Is GUIinstall going to be fully fixed?

  • Can GUIinstall be used for a Windows 2000 install?

  • Can the subitem count position be specified? (Ex: left, right)

  • Define "fixed". I've no real plans on changing the drawing routines so I dunno...
  • I don't think win2k has a winntbbu.dll, it sure doesn't install using an XP-style billboard. (Or does it? Don't remember it, but I might be mistaken)
  • Not at this poitn in time, but I can implement it if need be.

Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#12
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
I think i may have found a bug in the latest version. Here is one of my apps:

<item display='Microsoft Office 2003'>
<execute display='Installing Office 2003...' program='\\HEVNBND\xpcd\applications\Office\Office2003\Setup.exe' arguments='TRANSFORMS=\\HEVNBND\xpcd\applications\office2003\Unattended.MST /qb-' />
</item>

In the arguments xplode changes the \\HEVNBND to \HEVNBND It does not change it in the program section.

Is this a known issue?

ALSO:

Can this be used to open and log xplode in the winnt.sif:

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\install\xplode\XPlode.exe /xml:"#XPLODE#\XPlode.xml" /log:"#XPLODE#\XPlode.log"

I dont think it will work because i thought i remembered someone saying that " could not be used in the GuiRunOnce, but i could be mistaken.

#13
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
" can't be used in cmdlines.txt

theoretically you don't need the " around the xml and log statements.

but you do need them aruond that entire line.
If you want to be really sure, call a batch file from GUIRunOnce, that then calls that line and you shouldn't have any problems
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#14
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
GRRRRR Well this
arguments='TRANSFORMS=\\\HEVNBND\xpcd\applications\office2003\Unattended.MST /qb-' />
With a third \ does not change down to \\ like it used to. Well this be fixed?

#15
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
for reason, which i find extremely odd, is that whenever there is a bug, people post it here, but not on Wraith's bugtracker.
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#16
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
Might be because people do what they know by nature and dont have time to learn something new. I am not sure where to go to post in bugtracker. Also might be good to let everyone know about a issue so they all dont post it in bugtracker.... Just a thought...

#17
Shotgun

Shotgun

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03

  • Define "fixed". I've no real plans on changing the drawing routines so I dunno...

  • I don't think win2k has a winntbbu.dll, it sure doesn't install using an XP-style billboard. (Or does it? Don't remember it, but I might be mistaken)

  • Not at this poitn in time, but I can implement it if need be.

1 - I heard people complaining about it having problems somewhat. That's why I used the word "fixed".
2 - Does it depend on WinXP setup routines apart from winntbu.dll?

Win2k does not have it. Don't know if copying the winntbu.dll to system32 and then calling Xplode will work. I just wanted to have a custom bitmap for my install.

3 - That would be nice to have.


Apart from those. What image type can one use for Xplode? (Not specified in the docs)

You used PNG, but what other types can be used? Can I use a GIF/JPG/BMP/TGA ?

#18
Alanoll

Alanoll

    CODE tags people, CODE tags!

  • Patrons
  • 5,496 posts
  • Joined 25-September 03
have you tried using other image formats?

i mean seriously, is it really that hard? Create the image in the format, configure XML, and run XPlode. Voila, you know what formats can be sued.

I use jpg by the way
Welcome to the Forum! Please READ Me!!
Alright, that's it for the site for now. Now on to the next project....which could concievable replace the current site :)

#19
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
bmp, gif, jpg, png, tiff.

No, the only thing it uses from XP are gdiplus.dll, and winntbbu.dll.
The first is needed, the second isn't. Just don't try GUI installation mode.

It *will* work if you put winntbbu.dll in your system32, but I don't recommend it.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#20
Shotgun

Shotgun

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 07-November 03

have you tried using other image formats?

i mean seriously, is it really that hard? Create the image in the format, configure XML, and run XPlode. Voila, you know what formats can be sued.

I use jpg by the way

Better ask than try something that you are not sure. I least that's the way I see it.
A program crash could corrupt your data files. Not talking about Xplode specifically, any program crash could corrupt the very files you're trying to test. BTW, I would have NEVER thought Xplode supported TIFF files.

So I prefer to ask first, and in this case, the developer himself. :)

@Wraith:

It *will* work if you put winntbbu.dll in your system32, but I don't recommend it.


Ok. Dead-end for me then. I'll try to use a custom bitmap for the Xplode background using standalone install, since I'm using it for a Windows 2000 Pro CD. Thanks again!

#21
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
May have got lost any solutions for the /// being replaced with / in the arguments???

#22
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
*bangs head on table*

Check the bugtracker next time.

All known issues that were around for XPinstall have been resolved.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#23
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
Yes i know it was fixed, but not correctly. It does not change \\ to \ in the program field only in the arguments field does it change \\ to \

Does this make sense?

Example:

<item display='Quicken 2004'>
<execute display='Installing Quicken 2004...' program='\\HEVNBND\xpcd\Applications\Quicken2004\DISK1\setup.exe' arguments='-s -f1"\\HEVNBND\xpcd\Applications\Quicken2004\DISK1\setup.iss"' />
</item>
<item display='CDRWin'>
<execute display='Installing CDRWin...' program='\\HEVNBND\xpcd\Applications\CDRWin\cdr39c-e.exe' arguments='/s' />
</item>

CDRWIN INSTALLS but QUICKEN does not because it changes this:
arguments='-s -f1"\\HEVNBND

to this:

arguments='-s -f1"\HEVNBND

#24
Wraith

Wraith

    Dr. Nick

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,256 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
Well, the main reason is that XPlode can't tell that it's an actual file path.

The way to fix this is to not remove any double slashes. So there's going to be a lot of double slashes etc. in the log.

Unfortunately there's a lot of paranoid people.

I'll remove the code that rids the things of multiple slashes.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image

#25
hevnbnd

hevnbnd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Joined 06-September 03
Thanks wraith. This is working great. I'm lovin it!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN