Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

HDD seen as removable

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

I tried searching in the forum, but couldn't find anything similar to this.
The HDD is WDC WD32 00BEVT-60ZCT1 SATA Disk Device (copied from Device Properties). After installing Windows 7 Professional 32-bit, it's shown as removable. It is optimized for better performance, not quick removal, and write caching is enabled. It's currently working with AMD Sata Controller (AHCI) v.1.2.1.301, and the Hardware ID is PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4391&CC_0106. This kind of problem never occurred on Windows XP.
Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.
Attached File  HDD_Rem.jpg   8.81KB   2 downloads


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,006 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

My Win7 PC gives me the ability to "eject" my video card...

Spoiler


Is this drive connected to the motherboard or an expansion card?
What is the model of the board or card?
Is that HDD your boot volume?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#3
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
1. Motherboard; it is the only HDD in the notebook.
2. HP Compaq 615 is the model of the notebook. No further information in dxdiag or System Information.
3. Yes. C:\ is the system volume, while D:\ is a partition on the same HDD.

Cheers

#4
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,161 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

This is happening because Windows 7 added support for eSATA functionality. Some hardware vendors have incorrectly configured all SATA ports as eSATA ports. This causes all internal and external SATA devices to be treated as removable. This issue can affect hard disks, DVD drives, and other hardware attached to the internal SATA ports of the system.

This issue can be ignored because it does not have an effect on your computer. To resolve this issue you should contact the computer manufacturer for a BIOS update or other type of resolution to correct the misconfiguration of the internal SATA ports.

To work around the issue, a registry key can be set to change the behavior of the SATA ports.

Adding the TreatAsInternalPort value and setting it to 1 will cause a SATA port to be treated as an internal port and attached devices will no longer be considered removable. This value can be applied to specific ports as needed. To do this, follow these steps:

1. Click Start

2. In the Search programs and files box, type command

3. In the Programs list, click Command Prompt and click Run as administrator

If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or click Continue.

4. Copy and paste or type each of the commands into the command prompt and press Enter after each command

reg.exe add "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\msahci\Controller0\Channel0" /f /v TreatAsInternalPort /t REG_DWORD /d 0x00000001

reg.exe add "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\msahci\Controller0\Channel1" /f /v TreatAsInternalPort /t REG_DWORD /d 0x00000001

5. Restart your computer to enable the registry changes


I found this in the MS answers forum. Try it.
Posted Image

#5
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Unfortunately, it didn't work. I double-checked and the registry values are there, but the HDD still shows as removable.

It really sounded plausible.

#6
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

What about this setting?

#7
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
@dencorso
Unfortunately, no luck.

#8
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Update: I uninstalled AMD Sata Controller (AHCI) v.1.2.1.301 and reverted to the standard v.1.0. I might add here I hadn't previously tried v.1.0, since I installed v.1.2.1.301 from USB during Setup. The problem is gone, but the registry entries you proposed are still there. I will try it again with v.1.1 and report back.

Cheers

EDIT/UPDATE: v.1.2.001.0296 does the same thing.
NEW EDIT: 1.2.0.164 and 1.2.1.275 are no better.

Edited by Sp0iLedBrAt, 28 October 2011 - 02:12 PM.


#9
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The problem is gone, but the registry entries you proposed are still there.

Which registry entries? Please do elaborate.
Moreover, if 1.0 eliminates the problem, why not keep it and move on?
Not always the latest versions are necessarily the best versions (there can be new bugs, unwanted features or just plain bloat).

#10
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Which registry entries?

The ones you and MagicAndre1981 proposed as solutions in posts #4 and #6. As to the other part of your post, I completely agree and that is exactly what I did. I also reverted to the default Microsoft audio driver since the latest IDT driver plays no sound when headphones are plugged in. Such a pain...

Cheers




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users