Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Hardware interrupts load cpu

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#26
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

whenever the temperature of GPU reaches a certain level (seems like about 78 C) - hardware interrupts start to lock the CPU.


ok, so I'm right. The laptop overheats and the CPU throttles which generates the ACPI issues.
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
My 2cents here: 78°C is very hot for a GPU and it might be the root cause. I would try to put thermal paste after cleaning properly the heat sink of the gpu.
Any electronic component will see its life reduced when going to temperature higher than 70°C. Recent one are sometimes designed to be more robust and handle 80°C but if you can keep it cooler it should live longer.

Edited by allen2, 16 October 2011 - 06:44 AM.


#28
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It may also be a IRQ sharing issue. Please make a smaller trace and give it to me so that I can look deeper in it. The other one was simply too large.



I had noticed I have an IRQ conflict between keyboard and motherboard, but doubt that it can be the cause of my problem

Anyway, here is the 10 times smaller latency file:
http://www.mediafire...i1hvv4vvukkvlja

Allen2 - 78 C is what I see only in FurMark test program - it stresses my GPU to the limits (max what I saw was 82 C). However when playing a game the max GPU temperature that I see is about 65 C. However could be that it drops quickly before I am able to switch to the CPUID monitor

Andre, in my mind the "ntkrnlmp.exe!KiIdleLoop" is causing high CPU consumption. At least as it looks in the latency.etl file

#29
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

no, the Idle Loop is ok. This is the system idle process you see in Process Explorer.

If you dump the DPC/ISR usage you see this:

CPU Usage from 0 us to 40614785 us:

CPU 0 Usage, CPU 1 Usage, CPU 2 Usage, CPU 3 Usage,
usec %, usec %, usec %, usec %, Module
23913355 58.88, 989442 2.44, 1725432 4.25, 9346 0.02, ACPI.sys


So the 1st Core is used 59% by the ACPI driver. Run MSI Afterburner in background it shows how high the temps are.
Posted Image

#30
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks, MagicAndre, the MSI is a very good prog. Here is what I traced:

I was displaying both GPU temp and GPU load
while playing the temp was between 70-74 C and GPU load 95-99%. When the interrupts started the temperature was about 72, however shortly after that it felt down to 60 and GPU load also decreased to miserable 12%. How come? Does it mean that CPU is no longer capable to utilize GPU fully because it is "busy" with hardware interrupts? :) Or does the GPU fail at first place causing hardware interrupts which in turn affect CPU :wacko:

#31
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

When the interrupts started the temperature was about 72, however shortly after that it felt down to 60 and GPU load also decreased to miserable 12%. How come?


I think this is an overheating protection. Maybe the threshold is 70°C and the laptop reduces GPCU/CPU clock and voltage to cool down.
Posted Image

#32
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
I think you are in this case. The 105°C is probably for desktop graphic card.

#33
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I think you are in this case. The 105°C is probably for desktop graphic card.


My GPU temp while playing was only 74 C. And I cannot find a reference to normal working temperatures for the Nvidia GT550m, beside a general statement "Graphics card temperatures typically range from 40°C to 90°C". There are no settings in power management or Nvidia panel as to temperature policy

Anyway, thank you very much all for taking your time to help me understand my stupid problem. I will not give up of course. The range of suspects has narrowed down to Nvidia card or a temperature handling by my laptop

#34
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The range of suspects has narrowed down to Nvidia card or a temperature handling by my laptop


it is the temperature. The Intel GPU which is inside the CPU is not so fast and doesn't produce such heat. That's why you don't have any issues when using the Intel.

I googled a bit and other users also have extreme framedrops in games because of throttling when the temperature is over 70°C. You can try to diable the Intel Turbo Boost in the BIOS, maybe this helps the reduce the temperature.


Some users reported that it may help to set the max frequency to 99% in the advanced power plan options to reduce the throttling with your laptop. Also try other nVIDIA drivers.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 17 October 2011 - 07:02 AM.

Posted Image

#35
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Many thanks, Andre, I will try both options. For BIOS I do not have any possibility to change power managtement or chipset features as BIOS is AMI and its almost optionless :)

But based on your advce I have also found this interesting discussion about Sandy Bridge throttling although on slightly different laptops:
http://www.asusrog.c...-and-Workaround

The prog is ThrottleStop, which is supposed to prohibit CPU from throttling down (disabling BD BROCHOST), but my problem is that BD BROCHOST appears to be disabled by default. What I can try with this program is to disable Turbo Boost

I will inform of the resutls especially if I have any luck cause it may help many other people out there with similar problems (FPS drops, hardware interrupts because of ACPI.sys, etc)

#36
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
well I tried everything: switching off Turbo boost, lowering down % of CPU usage in advanced power management setup, but nothing works. When using FurMark CPU still gets locked by hardware interrupts/ACPI.sys approximately when GPU temperature reaches to around 80 C.

I have also found an interresting story line about how Nvidia makes friends with Intel lately, and this is very dissapointing as it might be an embeded problem with many PC configurations like mine with neither party willing/able to solve it:

http://forums.nvidia...howtopic=194023

Edited by Andreyash, 17 October 2011 - 09:01 AM.


#37
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have no real idea. Contact the ASUS support and inform them about the temperature and throttle issue.

Also google a bit more and read what other users did.
Posted Image

#38
footprints

footprints
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 25-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi! This post is old, but I still hope that any of the earlier participants will see this.

I've just read this post after searching through the net for a solution. I have the exact same problem with the exact same pc as you are describing here. What did you end up doing?

The strange thing for my part is that I discovered this problem when I bought the pc over a year ago, but it worked it self out after some reinstalls and random installation of drivers from asus' support page. But after a reinstall and a new ssd, the problem is back again. I've tried everything of drivers, different bios versions etc. like you describe, but everything comes down to some ACPI-stuff. Frankly, I don't know what to do with this now. Also all other threads about this in other forums (yes, there are quite a lot of them) end with out any solutions. Do people just live with this?

Best regards,
Footprints

#39
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

which Windows do you use? If you use Vista or Win7, try the xperf commands.
Posted Image

#40
footprints

footprints
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 25-October 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for your reply!
I'm a bit confused with xperf, could you give me a short summary of which commands i should use and what i should look for? Also, I'm using Win7 64bit.

#41
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've explained xperf here:

http://www.msfn.org/...-dpc-interrupt/
Posted Image

#42
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi! This post is old, but I still hope that any of the earlier participants will see this.

I've just read this post after searching through the net for a solution. I have the exact same problem with the exact same pc as you are describing here. What did you end up doing?

The strange thing for my part is that I discovered this problem when I bought the pc over a year ago, but it worked it self out after some reinstalls and random installation of drivers from asus' support page. But after a reinstall and a new ssd, the problem is back again. I've tried everything of drivers, different bios versions etc. like you describe, but everything comes down to some ACPI-stuff. Frankly, I don't know what to do with this now. Also all other threads about this in other forums (yes, there are quite a lot of them) end with out any solutions. Do people just live with this?

Best regards,
Footprints


Hi there,
It's me back again after more than a year. SOrry to say, but I did not solve this problem. Still using the same Asus crap, but gave up serious gaming :) I even sent my PC to official Asus repair and described the problem in all details - however they either did not read it carafully or failed to sovle as well, I have received my PC back with the "fixed" problem statement - "issues solved by replacing the botherboard". It took me 3 minutes to test it and realize that the problem is still there.... I wanted to get thr hole PC replaced, but in service they told me that I need to send it to them with the same issue for 3 times (!!!) for my PC to be replaced. Since I do not see my PC for 1 month with all the shipment back and force, 3 tries is a rather dull option. I will surely sell it, but for now I am just fine with watching movies and playing some old games. However time after time, it seems even sporadically, the hardware intrerrupts return again - then either rebooting or sleep-and-back helps.
For myself I have decided - no more Asus

#43
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

have you tried ThrottleStop, NoteBook FanControl (NBFC) or Speedfan to change the CPU cooler fan?

http://www.computerb...d.php?t=1070494

Play a bit with the tools and define the the speedlevel yourself.
Posted Image

#44
Andreyash

Andreyash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 13-October 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

have you tried ThrottleStop, NoteBook FanControl (NBFC) or Speedfan to change the CPU cooler fan?

http://www.computerb...d.php?t=1070494

Play a bit with the tools and define the the speedlevel yourself.


Yes, I tried many such programs, including ThrottleStop, but nothing really works. For my Asus N43SN I have not found any program that can control fan speed. AT one point I thought that Nvidia Power Mizer Manager have solved my problem, as it was related to the graphics card load - however it did not

#45
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,090 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I use Speedfan to control the speed. Under options->Fan control select "advanced fan control", add a new fan and change the temperature curve.
Posted Image

#46
javadrah

javadrah
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 25-April 14
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hi
this post is old but i found 2 solution to solve the problem. 
for now i haven`t keyboard(my keyboard battery is down), so using on screen keyboard is bad to type.
i promise when i have keyboard write it here my solution.
here is my email address:

Edited by Tripredacus, 25 April 2014 - 07:29 AM.
email address removed





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users