Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Some small problems with Win 8.


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi everyone,

1/ I installed Win 8 around a month ago. After the installation, I didn't like the metro start and it was hard to manage things without the old desktop so I turned it off, using Metro UI Tweaker. I chose the option to disable the Metro Start Menu only. Two weeks later I decided to turn it on again with the same tool, but it wouldn't do! It's not a big problem at all but recently I find out the Task Manager works so weird. It takes nearly 15s to display on the screen! And it looks old just like the one on Win 7. Does anyone know anything about the problem? Is there any way to take back the new task manager without reinstalling Win 8?

2/ My favorite browser is Maxthon but recently I try using Firefox as well. When I scroll the mouse wheel, sometimes it zooms out/in the text on the webs instead of scrolling down/up the web page! Then I have to click and drag the scroll bar. I find it very annoying. I tried an older version of Firefox but it didn't help. I wonder if there is anything else I can try to stop the problem. Thanks in advance for any reply.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,947 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

when you delete the shsxs.dll and try to satrt the TM the new TM crashes first and next the new is loaded. There is a simple workaround. Set the RPEnabled value in the registry to 2. This sets the the license value SLC-Component-RP-02 (IsLicenseTierActive) and this disables Metro but leave Ribbons in Explorer, new copy dialogs, file replace dialogs enabled.
Posted Image

#3
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi MagicAndre, thanks for replying.

I search for RPEnabled in the registry and I have 4 keys in all. They are located in the following paths:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer

The values were all set to 1. I changed all of them to 2 as you said, restarted my computer, and I couldn't have the TM I wanted.

I also lost the ribbon and the automatic in Window color and appearance, which I can't stand at all! I've already changed all the values to 1 again. It seems to me that Win 8 doesn't allow users to change anything in the registry! It's OK, however. I don't have the new looking Task Manager but I still have some other features such as the explorer ribbon, auto color theme to match the wallpapers, and new copy/move/delete dialogs...

(Hey, I like the automatic color for themes so much! When I first knew about it, I kept changing the desktop wallpaper again and again just to see how it tint the theme over and over!)

As for the problem with Firefox, I hope someone who is using it on Win 8 can tell me whether they have the same problem or not. I will try installing another old version to see what will happen.

Thank you again.

Edit: removing the image

Edited by Aloha, 27 October 2011 - 09:59 AM.


#4
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried installing Firefox 6, 5, 4, and then 3 but the scrolling problem still remains. This doesn't happen with IE or Maxthon. And it doesn't happen when I use Firefox on Win 7. How vexing!

I wonder if there is a tweaker that can create the Take Ownership command on the context menu.

Edited by Aloha, 26 October 2011 - 11:01 AM.


#5
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, I used the Refresh function and I've already got them back, both Metro Start and the new Task Manager. But I have to re-install some applications too. It took plenty of time, of course.

As for Taking Ownership, I just found something helpful here:

http://www.intowindo...s-in-windows-8/

PS. It's terrible that I post here by myself!

#6
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,947 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I tested the setting 2 and it worked. I tested it yesterday and it failed. I have no idea why this is so.
Posted Image

#7
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Maybe some updates has changed the registry and influenced the way it works.

I don't dare to turn off the Metro Start any more! I just choose to use the desktop the minute my computer starts and everything displays on the screen. It's better now.

#8
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The icon of any USB stick that I plug into my computer doesn't display on the system tray. When I have finished doing with the USB, I have to right click on it in the explorer then choose Eject there.

It's fine. But it's finer if I have the icon show on the tray so that I can quickly choose to remove it safely. If I just simply pull it out, does it do anything harmful to the files on the stick?

My computer has dual boot. And there isn't such a problem when I am using Win 7. Is there anything I can do to solve this? Thanks for any reply.

#9
thydreamwalker

thydreamwalker

    teddybearguru7

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
:rolleyes: Hi,been workin' on apps for Win7 & 8;back 4 good ;Aloha did you look in notifications area of taskbar mgr. in the control panel to set icons to show-hide on desktop?Lotsa settings are tricky in 8 as different from Vista and Win7 :thumbup
thydreamwalker

#10
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Thydreamwalker,

Thanks for replying. I set all of them are on. But the pendrive icon doesn't display during the time it is plugged in the USB port. Only when I choose "Eject" from the context menu of Explorer then I can see the icon pop up shortly, saying that it is safe to remove the drive now.

----------------------------
Edit: removed picture

Edited by Aloha, 28 November 2011 - 09:55 AM.


#11
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, just want to tell some more problems!

Sometimes when I go to the desktop, there is an icon of Homegroup jumping out from nowhere. I can't delete or rename it. I can move it around on the desktop only. If I log off and then log on again, it's gone. I don't know what made such a weird problem and it has happened twice.

I also notice that Control Panel is always viewed by Category although I have changed it to Small/Large Icons. It will automatically turn back to Category view the next time I open it. This doesn't happen on W7 or XP for sure.

Finally, if I open Explorer, click on File > Help > About Windows it says nothing about the expiration . But if I view Windows version by opening Run and typing "winver", it says the evaluation copy will expire on 12 March 2012.Too bad, I thought it would last longer!

Edited by Aloha, 04 January 2012 - 12:03 AM.


#12
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

it says the evaluation copy will expire on 12 March 2012.Too bad, I thought it would last longer!

That is indeed when the developer preview expires. The beta is supposed to be out by the end of February.
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#13
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,750 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

it says the evaluation copy will expire on 12 March 2012.Too bad, I thought it would last longer!


Yes, becuase having a FREE OS for 6-8months isn't enough?

#14
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

having a FREE OS for 6-8months isn't enough?

I'd hardly call this a "free" OS. It's not actually meant to run on a "production" PC like that (besides, it's way too buggy IMO), it's for developers to start testing their code on it early and to start developing metro apps, etc. Hence the "developer preview" name. The beta is what they'd expect early adopters to try first (it'll be similarly time-bombed). That version will be feature complete and reasonably stable, and after a few "late" bugfixes it'll be a RC, then RTM (probably late 2012). I for one, won't be developing for Metro (more like disabling it altogether)
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#15
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, becuase having a FREE OS for 6-8months isn't enough?

I didn't try Win 7 during its beta time, so I don't know for how long the evalution lasted. I really like WDP and hope to use it for a little longer! The only thing I don't like about it is the Metro Start, all other new features are nice, especially the automatic color theme.

#16
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, I've installed Windows Consumer Preview and Firefox works perfect! I am pleased that the problem related to the mouse scrolling has gone. And what's more? When I plug a USB stick into my computer, the icon to remove it safely is there on the system tray. How nice! I think I love this version of W8!

And the About Windows says I can use WCP till January 2013.

Edit: remove the image.

Edited by Aloha, 06 March 2012 - 12:46 AM.


#17
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I happened to run an old game and had this error:

Posted Image

I clicked OK then this popped up:

Posted Image

This game runs fine on W7. I wonder if there is a way to force the card to support 800x600 resolution so that I can play this game without having to boot into W7. Thanks for any help and suggestions.

#18
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,947 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Win8 only allows 32Bit color depth, because Metro requires this. So 16Bit apps/games no longer work.
Posted Image

#19
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You mean it isn't related to the resolution? Not sure why it can run OK on W7. I believe the color settings there is always set to 32bit. I don't remember whether I ever played this game or not during the time I was using W8DP. I happened to run it just two days ago and was surprised to have those error warnings.

Well, I guess W7 is the best solution if I really want to play this game again. Thanks for replying, MagicAndre.

#20
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,947 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You mean it isn't related to the resolution?


correct, the 32Bit color depth is the issue. This is a new requirement of Windows 8. You can read this in the Windows 8 Consumer Preview and Windows Server 8 Beta Compatibility Cookbook

http://msdn.microsof...2(v=vs.85).aspx

System color depth

Desktop Composition cannot run unless the color depth is set to 32 bits per pixel. Unlike Windows 7, Windows 8 Consumer Preview does not support color depth other than 32 bits per pixel. The user can no longer change the color depth of the system by using the control panel.


Edited by MagicAndre1981, 06 April 2012 - 09:54 AM.

Posted Image

#21
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, I've just read the article. Quite interesting! In some way it explains why I have no trouble in running this game on W7.

Thanks again for the link.

Edited by Aloha, 06 April 2012 - 09:09 AM.


#22
xpclient

xpclient

    XP was my idea. 3rd party apps make NT6 my idea.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If all apps must support 32-bit color depth, I wonder why the Compatibility tab still has a "Reduced color mode" checkbox. It doesn't seem to have any effect either. Maybe a leftover they forgot to clean up?

Edited by xpclient, 04 May 2012 - 09:42 PM.

Impossible to run NT6 without third party fixes.


#23
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,947 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

maybe.
Posted Image

#24
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Do you work on W8 everyday, Andre? It seems to me that you don't like it at all! But you know most of the problems related to W8 and have answers for them. Do you ever use it for the whole day without booting into any other OS? Just a little curious!

Btw, the problem about the Homegroup icon has never happened since I installed W8CP. It's quite good.

#25
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It seems to me that you don't like it at all!

Some people do? :blink:
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN