Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

98SE stops booting?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello,

I have a problem with Windows 98 Second Edition. At times when I attempt to start (or reboot) the computer, the operating system stops booting. The bar at the bottom of the bootsplash stops, and the computer becomes completely unresponsive. The only way to rectify the issue is to press the power button (the computer has no reset button).

I could connect the computer with the problem to the Internet and post the bootlog.txt file (if necessary), but I was hoping that someone would already have a solution (e.g., if you've experienced the problem yourself, etc).

Any help would be appreciated.

Edited by UltimateSilence, 22 December 2011 - 10:56 PM.

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
Does the computer boot normally after hitting the power button?

-Sure, post the bootlog.txt file, it couldn't hurt. More info the better.

-this may sound dumb, but have you tried running scandisk? (if you haven't, turn off the background programs by right clicking their icons on the system tray, and exiting whatever programs are running. Then run scandisk.)

#3
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Does the computer boot normally after hitting the power button?

-Sure, post the bootlog.txt file, it couldn't hurt. More info the better.

-this may sound dumb, but have you tried running scandisk? (if you haven't, turn off the background programs by right clicking their icons on the system tray, and exiting whatever programs are running. Then run scandisk.)


Yes, it does. I will gladly post the bootlog.txt file.

I've run scandisk multiple times (most of the time it found errors, and fixed all of them). It did not correct the problem.

Edited by UltimateSilence, 22 December 2011 - 11:52 PM.

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#4
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
Yeah, usually those file errors are created right after the failed boot attempt like you reported.

It will take longer, but have you also tried running a "surface scan" using scandisk? There might be some bad clusters on your disk, and perhaps they haven't been marked yet, depending on the last time your ran a surface scan, if ever. Just a suggestion. I know that's a pain in the butt (takes my computer about 10 hours), but it's worthwhile to do every few months.

If it comes back where the hard disk has NO bad sectors, then I'd format the disk and reinstall windows. If it DOES have bad sectors/clusters, then I'd look into replacing the hard drive.

Other than that, I don' know what to tell you. If the hard drive is %100 okay, then good. If not, then personally I'd toss it. I hope you have a good copy of Windows 98 on CD.??

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 23 December 2011 - 12:16 AM.


#5
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Attached File  BOOTLOG.TXT   59.97KB   11 downloads

Yeah, usually those file errors are created right after the failed boot attempt like you reported.

It will take longer, but have you also tried running a "surface scan" using scandisk? There might be some bad clusters on your disk, and perhaps they haven't been marked yet, depending on the last time your ran a surface scan, if ever. Just a suggestion. I know that's a pain in the butt (takes my computer about 10 hours), but it's worthwhile to do every few months.

If it comes back where the hard disk has NO bad sectors, then I'd format the disk and reinstall windows. If it DOES have bad sectors/clusters, then I'd look into replacing the hard drive.


That might explain it.

Yes, I've used the Thorough scan option (telling it to scan system and data areas). I've also set it to check files for invalid file names, dates and times, and duplicate names. Scandisk has never detected a bad sector(s) or cluster(s).

Anyway... I apologize for taking so long to post this. I was having trouble with my network adapter (would not load for some reason).

Bootlog.txt is attached.

Attached File  BOOTLOG.TXT   59.97KB   11 downloads

Edited by UltimateSilence, 23 December 2011 - 12:36 AM.

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#6
Foxbat

Foxbat

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Joined 18-January 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
UltimateSilence, is this booting problem in any way related to the booting problem in your other thread?

#7
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
From your bootlog:

[000FF318] Dynamic load failed C:\WINDOWS\system\MRCI.VXD : [000FF318] File not found

[000FF426] INITCOMPLETEFAILED = SDVXD

[000FF272] LoadFailed = ndis2sup.vxd


Obviously, you're missing some important files. Or else they're corrupted. Something isn't loading right.

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 23 December 2011 - 12:50 AM.


#8
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
Here's some links to a "potential" solution. I can't verify whether or not it works of course.

http://www.computing...civxd/1884.html

http://discussions.v...read.php?t=7548

#9
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

UltimateSilence, is this booting problem in any way related to the booting problem in your other thread?


In a sense, yes. They both started occurring at around the same time. Unless the computer boots normally, then one of those two problems occur.
I could post Belarc results (I think I can do that). The other programs did not work.
-
I will look at the links. Thank you, Foxbat and ScrewUpgrading.

EDIT: Can I use the following commands listed here in an MS-DOS prompt?

Edited by UltimateSilence, 23 December 2011 - 12:55 AM.

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#10
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
Yes, just ignore all the "       " crap.

Basically what you'll be doing is changing the file attributes to Read Only, System, and Hidden File.

Plus then you'll be renaming two files: dblspace.bin, drvspace.bin

*Advisement*

I hope you have a BOOT DISK handy. Just in case you need to re-rename those files. In case it makes it worse.

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 23 December 2011 - 01:07 AM.


#11
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, just ignore all the "       " crap.

Basically what you'll be doing is changing the file attributes to Read Only, System, and Hidden File.

Plus then you'll be renaming two files: dblspace.bin, drvspace.bin

*Advisement*

I hope you have a BOOT DISK handy. Just in case you need to re-rename those files. In case they don't work.


Oh. Thank you.

I will post a new bootlog.txt file and Belarc results.

Belarc:

My apologies for not doing this sooner in the SP3 thread. I honestly didn't know I could do this.

Bootlog.txt:
Attached File  BOOTLOG.TXT   60.09KB   5 downloads

By boot disk, do you mean a startup disk? I have two of those floppy diskettes...and a Windows 98 Second Edition disc.

Edited by UltimateSilence, 23 December 2011 - 01:11 AM.

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#12
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
In DOS terminology:

Boot Disk or Emergency Boot Disk = floppy diskette. :)

Yes, a floppy disk that's capable of booting your system. Not the Windows 98 CD.

You could use the Windows 98 CD to overwrite everything though. :)

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 23 December 2011 - 01:21 AM.


#13
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
I just finished reading Foxbat's link to the other thread.

Have you considered re-installing Windows?

#14
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I just finished reading Foxbat's link to the other thread.

Have you considered re-installing Windows?


I've reinstalled over the existing installation twice (once to remove the Unofficial Service Pack).

Or are you asking about reformatting?

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#15
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
reformat

#16
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11

I've reinstalled over the existing installation twice (once to remove the Unofficial Service Pack).


And it still works like crap?

I'd reformat that thing.

Go to my computer. Right click on the A:\ drive, and select "create system disk." Or whatever it's called in Windows 98. (For Windows ME you go to the control panel's Add/Remove thingy, not my computer. Basically, just right click on crap until you find something for making the system disk)

So, make a boot disk using the above method.

Then turn the computer off.

Then place the floppy disk into the drive while the computer is OFF.

Turn the computer back on.

When the computer loads to the DOS prompt it should say "A:\"

Then type: "Format C:" and hit enter.

Then hit "Y" for yes, it will erase EVERYTHING UNDER THE SUN. AND magically fix everything! I guarantee it.

Then pop in your Windows 98 CD and install.

^^^ This will 100% fix your computer.


Oh and, if there's no FORMAT.COM created on the boot disk (Microsoft's evil attempt to screw with you!!!) copy FORMAT.COM to the boot disk you just made. It should be somwhere in the Windows folder.

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 23 December 2011 - 02:31 AM.


#17
I41Mar

I41Mar

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
  • Joined 04-September 09
Hello,
Currently I have a PC at the computer technician shop in order to test a PCI SATA card. The technician told me that it is not necessary to replace the HD drive if scandisk found some bad sectors, as it marks them as unusable and then you can continue to use the HDD drive!
It is that really true, or I am at risk of losing data?
I41Mar

#18
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
You'll just have to check more frequently for the next bad sector to appear, and hope that it doesn't end up being a system file that gets lost or ruined.

If you're computer still works, then it still works. If it doesn't, then it doesn't. I wouldn't worry about it unless you computer stops working correctly.

I'm lucky, I've been using the same Quantum Fireball (40 gb) for eleven years and it has zero bad sectors.

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 23 December 2011 - 05:12 AM.


#19
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
It might be a hardware problem. I went through the same thing on my dell latitude c600. It would install ok, but after a few shutdowns
it would start looping at the splash screen. I removed the cd/dvd drive and all is better. Of course I replaced the dvd drive with a cd drive.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#20
Foxbat

Foxbat

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Joined 18-January 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I've looked over BOOTLOG.TXT. There's nothing wrong there. Those failed entries are normal. For details: KB127970.

#21
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I've looked over BOOTLOG.TXT. There's nothing wrong there. Those failed entries are normal. For details: KB127970.


But, then, what is causing the problem? :ph34r:

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#22
Foxbat

Foxbat

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Joined 18-January 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

But, then, what is causing the problem? :ph34r:

That's what we're trying to find out, and we now know that the bootlog is not one of them. Did you try PROBLEMCHYLD's suggestion?

#23
UltimateSilence

UltimateSilence

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 19-November 11
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


But, then, what is causing the problem? :ph34r:

That's what we're trying to find out, and we now know that the bootlog is not one of them. Did you try PROBLEMCHYLD's suggestion?


I do not have a seperate CD drive, though...
I don't think the hardware is the cause of the error (it could be), but the computer didn't used to do this.

yZo4FWG.png
Keep Windows XP alive!

Please do not misconstrue Windows 7 license sales as actual sales of the operating system. PCs are bundled with Windows 7, and count towards the sales figures.
Running Windows Vista on HP Pavilion Slimline.


#24
ScrewUpgrading

ScrewUpgrading

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Joined 22-July 11
Rather than "taking it out," which I assume means unscrewing it and removing it entirely..... try unplugging the power cable to the CD-ROM. Then put the computer case back on and turn your computer back on. See if Windows loads correctly then.

That way you can easily plug it back in.... takes like 5 seconds. Then you'll be able to determine if the CD-Rom is in fact the problem.

Edited by ScrewUpgrading, 24 December 2011 - 04:33 AM.


#25
rilef

rilef

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 08-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
This might be a hardware problem. The fact that the computer use to work right, but now doesn't-- this may result from a hardware item that use to work right, but now doesn't (or is in the process of failing, or a cable came loose, etc). I have fixed similar problems by swapping out a bad modem card for a good modem card, and a bad network card for a good network card. And, in both instances, the solution did not appear directly related to the cured problem. In some instances, the bad device may be an on-board peripheral, which can be disabled from the system BIOS.

Check the system BIOS to see if it is set to halt on all errors. I have my computers set to halt on no errors or only on keyboard errors. Disable any onboard devices no longer needed, such as USB1, serial or parallel ports.

I rarely see errors, and none recently, when running scandisk, much less errors that scandisk fixes, only to have similar errors reoccur. Check the system BIOS to see if the drive is properly setup as autoselect, or, if manually selected, is properly configuered. Then try running the DOS version of scandisk from the "Microsoft Windows 98 Startup Menu". To access the Startup Menu, I hold down the CTRL-key during system bootup. Then select "5. Command prompt only". Then type "SCANDISK /?" for scandisk help. I would be wary of autofixing, or fixing bad sector errors, however, as these may be false positives.

You may also want to use the "Microsoft Windows 98 Startup Menu" to check and repair the Windows Registry. Select "5. Command prompt only". Then type "SCANREG /?" for scanreg help. Type "SCANREG /FIX" to repair and compact the Windows Registry. Run a reliable registry cleaner from Windows, such as ccleaner, before running SCANREG from DOS.

Also use the "Microsoft Windows 98 Startup Menu" for step-by-step-confirmation during bootup. You may be fortunate enough, using this procedure, to identify the point when bootup fails.

Boot to Windows, and run "msconfig" from the "Run" prompt. Disable all start menu items, not related to Windows (firewall, antivirus, etc). Reboot and see if the booting problem goes away.

You appear to have installed and since removed one of the unofficial service packs for Windows 98. Since these updates appear essential to a stable Windows 98, and updates no longer appear to be available from Microsoft, I recommend you reinstall one of these unofficial service packs. My recommended service pack(which I have used myself, exclusively and with excellent results, for several years) is "Unofficial Windows 98 SE Service Pack 2.1a" (available from several sources, including http://www.softpedia...vice-Pack.shtml).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users