Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

RT 7 Lite ignores regional information


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
Went through the setup, and configured the following (taken from exported settings file)

Accept EULA=True
Select this version on install=True
Setup Language=en-US
Logon count=1
Network location=Home
Protect your computer=Recommended Settings
Specify=True
Keyboard=United Kingdom
Currency and date format=English (United Kingdom)
UI Language=en-US
Timezone=(UTC) Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London

Yet, when desktop loaded, and I checked in control panel, region and languarge, they were all US, keyboard, currency, time etc.. so basically ignored my choices...

Any ideas?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Could you attach your Autounattend.xml file ?
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#3
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
Ive extracted the relevant info... The only option I couldnt change during RT stup was the UI languarge, which only offered en-US

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<!--This answer file generated by RT Seven Lite-->
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
  <settings pass="windowsPE">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
      <SetupUILanguage>
        <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
      </SetupUILanguage>
      <InputLocale>0809:00000809</InputLocale>
      <UserLocale>en-GB</UserLocale>
      <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
      <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>

I would also like to be prompted to enter computer name and other personal info unique to a pc, as I will be using this image on several home computers and want to be able to given them unique info during setup. Also seems that I cant define workgroup settings as suggested druing RT confign "Compute rname, domain and workgroup settings"...


Attached File  region.jpg   308.72KB   11 downloads

Edited by drscouse, 18 January 2012 - 07:49 AM.


#4
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Maybe you have removed some needed components :

http://www.rtwincust...onents-to-keep/

Please attch your full Autounattend.xml file if you want more help!

Help about Autounattend.xml creation file:
http://www.msfn.org/...seven-xml-here/

Edited by myselfidem, 18 January 2012 - 12:03 PM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#5
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
Havent actually removed anything.. simply did unattended bits, and added 2 tweaks!



<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<!--This answer file generated by RT Seven Lite-->
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
  <settings pass="windowsPE">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
      <SetupUILanguage>
        <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
      </SetupUILanguage>
      <InputLocale>0809:00000809</InputLocale>
      <UserLocale>en-GB</UserLocale>
      <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
      <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
      <ImageInstall>
        <OSImage>
          <InstallFrom>
            <MetaData wcm:action="add">
              <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
              <value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</value>
            </MetaData>
          </InstallFrom>
          <InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
          <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
        </OSImage>
      </ImageInstall>
      <UserData>
        <ProductKey>
          <Key>REMOVED</Key>
          <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
        </ProductKey>
        <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
      </UserData>
    </component>
  </settings>
  <settings pass="oobeSystem">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
      <UserAccounts>
        <LocalAccounts />
      </UserAccounts>
      <OOBE>
        <NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
        <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
        <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>false</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
        <SkipMachineOOBE>false</SkipMachineOOBE>
        <SkipUserOOBE>false</SkipUserOOBE>
      </OOBE>
      <DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>false</DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>
      <TimeZone>GMT Standard Time</TimeZone>
    </component>
  </settings>
  <settings pass="specialize">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" />
  </settings>
</unattend>


#6
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I think this can be done like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral"   versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SetupUILanguage>
                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            </SetupUILanguage>
            <InputLocale>0809:00000809</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-GB</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>en-GB</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <DiskConfiguration>
                <WillShowUI>Always</WillShowUI>
            </DiskConfiguration>
            <ImageInstall>
                <OSImage>
                    <InstallFrom>
                        <MetaData wcm:action="add">
                            <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
                            <value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</value>
                        </MetaData>
                    </InstallFrom>
                    <InstallToAvailablePartition>true</InstallToAvailablePartition>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                </OSImage>
            </ImageInstall>
            <UserData>
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
                <ProductKey>
                    <Key>XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX</Key>
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
                </ProductKey>
            </UserData>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="specialize">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
        </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <InputLocale>0809:00000809</InputLocale>
            <SystemLocale>en-GB</SystemLocale>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
            <UserLocale>en-GB</UserLocale>
        </component>
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <TimeZone>GMT Standard Time</TimeZone>
            <OOBE>
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
            </OOBE>
        </component>
    </settings>
</unattend>
Let me know if it works for you!

*Edit: You can also add more keyboard layouts:

<settings pass="oobeSystem"> 
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
            <!-- You can add keyboards here: examples: en-GB, en-US, en-CA, fr-CA -->
            <InputLocale>0809:00000809;0409:00000409;1009:00001009;0c0c:00000c0c</InputLocale> 
            <SystemLocale>en-GB</SystemLocale> 
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage> 
            <UserLocale>en-GB</UserLocale>    
        </component> 

Edited by myselfidem, 21 January 2012 - 02:17 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#7
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
I tried your config but for some reason I am now prompted to select the language at the beginning of the setup....

Which I supposes gives me the chance to select the correct one, but not very unattended!

Thanks for your help

EDIT: Ttrying again as I spotted an error when I copied it!... my fault!

Nope.. doesnt seem to work.. I simply copied all your code and entered in into a clean file and entered my key in.. It stops and asks me to chose language options and begining of install...

Edited by drscouse, 19 January 2012 - 12:18 PM.


#8
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Nope.. doesnt seem to work.. I simply copied all your code and entered in into a clean file and entered my key in.. It stops and asks me to chose language options and begining of install...


Which language option do you have to choose?
Could you past your new Autounattend.xml file, please?

At last do you have the keyboard layout for en-GB?
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#9
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04


Nope.. doesnt seem to work.. I simply copied all your code and entered in into a clean file and entered my key in.. It stops and asks me to chose language options and begining of install...


Which language option do you have to choose?
Could you past your new Autounattend.xml file, please?

At last do you have the keyboard layout for en-GB?



My new file is the one you posted above, I assumed this had been modified/corrected and I could simply copy and paste that int a blank Autounattend.xml file and add my product key in... I also get this error after continuing the install, see attached...

Attached File  error.jpg   75.41KB   10 downloads

#10
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You've made an error when you have copied the file...Check it with WSIM or attach your Autounattend.xml file, please and remove your product key inside!

Here is my file: try it and let me know the result, thanks! Add your product key inside!



Edited by myselfidem, 19 January 2012 - 03:14 PM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#11
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
Now I changed 2 things this time..

First I used your .xml file...

Second, I noticed the VMWare was using an Easy Install wizard which was asking for the key and my username etc.. so I am wondering if this was causing an issue.. I chose not to use this option to install this time, and it seemed to work...

So dont know if it was the xml file you provided, or disabling the Easy Install thing in vmware!!

But seems to be working...

Thanks!!!

#12
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Now I changed 2 things this time..

First I used your .xml file...

Second, I noticed the VMWare was using an Easy Install wizard which was asking for the key and my username etc.. so I am wondering if this was causing an issue.. I chose not to use this option to install this time, and it seemed to work...

So dont know if it was the xml file you provided, or disabling the Easy Install thing in vmware!!

But seems to be working...

Thanks!!!

Nice ! :)

The problem when we copy/paste some Autounattend.xml file inside the editor inside a post, you can see that the URL are writed TWICE and an error occurs during the installation...I always check the files with WSIM:

http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__970087

I will try to avoid this issue next time! The Autounattend.xml file attached is the same as the one posted above.

Edited by myselfidem, 20 January 2012 - 04:52 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#13
drscouse

drscouse

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Joined 03-January 04
Decided to start from scratch and used RT again to build new image, and skipped the Easy Install part of VMWare and it was all ok.. seems the VMWare bit was perhaps overwriting part of the unattended info created by RT...

Thanks for you help

#14
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,515 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I found the workaround about URL's writed TWICE inside the posts with the editor for Autounattend.xml or xml files inside the forum. :rolleyes:

If I copy/paste the code we can see this error: http:// writed twice:


Example with error:
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="[url="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State"]http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State[/url]" xmlns:xsi="[url="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"]http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance[/url]">

And if we use this workaround:

Simply click the line with http:// and click on the icon on the top left: Remove formatting. And now all is fine!

Correct example:
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">        

Errors occurs when we copy/paste some examples on the forum with this coding error!! I will update all my posts! Posts updated inside this thread !

Edited by myselfidem, 21 January 2012 - 04:22 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users