Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

CPU Spikes at random intervals - Audio & video lagging

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

I'm a new member to this forum and I hope someone can help me out with my issue. My cpu lags randomly especially while playing audio and video. I followed the link here to get to the solution of my problem. But I'm kind of lost as to what I should do next...

Some snapshots of the Windows Performance Analyzer are attached below:


Computer Specs:

OS: Win 7 64-bit
Processor: Intel ® Core i5-2410M @ 2.30 GHz
RAM: 4 GB
Model: DELL Inspiron N5110

Attached Files




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

expand the HalTscStallExecutionProcessor node in picture 3 more to see more details.

also which power plan do you use?
Posted Image

#3
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh I'm sorry I didn't see the reply. I thought I'd be notified via email. My bad.

I'm attaching the pic 3 expanded node.

I've experimented with all kinds of power modes, it lags even on high performance.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  3a.jpg   209.23KB   6 downloads


#4
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

can you zip the trace, upload it adn send me a link?
Posted Image

#5
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here

Hope I did it right.

#6
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I can't download the trace. Can you upload it to mediafire.com or rapidshare.com?
Posted Image

#7
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
can't, those are blocked on my university lan =( are there any other sites?

#8
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

do you use a Microsoft Live ID? It includes a SkDrive where you can upload 25GB of files
Posted Image

#9
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Check now: Here

#10
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the NDIS driver causes some huge spikes:

Total = 3968 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, > 65536 usecs AND <= 131072 usecs, 1, or 0.03%


Update the Dell Wireless 1702 802.11b/g/n drivers and test it again.
Posted Image

#11
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah it's already up-to-date. I thought it WAS the driver cause it keeps dropping wireless connection back home. So I believe it's a faulty driver... I guess i need to get it replaced. I've disabled it for now.

#12
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay, so new problem... 0.0

My fan has been running very aggressively for the past two days.. I didn't know what the issue was so I go into Task Manager and discover svchost.exe is taking up about 30-50% of the CPU memory. Once I kill that task, the fan stops with its loudness.

I did a trace for it and attached it HERE. Is this also related to my wireless driver? Or have I been infected with a malware or virus of some sort? =/

AARgh this Dell is really driving me crazy.

#13
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

no, it's one of those 4 services:

Attached File  Services.png   14.5KB   9 downloads

Stop one service after the other with the Services MMC Snapin (services.msc) and check which services caused this issue.
Posted Image

#14
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried stopping the services, the fan would still go on - some of the services such as Function Discovery Resource Publication didn't stop...

Now I have System Interrupts taking 15% of the CPU, whereas none of the processes are taking up any CPU memory in the task manager. Please see attached. =(

Attached Files

  • Attached File  gah.jpg   395.33KB   4 downloads


#15
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

can you make a new trace? This also captures DPC/ISR issues.
Posted Image

#16
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
well system interrupts takes cpu memory randomly... so when it does i'll do a trace and upload it.

#17
abeermuhammad

abeermuhammad

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 18-January 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay, ran the DPC interrupt. But the file was too large to put on SkyDrive so uploading a snapshot instead..

Btw, it is my Wireless cause when i disable it the system interrupt goes away.

Posted Image

#18
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,244 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

update the driver and enable all offload options in the driver.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users