Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

No letter assigned with USB external Device (98SE SP3.0 related?)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

I start this new thread to avoid to bloat more the main 'Win98SE SP3.0 Final' one.

I have got a bug with U98SESP3 (I used the 01-23-2012 update).

Because my PC has a french Windows (98SE / SESP30B4b-fr / KernelEx 4.5.2 / NUSB 3.5 / Revolutions Pack 9.7.2) , I didn't simply run the exe (I don't think every string would be OK),
but replace manually one by one the updated (& non-localized) files I have found.
(Never put any new file.)

Here is the list of my last attempt:
* C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\
CABINET.DLL 5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2105)
MSSTDFMT.DLL 6.01.9782
MSVBVM60.DLL 6.00.9832
MSXML.DLL 8.00.7002.0
MSXML3.DLL 8.100.1052.0
USP10.DLL 1.0471.4063.0 (main.040204-2030)
* C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IOSUBSYS\
CDFS.VXD 4.90.3002
CDTSD.VXD 4.90.3001
DISKTSD.VXD 4.90.3001
DISKVSD.VXD 4.90.3002
(CDVSD.VXD was already 4.90.3004).
* C:\Program Files\Fichiers communs\Microsoft Shared\TEXTCONV\
MSCONV97.DLL 2003.1100.8202
* C:\Program Files\Fichiers communs\Microsoft Shared\TRIEDIT\
DHTMLED.OCX 6.01.9247

No file was replaced in C:\WINDOWS\OPTIONS\CABS, because AFAIK this directory is only used for backup.


My problem: after it, plug & play for any USB key or external USB HD is broken.
The device is recognized, but no letter is assigned, so I cannot open (access) it!
Look at screenshot:


In contrast, if the same device is plugged *before* the boot, it's running correctly:

I have already restored every single file from the list above to his original version,
and then restored a previous registry backup, but the bug is still here :} .

I have also tried to reinstall 'on the top' the NUSB 3.5, but without success :( .


Does someone could help me, plz.

Thanks in advance.
Charles :) .

Edited by CharlesF, 30 January 2012 - 03:30 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

No file was replaced in C:\WINDOWS\OPTIONS\CABS, because AFAIK this directory is only used for backup.

If I am not mistaken files in that directory are used by the windows installer instead of the same files that are in the cab archives so it's possible to reinstall without downgrading anything if all the newer ones are in that dir. (I haven't installed/reinstalled since many years though so I might be wrong eventually.)

#3
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the answer loblo,
but does it explain my problem? :unsure:

How can I solve it? :(

#4
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for the answer loblo,
but does it explain my problem? :unsure:

I don't think so infortunately. :}

The problem must lie in some SP3 file that is not any of the localized ones you've updated and reverted manually IMO.

It's not too clear if the problem has occured only after you've done your manual update.

Edited by loblo, 29 January 2012 - 03:45 PM.


#5
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

It's not too clear if the problem has occured only after you've done your manual update.

I keep each older file at his place by renaming it xxx.xxx-OLD
so it is easy for me to know what was changed.

I use an USB key that I connect at least once a day (to bring back some stuff from my office).
That's why I have seen exactly when the problem has started.

#6
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
And was that after you've installed the SP or after you've localized?

#7
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
As I said in my first post, I have "replace(d) manually one by one the updated (& non-localized) files I have found".
That is to say:
I didn't replaced any localized file, updating in my OS *only* what was 'english' file or 'language-independent'.

#8
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok then I understand now. The title of this thread is very misleading as it gives the impression you've installed the SP3 which you did not. Furthermore, since you've reverted back all the files from the SP3 you've updated manually, there is IMO not a chance that the SP is responsable for the problem and you perhaps shouldn't make a thread with a title saying so categorically there is a bug with it. Something else must have hapened to your system and I have obviously no clue what it is, good luck finding it out.

#9
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,533 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Just as loblo said, technically SP3 didn't cause the problems you have encountered.
since you have done everything manually you are at fault. I really can't help you on this one because

1. I don't know the exact changes you made.
2. I don't have a french version of windows.
I'm sorry that I can't help you.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#10
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you loblo & PROBLEMCHYLD for trying to help.
Title changed.

Charles :) .

#11
herbalist

herbalist

    paranoid independent

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 740 posts
  • Joined 15-December 06
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Do you have a registry backup from before the changes? If so, back up your present registry and load in the old registry. It could be something as simple as a bad or missing entry.

#12
gerislamico

gerislamico

    The Trident: Chori ,Treze and CaveGol

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 09-November 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
My verifications to Spanish Version :blink:
Be careful when doing this that I say

Solution from USB Broken Drivers
My Reply
for http://exuberant.ms11.net/sp162fl.html
It usbser.sys 4.10.2224 to KB308349
Restore or downgrade usbser.sys



I'm wrong
The file was failing Usbehci.sys
I clarify for anyone reading my message

Reference http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__989593




1º Download maximun Exuberant W98 SP2.1e or KB308349 U98SESP3 Future Version post 06-02-12
2º Install " Main Updates"
4º Restart
5º Device Manager -> USB Host Controller or similar from Bug/Error -> Properties -> Update Driver -> Location manually locate -> folder precopy
6º Forced install
7º Ask you to replace old file again -> OK!
8º Automatically detect Chipst, and USB Drives installs..

There are computers where it works perfectly and others where it fails, not because I'm not a programmer, I would like to be ..

pd: PROBLEMCHYLD U98SESP3 02-06-2012 FIX IT

Edited by gerislamico, 12 February 2012 - 06:14 PM.

In hard times we have to support much more Come on! River Plate

My Proyects
U98SESP3 in Spanish bassed PROBLEMCHYLD version
WinStyle 98 Mod Win7 for WIn98SE Spanish


#13
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Do you have a registry backup from before the changes? If so, back up your present registry and load in the old registry. It could be something as simple as a bad or missing entry.

From my 1st post:
I have already restored every single file from the list above to his original version,
and then restored a previous registry backup, but the bug is still here  <img src='http://www.msfn.org/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/confused.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':}' />  .

@gerislamico:
Thanks for that!
I will try it.

#14
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

gerislamico may well be right... and in case he is, I cannot resist telling you: "I said so!" :P

- usbser.sys 5.1.2600.5512 (from XP-SP3)

Well, Drugwash, IMO what blorked your system was the .inf inside USB20DRV. Of course the files it contains are OK for your system, provided USBSTOR.INF is edited to load WDMSTUB.SYS with USBSTOR.SYS. Now, adding the untested (AFAIK) USBSER.SYS from XP SP3 didn't help any, either. Fact is, I tested it with WDMCHECK.EXE, and it turns out to have the same 3 unsatisfied dependencies that the USBSTOR.SYS (v. 5.0.2195.6773) from USB20DRV has. On the bright side it means it should work, provided it's also loaded with WDMSTUB.SYS, and this means finding the .inf that sets its registry entry and editing it too. The downside is it may be more than one .inf... USBSER.SYS is for the USB virtual serial port, which is mostly used to support USB modems, AFAIK. Here's a screenshot of WDMCHECK's output:


Posted Image



I *think* the relevant file is USBCDC.INF, which must be edited in 3 places...

#15
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,533 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I *think* the relevant file is USBCDC.INF, which must be edited in 3 places...

Maybe a good idea to update USBCDC.INF. gerislamico also found this was not the problem but USBEHCI.SYS was the cause (this post). I will probably put back the WinXP of USBSER.SYS version since this was not the actual cause. Please note the Service Pack is set to load WDMSTUB.SYS automatically so we don't have problems in the future.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#16
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

IIRR, WDMSTUB is set to to load automatically with USBSTOR. If that's correct, WDMSTUB will be present only when some USB Mass Storage Device is connected, because those WDM drivers are loaded (and unloaded) dynamically. By modifying also USBCDC.INF we cater for the case when one USB serial device is connected, but no USB Mass Storage Device is also connected. When both are connected Windows takes care to prevent the double loading, if I'm not mistaken. That should keep us on the safe side.

#17
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,533 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

IIRR, WDMSTUB is set to to load automatically with USBSTOR. If that's correct, WDMSTUB will be present only when some USB Mass Storage Device is connected, because those WDM drivers are loaded (and unloaded) dynamically. By modifying also USBCDC.INF we cater for the case when one USB serial device is connected, but no USB Mass Storage Device is also connected. When both are connected Windows takes care to prevent the double loading, if I'm not mistaken. That should keep us on the safe side.

I trust you know more than me about the USB stuff. I will follow you lead. Just give me the instructions, and we are golden. :w00t:

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#18
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,533 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
CharlesF

Did you get your system up and running?

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#19
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

CharlesF

Did you get your system up and running?

No, still the same irritating bug with USB keys & HD.
I have tried several changes in Usbehci.sys version but it doesn't help (for me at least). So, I stay with the version 5.00.2195.6882

I need to find enough spare time for a whole reinstall.

Thanks for asking PROBLEMCHYLD. :hello:

#20
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,533 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I need to find enough spare time for a whole reinstall.

Thanks for asking PROBLEMCHYLD. :hello:

You're welcome. Maybe someone will create a french version of the SP.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#21
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm having a problem with my KT600-(Via 8237 chipset-athlonxp), not being able to use the front usb ports. It has two hubs in the back and two onboard pinouts for the front-which I'm only plugged into one right now. The back hubs (4 ports) work great. When I plug something in the front it ends up with "unknown device" in the usb section and is disabled. I read about using more than four ports here somewhere but can't remember where. I've tried SP3 and nusb3.3 independently and various Via usb chipset drivers to no avail. Can someone tell me what the problem is?

#22
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I'm having a problem with my KT600-(Via 8237 chipset-athlonxp), not being able to use the front usb ports. It has two hubs in the back and two onboard pinouts for the front-which I'm only plugged into one right now. The back hubs (4 ports) work great. When I plug something in the front it ends up with "unknown device" in the usb section and is disabled. I read about using more than four ports here somewhere but can't remember where. I've tried SP3 and nusb3.3 independently and various Via usb chipset drivers to no avail. Can someone tell me what the problem is?

Sounds like a hardware issue, rather than a software issue since neither NUSB or USP3 are making any difference. Check in your BIOS settings and be sure that no USB devices settings are disabled.

Also be sure that when you first connect a header to the onboard ports that you do not have anything plugged into the header. Do a reboot after connecting the header and before you attempt to connect anything to it.

#23
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,403 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Properly connected? Found this (your board?) -
http://www.ecs.com.t...nuID=24&LanID=0
Scroll to "Pinouts"...

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#24
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Or refer to this pic (from the ASUS A7V600-X):

Attached Files



#25
farfigs11

farfigs11

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Joined 29-October 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks everyone. I used the site from submix8c and found this diagram. My usb cable only has pins up to pin 8. According to this it looks like I need 9 and 10 which seems strange. I guess I need a different cable.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  usb.doc   201KB   5 downloads





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users