Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Checking Video Perfomance hang


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Ivicask

Ivicask

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09
Recently im having problems with my installations over network using server 2008r2. Im getting stuck at "Setup is checking video performance" I checked all the logs inside "Panther" folder and inside WDS server and found no errors. I tryed disabling all the drivers, also no luck.
Server was running for 1year without problems and installed over 500 images, and nothing was changed on it..
Now whats even stupider if i start installation again (format disk again and put it to install over network again), installation goes just fine and windows passes "checking video performance" and boots into windows.
Than again i tryed re-installing this other laptop 3 times and it was stuck again..

Does anyone has any idea where should i start looking for a fix for the problem, as this is so weird and it confuses me that i dont know what to do...


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

integrate the latest graphic drivers into the image and try again.
Posted Image

#3
Ivicask

Ivicask

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09

integrate the latest graphic drivers into the image and try again.


I did try latest drivers, i tryed older ones also, i tryed without drivers.

Any pc should be able to boot without any graphics drivers added, and as i wrote, if i simple try installing it again without changing anything on server than it goes just fine..

#4
Ivicask

Ivicask

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09
What exactly does windows do during "Checking videoperfomance" ? Is it running winsat.exe just on graphics part? And is there a way to simple skip this step?

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I think it runs WinSAT to check if Aero Glass can be enabled or not.
Posted Image

#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,814 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have this problem intermittantly when deploying to the Intel DH61AG. Unfortunately, I never got a chance to troubleshoot it.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#7
Ivicask

Ivicask

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09

I have this problem intermittantly when deploying to the Intel DH61AG. Unfortunately, I never got a chance to troubleshoot it.


Here's a very simple solution to this problem which i just tested as i couldn't find real fix.

Rename C:\Windows\System32\WinSAT.exe -> "_WinSAT.exe"

Windows will not run WinSAT anymore, and even make installation go faster and Aero was still enabled for me without problems.

Than you can make a one time run script (i have user autlogon and puted this bat in startup folder)

ren C:\Windows\System32\_WinSAT.exe WinSAT.exe
del %0

Renames WinSAT to original name and bat deletes it self.

#8
Rumbo

Rumbo
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 26-March 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You guys are right. The problem is Windows System Assessment Tests (WinSAT) program. I had such problems while I was experimenting my unattended install of Win7 on a virtual machine. Every time that I saw the message checking video performance, my virtual machine crashed. My advise is to run the System Assesment Test manually (WinSAT.exe dwm) or from the GUI (click Start, type performance, click on Performance Information and Tools, and run the assessment), rename the resulting xml in c:\windows\performance\winsat\datastore\ (it will have DWM as part of the name) changing whatever is in parentheses on the name to Prepop. For example: 2012-04-26-13.45.043.### DWM.Assesment (First assessment).WinSAT.xml will need to be renamed as 2012-04-26-13.45.043.### DWM.Assesment (Prepop).WinSAT.xml. I'm sure that if you copy that file from another system and rename it as I indicated, it will also work (I haven't tried that though). If you do that, just remember to rerun the tests once your computer is up and running.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN