Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Seven on 40GB?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Hello you all!

I'd like to offer a good 40GB SSD for a relative's future computer to host Seven alone.
That is, this gaming machine will have a raid of 600GB Velociraptor for the applications and documents.

So: are 40GB enough for Seven?
Thank you!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
CoffeeFiend

CoffeeFiend

    Coffee Aficionado

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,399 posts
  • Joined 14-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So: are 40GB enough for Seven?

From http://windows.micro...em-requirements :

Windows 7 system requirements
If you want to run Windows 7 on your PC, here's what it takes:

1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
Coffee: \ˈkȯ-fē, ˈkä-\. noun. Heaven in a cup. Life's only treasure. The meaning of life. Kaffee ist wunderbar. C8H10N4O2 FTW.

#3
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Thanks Coffiefiend!

For the W2k I'm used to, Microsoft would require 1GB disk space and recommend 5GB... With careful management of software installation, my W2k here takes 3GB.
That's why I'm wary about the minimum requirement of 20GB for Seven if using a disk of only 40GB.
Are there experience-based figures that might differ from Microsoft's minimum?

#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,136 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I use 80GB HDD here with Windows 7 but I install my programs in the OS volume for the most part. Right now it says I have 20GB free on the C: and I think my home computer is similar in those numbers.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,242 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

64Bit uses a bit more space (32Bit Runtime files).
Posted Image

#6
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It will be enough but you must take into account that the less free space HDDs/SSDs have, the worse their performance is. Wouldn't it be better to buy a 60GB one and have some space not only for the OS but also for applications? There shouldn't be that much difference in price between 40 & 60 GB.

post-47483-1123010975.png


#7
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm running a Windows 7 VM on a 20GB disk and only 512MB of RAM. I suppose if you install enough apps you'll run out of space.

#8
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,136 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I just built a Windows 7 image with a recovery partition for a 40GB drive and it didn't seem to be a great idea, at least with a recovery partition on it. :unsure:
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#9
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Thank you all!

The decision is made, it will be a 40GB SSD. 60GB would run out of the birthday budget, a used 40GB fits, and this one has a Sandforce controller: best buy.

As the user will have a Raid of Velociraptor for his games, if he overflows the Windows SSD, he shall get a second one later and raid them as well.

#10
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I hope you know about all the potential problems & bugs related with the SandForce controller, don't you? I'd call buying a used SandForce based SSD somewhat risky :ph34r:

post-47483-1123010975.png


#11
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,254 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Depends on the vendor of the SSD and how they've configured it, but for a 1st gen SSD, it might make *more* sense to go with a used model that didn't fail within the first 3 months :).
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#12
sammyagain

sammyagain
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 13-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I use a 40GB SSD on a Windows 7 Lenovo laptop. It has been working great for 2 years. Here is my setup routine:

* Command Line: Disable Hibernation:
powercfg -h off

* Control Panel / System / Advanced / Performance / Advanced / Virtual Memory = 0 if RAM is good.

* Control Panel / User Accounts / Change your picture = something kewl

* Control Panel / Power Options
Set to High performance then "Change plan settings" then "Change advanced power settings"
Turn off hard disk after = 0 (never)
Turn off display after = whatever

* Control Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows features on or off
UNCheck Tablet PC Components & Windows Search
Install FileSearchEX

* Clean up the "%userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\SendTo" folder

* Organize the "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu" folder

* Right Click on C: drive and UNCheck "Allow files on this drive to have contents..."






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users