Seagate Momentus 5400.6 st9500325as (Freeagent Go)

Hi, I have been using a Seagate Freeagent GO for about 3 years with no problems until yesterday.

I opened it up finding a Seagate Momentus 5400.6 500GB Hard Drive st9500325as

Symptoms:

1.- Suddenly it disappeared from My Computer, then I tried to find it in the Device Manager with no success. After that I went to diskmgmt.msc to see if I can see it. No luck with that either.

2.- When I plug it in, It spins fine (I guess by hearing it closely)

3.- After plugging it in,It beeps 2 times about 1 second in between each beep.

4.- After the 2 beeps one can hear the arm moving like trying to find a sector but after about 5 seconds of this repeated action it stops spinning.

Now I have no idea how to recover this drive. What could I do?

Hi, I have been using a Seagate Freeagent GO for about 3 years with no problems until yesterday.

I opened it up finding a Seagate Momentus 5400.6 500GB Hard Drive st9500325as

Symptoms:

1.- Suddenly it disappeared from My Computer, then I tried to find it in the Device Manager with no success. After that I went to diskmgmt.msc to see if I can see it. No luck with that either.

2.- When I plug it in, It spins fine (I guess by hearing it closely)

3.- After plugging it in,It beeps 2 times about 1 second in between each beep.

4.- After the 2 beeps one can hear the arm moving like trying to find a sector but after about 5 seconds of this repeated action it stops spinning.

Now I have no idea how to recover this drive. What could I do?

From what you report the disk is in BSY state.

To check whether it is spinning or not do this:

After three years and having not (AFAIK) the 5400.6 a "common, known" kind of manufacturing defect as the 7200.11 I guess it is simply a "dead disk".

Do you have valuable data that you want to recover on it or not?

Read this:

AND links in it BEFORE anything else, we don't have a "ready made", "tested and verified" solution for that particular drive. :(