Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Renaming a domain in Server 2008 R2


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04
I'm preparing on doing a domain rename (I'm changing a domain from "domain.com" to "network.domain.com") and I've been reading on the documentation provided here : http://technet.micro...8(v=WS.10).aspx

One part has got me a bit nervous : "Be sure to avoid any possible name conflicts with the new names that you choose. Name conflicts can cause unpredictable and severe results. For example, a conflict with the NetBIOS name can render a domain controller unusable because you might not be able to properly remove AD DS from it."

Now, even though "domain.com" will be changing to "network.domain.com", the NETBIOS name of "DOMAIN" will still be "DOMAIN". Is that in itself a conflict?

Also, this is a single DC domain without Exchange or DFS shares. Can someone please check over my notes and see if I've missed anything?

Prepare DNS
Create new DNS zone for "network.domain.com"

Prepare the domain rename
rendom /list
edit DomainList.xml
check DomainList.xml using rendom /showforest

Do the actual rename
rendom /upload
rendom /prepare
rendom /execute

Update group policy
gpfixup

Clean changes
rendom /clean

Update DC DNS
Use My Computer and change primary DNS suffix
ipconfig /registerdns

Update DHCP information
Change all domain related paths in DHCP configuration to clients

Update computers
Reboot all domain attached computers twice


Edited by Tripredacus, 28 February 2012 - 09:02 AM.
fixed link

Posted Image
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06
Never did a domain rename, indeed if you keep the same netbios name, it shouldn't proceed properly.
Also, when you choose the dns suffix domain name be sure not to use something already registered in the internet. It might cause wrong resolution and create a lot of problem if your dns are configured to also cache/resolve external adresses. The right way is either using something that can't exist ( ex: Mydomain.internal )or buying a domain and make it point on your dns.

#3
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04
The domain DNS does resolve to external DNS and the domain is an internet registered domain which we own. However DNS resolution is properly setup and does not conflict.

If the NETBIOS name does not change and it is in fact a requirement that it does change, does that mean I'll have to do a double rename? Once to a fake and temporary domain, then a second time to the final desired domain?
Posted Image
Posted Image

#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,902 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Have you looked into adding a child domain and migrating the objects to that?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#5
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04

Have you looked into adding a child domain and migrating the objects to that?

I have but you can't remove the parent domain from the forest after doing so. Since I am going from a parent domain as the forest root to a child domain as the forest root, the only options are to either rename the existing domain or create a new forest all together.

When you restructure a forest, you can move a domain (except the forest root domain) anywhere within the forest in which the domain resides.


Edited by jcarle, 28 February 2012 - 11:29 AM.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#6
allen2

allen2

    Not really Newbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts
  • Joined 13-January 06

The domain DNS does resolve to external DNS and the domain is an internet registered domain which we own. However DNS resolution is properly setup and does not conflict.

If the NETBIOS name does not change and it is in fact a requirement that it does change, does that mean I'll have to do a double rename? Once to a fake and temporary domain, then a second time to the final desired domain?

Yep a double rename might be the way but you may be stuck with the temporary domain for a long time.
The best way should be to test it with a few servers and workstations (cloned from the real ones) in an isolated virtual/physical environment. I'd test and validate all the steps there (and working with virtual machine would help a lot as you can create snapshot at each step). You'll need at least 2 DC and 1 workstation to make useful tests. If possible, i'd try to have more than those.

#7
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,902 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Couldn't you use a VM and migrate the root domain to it, then create a child domain and then migrate the objects? You could even use any old computer to house a root domain that does nothing other than just sitting there.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users