Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

JRE Version 6 Update 31

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi to all, I've some little issues with a silent installation of JRE Version 6 Update 31.
Following this guide:
https://www.java.com...ent_install.xml
I've created a script to install jre in silet mode but for some mysterious reaseon during setup jre installer try to connect to internet and show me a proxy authentication form (I'm behind enterprise proxy...).
Why? I've downloaded offline version!
I'm using this parameters:

/s MOZILLA=1 JAVAUPDATE=0 SYSTRAY=0 JU=0 AUTOUPDATECHECK=0 /norestart
I hope that someone can help me.
Thanks

ps: I've noticied that MOZILLA parameter is deprecated.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
speilbwm

speilbwm
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 27-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
bump

#3
krose

krose

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Joined 05-September 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I use

/s ADDLOCAL=jrecore IEXPLORER=1 MOZILLA=1

I see addlocal has been deprecated, but the above works for me.

Edited by krose, 01 March 2012 - 02:34 PM.


#4
ionut_y

ionut_y

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Joined 25-June 08
You can try this : http://www.ryanvm.ne...p=106201#106201

#5
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I use

/s ADDLOCAL=jrecore IEXPLORER=1 MOZILLA=1

I see addlocal has been deprecated, but the above works for me.


Tnx but I need java only for Firefox and theese parameters are deprecated.

#6
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

You can try this : http://www.ryanvm.ne...p=106201#106201


Thanks but this solve update issue after installation when java start work. Not during installation...

#7
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,286 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I've downloaded offline version!

How big is your exe file ?

#8
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
jre-6u31-windows-i586-s.exe 16,4 MB (17.207.296 byte)

#9
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,286 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I got same name but 16,971,552 bytes.

#10
hj_fr

hj_fr

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Joined 09-August 04
Hi,

jre-6u31-windows-i586.exe : 16971552 bytes
Silent install : jre-6u31-windows-i586.exe /s JAVAUPDATE=0 JU=0 AUTOUPDATECHECK=0 JQS=0 SYSTRAY=0 EULA=0 REBOOT=Suppress

"ADDLOCAL=xxxx IEXPLORER=1 MOZILLA=1" parameters are deprecated since jre6u10 (6u11 and up will be registered with all browsers by default)

#11
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • Joined 31-January 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Where exactly did you get the parameters from btw?

#12
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Where exactly did you get the parameters from btw?


who?

#13
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I got same name but 16,971,552 bytes.


this isn't the problem..

#14
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi,

jre-6u31-windows-i586.exe : 16971552 bytes
Silent install : jre-6u31-windows-i586.exe /s JAVAUPDATE=0 JU=0 AUTOUPDATECHECK=0 JQS=0 SYSTRAY=0 EULA=0 REBOOT=Suppress

"ADDLOCAL=xxxx IEXPLORER=1 MOZILLA=1" parameters are deprecated since jre6u10 (6u11 and up will be registered with all browsers by default)


thanks a lot these parameters solved my problem!

Next step it's to set java sun only for firefox through script....

#15
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,323 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

jre-6u31-windows-i586-s.exe 16,4 MB (17.207.296 byte)

I got same name but 16,971,552 bytes.

How odd... from here is the "s" version and from here is the non-"s" version. What's the difference? (haven't checked yet but suspect it's probably the OpenOffice "suggestion" screen?).

edit - and those are the sizes mentioned.

Edited by submix8c, 12 March 2012 - 02:28 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#16
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • Joined 31-January 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


Where exactly did you get the parameters from btw?


who?


Author of the post above mine of course :-O





I looked at official documentation and most of those parameters are not mentioned at all.



#17
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
use @ to identify users ;)
Exactly, I am in your situation. I've not found most of these parameters (JAVAUPDATE=0 JU=0 AUTOUPDATECHECK=0 JQS=0 SYSTRAY=0 EULA=0)

#18
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • Joined 31-January 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Of course sometimes there are undocumented or hidden parameters, but I like to stick with what's working and not trying to invent any voodoo.

For example, there's not even any EULA whatsoever to agree to, so that option simply doesn't even make sense.



#19
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,323 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Unable to eliminate "AUTOUPDATE" (among other "AUTO" items), I found this. I really DON'T want Auto-anything, JQS (etc.) so I'm now trying a couple of these "tricks". (Deprecated indeed!). Also explains the difference between the two sizes ("Wahoo" toolbar).

Silent JAVA link (apparently old)
Silent JAVA (from Oracle) link (also older)
Newer (from Oracle) link ("deprecated")

...and Kel's wonderful tutorial for U30...

HTH

Edited by submix8c, 15 March 2012 - 12:50 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#20
oil81

oil81
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Unable to eliminate "AUTOUPDATE" (among other "AUTO" items), I found this. I really DON'T want Auto-anything, JQS (etc.) so I'm now trying a couple of these "tricks". (Deprecated indeed!). Also explains the difference


Auto-anything? Not bad as a new feature ;). I want this as a new global installer switch parameter... I've packed java with Inno Setup. Very very simple script. Very...

[/size][size=2]
[Run][/size]
Filename: {tmp}\jre-6u31-windows-i586-s.exe; Parameters: "[size=3]/s JAVAUPDATE=0 JU=0 AUTOUPDATECHECK=0 JQS=0 SYSTRAY=0 EULA=0 REBOOT=Suppress[/size] "; WorkingDir: {tmp}; 
Filename: msiexec.exe; Parameters: "/x {{4A03706F-666A-4037-7777-5F2748764D10}} /qb-"; WorkingDir: C:\WINNT\system32; 
[Registry]
Root: HKLM; SubKey: "SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\Java Update\Policy"; ValueType: dword; ValueName: EnableJavaUpdate; ValueData: $00000000; 
Root: HKLM; SubKey: SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\Java Update\Policy; ValueType: dword; ValueName: NotifyDownload; ValueData: $00000000
Root: HKLM; SubKey: SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\Java Update\Policy; ValueType: dword; ValueName: NotifyInstall; ValueData: $00000000
[Setup]
AlwaysShowComponentsList=false
ShowComponentSizes=false
FlatComponentsList=false
UsePreviousSetupType=false
ShowLanguageDialog=no
Uninstallable=false
UsePreviousGroup=false
AppendDefaultGroupName=false
CreateAppDir=false
RestartIfNeededByRun=false
AllowCancelDuringInstall=false
AppName=Java SE 6 U31
AppVerName=6.0.310.74
DisableFinishedPage=true
DisableReadyPage=true
UsePreviousTasks=false
DisableWelcomePage=true[size=2]
U can notice 2 things:
  • msiexec.exe; Parameters: "/x {{4A03706F-666A-4037-7777-5F2748764D10}} /qb-: with this command I'll uninstall java auto updater
  • [Registry]: whit the keys in this section I'll disabling auto update (in case I can't uninstall java auto updater)
Cheers

Edited by oil81, 16 March 2012 - 03:34 AM.


#21
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,323 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmmm... I used Kel's "method" and it seems to work. The "AU" folder (in my profile) no longer appears and in the Java Control Panel, the "Update" tab is "missing".

The only other item I can find is in the Control Panel "JRE Auto-Download" (see this).

His method completely removes ALL Auto-Updates plus removal of previous version(s) prior to install. The ONLY thing "lagging" is that single entry. It MAY be irrelevant since the "auto-update" was never installed. (Clueless).

I note, however, that I haven't found a REG entry for it.

Using non-S suffixed version -
REM 1) Double-Click Installer (STOP!) to get:
REM 2) ->C:\Documents and Settings\<yourID>\Application Data\Sun\Java\jre1.6.0_31
REM 3) (the following to get files per Kel - ref. link to RyanVM)
msiexec.exe /a jre1.6.0_31.msi targetdir=%homedrive%\Admin /qb

REM 4) Uninstall current version
MsiExec /qn /x {26A24AE4-039D-4CA4-87B4-2F83216019FF}

REM 5) Install Current Version (from Step#3)
MsiExec /i jre1.6.0_31.msi /qn ADDLOCAL=ALL IEXPLORER=1 MOZILLA=1 SYSTRAY=0 JAVAUPDATE=0 JU=0 AUTOUPDATECHECK=0

REM 6) Remove Java Quick Start
"%ProgramFiles%\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe" -unregister
That REG stuff you indicated apparently is used if running the EXE-installer that's downloaded. All the other "nifty parameters" are apparently NOT passed to the MSI, hence the "alternate" method of "extraction".

Other than that single "strange" CPL entry, all seems as what I wanted. So it SEEMS that the only thing needed is to manually extract (1-2-3) and package using execute sequence (4-5-6).

edit - NOTE - the AU folder is at
C:\Documents and Settings\<yourID>\Application Data\Sun\Java\AU
and contains
AU.MSI and AU.CAB (apparently from the "full" install sequence)
...this is what your "Uninstall" is doing (but in Kel's method it doesn't exist)

interesting read here at date=7/29/2010 by FruF

Edited by submix8c, 17 March 2012 - 04:17 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users