Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Laptop wont boot after changing motherboard

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
Hey there, I've got an old crappy Viglen laptop that was lying around the house. The motherboard had a fault and the in-built video card was busted. I bought another identical laptop off of ebay for £30, and when it arrived I plugged it in and tested it, and seemed to boot up okay. So I ripped the guts out of the bad laptop, and replaced them with the bits from the good one (laptops are such a pain!)

I finally got it all back together and went to try and boot it up. I plugged in the power and it clunked, then all of the lights on the laptop and the light on the power adapter blink very fast over and over. Every now and then by wiggling the the adapter you can hear the fans kick in but then they turn straight back off, and it does the blinking again. I tried a different adapter, and the same thing happened.

Seems to me like a power short, just wondered what you guys thought so I'm not just stabbing in the dark!

Thanks!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,271 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Recheck all connections (screen, fans, mem slots)
Any reason you went the hard way ? Damaged bodywork on the eBay laptop ? Emotional value of the old one ? :unsure:

#3
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
What is the exact model we are talking about?

#4
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86

Recheck all connections (screen, fans, mem slots)
Any reason you went the hard way ? Damaged bodywork on the eBay laptop ? Emotional value of the old one ? :unsure:


Okay, I'll pull it all apart today and stick it back togther! Oh, The bodywork was fairly awful, was an ex. primary school laptop and you know the mentality of kids..

What is the exact model we are talking about?


It's a Viglen 2700T. The model I bought off of ebay is a D27ES, but they are basically identical.

#5
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,376 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

It's a Viglen 2700T. The model I bought off of ebay is a D27ES, but they are basically identical.

Just in case of need :):
http://www.timerider...k/laptopcpu.htm
http://elektrotanya....p/download.html

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 30 March 2012 - 03:40 AM.


#6
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86


It's a Viglen 2700T. The model I bought off of ebay is a D27ES, but they are basically identical.

Just in case of need :):
http://www.timerider...k/laptopcpu.htm
http://elektrotanya....p/download.html

jaclaz


I can't seem to download the .pdf from the second link :(

Anyway, I took the laptop completely apart and then put it all back together, being very careful (it was much easier the second time round) and BAM! The same thing happened. I'm stumped.

What could be causing this? the lights (caps lock ect.) blink repeatedly around 5 times a second very dimly, and the same thing happens with the light on the power pack, to me it seems like I've not earther something but I'm sure I have put everything back exactly the way it was.. I'll keep fiddling.

EDIT- The power pack, aswell as flickering, repeatedly ticks from the transformer. I'm sure it's not the charger because I tried another one I have in a different electrical socket and it did exactly the same thing. And like I said, when the laptop arrived I plugged it into the mains and it booted up fine. :wacko:

Edited by N30N, 30 March 2012 - 04:28 AM.


#7
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
Right, so now it's all back together. I tried another charger (different than the other two) and now every light on the laptop blinks around two times a second, everytime making a clunking sound (reminds me of a train).. What's the deal!? :angry:

#8
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,376 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I can't seem to download the .pdf from the second link :(

It is too big for attaching it, I uploaded it here:
http://depositfiles....files/yvtqx6bae

jaclaz

#9
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
I haven't even bothered with the laptop since my last post. I had a look through the .PDF but the majority of the information was irrelevant to me.

Does anyone have any idea why this is happening? I really just want to get it working, I'd rather not have to take it to a shop!

#10
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
Anyone?

#11
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,803 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Did you test the DC jack with a multimeter?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#12
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,271 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Have you tried without cdrom/ hdd/ battery, just motherboard, CPU and memory ? Any mechanical sensor that would prevent it from starting ?

#13
N30N

N30N

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86

Did you test the DC jack with a multimeter?


No, what sort of voltage should I be looking for?

Have you tried without cdrom/ hdd/ battery, just motherboard, CPU and memory ? Any mechanical sensor that would prevent it from starting ?


Once again no, I will try this ASAP and see what happens!


Thank you, my faith in humanity has been restored once more!

#14
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,803 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You'll need to look at 2 things. First on the bottom of the notebook (usually) or maybe in the battery compartment you will find the input voltages and amp for DC. This is what the notebook requires to work properly. You will also see similar output voltages on your power brick. Usually what I do is first test the brick and make sure that the correct values are coming out of it.

Make note of them if you want, but then you'll have to plug the brick into the notebook. There are 3 pins on the DC jack (hopefully in your case anyways) that you measure. You want to make sure you get the same values on the board as you did on the brick, presuming the brick is giving the correct values that the notebook requires.

Here are some other people's experiences:
http://www.tomshardw...multimeter-test
Or you can look on Youtube for some videos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8duphd3oKw

MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN