Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Can I slipstream Dell Vista x86 SP1 DVD (VLK!) with SP2 BUT WITHOU

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
devnullius

devnullius
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 26-February 09
Hello,

I'm wondering...

Can I create my own VLK setup DVD for Vista Business x86 SP1 (Dell), without losing the pre-activation??

The official (!) Dell VLK DVD will automatically give an activated OS after installation (when on Dell hardware; otherwise, it won't install).

I wish to have the same, but with a Vista SP2 DVD.

Should http://www.vistax64....-vista-sp2.html (Sliptream Vista SP2) keep the automatic activation?

Some of my clients do NOT have a COA for Vista, only XP. I AM ALLOWED to install Vista for these clients but I WILL NEED A PRE-ACTIVATED SP2 installation DVD - which Dell does not offer

Why I really really really need the SP2 version? I need to do a repair upgrade to 'fix' activation for my master system (which I clone and roll out to all new clients). Re-creating this master is impossible, I REALLY need the pre-activation!

Sigh. Google'ing: slipstream vista sp2 (royalty OR VLK) dvd -"windows xp" did not offer many tips.

The mentioned manual (http://www.vistax64....-vista-sp2.html) shows people having problems with activation / serial requests.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT I SHOULD DO? Can I solve all my problems with nLite?

I also asked for help, here: http://en.community....t/19441885.aspx (Corporate Dell Vista SP1 x86 DVD: Slipstream SP2 without prompting activation or serial dialogue? - Microsoft OS Forum - Software & Operating Systems - Dell Community), but that did not turn up anything I could immediately use... :s

Pretty please? ; ) Thank you and...

Peace!

Devvie



~~~ notemail@facebook.com ~~~

Cuisvis hominis est errare, nullius nisi insipientis in errore persevare
——
All spelling mistakes are my own and may only be distributed under the GNU General Public License! – (© 95-1 by Coredump; 2-012 by DevNullius)


EDIT: cross-posted, here: http://www.vistax64....activation.html Sorry? ; -)

Edited by devnullius, 30 March 2012 - 12:31 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,802 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT I SHOULD DO? Can I solve all my problems with nLite?


NO...

#1 nLite is for windows 2000 - 2003

#2 nLite is NOT for buisness\corporation uses....

#3
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,282 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Your question (not pertaining to vLite or even using it - PERSONAL use) appears to be whether you could apply SP2 to an OEM-branded Vista Business SP1.

Having never tried the "slipstream" on Vista, one would "assume" it MAY work as stated in the link. The "problem" appears to be using (probably) "stolen" (blacklisted due to theft thereof) keys. I would say offhand that the "internal" key MAY work provided that you have the appropriate Certification intact in the correct location on the "built" DVD.

In conclusion -
1 - get the "internal" key
2 - "slip" SP2
3 - back up one of the PC's COMPLETELY (including the MBR) with a GOOD backup software
4 - try it.

Investigate the Certs and the Keys (where "embedded" on a DVD and in said running OS)

side note - why do you think this is a VLK version? OEM and VLK are two different beasts and I am assuming that since you refer to multiple PC's, this may be the case. ALSO, chances are that it will NOT work on the XP machines anyway (and illegal as he!!) since the SLP is different. For those that ARE Vista Pre-Activated, you're within legal bounds. PERIOD!

'Nuff said (no more help offered or remotely given on that score) - so... yep - NO! (within bounds, as specified... MAYBE)

HTH

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#4
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Also be aware that if you need support from these systems from either Dell or Microsoft in the future, making images (for deployment) of original OEM images is strictly unsupported - you can make a backup, of course, to be used on the same machine that the installation came from (and that machine only), but any issues with that OEM re-image if it's redeployed will not be supported by Microsoft or the OEM.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/828287
From the KB article:

Microsoft does not support the use of Sysprep to create a new image of a system that was originally created by using a custom OEM installation image or by using OEM installation media. Microsoft only supports such an image if the image was created by the OEM manufacturer. For more information see the following licensing brief on Reimaging Rights.


If this is for a business, you really don't want to mess with supportability issues at all. For home use, go for it, but for a business, stick to the rules.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#5
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,802 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Some of my clients do NOT have a COA for Vista, only XP. I AM ALLOWED to install Vista for these clients but I WILL NEED A PRE-ACTIVATED SP2 installation DVD


What company do you work for that gives away $200+ vista licenses?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN