Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

need a composite output video card

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
neovikingx

neovikingx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 10-April 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Do I need to worry about DirectX 8 and OpenGL 1.3 on an older pci video card with composite out? I only want to us it for a secondary video output for an older tv and wont be used for games, my system right now is xp with a pci e video card with direct x 9 or 10 my mother board is a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P with Q9300.
I was also thinking about get this Video Card

Or is there another way to do this without using a converter box?

Thanks for any info I can get


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,009 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

My last AGP video card I bought came with an S-Video to Composite adapter that I had used to output directly to my 19" CRT from 1988. You can get them separately and appear to be pretty cheap.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#3
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,865 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
There are tons of VGA to TV boxes on eBay for 15USD shipped. ;)

I would not go for an old GPU that could only give you driver problems.

What video card do you have now?

#4
neovikingx

neovikingx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 10-April 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
its has a geforce 6800 gts chip set not sure what make. but Iwill upgrade that to somthing better soon. The link i posted at the top shows that card supports win 7 but since 7 is set up with directx 10 will i be able to use a card with direct x 9 for just video out put for composite out?

#5
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,009 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You can use DirectX 9.0c with Windows 7.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#6
neovikingx

neovikingx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 10-April 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
What I was reading is that win 7 is set with dx 10 and you cant use dx9 on it. I was going to use a good gaming video card for my primary video out put. and use the one with composite out just to watch video on the crt tv I have for guests.

Does directx and open gl have anything to do with just video play back through a composite out?

I also was reading that dx 11 seem to be backwards compatible with 10.1, 10, and 9, if so I could use that.

Thank for any info I could get

#7
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,009 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have DX9 installed on my Win7 PC at home! Some game needed it and it was fine. However, yes Win7 runs natively in its own DX version, but if a program requires a DX9 library, it can load those if it is installed.

As far as Open GL, I did not test it on Win7. I did get Open GL 1.3 to work on Vista however.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#8
neovikingx

neovikingx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 10-April 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
By the information you all gave me and what I've read, I should be able to use that card.


Thanks to all of you for the info

#9
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,865 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have no idea why you would adapt modern technology to fit old technology, but it is your call.

The reason I bought up a VGA to TV box (for 15USD shipped) was to use old TVs with modern computers, and you could have picked any video card even the latest released ones. So adapting the TV and NOT the PC with outdated stuff. On these boxes you can have over-scan, zoom, center and size options so you could have adjusted everything better than with your videocard drivers. You could have used that box even with your current nVidia 6800 card (or was that a typo and it's a 8600?).

Buying a simple video card like a HD5450/HD6450 and the TV box would have given you:
- HDMI output
- H.264 hardware encoding
- Lower power consumption (with a simple to-date card)
- Much more video settings
- Much more video filters
- Better support for and from modern OSes (DX11)

And there are much more reasons.

#10
neovikingx

neovikingx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 10-April 12
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes it was a typo, it is a 8600 not 6800.

The reason I wanted a secondary card for an old tv is for less cluter and wires.
Does that box convert wide screen formate to 4:3 standard. The monitors I have are a 22" acer and a 24" hp.
The system will have 2 monitors and one composite out for my older 32" sony trinitron tv so my guest can watch videos with out being crowded around the desk.

Later I will get a newer tv but dont realy need one at this moment since most of my entertainment equipment is still old.

#11
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,823 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's a link to a new unit that I believe is similar to what puntoMX is talking about - http://www.meritline...---p-40917.aspx I don't see that it has the ability to convert wide screen to 4:3, but maybe puntoMX can provide a link to one that does? (I doubt it would be 15$USD though, but I could be wrong)

VGA to TV Converter, Input VGA , Output RCA Composite Video, S-Video and VGA, Supports Resolution up to 1280 X 1024, Dual display on PC Monitor and TV

PC Laptop to TV converter is a handed-size universal VGA to TV converter box. It supports resolution up to 1280 x 1024. Compact size, Power from USB port, It is best for PC GAME, PC DVD, and Internet viewing on TV, Entertainment, Education and Presentation.
Features:
Video Standard: NTSC/NTSC-EIAJ/PAL-M/PAL-N/SECAM(via RGB out)
VGA Support Resulotion: 640x480 (up to 85Hz), 800x600 (up to 85Hz), 1024x768 (up to 85Hz) and 1280x1024 (up to 60Hz)
Input Port: DB15 (VGA)
Output Ports: RCA Composite video, S-Video and VGA (HD15)
Image controls: Horizontal and vertical size, brightness, contrast, hue, saturation, sharpness and onscreen display background


System Requirements: Desktop or Notebook PC compatible with IBM PC or MACINTOSH PC.
TV or VCR which supports NTSC(2 pins Down) or PAL(2 pins Up) video standard with composite video input S-Video input, RGB video input

Package:
1 x VGA to TV converter
1 x VGA male to male cable
1 x S-Video male to male cable
1 x RCA male to male cable
1 x USB to power cable
User manual

Note:
US NTSC TV, both switch Jumpers Down. (PAL TV Both Jumpers Up)
Sometime you may get some weird scan lines if you set the display to certain resolutions. Just need a little adjustment on Resolution.
SDTV resolution is like 640x480 so things are a bit squished making small text hard to read since a high resolution image on a low resolution screen. Recommend to use 800x600. It is good for video playback on TV.
Sometime the display colors is a little bit red, just need a little adjustment on color.
It support video sources with the resolutions from 640x480 up to 1280x1024
Return Policy
General Return Policy:

Return for refund within 30 days
Return for replacement within 180 days


Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#12
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,865 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Here's a link to a new unit that I believe is similar to what puntoMX is talking about - http://www.meritline...---p-40917.aspx I don't see that it has the ability to convert wide screen to 4:3, but maybe puntoMX can provide a link to one that does? (I doubt it would be 15$USD though, but I could be wrong)

You are right, those are the VGA to TV boxes I was talking about, here on eBay you can get it even for 15USD with cables and all (how cheap can it be made?).

It has a zoom function so you can fill up the screen a bit more, but no idea how far you could zoom in. Combine this with a late model cheap video card and you have all the benefits, even more than the nVidia 8600, for modern video decoding. You can even use the video card you have now and set it to dual screen (not clone). I would leave it on the whole time so it will remember the settings. I don't know what the menu button does but it can't be bad. :lol:

Edited by puntoMX, 03 May 2012 - 05:19 PM.
Link added





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users