Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

What method is working today for extreme removal of Windows 7 Ultimate

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Cr4z33

Cr4z33

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 27-May 05
I used to follow two topics in the past to create very lightful Windows 7 installations:
http://www.msfn.org/...xtreme-removal/
http://www.msfn.org/...64-bit-updated/

It looks like they didn't get updated to support SP1 so I wonder what extreme method is working today for Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bit? :unsure:


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Cr4z33

Cr4z33

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 27-May 05
Hello, is this forum dead? :blink:

#3
monohouse

monohouse

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
I am also looking into making a lite 7 x64 sp1, I've already spent a couple of days trying to figure out what method to use and which guide to follow, so far no go, you may have better luck if you give up SP1 and use RTM(SP0), it seems to be better supported in vlite and there appear to be more batch-based removal procedures for RTM than for SP1, they seem to rely on vlite nonetheless, I think the best would be to combine all three extreme batch removal topics (if that is even possible) to make a super-lite 7, I am willing to give up SP1 (and all future SPs) for a super-lite edition, if only I knew for sure that it would work (I suppose I should start with getting at least one of these projects to function xD)

Edited by monohouse, 12 May 2012 - 12:33 AM.


#4
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,338 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK... vLite was never actually intended for Win7, it was for Vista. It just so happened that Win7-RTM worked. With the advent of SP1, some things "changed" and it no longer functioned. Don't bother to ask for an "update" to vLite as Nuhi no longer updates it and never will... Period! (Nuhi has "moved on" to a permanent job elsewhere and does not respond to emails/messaging.)

I have seen some references to what's called RT7-Lite which may/may-not work(?).

HTH and Good luck!

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#5
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
vLite CAN be used successfully on Win7 SP1 - http://www.msfn.org/...141#entry995141

You can definitely use vLite on Windows 7 successfully. To make vLite play nice you'd have to sysprep a VM install of Win7 SP0 upon which you install SP1. After performing sysprep you can then capture the image via Imagex (I create the VM as a VHD using VirtualBox, so one can directly mount the VHD and do the capture via Imagex). You can then mount the captured image (the install.wim) and remove the SP1 backup files. Then you export the image (basically a re-save) to make it even smaller and you have your Win7 SP1 that can be used with vLite (whereas Win7 SP1 official cannot be used with vLite).


I know several people who have done it. I personally have not, but that's because I do not slim my OS install.

Cheers and Regards

Edited by bphlpt, 13 May 2012 - 03:21 PM.

Posted Image


#6
Cr4z33

Cr4z33

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 27-May 05
It looks like things have evolved and now the future is:

Win Toolkit

Veeery complete and with a load of tweaking & customisation! :thumbup

Edited by Cr4z33, 14 May 2012 - 02:49 AM.


#7
monohouse

monohouse

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
nice tool, thanks, not all that big when it comes to removal but it leaves a fully functional image even with everything removed, it's an extra weapon in the arsenal :)
I have made some progress making a lite RTM version, got it down to about 4GB so far, vlite 1.2 doesn't work for me so I am using 1.1.6 which is much more functional and stable, with the help of dead0's bat's the winsxs is down to about 1 GB

Edited by monohouse, 16 May 2012 - 11:38 PM.


#8
mArCo1928

mArCo1928
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 30-July 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried this software and i removed games, tablet support and voice recognition (or something like that).

All work great but my OS is 15GB on C:, is too much, or not?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users