Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account

Photo

Laptop HD life: can a trip (vibrations) damage the HD?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

I41Mar

I41Mar

• 37 posts
Hello dear MSFN forum.
I have the following question:
since I'll have to make a long trip by a train (6 boring hours) I would like to spend time using my laptop while traveling.
But I have a big doubt:
the vibrations, oscillations and bumps that occur during the trip can break or shorten the PC HD life when it is turned on or even when turned off?
The PC in question has a PATA HDD and is built in the 2006 year.
I'm not a PC expert.
Best regards to all MSFN friends and thank you for your kind answers.
I41Mar

PS: to moderators: I do not know if this is the right forum section for this topic.

Edited by I41Mar, 27 May 2012 - 04:06 PM.

How to remove advertisement from MSFN

jaclaz

jaclaz

The Finder

• Developer
  • 14,077 posts

Hello dear MSFN forum.
I have the following question:
since I'll have to make a long trip by a train (6 boring hours) I would like to spend time using my laptop while traveling.
But I have a big doubt:
the vibrations, oscillations and bumps that occur during the trip can break or shorten the PC HD life when it is turned on or even when turned off?
The PC in question has a PATA HDD and is built in the 2006 year.

If the drive/laptop is off, you should have NO fear whatsoever (most if not all 2.5" disks use a "parking ramp" or however a "safe parking zone" when off).