Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

New to unattended windows creation

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
117 replies to this topic

#51
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Did you install the update once you saw it on WU? If you didn't can you check tcpip6.sys and tell me what version it is?

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Did you install the update once you saw it on WU? If you didn't can you check tcpip6.sys and tell me what version it is?



Yes,I did install it.

So when I reinstall, I shouldn't install when it shows up on WU ?

But I should navigate to where to check the tcpip6 ?

Edit: I find and will do on next install.

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 21 June 2012 - 08:00 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#53
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Also check the version of 6to4svc.dll.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#54
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\tcpip6 = File version: 5.1.2600.5625

C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\Download\2e6b16219034e135b4f869efb7a10fee\sp3qfe\tcpip6 = File version: 5.1.2600.5935

C:\WINDOWS\system32\6to4svc.dll = File version: 5.1.2600.5935
Regards,
Rajesh

#55
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

For some reason it's using tcpip6 from KB2509553.

Let me run some tests to see if I can figure out what's going on.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#56
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Only difference I can think I did on this opposed to other perfect creation was nLite Tweaks.

[Tweaks]
Start Menu-Disable Highlight newly installed programs
Taskbar-Disable Hide inactive icons
Taskbar-Disable Language-Bar
Taskbar-Disable Windows Tour popup

(FYI) :)

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 21 June 2012 - 10:41 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#57
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Tweaks wont make a difference.

My tests showed that no matter the sort order, nLite will always use version 5.1.2600.5935 of tcpip.sys.

I really don't understand why yours is not working the way it should.

Lets do this so you don't have to keep on reinstalling... (BTW, are you testing on a virtual machine or your real system?)

Go ahead and run nLite as you normally do and stop there.

Open a command prompt and type
expand -r <drive letter>:\<path to>\I386\TCPIP6.SY_ "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop"

Changing drive letter and path to to the real path of your source folder.

tcpip6.sys will be expanded to your desktop. Check the version number and report back.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#58
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Lets do this so you don't have to keep on reinstalling... (BTW, are you testing on a virtual machine or your real system?)


Real system. I tried to use vmareplayer (or whatever it called) but wouldn't install but didn't inquire much as to why and say what the heck,I just do real system.

Go ahead and run nLite as you normally do and stop there.

Open a command prompt and type

expand -r <drive letter>:\<path to>\I386\TCPIP6.SY_ "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop"

Changing drive letter and path to to the real path of your source folder.

tcpip6.sys will be expanded to your desktop. Check the version number and report back.


I understand... So I do this is my command

expand -r C:\xpcd\I386\TCPIP6.SY_ "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop"



It say "can't open input file" C:\xpcd\I386\TCPIP6.SY_ .

I try it in 'run' as well and just flash command promp = nothing left on desktop.

So I search for it in I386 and found file but file version info not there . Not sure what is wrong with my command ? I try without " " as well, still no luck (?)

EDIT: I copied and pasted TCPIP6.SY_ folder to desktop and extracted with universal extractor, and tcpip6.sys file came out with properties of file version 5.1.2600.2180... (If that helps)

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 22 June 2012 - 10:05 AM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#59
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I don't recognize that version.

Stock SP3 is 5.1.2600.5512
KB2509553 is 5.1.2600.5625
KB978338 is 5.1.2600.5635

Are you not using a SP3 source?
Seems like you didn't run nLite on the source. Run nLite and tell me the version number when it completes.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#60
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I Made critical error last time... Only last time,sorry.

This time no mistake but /switch still didn't extract file so universal extracter did..

TCPIP6.SY_ . extracted to file version 5.1.2600.5625

EDIT: on a side note, I386 folder also had tcpip6.sys file right next to TCPIP6.SY_ and tcpip6.sys file was also version 5.1.2600.5625

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 22 June 2012 - 01:35 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#61
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,383 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
BWAHAHAHAH!!!! You manually slipstream'd SP3 onto a pre-SP3 XP, right? Wonder how many other duplicates you have (compressed vs uncompressed)? nLite when SLIPSTREAMING A SERVICE PACK ONLY would have "cleaned up" for you...

edit - or... maybe not.
I will say that XP SP2 is 5.1.2600.2180. Better check your SOURCE!!! Something is not right...

edit2 - see this as well - TWO of you with same problem?
http://www.msfn.org/...view=getnewpost

I'm now bowing out... -X- this is your baby from now on...

Edited by submix8c, 22 June 2012 - 02:16 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#62
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

BWAHAHAHAH!!!! You manually slipstream'd SP3 onto a pre-SP3 XP, right? Wonder how many other duplicates you have (compressed vs uncompressed)? nLite when SLIPSTREAMING A SERVICE PACK ONLY would have "cleaned up" for you...



Impossible action. I have SP2 Home OEM. No Duplicate -



Posted Image


Please make no doubt with -X-, this is one time mistake as I do things very thorough. I believe I hit 'next' button after sp3 integration done but before the number changed.Either that or forgot to slip SP3 but doubtful,Im sure I remember it extracting and installing.

EDIT:

edit2 - see this as well - TWO of you with same problem?
http://www.msfn.org/...view=getnewpost



I read thread but seen no solution.

Edit again: I see solution now but don't like solution.

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 22 June 2012 - 04:35 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#63
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

OK, now start again with a fresh source but this time, after sorting the updates by date move, with the up and down arrows on the right, KB978338 below KB2509553. Once done, tell me the version of tcpip6.

Edited by -X-, 22 June 2012 - 04:55 PM.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#64
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok I do as you say and this time In source there was tcpip6.sys file and it say version 5.1.2600.5935....

(Last time it say 5.1.2600.5625)

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 22 June 2012 - 08:45 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#65
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

OK. You can take that nLited source and burn it and you should have a clean Windows Update. And you now know what to do in the future...put KB978338 below KB2509553.

The problem is your nLite is "broken". It should automatically use the higher version sys file without resorting to sorting. What version of nLite are you using?

It is also very strange that tcpip6.sys was expanded.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#66
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

OK. You can take that nLited source and burn it and you should have a clean Windows Update. And you now know what to do in the future...put KB978338 below KB2509553.

The problem is your nLite is "broken". It should automatically use the higher version sys file without resorting to sorting. What version of nLite are you using?

It is also very strange that tcpip6.sys was expanded.


Thank you -X-, for knowledge and patients.


Im using nLite v1.4.9.1 | Installer | 2.54 MB from nuhi's website.

I didn't sort updates before so Im going to have to go with "broken" theory .. :D No idea how that could happen but would explain how my SP3 didn't slip properly last session.



.

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 22 June 2012 - 10:19 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#67
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I doubt this will work but you could try installing nLite again over your installed one and then run some experiments with just those 2 updates. Put one before the other and see what version of tcpip6 is used. Then invert the sort and check again.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#68
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I uninstall nLite and reinstalled .

I Start with Fresh source,slipstream SP3,Done.
I go into source and TCPIP6.SY_ was there. I extracted and was tcpip6.sys file version: 5.1.2600.5512

(copy and pasted to desktop/ do not mess up source)



1.) I goto hotfix section and integrate "KB978338 below KB2509553" and TCPIP6.SY_ dissappeared and left behind tcpip6.sys file version: 5.1.2600.5935 ...

I Start with Fresh source again,slipstream SP3,Done.

2.) I try this other way around, KB2509553 below KB978338 and same TCPIP6.SY_ dissappeared and left behind tcpip6.sys file version: 5.1.2600.5625


I also integrated everything (fresh source) and didn't arange any updates except for "KB978338 below KB2509553" and that turned out correct. Is it possible that XP pro is different than Home when it comes to integrating ? I see you run pro 32.
Regards,
Rajesh

#69
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Very strange. I'm at a loss to explain it. There's another member having the same problem. I seriously doubt that it's a XP Home problem.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#70
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I forgot I had a copy of XP home and did some experiments.

I was wrong. You were right. It's because it's XP Home. KB2509553 has system.adm. A file used for group policy. XP Home does not come with group policy so nLite uses the /integrate switch on that update..

Posted Image

I'll add a footnote for those 2 updates saying that KB978338 must be put below KB2509553 when the target source is XP Home.

Edited by -X-, 23 June 2012 - 10:35 AM.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#71
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Very good research and good find -X-, you do great work.

EDIT: Do You use vmare player ? I try installing one for 32 and 64 bit systems but still not able to install.

I'll research and see if a version I can use,unless better recommend ?

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 23 June 2012 - 11:56 AM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#72
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,383 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

EDIT: Do You use vmare player ? I try installing one for 32 and 64 bit systems but still not able to install.

Maybe -X- does, I don't I use MS' VPC2007 (I said that). Again, your Integrated Drivers will ONLY install if the Hardware is There/Defined (else they are ignored). Alternatively, go the the Website I gave for VMware Player "Documentation" and Get-Those-Drivers and integrate them ADDITIONALLY (they interface to your REAL HOST OS Hardware+Drivers). Additionally, you can ONLY install an X64 system on X64 Hardware REGARDLESS of whether you "define" the Machine as X64 (unless VMWare "emulates" one). VPC2007 does NOT do X64 Machine at all! My CD's install XP 32-bit just fine in VPC2007... There is absolutely NO reason that XP 32-bit will be "not able to install"... you MUST be doing something wrong!!!

edit - OHHHH! Sorry, you are referring to being unable to install VMWare Player on your Host!!! Here are the PDF docs. It SHOULD install... Err-maybe not (see the "Getting Started With" PDF). Your Dimension 4600 is 32-bit only... It APPEARS that v2.5 will install/run...

v2.5.5 and drivers (documents for v2.5 in above link).

Edited by submix8c, 23 June 2012 - 12:29 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#73
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I make mistake as it read "Run 32- and 64-bit virtual machines," not for 32 and 64 bit machines. ooops

Thank you to submix8c, I install v 2.5 as you say,very good . :)

Edited by O0o0O0O0o, 23 June 2012 - 12:51 PM.

Regards,
Rajesh

#74
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I use VirtualBox portable. http://www.vbox.me/

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#75
O0o0O0O0o

O0o0O0O0o

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 03-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

I use VirtualBox portable. http://www.vbox.me/



Oh I wish I would have used this before 5-6 installs.. haha :D Very excellent application.

(by the way,CD turn out great)
Regards,
Rajesh




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users