Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 2000 on a Acer Aspire One AO532h

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
105 replies to this topic

#76
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
In the log I can see that you UURollup was installed more than one time. For the first time the installation succeeded but in the second try the error occurs here:

c:\7509b54df6ec0ca8e71c1c1ff5ee\\reg.exe" LOAD "HKU\CUSTOM" "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users.WINNT\..\Default User\NTUSER.DAT
Return Code = 1
which is strange because it did work before.

1) Why is it "All Users.WINNT"? Did you install Windows on this partition more than once or are there two systems on the same partition?

2) Could you check if the file "C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\NTUSER.DAT" physically exist? It's hidden by default so you need to enable the "show hidden and system folders" option.

post-47483-1123010975.png



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

In the log I can see that you UURollup was installed more than one time. For the first time the installation succeeded but in the second try the error occurs here:

c:\7509b54df6ec0ca8e71c1c1ff5ee\\reg.exe" LOAD "HKU\CUSTOM" "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users.WINNT\..\Default User\NTUSER.DAT
Return Code = 1
which is strange because it did work before.

1) Why is it "All Users.WINNT"? Did you install Windows on this partition more than once or are there two systems on the same partition?

2) Could you check if the file "C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\NTUSER.DAT" physically exist? It's hidden by default so you need to enable the "show hidden and system folders" option.


As I said before, when I have changed the ACPI to "ACPI Multiprocessor" the system freezed, so I have installed again the system on the same partition. The "Default User" folder don't exist anymore. There is only the "Default User.WINNT" folder.

Edited by Agorima, 03 August 2012 - 10:27 AM.


#78
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,371 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Nonetheless, WHY did you install "UURollup" TWICE? Now you have "boogered" Profiles (that will need fixed - not a fun thing to do). And you did NOT initially say you had installed again (over the top, mind you) - you JUST said it!

Normal procedure to "Test" and "Get it to work" is start from scratch. Scientific method...

Edited by submix8c, 03 August 2012 - 10:37 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#79
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

Nonetheless, WHY did you install "UURollup" TWICE? Now you have "boogered" Profiles (that will need fixed - not a fun thing to do). And you did NOT initially say you had installed again (over the top, mind you) - you JUST said it!

Normal procedure to "Test" and "Get it to work" is start from scratch. Scientific method...


But I said that "I had to do all the procedure again" before, when the system freezed.

When was "missing or corrupted" the "system" hive, I have copied the files from C:\Winnt\Repair to C:\Winnt\System32\config.

Maybe I must perform a new installation (it's possible from the HDD)

Edited by Agorima, 03 August 2012 - 10:53 AM.


#80
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The system is definitely NOT in a normal condition... You can still install UURollup but in order to do so you should:

1) Unpack it.
2) Open update\update.inf
3) Disable (add ";" at the beginning) this line:
RegCondition = 32BPP.Reg.Install.Condition
4) Run update.exe

post-47483-1123010975.png


#81
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

The system is definitely NOT in a normal condition... You can still install UURollup but in order to do so you should:

1) Unpack it.
2) Open update\update.inf
3) Disable (add ";" at the beginning) this line:

RegCondition = 32BPP.Reg.Install.Condition
4) Run update.exe


Now it's installed :) Thanks :)

Edited by Agorima, 03 August 2012 - 11:11 AM.


#82
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
No problem :)

The bug will be fixed in the next version. It's related with the 32-bit icon support and the 32-bit icon support is to be removed in the next stable release of UURollup. This particular setting has been problematic from the very beginning anyway (and now I can say that it's a very good example why using fixed names should be avoided).

post-47483-1123010975.png


#83
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

No problem :)

The bug will be fixed in the next version. It's related with the 32-bit icon support and the 32-bit icon support is to be removed in the next stable release of UURollup. This particular setting has been problematic from the very beginning anyway (and now I can say that it's a very good example why using fixed names should be avoided).


I don't mind to use the 32-bit colours. The 16-bit colours are ok for everything and are suitable for every Windows :)

#84
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Until at least friday, I won't touch my computer. This is the hottest week of this summer (40° C in Sicily) and so I'll wait before doing what I'm thinking to do:

I will Integrate chipset drivers (and the others) into the Windows 2000 folder, in order to avoid the 0x0000007b error, I'll EnableBigLba, and then I'll install Windows 2000 in D:, in AHCI mode and probably in normal ACPI, although I have upgraded the "Insyde H2O" bios to the version 1.26 from previous 1.21;

Then I'll install Windows Xp into C: in AHCI mode

Yes, I'll switch the positions of the systems :)

I won't use the desired system as primary OS until every problem will be solved.
When I'll switch the OSes successfully, we'll dedicate the time to resolve the problems.

In the meantime, enjoy my video, which includes the eurodance sounds :)


Edited by Agorima, 06 August 2012 - 06:19 PM.


#85
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You don't need to do anything with EnableBigLba if you integrate USP5.1 into the source (it's switched on by default in it). You may find this topic interesting if you want to integrate drivers.

post-47483-1123010975.png


#86
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

You don't need to do anything with EnableBigLba if you integrate USP5.1 into the source (it's switched on by default in it). You may find this topic interesting if you want to integrate drivers.


http://depositfiles....files/vvcvgigt7
This is the readme of the chipset

This is the Windows 2000 section of the readme. Something included in this section is incomprehensible for me.
What is the <INF Extract Directory>?

************************************************************
* 8A. INSTALLING THE WINDOWS* 2000 INF FILES PRIOR TO
* OS INSTALLATION
************************************************************
NOTE: The Windows* 2000 OEM Preload Kit distribution CD contains a setup directory with all the base operating system setup files and installation programs (WINNT.EXE and WINNT32.EXE).

The name of the directory may vary depending on the distribution CD (e.g., \I386\).

1. Create the following directory structure under the <WIN2000 Setup Directory>:

\$OEM$\$$\INF

2. Copy the Windows* 2000 INF files from <INF Extract Directory>\XXXX\All to the directory created in Step 1 above:

<WIN2000 Setup Directory>\$OEM$\$$\INF

NOTE: XXXX is the directory name for the chipset of interest. Refer to Section 8 for more details.

3. Create the following directory structure under the <WIN2000 Setup Directory>:

\$OEM$\$1\drivers\IntelINF

4. Copy the Windows* 2000 INF files and the catalog files (.CAT) from <INF Extract Directory>\XXXX\All to the directory created in Step 4 above:

<WIN2000 Setup Directory>\$OEM$\$1\drivers\IntelINF

NOTE: XXXX is the directory name for the chipset of interest. Refer to Section 8 for more details.

5. Either modify the default Windows* 2000 installation answer file, UNATTEND.TXT, located in <All Setup Directory>, or create a customized answer file. The answer file must include the following information:

[Unattended]
OemPreinstall = Yes
OemPnPDriversPath="drivers\IntelINF"

A sample answer file for preloading the Intel® Chipset Device Software files is available at:

<INF Extract Directory>\XXXX\All\INFAnswr.TXT

For more information about Windows* 2000 answer files and unattended installations, please refer to the Microsoft* Windows* 2000 Guide to Unattended Setup.
If you are a computer manufacturer, refer to the Microsoft Windows* 2000 OEM Preinstallation Kit (OPK) User Guide for more information about the \$OEM$ folder.
Otherwise, refer to the Microsoft Windows* 2000 Deployment Guide.

6. Run "WINNT.EXE /u:<answer file name> /s:<WIN2000 Setup
Directory>" to install Windows* 2000

Edited by Agorima, 08 August 2012 - 08:17 AM.


#87
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The readme talks about using $OEM$ folders. I don't use them to integrate anything because that's not a real integration. I don't think I can help you in this matter.

post-47483-1123010975.png


#88
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Yesterday, instead of switching the systems, I installed Windows 2000 again on C:, starting the installation from Windows XP, because the system was compromised after changing the ACPI to "ACPI Multiprocessor" in Device Manager.

The solution to start the installation of Windows 2000 from XP was simple. I have just substituted the 2K's winnt32.exe with XP's winnt32.exe.

After the installation I was searching a solution for the problem of the Internet connection.

And I have found this
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318584
Now the Internet works fine :) I'm writing from Windows 2000 using the Atheros wireless adapter :)

The only big problem left, aside the IDE mode, is the ACPI. Now it's simply Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (PC).

Since this entry must be left untouched
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

I must use another entries like this, right?
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional (ACPI Multiprocessor)" /fastdetect /hal=halaacpi.dll /kernel=ntkrnlmp.exe

Edited by Agorima, 10 August 2012 - 05:37 PM.


#89
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

The solution to start the installation of Windows 2000 from XP was simple. I have just substituted the 2K's winnt32.exe with XP's winnt32.exe.

That's a nice solution.

The only big problem left, aside the IDE mode, is the ACPI.
Now it's simply Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (PC).

Did windows setup select this? Or did you manually select hal?

Remember, there is no manufacturer Windows 2000 AHCI driver.

I must use another entries like this, right?

Which CPU do you use?

#90
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

That's a nice solution.


That's good for me. If I knew before asking the help of the MSFN community, I could save a lot of time.

Did windows setup select this? Or did you manually select hal?

Remember, there is no manufacturer Windows 2000 AHCI driver.


The Hal was selected manually because the Windows 2000 setup selects automatically "ACPI uniprocessor" and simply freezes.
The IDE mode isn't really a big deal. In Windows XP the IDE mode was a bit slower than the AHCI mode.

Which CPU do you use?


My CPU is an Intel Atom N450
http://ark.intel.com/products/42503/

Edited by Agorima, 11 August 2012 - 01:23 PM.


#91
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

The Hal was selected manually because the Windows 2000 setup selects automatically "ACPI uniprocessor" and simply freezes.

"ACPI uniprocessor" default kernel or hal halaacpi.dll seems to fail.
http://support.micro...kb/237556/en-us

Which halaacpi.dll version do you use? Does exist a newer version?
Which BIOS version do you use?

halmacpi.dll is the ACPI Multiprocessor PC. And multi kernel ntkrnlmp.exe.
Extract files to system32 first, edit boot.ini next.
However I doubt booting, given "ACPI uniprocessor" fails.

The IDE mode isn't really a big deal.

Yes, keep IDE mode.

My CPU is an Intel Atom N450

It's single core by design, with hyper thread.
Uniprocessor is nice overall.

What about SpeedStep driver at a netbook?

#92
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

"ACPI uniprocessor" default kernel or hal halaacpi.dll seems to fail.
http://support.micro...kb/237556/en-us

Which halaacpi.dll version do you use? Does exist a newer version?
Which BIOS version do you use?


I made a mistake. I said "ACPI Uniprocessor" instead of "ACPI Multiprocessor" but selecting both ACPI the Windows 2000 setup fails to start.
The version of the hal.dll is 5.0.2195.6691
Now I have installed Windows 2000 SP4 Italian OEM + Update Rollup 1 + all security updates until July 2010.
Despite of being OEM, it's integral.
The Bios is "Insyde H2O" version 1.26 (updated from previous 1.21)

halmacpi.dll is the ACPI Multiprocessor PC. And multi kernel ntkrnlmp.exe.
Extract files to system32 first, edit boot.ini next.
However I doubt booting, given "ACPI uniprocessor" fails.


I can try to boot the others ACPI.
I don't know if installing Windows 2000 on a recent Pentium with dual core can start from this netbook with the Multiprocessor thing. But, if I'll have the opportunity, I'll try to do this.

What about SpeedStep driver at a netbook?


Where I can found the SpeedStep driver?

Edited by Agorima, 11 August 2012 - 08:56 PM.


#93
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Probably I'll go back to XP until someone will get the solution about the multi core on a Atom processor. The diode of the processor go to about 95° C against the more normal 87° C when using Windows XP in dual core.
The ambiental temperature is about 32° C and, when the diode reached the 87° C, there were about 38-40° C at the beginning of August.
The single core suffers as hell.

Edited by Agorima, 12 August 2012 - 07:34 AM.


#94
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You should probably apply this fix to fix the temperature problem. The fix is included in USP5.1 so you don't need to use it in an English Windows but it's still viable for other language versions.

As you're using an ITA version of Windows now most of the unofficial updates are not for you (unless you want to forcibly install English updates...) but I'd recommend installing at least UURollup (Global) which is multilanguage. Together with it you can also install BlackWingCat's ITA packages (there are updated HAL files there too!).

By the way, it's very interesting that you've managed to make work the Atheros card. Which drivers did you use?

Edit: I've found some more info on different HALs: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/237556.

Edited by tomasz86, 12 August 2012 - 08:07 AM.

post-47483-1123010975.png


#95
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag

You should probably apply this fix to fix the temperature problem. The fix is included in USP5.1 so you don't need to use it in an English Windows but it's still viable for other language versions.


Thanks. Now the temperatures of the processor and the diode are normal :)

Before applying the patch

Processor: 28°C
Diode: 95° C

After applying the patch

Processor: 47°C
Diode: 80° C at this moment.

As you're using an ITA version of Windows now most of the unofficial updates are not for you (unless you want to forcibly install English updates...) but I'd recommend installing at least UURollup (Global) which is multilanguage. Together with it you can also install BlackWingCat's ITA packages (there are updated HAL files there too!).


This is my choice :) but I didn't knew Blackwingcat updated the HAL files. Maybe with those HAL I can use "ACPI Multiprocessor"
Among his articles, I have seen an Intel Atom Z520 (HT) working with Windows 2000.
http://blog.livedoor...ives/08995.html
Did he used "ACPI Multiprocessor"? If yes, then it's possible.

Edit: I have installed the unofficial updates in this way

UURollup (Global)
Windows2000-KB935839-v10b-x86-ITA.EXE
Windows2000-KB979683-v8-x86-ITA.exe

And the system still boots up, but slower than before.
In the System Properties the words "Service Pack" disappeared. It remains only the number 4.
http://i50.tinypic.com/1zdr7s7.jpg
Maybe (but I'm not sure) I must remove these updates from the latest which I've installed, and install the UURollup (English).

By the way, it's very interesting that you've managed to make work the Atheros card. Which drivers did you use?


I used the drivers provided by Acer
http://www.acer.it/a...content/drivers
Go to Netbook > Aspire One > AO532H

Then select "Windows XP Home Edition" and download the Atheros Wireless driver and the Atheros Lan Card

Wireless

After installing wireless driver you must install the Atheros Client Utility (not included into the driver, as far as i know)
If after configuring the wireless network with the program you can go only to 192.168.1.1 follow the procedure of the KB318584
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318584
And then you can surf the net :)
When booting the netbook the wireless card connects automatically, like in XP :)

LAN

If after installing the Lan driver you can go only to 192.168.1.1 follow the same procedure.

Edit: I've found some more info on different HALs: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/237556.


Do you mean the restore thing?

Edited by Agorima, 17 August 2012 - 03:17 PM.


#96
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

The version of the hal.dll is 5.0.2195.6691

There was a 5.0.2195.7006 too, however with some idle errors. Not a good idea.

Where I can found the SpeedStep driver?

Intel SpeedStep Technology Applet for Windows 2000
http://support.lenov...?DocID=DS013982
May work or fail at newer hardware of course.

#97
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I removed these updates

UURollup (Global)
Windows2000-KB935839-v10b-x86-ITA.EXE
Windows2000-KB979683-v8-x86-ITA.exe

And I have installed the English version of the UURollup. Now I'm writing from Firefox 14.

I know that the unofficial updates aren't tested, unlike the official ones, but I think that the UURollup must be a little more optimized for performance, with less consumption of the processor.
But it's only my suggestion.

Now I am trying to solve the problem about the ACPI.
I have tried to boot the system with ACPI Uniprocessor

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional (ACPI Uniprocessor)" /fastdetect /hal=halaacpi.dll /kernel=ntoskrnl.exe

But it failed.
Maybe the system cannot use others hal and kernel than the default ones (Hal.dll, ntkrnlpa.exe, ntoskrnl.exe). Therefore, a way to boot the system can be to rename the files

Halaacpi.dll (or halmacpi.dll) to hal.dll
Ntkrnlmp.exe to ntoskrnl.exe
ntkrpamp.exe (in case of using ACPI Multiprocessor) to ntkrnlpa.exe

Intel SpeedStep Technology Applet for Windows 2000
http://support.lenov...?DocID=DS013982
May work or fail at newer hardware of course.


I don't know if worked or failed, but i have seen the computer a bit slower when I have installed the Intel Speedstep, then I have uninstalled it. The combination of the power management is Portable/Laptop.

Edited by Agorima, 15 August 2012 - 10:15 AM.


#98
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

I have installed the Intel Speedstep, then I have uninstalled it. The combination of the power management is Portable/Laptop.

What about CPU speed/temperature with and without Speedstep at idle load?

#99
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I have returned to XP because the system was again compromised when I used this procedure.

Rename the files

Halaacpi.dll (or halmacpi.dll) to hal.dll
Ntkrnlmp.exe to ntoskrnl.exe
ntkrpamp.exe (in case of using ACPI Multiprocessor) to ntkrnlpa.exe


I'll talk about the problematic hyperthreading on my Intel Atom on a totally separate thread, which will be only CPU-related.

#100
Agorima

Agorima

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 30-June 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
My webcam works fine in Windows XP using the usbvideo.sys

How can I install it on windows 2000?
Just importing the related usbvideo.inf?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users