Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Is explorer.exe related to pagefile.sys?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Wow, it seems that I misunderstood. He might want to get rid of the ribbon completely.

Can I ask something a little off topic? Is there any relation between explorer.exe and pagefile.sys? I remember when I first installed W8, the pagefile was around 3 GB. A few days ago I happened to see it and found that it is only 524 MB! I don't know how to set it back to the default, I mean the recommended size before.

Topic split from: http://www.msfn.org/...-for-windows-8/

Edited by Tripredacus, 19 July 2012 - 08:20 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Wow, it seems that I misunderstood. He might want to get rid of the ribbon completely.

Can I ask something a little off topic? Is there any relation between explorer.exe and pagefile.sys? I remember when I first installed W8, the pagefile was around 3 GB. A few days ago I happened to see it and found that it is only 524 MB! I don't know how to set it back to the default, I mean the recommended size before.


The page file is used when the OS runs out of RAM and starts writing to the hard drive for memory instead. By default, the page file is set to 1.5x the amount of RAM you have installed (might be wrong, I've been on Linux/Mac the last few years predominantly). So if you have 2Gb installed you get a 3Gb page file. However, you can easily change your preferences such that the page file size is dynamic- you set the upper and lower bounds and then Windows will grow it as it is needed (does anyone know if this is default now in Win 8?). This sounds like what you have happening. If it's 524Mb, you're still using the page file substantially, which isn't a problem (it's the design), it does not favor perormance. I would recommend upgrading your RAM if you have anything less than 4Gb, and even then, 16Gb isn't such an extreme goal these days ;)

/endlecture

To answer your actual question, explorer.exe doesn't directly relate to the page file. But like any other running process, it executes within RAM and therefore needs memory allocated for it. If your Explorer is running Metro, aero glass, etc etc it will use more RAM than if it were running the classic interface (although a lot of windows management is handled by the DWM service). Enough to flood all of your RAM and force the OS to run half a gig of pagefile? Probably not, unless you have a seriously buggy extension on there or something. Hope this was helpful!

EDIT: Thanks to OP for the effort- when this becomes more developed it may the only reason I move past Windows 7 :D I'm one of the Metro haters...

Edited by SausageHack, 18 July 2012 - 09:40 AM.

All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#3
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Many thanks, SausageHack.

I don't look at the system files every day. When I tried Tihiy's patch, logged out and then signed in a couples of times, and I find out the pagefile.sys has changed its size, not sure when. If I hadn't put the new folder with the patch on the drive where I installed W8, I wouldn't have known about this change. I am very surprised. Any chance that W8 made this change itself?! Because I never touch this file or change anything recently.

And my computer works fine with the current RAM installed. Task Manager says usage of memory is usually around 27-28%. I just found this page and guess I can change the size of pagefile.sys:

http://helpx.adobe.c...ng-default.html

But now after reading your post, I wonder if it is necessary to set this size back. Or I should leave it as it is now? Thanks again for replying.

-----------------
Tihiy,
Sorry for asking something irrelevant here. Hope will stop it soon.
Regards.

Edit: remove the image.

Edited by Aloha, 18 July 2012 - 06:57 PM.


#4
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
By default, Windows (including Windows 8) is set to manage the size of the pagefile automatically. This works fine and is probably how yours is set if you never changed your setting, but for purpose of principal, I prefer to set mine to the recommended size after a new Windows installation, so that the PageFile doesn't get fragmented.

#5
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
RoirraW,

Thanks for the reply. Please suggest what I should put in Maximum size box.

Edit: remove the image.

Edited by Aloha, 18 July 2012 - 06:56 PM.


#6
roirraWedorehT

roirraWedorehT

    The Keeper of a lot of Useless Knowledge

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Joined 09-December 06
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I usually just double the recommended amount (the minimum), and you're welcome!

FYI I see you dual-boot 7 & 8. I've been dual-booting since XP, and I typically put my pagefile on a third partition (my "Data" partition, which is where I move all my docs, etc to), and have both Windows installations use the same size pagefile, since there's no use having two separate pagefiles taking up gigs of space.

Another possibility I've done before is to put it on a completely separate hard drive, which speeds things up technically, since then Windows files and the pagefile can both be accessed simultaneously without any performance hit.

Edited by roirraW "edor" ehT, 18 July 2012 - 11:55 AM.


#7
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Joined 07-February 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I usually just double the recommended amount (the minimum), and you're welcome!

Thanks. I don't know that we can put the pagefile somewhere else rather than on the OS drive. I decide to leave it there. Glad that now I can change its size back to the same size as before.

PS. I notice that I can call you Warrior!

------------------------
Hey Vinifera,
We are just waiting for the new patch from Tihiy.

#8
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Supervisor
  • 10,206 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Can I ask something a little off topic?


In the future, off topic posts should be made in a new thread, and definately NOT in a developer's thread.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
Posted Image

#9
vinifera

vinifera

    <°)))><

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • Joined 27-August 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
these days pagefile is useless
even Win7 auto disables it if user has SSD

some old programs still ask it but mainly if you have enough RAM (3 GB or more) you can disable it
PF only chokes HDD anyway

Edited by vinifera, 19 July 2012 - 04:39 PM.

If you want true Windows user experience
try Longhorn builds: 3718, 4029, 4066

#10
tomasz86

tomasz86

    http://windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,549 posts
  • Joined 27-November 10
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Some programs require way more RAM than 3GB (even 32-bit programs if they use multiple processes)... I personally never disable pagefile. Windows shouldn't use it anyway as long as there's enough memory available.

#11
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

these days pagefile is useless


Windows still needs it ot generate crash dumps when you have a bugcheck (BSOD)
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users