Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

BSOD after updating ATI drivers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
I installed the latest ATI Catalyst 12.6 and SB drivers and now it BSOD on booting. In Safe Mode it shows the last thing to load before BSOD is atipcie.sys.

I've managed to boot in Last Known Good configuration now but I guess I should try and fix the problems and boot into the previously working config. How do I even get back to that, as it seems if a Last Known Good boot is successful that becomes the default (now the registry shows Current=2, Default=2, Failed=1, LastKnownGood=3) so do I have to edit the registry to change Default back to 1 (and do I have to delete the Failed line or just the 1 part?)

Anyway, before that I need to fix whatever is causing atipcie.sys to cause it to BSOD on boot if anyone knows why or how to fix it?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Maybe you can find useful infos here:

AMD Catalyst™ Software Suite Version 12.6 Release Notes

Check if you need NET Framework SP1 for your OS!

Caution:
The AMD Catalyst Control Center/AMD Vision Engine Control Center requires that the Microsoft® .NET Framework SP1 be installed for Windows XP and Windows Vista. Without .NET SP1 installed, the AMD Catalyst Control Center/AMD Vision Engine Control Center will not launch properly and the user will see an error message.


Maybe you need to uinstall ATI 12.6 with Safe mode and install the working ATI previous version.
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#3
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
I think NET is only needed to open CCC and the lack of it wouldn't cause a BSOD on booting. As I mentioned, I can't boot in Safe Mode as that BSOD on booting as well.

I think the problem (atipcie.sys) might be with the SB drivers rather than the video driver

#4
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You can try to start your computer and if you see the BSOD, just wait and after some time Windows may start!

Which OS do you have installed?

Tool to repair (not tested):
Fix Blue Screen Of Death in 2 Minutes

Resolving stop (blue screen) errors in Windows 7

Edited by myselfidem, 05 August 2012 - 04:32 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#5
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
I've never seen Windows start after a BSOD error when booting!

I'm using Win7 x64. I don't think I'll be using that (untested) tool. As I can boot in LKG I can probably just disable the dodgy driver from loading in ControlSet001 once I'm sure what to disable.

#6
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I've never seen Windows start after a BSOD error when booting!

I see Windows may start only if you see at the bottom of the BSOD an increasing number (like 60-90-120) and the computer restart and Windows boot!
Happens to me many times with Windows XP.

Maybe that can help you also:
Watch the video
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#7
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,056 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

is this your BIOStar or Gigabyte board? Try to disable the onboard GPU on the Biostar. Mabe this helps.
Posted Image

#8
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
It's my Gigabyte http://www.gigabyte.....aspx?pid=3004#

I've already got the onboard GPU disabled and have a 6850 card in there.

#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,463 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I see Windows may start only if you see at the bottom of the BSOD an increasing number (like 60-90-120) and the computer restart and Windows boot!
Happens to me many times with Windows XP.

Though it would not be the first time that the good MS guys misname things, a BSOD is actually a way to show you a STOP ERROR, and after a STOP, the computer is HALTed. ;)
I have never seen in my whole life a PC with a NT based system "revive" and start after a BSOD, and I would be interested if you could expand on your experience.

@doveman
BSOD means "nothing" it's the STOP ERROR number that may give some hint on the cause.
Having last driver loaded being atipcie.sys as well says "nothing", that is the last driver loaded (and the failure is usually on the NEXT one that is not listed as it is not loaded, as it actually fails while loading and before anything is written to screen) :ph34r:

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 05 August 2012 - 06:01 AM.


#10
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
OK, I'll note the STOP ERROR next time I try it.

Am I right about needing to edit the registry to change Default back to 1 and deleting the Failed line to boot into the faulty ControlSet again or is there a better/more correct way?

#11
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,463 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Am I right about needing to edit the registry to change Default back to 1 and deleting the Failed line to boot into the faulty ControlSet again or is there a better/more correct way?

Leave the Registry alone.
Do make a backup of it "as is" using ERUNT and leave it "as is", if you edit incorrectly the configurations set you may get an unbootable system.
Once thing are fixed, we will talk of resetting the Registry.

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 05 August 2012 - 07:04 AM.


#12
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05

Leave the Registry alone.
Do make a backup of it "as is" using ERUNT and leave it "as is", if you edit incorrectly the configurations set you may get an unbootable system.
Once thing are fixed, we will talk of resetting the Registry.

jaclaz


All very well but then I can't boot into the faulty ControlSet and check the STOP ERROR message.

#13
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,463 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

All very well but then I can't boot into the faulty ControlSet and check the STOP ERROR message.

Well, if you reinstall the stupid driver and it is actually the culprit, you will be again in the same situation.... :whistle:

jaclaz

#14
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I found on a french forum a guy solving the problem removing and replacing the memory modules (RAM)!
And after Windows start fine...But of course you need to remove the bad driver.

http://www.inforumat...dump-t9529.html

Edited by myselfidem, 05 August 2012 - 09:10 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#15
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05


All very well but then I can't boot into the faulty ControlSet and check the STOP ERROR message.

Well, if you reinstall the stupid driver and it is actually the culprit, you will be again in the same situation.... :whistle:

jaclaz


Yeah, I'd rather not mess up ANOTHER ControlSet, as at least I can use this one (2) in the meantime whilst I try and find out what went wrong with the other one (1).

#16
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Check if you can use:

BlueScreenView v1.45 - View BSOD (blue screen) crash information stored in dump files

http://blog.nirsoft....-files-on-bsod/

Edited by myselfidem, 05 August 2012 - 09:30 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#17
John305

John305

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 26-April 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi well older cards get nothing from new drivers to start with. Also on every driver release from ATI or Nvidia they have release notes I suggest reading them if they contain nothing for your card then dont update the 12.6 was really ment to fix problems with the 7000 series. If in reading these release notes there is something for your card but you dont have that problem dont update it example they put out a fix in the driver for people that the game wow crashes, if you play wow and it does not crash why update it. The crash is caused by certain configurations in hardware if you dont have that you dont need the fix. Most people update to the new drivers just to say they have them although they do no good for there cards or make them run worse.

Edited by John305, 05 August 2012 - 10:26 AM.


#18
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05

Check if you can use:

BlueScreenView v1.45 - View BSOD (blue screen) crash information stored in dump files

http://blog.nirsoft....-files-on-bsod/


Thanks, I'll see if it made a dump when it crashed and if so, hopefully that tool will show the STOP ERROR.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users