Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

WinPE 4 load screen - no progress indicator

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
uc4d

uc4d
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 09-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum and going to post my first query here.
Recently, I got a copy of ADK and installed it to create WinPE 4.0 image.

after creating the image, I booted a machine with it and noticed that it doesn't display any progress bars as it used to show in earlier versions of WinPE (even WinPE created in ADK of Windows 8 Develop Preview edition was showing a progress bar with "Loading Files" text.

It simply shows a big "Windows" text in the center of the screen and nothing else.

Is there a way to show progress bars while WinPE 4 is loading?

Thanks for your help in advance,


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,006 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

There should be a rotating ball type animation below the logo... Here is an example:
http://www.techfeb.c...r-windows-7.png
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#3
rob4dance

rob4dance
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 02-December 07
The 1st time I created my WinPE 4.0 & boot in uefi mode I had the balls & no progress bar.
Booting in bios mode I didn't get a progress bar but got the small bar that moves across like when windows is loading.

By default all the languages where copied over too. I deleted them all & some other files I thought weren't needed.
Now I can boot in bios & uefi mode and only get the progress bar at the bottom of the screen!

#4
uc4d

uc4d
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 09-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for your replies..

I will give it a try to see if it shows a progress bar.

Edited by uc4d, 13 August 2012 - 01:23 AM.


#5
uc4d

uc4d
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 09-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I recently downloaded updated ADK (I think that is RTM version) and re-created WinPE ISO.
It is still not showing the progress bar (bar with text "Loading files"). It just shows new Windows logo and nothing else.
I think that is real frustrating when the WinPE is being loaded using virtual cards (like HP iLO) where it takes around 4-5 minutes (even more) to load it and there is no indicator to show how much the WinPE is loaded.

. In this new WinPE, it just shows an animated circle, nothing else.

I recall, in ADK of Developer Preview, it was showing "Loading Files" along with a progress bar to show how much it has loaded.
I am wondering if there is a way to show that progress bar?

#6
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,253 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've only ever seen that when PXE booting the boot.wim, but it quickly changes to the spinning orb with the Windows logo. I know how to turn it OFF, but not how to change it back.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#7
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,006 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

Is there a way to show progress bars while WinPE 4 is loading?

Use legacy boot menu.

bcdedit.exe /store U:\Boot\bcd /set {default} bootmenupolicy legacy


#8
uc4d

uc4d
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 09-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
fantastic! this command did the trick for me.. this is what I was looking for.
thanks a lot cdob!

do you know if legacy option has any performance problems compared to the standard setting (in terms of loading time)?

#9
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,006 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

do you know if legacy option has any performance problems compared to the standard setting (in terms of loading time)?

I get the same boot times. No, I doubt any performance problems.
Setting seems to relate to user interface only.

In addition: a default BCD

bcdedit /store f:\Boot\BCD
identifier {default}
bootmenupolicy Standard

BCD bootmenupolicy is set to "Standard" by default.

Delete value
bcdedit.exe /store U:\Boot\bcd /deletevalue {default} bootmenupolicy
Windows 8 bootmgr shows a progress bar still.
bootmgr internal "Standard" is to show a progress bar.

The new bootmenupolicy may force new behaviour: no progress bar

#10
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,818 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It seems like "standard" somehow "initiating" or "forcing" bootux.dll during booting:
http://www.boyans.ne...MenuPolicy.html

Also, in a "dual boot" 7/8 environment it seems like it has a "bad" side effect:
http://www.sevenforu...-boot-menu.html

I would dare to call it "new non-standard" as opposed to "standard".... :whistle:

Or, on the other hand, it is interesting how Windows 7 is ALREADY considered "legacy" ;).


jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users