Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Deleted


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,696 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Original topic:
http://www.msfn.org/...-for-windows-8/

Documentation points out that this is supposed to be used in conjunction with the PID.txt.... so you say that if you just use the EI.cfg and not a PID.txt, it will install normally? I wonder where it gets the product key from then?

More info on Technet:
http://technet.micro...y/hh824952.aspx
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Toolâ„¢ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,032 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It would seem that microsoft is applying the pid to the image, ala DISM command. I noticed it on W2012 server when it didn't prompt for one, guess I will have to test this out on my 8x86.

Edited by MrJinje, 17 August 2012 - 08:47 PM.


#3
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,696 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Core=FB4WR-32NVD-4RW79-XQFWH-CYQG3


Core huh... I've seen that before but didn't bother with it. Is "Core" and internal name for the non-suffixed Windows 8 release? I wonder why they didn't put a suffix on the "Home Premium" type version, and why they use the "Core" term which is used differently in their Server line... :unsure:
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#4
Shane

Shane

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
How long do you get between rearms if you use this method, and how many rearms does it give you?

i7-2700k @ 4.8 GHZ | Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme-Z Z68 Board | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600mhz | 3GB PowerColor TurboDuo AMD Radeon R9 280X | 128GB OCZ Vector Boot SSD | Logitech Z506 Speakers | LG IPS224V 1080P IPS Monitor | Silverstone Olympia SST OP-1000 1KW PSU


#5
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,696 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

How long do you get between rearms if you use this method, and how many rearms does it give you?


The re-arm setting is deprecated. I can't find it on TechNet yet, but the ADK says that it was removed from Windows 8, yet to use a different one... which only mentions Vista and Windows 7.

Sooooo I actually don't know whether or not you can use it in Windows 8 or not. :unsure:
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#6
Shane

Shane

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64


How long do you get between rearms if you use this method, and how many rearms does it give you?


The re-arm setting is deprecated. I can't find it on TechNet yet, but the ADK says that it was removed from Windows 8, yet to use a different one... which only mentions Vista and Windows 7.

Sooooo I actually don't know whether or not you can use it in Windows 8 or not. :unsure:


I see, so once your 30 days runs out you lose functionality, like you used to?

i7-2700k @ 4.8 GHZ | Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme-Z Z68 Board | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600mhz | 3GB PowerColor TurboDuo AMD Radeon R9 280X | 128GB OCZ Vector Boot SSD | Logitech Z506 Speakers | LG IPS224V 1080P IPS Monitor | Silverstone Olympia SST OP-1000 1KW PSU


#7
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Ace1,
I'm going to install W8 RTM and I will try your guide on post 1. Thanks for sharing it.

#8
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,696 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator



How long do you get between rearms if you use this method, and how many rearms does it give you?


The re-arm setting is deprecated. I can't find it on TechNet yet, but the ADK says that it was removed from Windows 8, yet to use a different one... which only mentions Vista and Windows 7.

Sooooo I actually don't know whether or not you can use it in Windows 8 or not. :unsure:


I see, so once your 30 days runs out you lose functionality, like you used to?


For testing sake, I set my install ahead a couple years. The only thing I get is a reminder every few hours to activate. Then again, I'm still in audit mode so I don't know if it gets more aggressive in non-setup mode. :unsure:
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#9
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It doesn't work. When I installed Windows it still asked for a product key. Is it because I ran the setup directly on the hard disk? I had to type in the key on post 3 so that I could install W8 RTM.

#10
Aloha

Aloha

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ace1,
I've just checked. It's a .cfg file but the content is different! It says:

[Channel]
Retail

I misunderstood post 1 and replaced _Default with Retail in the command! What a silly mistake! I just fixed it but it doesn't make any sense now because I've already installed W8 RTM with the pro key on post 3. I am using W8 RP now. Sorry for saying it doesn't work!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN