Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

nLite puzzle

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello. This is a long story, but it gets you to where I am right now.

On my main pc, a Dell Precision 490, I am currently running Win 7 Ult x64. 2 1TB HDs, 6 GB ram. Since the wife likes XP much better, I acquired XP Pro x64. While trying to install it the other day, I discovered it did not have SATA drivers, and, at that point, I was not aware I could turn SATA off in the BIOS. Anyway, after looking around, I found that I could slipstream the drivers using nLite. I went through the instructions, and it completed fine. I even downloaded SP2 and slipstreamed that, and it seemed to work fine, too.

Now before I erased my Win 7, I wanted to make sure that slipstreaming worked. So today at work, I slipstreamed the cdkey into a Win XP sp2 cd that we have here.It seemed to take, so I tried to test it in VMWare player. Everything went fine until it got to the point whre a cd key would be entered. The blocks were blank. I thought I had doen something wrong, so I looked for instructions on the web, made a new iso and tried it again. Same result. Verified that the cdkey is in the WINNT.SIF file.

I am now wondering if the sata drivers and SP2 actually went into the x64 iso I made at home.

Is there a trick to this? The Windows XP cd I used for the files is SP2 VLK.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,763 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The Windows XP cd I used for the files is SP2 VLK.


VLK media is typically only available in the Enterprise Channel... I'm not sure if you will get help about this. :unsure:

Either way, most times you need to attach your lastsession.ini to get help with nLite.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


The Windows XP cd I used for the files is SP2 VLK.


VLK media is typically only available in the Enterprise Channel... I'm not sure if you will get help about this. :unsure:

Either way, most times you need to attach your lastsession.ini to get help with nLite.


Here is the attachment.

#4
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


The Windows XP cd I used for the files is SP2 VLK.


VLK media is typically only available in the Enterprise Channel... I'm not sure if you will get help about this. :unsure:

Either way, most times you need to attach your lastsession.ini to get help with nLite.


Here is the attachment. I stopped the installation at the point where it asked for the cdkey.

Attached Files


Edited by poodle78, 05 September 2012 - 10:08 AM.


#5
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,258 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
1 - Don't nLite in Win7 - failure is known to occur - install XP in a VM and nLite within it
2 - nLite from Original Source (untouched) every single time
3 - Why SP2? Get and use SP3
4 - nLite - use "Unattended" selection - CD-Key inserted into [UserData] Section
5 - True - VL versions are not available to the general public (and generally irrelevant except in certain "quirks")
6 - Yep! Need that INI (says so right at the TOP)
--- Key NOT inside THAT one (note the filename and instructions above - NOT PASTE)
On that note (#5 and above post) if its a "bogus"
* (a - "hacked" warez / b - pre-modded/slipped warez / c- nLited warez / d - "stolen" warez)
one you'll get no further help...
MSDN Image (subscription), Purchased OEM/Retail CD, OEM-Provided CD, or OEM HDD I386-Source (Recovery) are the basic legitimate/legal sources.

HTH

edit - AH! Posted already...

Edited by submix8c, 05 September 2012 - 10:09 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#6
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,258 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
?
For funsies, I used yours w/XP-SP2, added additional User-ID/autologon, provided a key (both items are in another INI), and see absolutely nothing wrong. Heck, the original INI looked good... Only difference was the dotNet version and the OS that I ran on...

Not an "original" source?

(edit - DANG IT! I made an additional post... AGAIN!)

edit2 - DOH!

x64 iso

(see below...)

Edited by submix8c, 05 September 2012 - 11:40 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#7
5eraph

5eraph

    Update Packrat

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,149 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

3 - Why SP2? Get and use SP3

XPx64 was built from 2003 SP1 code, so no SP3 exists for it. SP2 for Win2003 is roughly equivalent to SP3 for XPx86. (They were released in 2007 and 2008, respectively.)

And you should specify whether your test was for XPx86 or XPx64 for the same reason: different code base.

Edited by 5eraph, 05 September 2012 - 11:39 AM.


#8
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

3 - Why SP2? Get and use SP3

XPx64 was built from 2003 SP1 code, so no SP3 exists for it. SP2 for Win2003 is roughly equivalent to SP3 for XPx86. (They were released in 2007 and 2008, respectively.)

And you should specify whether your test was for XPx86 or XPx64 for the same reason: different code base.


The test I made here at work was on 32-bit Windows XP; however, I did the same thing on my pc at home with 64-bit xp, and got the same result - no entered cdkey. However, this was done on Windows 7.

Now, I should say that the reason I did this test with the cdkey at work is that that is the only slipstream test I can do here. I really couldn't try and slipstream SP3. Our bandwidth is so low, downloading SP3 would take a long time, and slow everyone else down, too. I only wanted to see if slipstreaming would work. What I want to do at home is to make sure that the sata drivers and the SP2 loaded into my x64 installation. Right now, I don't have much confidence that they did.

#9
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,258 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, it's all getting confusing...

As stated, there is no SP3 for XP 64-bit. It shouldn't matter whether you run nLite on x86 or x64 as long as you run it on less-than-Win7 (sp1 seems to be the most error-prone culprit?).

I just retested on an x86 OS (not-Win7) against an XP 64-bit w/SP2 and got the same results (WINNT.SIF looks ok).

Really silly question... are you running this from BOOT TO CD (WINNT.EXE) or are you running it from a Windows OS (WINNT32.EXE)? If the latter, the WINNT.SIF won't be "picked up". You need to run the WINNT32.EXE from a Command Prompt and specify the "WINNT.SIF" for the Unattended (ref. UNATTEND.TXT).

Reference this thread.

edit - AND... don't know if this is true or not...

In order to install the x64 versions using Winnt32.exe, you have to boot from a 64-bit environment


Edited by submix8c, 05 September 2012 - 12:17 PM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#10
5eraph

5eraph

    Update Packrat

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,149 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I wanted to make sure that slipstreaming worked. So today at work, I slipstreamed the cdkey into a Win XP sp2 cd that we have here.It seemed to take, so I tried to test it in VMWare player. Everything went fine until it got to the point whre a cd key would be entered. The blocks were blank.

Are you sure you're using the correct CD key? The key for XPx64 you have at home will not be accepted in the copy of XPx86 you're testing at work.

I am now wondering if the sata drivers and SP2 actually went into the x64 iso I made at home.

You can test for service pack level by installing it in a virtual machine then typing "WinVer" in a Run box or at a CMD prompt. But the only way to test whether the drivers are slipstreamed or not is to install it on the bare hardware. Virtual machines do not simulate the real hardware of the host, so testing must be done directly on the host hardware--preferably with a spare hard drive to preserve the original OS installation until testing is complete.

Really silly question... are you running this from BOOT TO CD (WINNT.EXE) or are you running it from a Windows OS (WINNT32.EXE)?

WINNT.EXE does not exist on an XPx64 or 2003x64 source. WINNT32.EXE does. That said, WINNT32.EXE adds a whole level of complexity not necessary for home deployment, in my opinion. And isn't feasible without WinPE if you're testing by installing to a spare hard drive anyway.

Edited by 5eraph, 05 September 2012 - 01:10 PM.


#11
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,258 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

WINNT.EXE does not exist on an XPx64 or 2003x64 source.

Silly me... :blushing: Guess I need to start digging...

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#12
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,264 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Why not simply start install process up to the partition choice ? If the partitions appear, the disk is seen correctly, the drivers are in.
As for your key, it might indeed be rejected if you ran nLite under Win7, this is a known (unpatched) bug. Does the key appear in the "Last session_u.ini" (don't post that here) ?

#13
5eraph

5eraph

    Update Packrat

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,149 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Good test suggestion, Ponch. :)

However, the CD key issue is not strictly an nLite problem. It occurs from the command line also and is not limited to Win7. But it does seem to be limited to XPx86 SP3 sources--not XPx64 SP2.

Edited by 5eraph, 06 September 2012 - 01:04 AM.


#14
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,258 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

But it does seem to be limited to XPx86 SP3 sources--not XPx64 SP2.

Have a baaaad feeling this may apply anyway since its based on Server 2k3 code (which may also have the problem - untested).

SRV2K3 SP2 = 2007
XP X64 SP2 = 2007
XP x86 SP3 = 2008

side note - dug a little - makes somewhat sense now (cd-boot->setupldr.bin->winnt.sif)

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#15
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Why not simply start install process up to the partition choice ? If the partitions appear, the disk is seen correctly, the drivers are in.
As for your key, it might indeed be rejected if you ran nLite under Win7, this is a known (unpatched) bug. Does the key appear in the "Last session_u.ini" (don't post that here) ?


yes, it does.

#16
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Good test suggestion, Ponch. :)

However, the CD key issue is not strictly an nLite problem. It occurs from the command line also and is not limited to Win7. But it does seem to be limited to XPx86 SP3 sources--not XPx64 SP2.


That might be the case for my home pc, although I still don't understand why the key is not being displayed. It's not just being rejected as being invalid - it's not being displayed. However, this would not be the case at my work pc. I am running Win XP sp3 32-bit, and using the same cd (although it is sp2) to test slipstreaming the cd-key to an unattended installation (and using the same cd-key, a VLK, to do it).

It does appear that sp2 successfully integrated into the x64 installation I am trying to make. Now if the sata drivers work, I'm in business. I really don't absolutely have to have the cd-key integrated, I just saw that that was possible, and I wonder why it isn't working for me.

#17
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,264 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
From what I remember it is the integration of SP3 under Win7 that blocks the key functionnality. So you can say it is not an nLite bug but it is still a bug "with" nLite (I'm not discussing whether the author could have fixed it or not at the time SP3 or Vista came out). Also whether integrating SP3 manually from an elevated command prompt solves the problem or not (as I think I remember I read that somewhere), I never checked it.

#18
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,258 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Really silly question... are you running this from with BIOS BOOT TO FROM CD (WINNT.EXE) or are you running it from a Windows OS (WINNT32.EXE)? If the latter, the WINNT.SIF won't be "picked up". You need to run the WINNT32.EXE from a Command Prompt and specify the "WINNT.SIF" for the Unattended (ref. UNATTEND.TXT).

Will test "slip"/Install SP2 shortly... This "problem" makes no sense. You DID slip the x64 SP2 "Full", right? I just don't understand how the WINNT.SIF can be ignored from CD-Boot (it's right there in El-Torito Boot Image->SETUPLDR.BIN).

Also please note the other post I made. x64 SP2 is more-or-less equivalent (slightly precedes) to x86 SP3 and coincides with the linked-to MS article.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#19
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,792 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I remember this issue when vista first came out.

SOMEHOW, when you slipstream a xp era SP it uses the pidgen.dll (Don't quote me on the name) file from the running OS and wreaks all sorts of havok.

Thusly the key will not be recognizable to the XP os when installing.

http://www.msfn.org/...__1#entry748051

http://www.msfn.org/...__1#entry759191

http://www.msfn.org/...__1#entry759853

http://www.msfn.org/...__1#entry763526

EDIT = THE OFFICIAL MS Bulletin on this:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950722

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 06 September 2012 - 08:40 AM.


#20
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,797 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So, as has been said several times in this thread, and echoed in the most recent link Kel posted, if the OP slipped SP2 while in Win7, that very likely could have caused his problem. The integration will appear to have succeeded, but the product key will not be accepted when the OS is actually installed. To eliminate this possibility, the integration, and any use of nLite, needs to occur under XP, either within a VM or on an actual XP install. The OP might want to try this and see if it indeed solves all his current problems.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#21
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

So, as has been said several times in this thread, and echoed in the most recent link Kel posted, if the OP slipped SP2 while in Win7, that very likely could have caused his problem. The integration will appear to have succeeded, but the product key will not be accepted when the OS is actually installed. To eliminate this possibility, the integration, and any use of nLite, needs to occur under XP, either within a VM or on an actual XP install. The OP might want to try this and see if it indeed solves all his current problems.

Cheers and Regards


I think I need to clear something up...

1. I tried this on two different PCs
2. It was two entirely different slipstream attempts, using two entirely different Windows XP CDs.
3. One (at home on a PC running Windows 7) was with Windows XP Pro x64.
4. The second was at work on a PC running Windows XP Pro SP3 x86 and done with the same XP SP2 cd that was used to install Windows on this machine.
5. Both were tested in VMWare Player.
6. Neither showed that the CD key had been entered.

fwiw, I did a real install of the XP x64 last night at home. The SP2 slipstreamed, the sata drivers did not. I think I may have put in the wrong drivers. I had downloaded f6flpy3286.zip (I saw this in a tutorial) and slipped that driver into the installation, but it did not work. I found out what they are (made sure with Belarc), but in all honesty I can't find them anywhere. They do not seem to be on the Dell website. So I was checking out the installation with sata turned off in the bios.

Fortunately, I had an image backup of my Windows 7, made with Macrium Reflect. This morning, I restored back. The little woman will just have to get used to 7.

#22
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,792 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
f6flpy3286.zip <--- 32bit i.e. x86 architecture...

Attach (Not paste) your winnt.sif file, it is in the I386 dir.

Remove your serial.

The drivers ARE on the dell site...

I ripped them and attached them here for you.

Attached Files


Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 07 September 2012 - 05:47 AM.


#23
poodle78

poodle78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

f6flpy3286.zip <--- 32bit i.e. x86 architecture...

Attach (Not paste) your winnt.sif file, it is in the I386 dir.

Remove your serial.

The drivers ARE on the dell site...

I ripped them and attached them here for you.


Duh...I should have been able to see that they were x86 drivers; in my defense, this was the first time I had tried this. But onward...

Where did you find the Dell drivers? If I put in my service tag #, only 12 things show up, but if I look at Precision 490s in general, 83 things show up. I selected sata, not SAS, and 3 urgent downloads were there. I tried all three of them. 2 of them didn't work, and the other told me it was not for my hardware.

I will attach the sif file for the x64 try when I get home.

I just tried the one at work again, with an entirely new attempt at inputting the cd key for a fully unattended install. Same thing, the cd key does not appear. Attached is the sif.

Thanks.

Attached Files



#24
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,792 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Here is the BASE need winnt.sif file I use.

Please add your key and try it. (Just to rule out any thing nLite + WinXP 64-wise.

;SetupMgrTag 
[Data] 
    AutoPartition=0 
    MsDosInitiated="0" 
    UnattendedInstall="Yes" 
 
[Unattended] 
    UnattendMode=DefaultHide 
    OemSkipEula=Yes 
    OemPreinstall=no 
    TargetPath=\WINDOWS 
 
[UserData] 
    ProductKey=*****_*****_*****_*****_*****
    FullName="" 
    OrgName="" 
 
[Identification] 
    JoinWorkgroup=WORKGROUP 
 
[Networking] 
    InstallDefaultComponents=Yes
    
[Components]
    msmsgs=off
    msnexplr=off

Dell drivers page. http://www.dell.com/.../us/en/19/Index

#25
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,797 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

3. One (at home on a PC running Windows 7) was with Windows XP Pro x64.
4. The second was at work on a PC running Windows XP Pro SP3 x86 and done with the same XP SP2 cd that was used to install Windows on this machine.


(3) Unlikely to work as stated above.
(4) If the XP SP2 CD is x64 while the PC is "running Windows XP Pro SP3 x86" this is also unlikely to work. If the XP SP2 CD is x86 then hopefully Kel's example winnt.sif will help shed some light on the problem.

Sorry if I have misunderstood anything.

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN