Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Run diskpart before install


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
AlexCeed

AlexCeed

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 11-April 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm using an unattended sheet in order to install windows 8. I'm fairly new in unattended procedures ans was wondering if I could integrate in my sheet a way to launch a batch in order to create partitions.

Here is my unattended sheet:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> 
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend"> 
    <settings pass="windowsPE"> 
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"> 
            <UserData> 
                <ProductKey> 
                    <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI> 
                    <Key></Key> 
                </ProductKey> 
                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula> 
                <FullName></FullName> 
                <Organization></Organization> 
            </UserData> 
        </component> 
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"> 
            <SetupUILanguage> 
                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage> 
            </SetupUILanguage> 
            <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale> 
            <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale> 
            <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale> 
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage> 
        </component> 
    </settings> 
    <settings pass="specialize"> 
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"> 
            <ComputerName></ComputerName> 
            <RegisteredOwner></RegisteredOwner> 
            <RegisteredOrganization></RegisteredOrganization> 
        </component> 
    </settings> 
    <settings pass="oobeSystem"> 
        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"> 
            <OOBE> 
                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage> 
                <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation> 
                <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC> 
            </OOBE> 
            <TimeZone>GTB Standard Time</TimeZone>
        </component> 
    </settings> 
</unattend>

Is it possible to do it this way?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,005 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Windows Setup can do it. No need for diskpart. Not sure if Setup uses Diskpart or what. Here is an example of an MBR setup:
http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__944807

If you are doing an EFI deployment, I can find that too.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#3
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Toolâ„¢ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag
Or in case the built in disk configuration is not granular enough for your needs, can easily launch a batch during the windowsPE pass by using a RunSynchronous command. Greater details can be found inside your unattend.chm from the W8 ADK.

Microsoft-Windows-Setup | RunSynchronous


<RunSynchronous>
   <!-- First synchronous command to execute -->
   <RunSynchronousCommand>
      <Order>1</Order>
      <Path>\\MyNetworkShare\MyApplication.bat</Path>
      <Description>DescriptionOfMyApplication</Description>
      <Credentials>
         <Domain>FabrikamDomain</Domain>
         <UserName>MyUserName</UserName>
         <Password>MyPassword</Password>
      </Credentials>
   </RunSynchronousCommand>
<!-- Second synchronous command to execute -->
   <RunSynchronousCommand>
      <Order>2</Order>
      <Path>C:\AnotherApplication.cmd</Path>
      <Description>DescriptionOfMyApplication</Description>
   </RunSynchronousCommand>
</RunSynchronous>

Edited by MrJinje, 10 September 2012 - 10:37 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users