Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 98se fresh install software install error PCMCIA card

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello I have done a fresh install of windows 98se formatted before install took me over a hour

I have a dell latitude csx 312mb ram piii 40gb laptop


I purchased the belkin wireless g mimo link here. http://www.belkin.co...5D9010au_PB.pdf




The problem is getting the PCMCIA card to work as it results in error. Please see jpeg below of the resulting error from the cd rom software from . I can not even download the drivers as my USB sticks won't work as plug and play on windows 98 se it keeps asking for a driver . I have no Internet access to even get to the belkin drivers and software to download on line The link to the software drivers I need is here

http://en-us-support...-card---drivers




Posted Image




Posted Image


Posted Image





Please could you help me as I need this laptop for my brother to use for his college work and research but without getting him online there's no use . I also tried connecting wired by selecting obtain address automatically in network setting then restart still no joy


If you can please lend me a hand I would be happy

Edited by Rosewood, 17 September 2012 - 11:20 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,577 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Let me understand, if I get it right you have THREE "subsystems" that are not working properly:
  • PCMCIA+Wireless Network
  • USB
  • Wired Network
listed in order of DEcreasing difficulty to solve.

If I were you I would FORGET (temporarily) the PCMCIA + Wireless and the USB, and try to have the wired network working, then with that working solve the USB issue and with the USB working troubleshoot the PCMCIA (it is not entirely impossible that actually a conflict of some kind exists between USB and PCMCIA).

BUT is this the machine?
http://support.ap.de...en_ug/specs.htm
it seems like it has not a network card (wired). :unsure:
Can you clarify/explain/expand?

BTW, JFYI - and to be picky :ph34r: - it is not about "proper" PCMCIA, but rather about CardBus
http://www.msfn.org/...ld-dell-laptop/


jaclaz

#3
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
You are absolutely right sir

That is indeed the machine same link as yours above http://support.ap.de...en_ug/specs.htm


It also does not have wired card as standard but I did get a 3com Ethernet card this one here
http://www.ebay.co.u...A-/390422311543


Yes to all three Statments below

Let me understand, if I get it right you have THREE "subsystems" that are not working properly:
PCMCIA+Wireless Network
USB
Wired Network


Yes I would like to try this idea let's do it your way


listed in order of DEcreasing difficulty to solve.

If I were you I would FORGET (temporarily) the PCMCIA + Wireless and the USB, and try to have the wired network working, then with that working solve the USB issue and with the USB working troubleshoot the PCMCIA (it is not entirely impossible that actually a conflict of some kind exists between USB and PCMCIA).



I would like to go this route as suggested by you



So can you get me online wired then? Can you tell me how to get online wired please. Can you guide me through the way you suggested

Edited by Rosewood, 17 September 2012 - 01:13 PM.


#4
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,577 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

So can you get me online wired then? Can you tell me how to get online wired please. Can you guide me through the way you suggested

Start doing the standard checks, remember that that Dell PCMCIA card is 10 base-T, whilst your network is most probably a 100 Base-T, you have to check if the setting in your Router/Modem/whatever are set to "auto" or you have to manually set them to 10 base-T.
IMHO it would be easier if you would configure manually the TCP/IP address and subnet instead of relying to the DHCP you have (IF you have one).

Go here:
http://www.windowsne...Windows_9598ME/

and check the relevant tutorials, usually if there is an issue with networking, the solution can be found there.
Start from this one:
http://www.windowsne...ials/win98.html

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 17 September 2012 - 01:24 PM.


#5
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag



So can you get me online wired then? Can you tell me how to get online wired please. Can you guide me through the way you suggested

Start doing the standard checks, remember that that Dell PCMCIA card is 10 base-T, whilst your network is most probably a 100 Base-T, you have to check if the setting in your Router/Modem/whatever are set to "auto" or you have to manually set them to 10 base-T.
IMHO it would be easier if you would configure manually the TCP/IP address and subnet instead of relying to the DHCP you have (IF you have one).

Go here:
http://www.windowsne...Windows_9598ME/

and check the relevant tutorials, usually if there is an issue with networking, the solution can be found there.
Start from this one:
http://www.windowsne...ials/win98.html

jaclaz



Ok great thanks I will read up now.

How would you even find out if it is 100 base t network my router is set on?

Edited by Rosewood, 18 September 2012 - 06:04 AM.


#6
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
-

Edited by Rosewood, 18 September 2012 - 06:06 AM.


#7
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,577 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

How would you even find out if it is 100 base t network my router is set on?

Start by describing (briefly) your current network setup. (which hardware you have and more than that which subnet and subnet mask are you using).
Most "standard" devices (I am talking of DSL modem/routers) tend to use:
192.168.1.1
255.255.255.0
The built-in DHCP server (if any) will then normally assign addresses in the range 192.168.1.2 up to 192.168.1.254.

Simply open a command prompt in one of the other computers you have connected to your network and in it type:
ipconfig /all
and press [ENTER]
it will give the address of that machine and the subnet mask (besides the address of the gateway, i.e. your modem/router).

If you have (say) 5 PC's in your network and the address of the one you check the DHCP assigned IP is (say) 192.168.1.18 try assigning that IP + or - 5+1=6, i.e. 192.168.1.12 or 192.168.1.24 to that Dell laptop. (this way we are relatively sure that there is no duplicate IP on the network).
Then, simply try PINGing the gateway and/or the other computer of which you know the address from the Dell laptop.

So do I I also select 3com ether link III ELISA 3c579

Sorry I don't understand what you mean, you need to provide more details...

jaclaz

#8
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi jaclaz. Thank you for trying to help me

I'm sorry if I am being difficult please bear with me I am a very beginner at any kind of technology. Please bear with me I know you are helping me and maybe I am such a beginner I'm finding it difficult . I apologise for this:

But as far as this is going let me tell you what I have tried and what stage I am at the moment

I have a dell 3com fast Ethernet card. This one Posted Image

I also have a wireless PCMCIA card from belkin Posted Image.


But as you said deal with the wired first


To start I read through the two tutorials you have given me and the steps I followed are in my pictures below

I had interested the 3com ethernet card into the slot of the PCMCIA card and started the windows 98 dell laptop

I am now greeted with this screen I followed to steps but it's not finding the driver and I don have the driver cd for the 3com Ethernet card



Posted Image

Posted Image


Posted Image

Posted Image


Posted Image


Posted Image



After this I went manually to add hardware By following the tutorial you linked above I am now at this stage

Posted Image



Then add choose adapter

Posted Image


Now I am at this screen and I choose 3com as manufacture. But do not know which one to choose on the right hand side there is so many 3com network adapters listed in the windows list lease see picture below
Posted Image


As a reply to which subnet or subnet mask I don't know. I'm just using a net gear router from my Internet provider



can you please advised what I should do. I mean am I doing the setup correctly to get Ethernet working ? Please let me know if I am doing things wrong

Edited by Rosewood, 18 September 2012 - 06:09 AM.


#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,577 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi jaclaz. Thank you for trying to help me

I'm sorry if I am being difficult please bear with me I am a very beginner at any kind of technology. Please bear with me I know you are helping me and maybe I am such a beginner I'm finding it difficult . I apologise for this:

No prob, everyone has been a beginner at least once and at somethng :).
The good news is that the 3Com card is working (in the sense that is detected correctly by Windows 98).
So you need to find the drivers for it (and since the only working media you have is the CD-ROM you will have to put them on a CD-rom), or has it a floppy drive?

Check the physical card for any number, the one you posted a link on e-bay is NOT the same as the picture you just posted (this latter seems a CARD BUS card, see the golden strip, which is more likely since the card is detected as being PCI)

Check if the one you have is like this one:
http://www.ebay.com/...=item2c67946d66

IF it is this one, the driver should be this one:
http://support.gatew...r&uid=354825832

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 18 September 2012 - 06:12 AM.


#10
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


Hi jaclaz. Thank you for trying to help me

I'm sorry if I am being difficult please bear with me I am a very beginner at any kind of technology. Please bear with me I know you are helping me and maybe I am such a beginner I'm finding it difficult . I apologise for this:

No prob, everyone has been a beginner at least once and at somethng :).
The good news is that the 3Com card is working (in the sense that is detected correctly by Windows 98).
So you need to find the drivers for it (and since the only working media you have is the CD-ROM you will have to put them on a CD-rom), or has it a floppy drive?

Check the physical card for any number, the one you posted a link on e-bay is NOT the same as the picture you just posted (this latter seems a CARD BUS card, see the golden strip, which is more likely since the card is detected as being PCI)

Check if the one you have is like this one:
http://www.ebay.com/...=item2c67946d66

IF it is this one, the driver should be this one:
http://support.gatew...r&uid=354825832

jaclaz



Yep only have a cr rom drive no floppy

Ok so it's a cardbus card rather than a PCMCIA card oh right

The model number is 3CCFE575CT-D. I'm going to try and search the drivers Im not sure that the link you gave me this one
url="http://support.gatew...ard (3ccfe575bt)%20driver&uid=354825832"]http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/getfile.asp?id=13664&dscr=3com%20megahertz%2010/100%20lan%20cardbus%20pc%20card%20(3ccfe575bt)%20driver&uid=354825832[/url]


I don't think it's for my card do you ? Do you think its for my card ?

so I am searching online now please let me know if you happen to locate the driver I need I will come back with a link to double check if it's the right one unless you get a link quicker than me

Edited by Rosewood, 18 September 2012 - 06:24 AM.


#11
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi jaclaz.

Is there something wrong with 3com have they shut down I can't seem to find there website anywhere I tried this link from another forum I just google and it's a old post but got this URL. http://www.3com.com/...nloadsindex.jsp


But it redirects to hp website?

#12
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,577 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi jaclaz.

Is there something wrong with 3com have they shut down I can't seem to find there website anywhere I tried this link from another forum I just google and it's a old post but got this URL. http://www.3com.com/...nloadsindex.jsp


But it redirects to hp website?

Yep, HP bought 3com a few years ago.

Yes, AFAICT the given link on gateway is the appropriate driver.

You can however try the fe575cx.exe file here:
http://www.ictcompan...rt_download.php
http://www.ictcompan...5bt/fe575cx.exe

You can also check if among the drivers you have in the "Windows" list (scrolling down) there is one for the 3C575 .

You can check on the old 3Com page how the drivers are for "series" of cards:
http://web.archive.o...Cards&family=68
http://web.archive.o...ffdt&order=desc

It seems ike latest is fe575291.exe, that you can probably get from here:
http://www.filewatch...738816.0.0.html

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 18 September 2012 - 07:04 AM.


#13
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you very much jaclaz for all of your help and support. :thumbup

And thank you for the helpful link to the driver :thumbup

I will Load the drivers to a blank cd some time today and will let you know how I get on hopefully I can get this machine working

Btw I have downloaded all the driver just in case so will burn them to cd when I get a blank cd some time today

Once again many thanks jaclaz for your time and support

#14
Rosewood

Rosewood
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 17-September 12
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi jaclez

I have run into a few problems. The drivers I burnt to cd don't seem to show up in the windows 98 laptop and when I cookies the Ethernet from the list it asks for the windows 98 cd I insert the cd but still can not find please see my photos below .

You might get a clear idea to what's going wrong






Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


Posted Image


Posted Image


Please can you advised what's my best option as of now after seeing the results

Edited by Rosewood, 18 September 2012 - 02:58 PM.


#15
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,577 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Wait a minute.
It seems to me like you have an issue copying the drivers to the CD.
What program are you using?
The drivers, which I verified you can get from here:
ftp://134.100.120.22/pub/mirrors/3com_nic/3c3fe575c/fe575291.exe
are inside a (self-extracting) Winzip archive.
What you should do is (on the "other" computer) create a new directory , let's say C:\3comNic\ and extract to that directory the archive, you can dobleckick on the downloaded file and tell it to extract to that folder.
Then, you burn the whole folder to the CD.
A recommended app is IMGBURN:
http://www.imgburn.com/
but you can use *any* burning tool you are familiar with, since you are going anyway to "waste" a CD, you could add to the new CD also a copy of the contents of the windows CD, the screenshots you posted seem to say that a missing file is inside the actual Win98 CD, but this could also be because you have (seemingly) NO files in the "driiver" CD you made.

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users