Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Need Help Loading XP PRO into laptop

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Folks,

My name is Al, I'm new here and was referred by a friend.

I have a Dell Latitude D830 laptop which I purchased used about 2 years ago. It was then loaded with Windows XP PRO. About 2 months ago I ran my regular defrag and the results were to the effect of: System32/DLLsomethingorother - Windows crashed. I did not have XP on a back up disc and my only solution (without purchasing Windows 7) was to find another copy of XP with a valid key - I did.

I was unsure of how to completely erase my old hard drive - which I suspect has some nasties in it so I purchased a new WD Scorpio Blue Internal Hard Drive.

Upon attempting to install XP. I am now faced with the following issue: "A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer"

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0X0000007E (OXC0000005, 0XF76130BF, 0XF7A5F208, 0XF7A5EF080

*** pci.sys - Address F76130BF base at F760C000, Datestamp 3b7d855c


My question here is this: I am not tech savvy at all. Is there somewhere that will show me step by step instructions on how to remedy this situation, or will I need to resort to having it repaired or replaced?

Thanks!
Al


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Can you boot in safe mode?
How exactly are you installing the XP?
From CD?
Is it an original (hologram) CD or a "burned" one (possibly with Service Packs integrated? (it could be simlpy a "bad burn" of the CD)
Have you integrated the specific drivers for that machine?

jaclaz

#3
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I cannot boot in safe mode.

I am trying to install the XP from a burned CD and I need to ask the source if the Service Packs have been included.

The drivers have not yet been integrated, can that be done without an existing OS?


Thanks!

Al

#4
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,520 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
To make it simple - you probably need to integrate the mass storage (SATA) drivers. You can do it on a different computer and then burn the new XP CD with the drivers integrated. Use nLite to do it.

You should be able to find the drivers on the laptop manufacturer's website.
Posted Image
Unofficial Service Pack 5.2 for MS Windows 2000 <- use this topic if you need help with UURollup, Update Rollup 2 and other unofficial packages

#5
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the suggestion!

To do that, do I find the drivers I need and download them to the existing XP disc I have?

Or do they need to be in any specific loading order on the disc?

Like I said earlier, I'm not tech savvy - the drivers that I need to download, is that for wireless, mouse, sound, etc?

Thanks!

#6
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

To do that, do I find the drivers I need and download them to the existing XP disc I have?

The idea is to use your current CD as "source", copy it (on a working machine) to a hard disk directory, "integrate" to it the drivers and burn a new install CD.

Since you are "new" to the specific chore, I would suggest you to leave alone (for the moment) the manufacturer's drivers (that may be more complex to be "integrated" and use instead the "drivers" pack:
http://driverpacks.net/
the 0x0000007E error is not necessarily connected with Mass Storage drivers missing (0x0000007B is).
What you actually *need* to have the PC booting is normally:
  • Chipset drivers
  • Mass Storage Drivers
no need for graphics drivers (at the most you will have a low resolution), maybe you might want to have also the LAN drivers (but if the XP boots, you can still add them later via another CD or USB stick should the Lan card not be supported by the built-in XP drivers).

Once you have the laptop boot, then you can update the drivers from the manufacturer's site.

jaclaz

#7
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've downloaded the XP disc into my C drive.

The chipset and mass storage drivers are telling me "This DriverPack can only be downloaded via BitTorrent". Is this another file I need to d/l before I can proceed?
.

#8
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,263 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Find and install (e.g.) Vuze or BitTorrent. As you can see folks retain the DriverPacks on their HDD and "seeders" means # of sources / "leechers" means # of folks downloading. This is a P2P sharing mechanism. Perfectly safe. Get the P2P Torrent software directly from the Official "maker". What you download from DriverPacks is a "xxx.torrent" file usable by the software to "interface" with the "seeders" for download of the actual Pack.

edit - please note that many "warez" sites use this mechanism. DO NOT use it for illegal purposes!

Edited by submix8c, 18 September 2012 - 11:08 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I've downloaded the XP disc into my C drive.

The chipset and mass storage drivers are telling me "This DriverPack can only be downloaded via BitTorrent". Is this another file I need to d/l before I can proceed?
.

Well, due to the success of the thingy (and the huge bandwidth used) the good guys turned to use bittorrent which is an alternate approach, technically "peer-to-peer", depending on the browser you are using it may have a bittirrent client (Opera comes to mind) or you might need a specific bittorrent tool.
http://en.wikipedia....Torrent_clients

jaclaz

#10
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have copied the chipset and storage drivers to cd along with Windows XP.

The laptop will not boot from cd. I've tried the F12 and asked to boot from cd - nada.

I also tried the Windows XP only cd - won't try to boot from that either.

I need to put this away for now and head out to work, back on it tomorrow morning.

Thanks for the input - I really appreciate it!


Al

#11
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have copied the chipset and storage drivers to cd along with Windows XP.

...and thus most probably made a non-bootable CD....

I also tried the Windows XP only cd - won't try to boot from that either.

Well, it must have booted before to allow you the now botched install :unsure:
Try again, after having READ what to do and how to do it:
http://driverpacks.n...uide-windows-xp
nlite (as in the above) is possibly the easiest tool to create the CD image, which can also be created manually, in any case IMGBURN is advised to actually burn to CD:
http://www.pcmag.com...,2325399,00.asp

I need to put this away for now and head out to work, back on it tomorrow morning.

Thanks for the input - I really appreciate it!

NO prob :).

jaclaz

#12
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,265 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Be sure to begin with or integrate Service Pack 3. That might possibly be the only problem.

#13
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
jaclaz,

Thank you for pointing out the article to read - I am now searching for my original XP disc.

And, in answer to: Well, it must have booted before to allow you the now botched install

That was with the old install on the hard drive I have replaced.

Al

Edited by AlfromMd, 19 September 2012 - 12:27 PM.


#14
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

And, in answer to: Well, it must have booted before to allow you the now botched install

That was with the old install on the hard drive I have replaced.

I am not sure to understand (actually I am sure I don't understand :w00t: ), you posted:

Upon attempting to install XP. I am now faced with the following issue: "A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer"

In that occasion HOW (which media if not the CD) did you use to attempt installing the XP? :unsure:

But what I meant was that it is possible that you have "other" issues with booting from CD (such as BIOS settings, a "bad" drive or bad cable/connection) but that right now the culprit sounds being the non bootable CD, as that PC can boot from the CD device (if bootable media is used), and you actually booted from it recently, didn't you?

jaclaz

#15
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I suspect that I have a bios issue.

The bios on my laptop is version A02. The current version is A17.

Is that something that I can download on a cd and run it in my laptop?

#16
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,265 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes. Dell usually provides updates that run (or at least are launched from) in Windows. You would of course need a running Windows system for that. A WinPE might do but it is possible that it complains the battery service is not installed.
The file description on the Dell website says it (also ?) runs from a DOS bootable floppy. If as I suspect you don't have a floppy drive to boot from, you could still create a dos booting usb drive, there are various tutorials and it seems fairly simple. Then add the Dell file on your bootable stick, boot to DOS (using F12 at boot and choose "USB Sorage Device") and run the update.
I'm also confused by you first saying you placed a brand new HDD and are "now faced" with an error, when after that you say the error occures with the old HDD.
I understand your XP is "a" download... this might also be a cause of problem.

Edited by Ponch, 25 September 2012 - 02:16 AM.


#17
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I suspect that I have a bios issue.

NO. :no:
Meaning that your suspect is wrong :(.
If that computer came (say) with DOS 6.22 and noone ever attempted to install to it a Windows XP, that could have been the case :thumbup , but since that Laptop already was running XP, there are NO incompatibilities in the BIOS you have (unless you later aupdated the BIOS to a newer version from the one that the laptop was shipped with) with the Windows XP setup. (*somehow* that XP was installed to it using that BIOS)

The bios on my laptop is version A02. The current version is A17.

By updating the BIOS (which is not in itself a good or a bad thing ) you simply introduce a possible ADDITIONAL issue.

Could you answer my questions? :unsure:
Maybe (just maybe) if I understand waht is happening, I can help you.

jaclaz

#18
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Could you answer my questions?
Maybe (just maybe) if I understand waht is happening, I can help you.


I do not know what, if any Bios updates have been used on the laptop prior to my purchase. I bought it from an IT guy that installed a fresh hard drive with Windows XP Pro and it has worked fine for 2 years or so.

When the system crashed, I tried to reboot using the existing hard drive without success and tried to reload XP Pro on that drive. I wound up with a hard drive with 2 copies of XP Pro that did not work. The folks at Dell and Microsoft explained that they were eager to sell me Windows 7 and forget XP. I decided to replace that hard drive as I know there is something corrupt on it and it would probably continue to haunt me.

My son-in-law is an IT tech guy that lives in another state. He sent me a copy of Windows XP Pro with a fresh key. This is where I am stuck now.

When I try to boot from the CD he sent me, I get the message that I posted at the beginning of this thread. When I turn the lap top on with out the cd, if I hit no keys at all, I just get a flashing cursor that will do nothing - or, if I hit F2 it goes to System Info Menu - or, if I hit F12 it takes me to the boot menu.

#19
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

My son-in-law is an IT tech guy that lives in another state. He sent me a copy of Windows XP Pro with a fresh key. This is where I am stuck now.

When I try to boot from the CD he sent me, I get the message that I posted at the beginning of this thread. When I turn the lap top on with out the cd, if I hit no keys at all, I just get a flashing cursor that will do nothing - or, if I hit F2 it goes to System Info Menu - or, if I hit F12 it takes me to the boot menu.

Yes, as I told you this is likely to happen if the CD you have is not (choose one):
  • the specific "Dell" one for your laptop
  • a "normal" XP CD BUT with integrated to it the necessary specific drivers (if you prefer a "normal" CD modified to be "wider" in the supported hardware

It is also possible that you are suffering from a hardware problem, but until you don't find a way to try a "properly made" XP install CD there is no way to check this, if not testing the laptop with an alternate OS (like a Linux "live" CD or a PE of some kind).

But then you are in a Catch 22 situation, if you (in your own words) are "not tech savvy at all" you will have difficulties in creating the (hopefully) good install CD by following the given instructions/advice and/or testing the laptp with an alternate liveOS to exclude the hardware issue, or you can decide to become tech savvy :yes: , what is needed is not over the head of any willing computer user, and we can try and help/guide you through the needed steps.

It's only up to you, but - and with all due respect :) - until you wear the hat of the "not tech savvy at all" you cannot "suspect" *anything*.

You were pointed to a possible procedure, if you have questions about it or issues in replicating it, I guess everyone will try and support you, but before the new "suspect" (IMHO perfectly innocent) you should try the recommended procedure, and not abandon it and find other suspects because you cannot replicate properly what was suggested.

If I get it right what you experience is the following:
  • You insert the boot CD your son-in-law sent you and can boot from it.
  • You see a number of screens in white text over blue background (this is what is called "text mode" part of the setup)
  • You are (possibly) asked to partition/format the hard disk
  • A number of files are copied from the CD to the hard disk (you see theis files enumerated in the bottom of the blue screen)
  • The text mode part ends and you are asked to take the CD out of the drive and reboot.
Is the above accurate? If NO, describe what you are currently experiencing.
Then WHAT happens? (please describe what happens)


jaclaz

#20
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If I get it right what you experience is the following:

You insert the boot CD your son-in-law sent you and can boot from it.
When loading the cd, it ends with the STOP code previously mentioned. It also has the following:

Check to be sure you have adequate disk space. If a driver is identified in the stop message, disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.

Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS updates. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced startup options, and then select safe mode.




You see a number of screens in white text over blue background (this is what is called "text mode" part of the setup)

You are (possibly) asked to partition/format the hard disk no

A number of files are copied from the CD to the hard disk (you see theis files enumerated in the bottom of the blue screen)yes

The text mode part ends and you are asked to take the CD out of the drive and reboot.see above


Is the above accurate? If NO, describe what you are currently experiencing.
Then WHAT happens? (please describe what happens)

#21
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,263 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

You are (possibly) asked to partition/format the hard disk no

Is there a WINNT.SIF in the I386 folder?

Edited by submix8c, 25 September 2012 - 09:31 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#22
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, now I am really confused. :ph34r:

Let's do it like this :) , have a look at this video:


The actual Setup starts at 1:55.
WHEN exactly (with reference to that video) do you encounter the:

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0X0000007E (OXC0000005, 0XF76130BF, 0XF7A5F208, 0XF7A5EF080

*** pci.sys - Address F76130BF base at F760C000, Datestamp 3b7d855c

:unsure:

jaclaz

#23
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Exactly at 2:20 on the video. The last thing I see before the Technical Information page is Setup is starting Windows

Edited by AlfromMd, 25 September 2012 - 09:53 AM.


#24
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Is there a WINNT.SIF in the I386 folder?

I don't know - where would I look for it?

#25
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,289 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Exactly at 2:20 on the video. The last thing I see before the Technical Information page is Setup is starting Windows

Good. (in the sense of bad :( )
The setup doesn't even "start".

This means that the issue is in the very early stage of "text mode", and this means (roughly) that either;
  • the CD is corrupt (so-called "bad-burn") (it happens more often than not)
  • there is a hardware faiure of some kind (less likely, but possible)
It cannot be a needed driver missing (as at this stage this should not matter as they are not yet involved, you should get a more senceful error meassage, though still not having the proper drivers integrated might be the reason :unsure: ).

Next step would be to test the CD in a Virtual Machine.
Which OS are you running on the PC you are using to browse and post the Forum?
I presume a Windows NT based system of some kind.
If yes, easiest would be to use Qemu Manager:
http://www.davereyn.co.uk/download.htm

It is quite straightforward, you install it, then follow the wizard when creating a new Virtual machine, select XP as OS, and create a new 2 Gb disk (RAW format).
Of course you will need some space on the hard disk of the "real" machine, something more than the 2 Gb.
In settings, go to the "Drives" Tab, make sure that the image you just created is set as "Hard disk 0", select "CDROM" and point it to the drive letter corresponding to the CD drive in the "real"machine (where you have inserted the XP CD Rom media to test) and make sure that "Boot order" is set so that "CD/DVD drive" is before "Hard drive".

If the CD is OK, you should be able to replicate the video.

There would be still the possibility that this "other machine" CD/DVD drive can read the XP CD by that the drive on your laptop doesn't, if this is the case normally the CD drive (of the laptop) would do "strange" noises, trying to read the CD over and over.
Checking (and if the case cleaning) the reading lens of the CD drive wouldn't make any harm.

Then, next test would be to download the UBCD:
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
burn it to a CD (IMGBURN) and try booting the laptop with it.
This CD has - among many other tools - a set of diagnostic tools that will help to diagnose hardware issues (if any).

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 25 September 2012 - 10:32 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN