Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Need Help Loading XP PRO into laptop

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#26
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 18-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The computer that I am using here (Windows 7) belongs to a friend and I don't feel comfortable about downloading XP onto their machine.

I do have access to an original Windows XP Pro disk - I guess I could use that to try to load and if successful I can use the product key from my son in law.

Would this be a preferred way to go, knowing it is a Windows disk?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,755 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The computer that I am using here (Windows 7) belongs to a friend and I don't feel comfortable about downloading XP onto their machine.

Yes, I understand, that's why I suggested a test in a VM, but it's better if you don't install *anything* on your friend's PC.

I do have access to an original Windows XP Pro disk - I guess I could use that to try to load and if successful I can use the product key from my son in law.

Would this be a preferred way to go, knowing it is a Windows disk?

Yes :thumbup , it is very good to check if the setup goes further than "2:20", thoigh the actual "edition" of the XP might not be "corresponding" (and thus the product key may not activate), but this is the least of the problems, the product key is asked for well after the "Text mode" part (inside the "GUI" part of the setup, as a matter of fact, if I recall correctly, a SP3 disk will also allow to go on without a key), if the issue is actually missing driver you won't ever get that far.

jaclaz

#28
AlfromMd

AlfromMd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 18-September 12
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I will see if I can get that disk tonight.

But, I have a question, If the product key doesn't activate, how will I continue use of the OS?

Thanks Again!
Al

#29
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,755 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I will see if I can get that disk tonight.


Good.

But, I have a question, If the product key doesn't activate, how will I continue use of the OS?



You won't, once we have found the issue, you will still be able to re-install the "proper" version (correcting or re-doing the CD your son-in-law provided, if that is the cause).

Imagine that you go to your neighbours and you ask them to lend you a (spare) TV, you get it, get home and try connecting it to your antenna, if it works it means that the issue is your old TV (and not the antenna) if it doesn't the old TV might still be OK but you have to fix the antenna anyway.
In any case you will need to return the TV and ether fix your hardware (TV or antenna or both :ph34r: ) or procure new one(s).

jaclaz

#30
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

My son-in-law is an IT tech guy that lives in another state.

Sent the laptop to your son-in-law.

#31
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,573 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just bear this in mind (post#12). It refers to an OEM install. There's a little more to it if it's a Retail Full or Upgrade, but the "basic" rules remain the same (except pre-activation).

Come back when you get past the "glitch" for more precise help on that matter.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#32
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,336 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Also check Ebay for any Dell XP Pro recovery disk, I see one here (in Belgium..) for 1cent, you might get lucky as well.

#33
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,755 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Also check Ebay for any Dell XP Pro recovery disk, I see one here (in Belgium..) for 1cent, you might get lucky as well.

Not that easy IMHO.
http://www.ebay.com/...llation-CD-SP2-
There are at least three of them (green ones):
  • U957G
  • UT993
  • U5183
and dont' think there is info to know if a given P/N is suitable with the D830. :unsure:

And yes, they may have slipstreamed different SATA drivers, see:
http://en.community....9/19430194.aspx

If the case it would be a better idea to contact Dell directly:
https://support.dell.../backupcd_form
(though cannot say if they still provide those discs and at which cost)

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 26 September 2012 - 05:55 AM.


#34
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,573 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, FWIW, here is the Drivers/Software (same list is apparently here). I have an original Dell XP MCE Restore DVD that MIGHT help isolating what's changed "manually".

I was unsure of how to completely erase my old hard drive - which I suspect has some nasties in it so I purchased a new WD Scorpio Blue Internal Hard Drive.

If you still have the original HDD, it MIGHT be possible to "reconstruct" an OEM CD/DVD from some of its contents (plus the one you haveas a "base") using e.g. a BartPE or LiveXP. It won't be an "exact" OEM CD/DVD but it would suffice with minimal drivers integrated. Note that my DVD is one of a two-part "set", the first being a more-or-less "Dell generic" and the second being the remainder of the Drivers/Software. This seems to be the way Dell went for XP Installation CD/DVD's supplied with PC's. I'm "somewhat" versed in Dell's since these are the majority I've had to work on (aside from Acer/HP/eMachines).

I've noted that Dell doesn't (apparently) pre-install XP 64-bit so you should be good on that.

For the record (pertaining to your CD's/DVD's you have) a "straight" Retail/GenericOEM (unaltered by the Manufacturer) has these as dates for ALL Folders/Files.

RTM 08/23/2001
SP1 08/29/2002
SP1a 03/31/2003
SP2 08/04/2004 <-Flyer says this (or optionally Vista, probably Business)
SP3 04/14/2008

The first task, though (as stated), is to ensure that your "source" CD's/DVD's are good (unaltered?) and readable via a VM. Without a good (clean) source you will be snookered. Note that a REAL OEM CD/DVD like mine is, however, good as a starting point - see link given by jaclaz to assist in recognizing one. They do NOT look the same as directly from MS. (ServicePack Level is irrelevant).

This is doable - follow instructions though...

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users